Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Angel Beats!


Alternative Titles

English: Angel Beats!
Japanese: Angel Beats!(エンジェルビーツ)

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 3, 2010 to Jun 26, 2010
Premiered: Spring 2010
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: P.A. Works
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.351 (scored by 549,207 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1842
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #5
Members: 847,314
Favorites: 33,219

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 9, 2014
Dream95 (All reviews)
Angel Beats!, an anime hailed by many to be one of the best, if not the best anime ever, but also an anime many think its bad and seriously overrated. So where does it stand? Well, it isn't downright terrible, but it's not the best anime there is either, no, it's not even close to it.

I think the main story is summarized pretty nicely on MAL so I won't go in much depth on that. The first few episodes were presented nicely, and definitely looked promising. It introduced you to the characters in the SSS and Tenshi, and for me, I think they did read more
May 13, 2010
coldcoal (All reviews)
I have to admit that I first started watching Angel Beats because of two main reasons: the pretty visuals, and the presence of guitars. But once I began watching the show in earnest, I found a lot more here than I expected. Angel Beats is a show that keeps me guessing, and consistently tugs at strings I didn't know existed until they were pulled.

Basically, Angel Beats is about an afterlife in which a group of dead students refuse to 'move on' to the next life, because they have some sort of peace to make with the world and themselves. There's a unique mix of read more
Jul 4, 2010
Archaeon (All reviews)
Sometimes anime studios manage to confuse me, not because of anything they do, but because of what they don't do.

Take Angel Beats as an example.

Any fan of certain Key visual novels (or their KyoAni adaptations), will undoubtedly be familiar with the work of Maeda Jun, whose inimitable style, approach, and methodology to storytelling is clearly on display in Angel Beats, and on the surface this may actually seem like a good thing. Given the whole concept of a high school purgatory one would think there was enormous scope for the tale, and in some aspects the story is delivered very well. The only problem is read more
Mar 19, 2014
MrSideliner (All reviews)
Angel Beats! The anime that is praised by many and criticized by few. Sadly I was forced to go stand in the cold critic corner. In all honesty, I was excited to watch this anime after all the suggestions from people and raving reviews. The art looked amazing and I heard the music was incredible. What is a good anime in my book? An anime that effects my grades negatively, because just...one...more...episode! Angel Beats however never gripped me. It made me say: "Ok that's enough for today, I have a ton of homework anyway..." My experience can be best summed up in a quote from read more
Jan 8, 2013
xbobx (All reviews)
"-You must be an idiot! You should try dying once!
by the way, that's a cliché joke in this world where no one can die. So, was it funny?"

I'm at a loss for words...
What could I say? I keep getting surprised with Key's scriptwriters. Who's already familiar with their works, probably heard the name Jun Maeda before. He's the original creator of Angel Beats. You may not like him, but Maeda's (and his coworkers at Key) manner of creating and conducing a story, be it a light-hearted comedy or a melodramatic romance, is definately worthy of praise. Just look around, Clannad, Air, Kanon and recently Little read more
Sep 17, 2010
djwhack03 (All reviews)
Angel Beats has convinced me that Jun Maeda doesn’t know how to write an original story. His previous hits Air, Kanon, and Clannad have been about a bunch of mentally and/or physically broken high school girls who all fall in love with a guy whose only significant character trait is that he exists, and along the way one of these girls will die of a mysterious illness. For Angel Beats, Maeda twists his tried and true formula by having all the characters dead to begin with, and stuck in some sort of high school purgatory, where a group of high school students shoot a little read more
Jun 25, 2010
Detective (All reviews)
Angel Beats! is absolutely glorious and perfect. It made me laugh, and cry, and I just loved all the drama and the story is not as paper-thin as one would believe. I thought all the characters were awesome, especially TK xD. The ending made me cry it was so good. In summary, Angel Beats! is amazing and is really emotional and if you haven't seen Angel Beats! go watch it!

Haha just kidding. Angel Beats! isn't actually all that special, and I'm writing this review to just try and send out a message to those of you who have not watched Angel Beats! yet. No I'm read more
Feb 14, 2014
nevrendingshonen (All reviews)
OVERALL (4) I really don't understand how this show is so highly rated. This is absolutely no the show for you if you enjoy story, good characterization, comprehensible motivations, or a coherent setting. Other than the admittedly stunning visuals, the show has very little to offer compared to other media that are far superior in almost every other aspect. To nutshell: amazing animation that guilds an empty shell of a series with so little substance it may as well be filler from start to finish. Actually I take that back, filler from start to finish would actually be more entertaining.

STORY AND ENJOYMENT (2) I bundle read more
Jun 17, 2015
guywholikesanime (All reviews)
Note: I ain't no english speaker

Welcome to MAL where a mediocre and predictable tear-jerking/slice of life/ comedy series is ranked 100 spots over NGE. The magical place where fanboys will defend their favorite crappy anime just so a bunch of pretentious teenagers that think that they are intellectual can complain about their shitty taste and make fun of them (oh wai--)

If after reading that paragraph you are not quite sure what is my opinion about Angel Beats! then let's get down to the proper review.

PRODUCTION VALUE
I cannot bash this anime on this particular aspect as it has top-notch animation combined with beautiful art. It was read more
Aug 13, 2011
Stunfisk (All reviews)
I will say this first; Angel Beats! is my favourite anime series. While a lot of people don't share my sentiment, and say that Angel Beats! is nothing special, I disagree.

Angel Beats! takes place in a kind of afterlife similar to purgatory. In it, young adults find themselves at a mysterious colossal boarding school that runs like most other schools...with one exception; Yuri and the Afterlife battlefront.

The members of the Afterlife battlefront fight the unfairness of life and also their idealogy of god. Otonashi is the protagonist, after he wakes in the new world with little to no memories about his past life. This may read more
Mar 27, 2015
ChristopherKClaw (All reviews)
It seems to me that there are currently three major anime that are upheld by the vast majority of the anime community as "the shows that bring tears". I have heard all three of them described as life-changing masterpieces, stories that transcend genre and qualify as immaculate art. I am of course referring to Clannad & its Afterstory, Ano Hana or The Flower We Saw That Day, and... Angel Beats. While I have my gripes with the other two (Clannad's first season is mostly unnecessary and Ano Hana relies on characters showing emotion counting as invoking the emotion of the audience) I can accept and read more
Aug 4, 2014
CovetCloud (All reviews)
This is my first review so I hope it helps!

If you haven't read the synopsis, Angel Beats (in a nutshell) takes place in a fictional world at a school where the protagonists are unable to advance to the afterlife/next life because of regret or lack of fulfillment in their previous life. There were lots of ups and downs to this series. I was really excited to start the series since it had been so heavily recommended to me by several friends, so I had high expectations prior to watching Angel Beats. Whether or not this affected my opinion is difficult to say, but I read more
Dec 8, 2014
Fear_the_Reefer (All reviews)
Yuzuru Otonashi has a problem. He’s just woken up on the ground outside of a strange school, to find out that his unconscious body has been guarded over by an even stranger girl wielding a gun that’s bigger than she is, and the only thing he remembers is his name. But before he can ask what the hell he drank last night, she explains that he’s dead. And she says this... while aiming her gun at another girl. She goes on to explain that this other girl, an apparent angel, is the mortal enemy of her and the group she leads... The read more
May 6, 2010
Sa_De_Me_Ta (All reviews)
Angel Beats is a marvel, no, a monument of modern Japanese animation. It is a series that has no reason to exist other than to market off of otaku and has no merit to it at all. I guess you could say that this is the spiritual successor to Code Geass, except at least that shallow marketing machine of a series had a little substance to it.

The series is about Walking Cliche Male Protagonist, Haruhi with a Gun, and her sidekick Nagato with her Hair Grown Out. The names are long, but you'll remember them. Follow them on a pseudo-deep story about rebelling against the read more
Jun 22, 2015
NoEntri (All reviews)
What makes Angel Beats! one of the greatest anime of all time? Beats me. It may be easy for many viewers to be swayed into the world of Angel Beats! with it's finely polished artwork, acceptable animation, catchy opening, and repetitive slapstick, however, I found it hard to fall for Angel Beats! myself.

STORY (3)

I can say at the very least, Angel Beats!'s story is unique. When teens, who feel that they have not yet fulfilled their purpose, die, they are sent to a "high school afterlife" so to speak. Thus far, Angel Beats!'s setting is a little absurd, I mean, it's a high school after read more
Jun 28, 2010
Archon_Wing (All reviews)
Short Review: It needed 26 episodes.
Long Review: Angel Beats is a pretty interesting work. The writer, Jun Maeda, is responsible for a number of emotional masterpieces such as Air, Kanon, and Clannad. Maeda's ability to invoke emotion in his audience is definitely outstanding and thus I had great anticipation for the series.

Angel Beats! is a treat to the eyes and ears. P.A. works did an amazing job with the visuals. The opening animation is a pleasure to watch and the backgrounds can easily rival Kyoto Animation's which is no small feat. The music is also very memorable, and usually appropriate to the situation. Besides read more
Jun 20, 2013
wumbmasta (All reviews)
Angel Beats Review:

Potential. That is exactly what this show was full of. Admittedly Angel Beats was indeed a good show that I really enjoyed watching. However, the show fell short of what I believe it could have achieved in a 24 episode season.

Story 6/10:
My God the story. THE reason why this show had sooo much potential. Angel Beats is about a student named Yuzuru Otonashi who finds himself with amnesia and in some sort of purgatory in shape of a high school campus. After meeting "Angel," Otonashi is convinced into joining SSS, where he and other students in purgatory fight off "Angel" to prevent obliteration. read more
Aug 26, 2015
nozomiismywaifu (All reviews)
I started watching angel beats after i finished anohana because my friend told me that it was very good and sadder than anohana or clannad so i gave it a shot.

I was dissapointed.

First couple of episodes were ok we get introduced to the characters but as it progressed i just got bored.

The story was really bad, i mean, when you die you go to school? I get that almost every anime revolves around high schools but this was just bad. Also, why are there so many teenagers (there are only a couple of adults) ? And as it continued there were so many read more
Jun 25, 2010
ShibuyaRiver (All reviews)
Angel Beats is yet again another cross media collaboration between Key animation studios, and visual novel writer Jun Maeda. Together have worked on such projects like Air, Kanon, Clannad, and now Angel Beats.

The plot centers around Otonashi, a young man who wakes up in the middle of a school yard, with no recollection on how he got there or any memories of his past. He is then confronted by a girl holding a rather large gun, her name is Yuri, the leader of a organization called the SSS, a group devoted to fighting god and his angels. Confused by her offer, Otonashi declines and read more
Jun 19, 2010
tazillo (All reviews)
Firstly, I've heard that Angel Beats is best enjoyed by exploring its other media types as well (short stories, manga). However, I have neither the time nor urge to do so, and therefore this review is based solely on the anime series. Created by the same people who made Clannad and Kanon, many had high hopes for AB and I myself predicted that it would be nothing short of excellent. To be honest though, it did not entirely meet my expectations.

The first episode starts off strongly by introducing many ideas regarding the story, although a lot of things are left unexplained. However, as the read more