Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Nyan Koi!


Alternative Titles

English: Nyan Koi!
Synonyms: Nyankoi
Japanese: にゃんこい!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 2, 2009 to Dec 18, 2009
Premiered: Fall 2009
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: AIC
Source: Manga
Genres: Harem, Comedy, Romance
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.271 (scored by 104,737 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #26702
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #540
Members: 196,618
Favorites: 583

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 21, 2010
eklie (All reviews)
Too much and not enough are equally big problems when trying to create something amazing - or in other words know when to say when. In the case of Nyan Koi! someone should have stopped the onslaught of nonsensical girls sooner and not stopped the plot as soon as they did.

I know what you're thinking, "but it's a harem show - there's supposed to be tons of girls." BUT Nyan Koi sacrificed being a good romantic comedy or a good small harem (does 2-3 count as a harem?) for being a sloppy very mediocre harem rom-com of which there are all ready many out read more
Dec 21, 2009
Poeticas (All reviews)
Story: Well this is our new anime called "Nyan Koi" which has kind of unique story line it involves some kind of magic , romance little bit of drama , and alot of comedy. The story revolves around this Guy called Junpei Kousaka (Main protagonist) who is allergic to cats and has one fat cat at home which he tries to avoid as much as possible the plot goes from this ordinary school life into more interesting direction after Junpei gets cursed by cat statue and has to help out all cats in need :) there is also his friends and few girls who likes read more
Sep 18, 2014
angelsreview (All reviews)
So have you ever wondered what would happen if you pissed off a animal’s shrine? They are just like human shrines and would curse you of course. That’s pretty much how this story starts. A guy breaks a shrine for a cat and so is cursed by being able to talk to cats. Wouldn’t be so bad if he wasn’t allergic. Add this to a slice of life school life anime like this and well…. you have Nyan Koi.

What kind of family would keep a cat when their son is allergic to them? At least get him some meds or something for it because read more
Dec 18, 2009
Elm (All reviews)
Brief Summary: Rating: 7 (Good)
A consistent Rom/Com harem with a solid love triangle, fueled by a quirky premise.

Long Summary:
Nyan Koi! is about a boy, Kousaka Junpei, that becomes cursed and can now talk to cats, and has to grant the requests of a hundred cats or else he'll turn into a cat himself. Naturally, he's allergic to cats, and even more naturally, he can't tell anyone about the curse or else it'll make the curse even worse. This hinders his plans at pursuing the girl of his dreams, and causes other girls to enter his life.

This may sound like a typical Rom/Com harem, where read more
Sep 26, 2015
florizeta (All reviews)
WHAT THE TACOS IS WRONG WITH PEOPLE?

I actually enjoyed and loved this anime!! I've watched it like 4 times or so. One of my favourites! (I'm canadian so it is "OU" >.> ) This anime revolves mainly around cats & comedy :D

It's suppose to have romance, and it does but it doesn't overpower the anime with JUST ROMANCE so don't get confused and be like "ughh another anime with a random guy and all the girls want him" because IT IS and it turned out pretty cool! Asides from other animes (shounen or harem whatever) this one comes up with reasons .___. not read more
Aug 25, 2012
NiseiEnigma (All reviews)
The Best harem/romance to be created.

i mean, let's face the fact's here, people:

the story has a harem made up of:

1. a Tsundere Childhood friend
2. A a Pair of twins
3. the Girl that the main character is infatuated about.
4. the tomboy girl

-----------------

if their is anything that i would suggest to change, it would:
to animated the rest of the manga of this anime. it would not even have to follow the storyline, and in my opinion, the should skip some parts. if people are only watching the anime and not interested in the manga, then i believe they really are not going to enjoy watching this series read more
Dec 25, 2018
mr57757 (All reviews)
I can't write a good introduction. Forgive me.

Why did I chose to watch this anime?
- harem
- take a break from some serious-plotted anime
- got tired of 'watching only 7.5+ scores anime'
- stress relieve due to my upcoming finals

Story:
(insert synopsis here). Pretty good idea for a story line. Comedy is fine. I think the execution could be better since I was expecting much more focus on the main character's everyday 'cat request' curse thingy.

For the harem and romance part, well, pretty generic but not the worst. Same old cool lines and stuff. Mochizuki lacks of screen time BTW. Come on, no love for read more
Feb 8, 2010
chingstah (All reviews)
so nyan koi is a good anime if u love romance,action(too litte but it includes some),comedy,harem,ecchi :P

so it's plot is like this:
Junpei Kosaka is a second-year high school student who despises cats and has an allergy to them. It just so happens that his high school crush is Kaede Mizuno, a girl who adores cats. One day, while walking home from school, Junpei kicks an empty can and unfortunately breaks the local neko-jizō-sama (guardian deity of cats). He finds he can now understand what cats are saying, including his family’s own ill-tempered cat, Nyamsus. However, if he does not grant 100 wishes to cats, he read more
Apr 16, 2011
SevenKnights (All reviews)
Preliminary
I just woke up so I don't really feel like writing a full review, but I'll just throw in my 2 cents.


I'm very picky when it comes to what animes I watch, mangas I read so the idea of "cats" and stuff didn't really turn me on at first. When it comes to Romance/Harem animes I tend to look at the artwork + the babes. If it looks nice and the babes look like they could fool with the protagonists heart a bit I'm all for it.

Luckily I gave Nyan Koi! I shot since I fairly enjoyed it. I am almost finished with it and read more
Aug 27, 2012
Degran (All reviews)
A new anime to add to my recommended list. I was already excited about it just by reading the description.

The main story is original, ironic and causes some really funny situations. On top of that the episodes are filled with standard high school plots such as pool/beach, school trip, Christmas, ...
The biggest achievement of this series' story is its end. Unlike most other harem-comedies this one has a decent captivating and 'epic' ending.

The conversations are hilarious, both with cats and the girls and especially with both at the same time. The voice acting is well done and all characters fit in the story perfectly (except read more
Mar 19, 2014
Zamrokal (All reviews)
"My days of misfortune have only just begun!"
- Junpei Kousaka

Story: 7/10
The story is pretty good, well-paced, and well thought out. The only fault I found with the story is that it just ends. Very little is resolved, and the creators pretty much say “Read the manga to find out more.” And to that I say, “Oh, I will.” As of the time of me writing this review, the manga is still ongoing.

Characters: 8/10
The characters are varied and have their own reasons for being here. Keep in mind this is a harem-themed series, so they all share a mutual love interest. read more
Jun 6, 2016
_LorDNiCo_ (All reviews)
Ah, Nyan Koi. One of my first and favorite anime that I had ever watched as a kid when I was being introduced into anime. This will be a long one, so bear with me folks!

Story: (6/10)

A BRIEF SUMMARY: (You don't have to read this you know. Just read the synopsis!) One day, the main character Kousaka, Junpei, a high school student, walks home after from school. On the way home, he sees an empty can on the road 'waiting' to be recycled. Instead of picking it up like 'any' bystander would do, he decides to kick it instead into the trash can. Unfortunately, the read more
Jan 1, 2012
EmoRikki (All reviews)
Like cats? You'll love this. Hate cats? You'll probably still like this. Now I'm not a cat fan but heck this show was pretty legit. The story isn't anything too grand but it kills time. It's kind enough so it can just be viewable and not require the person to be a huge anime fan. If I could I'd recommend this anime as a good start to pull people in to the genre. Cute and kind enough to watch and not too sketchy for your buddies to question your mentality. Heh
Jun 4, 2012
Z-I-CO (All reviews)
I stumbled upon Nyan Koi! when I had nothing else to watch. My opinion on this series is that it wasn't the best I have seen. When I first read the plot, it seemed really interesting, but I found the anime to be more annoying than exciting. I am not going to deny that I did enjoy this anime somewhat. The only parts I really did enjoy watching were Sumiyoshi's and Nagi's parts. The rest were ok, but not that interesting.
Apr 11, 2010
acktgirl01 (All reviews)
This is such a watchable anime; not too serious, but the story is interesting, and it made me want to follow the main character (Junpei Kousaka) and all the interesting people and cats that attatch themselves to his life.
As I'm watching this sort of "slice of life" anime, I think "wait, he's talking to cats...?!" but it works, somehow.
It's pretty obvious that this is supposed to appeal to males (lots of girls with different ...uh... assets), yet it wasn't so in-your-face as to be annoying to a female (such as myself).
This was also great read more
Mar 15, 2010
Dunkjoe (All reviews)
[Atmosphere: Light]
[Notable pickings: consistency: 4 l harem: 7 l romance: 3 l cat content: 8 l school life: 5 l fantasy & supernatural: 6 ]
This series is particularly weak at romance, harem is a bit over. Unrequited love scenes are quite common, and concept of moe is strong (look at OP).

Story:8
Original story about someone who is cursed, but is weak against the attributes of the curse and even have to repenting thru doing things weak to the guy. However, note: Allergies, curse, fear of cats are inconsistent throughout the series, they come and go.

Storyline was pretty original for the episodes introducing the characters, and had read more
Nov 26, 2017
Zecis (All reviews)
I was taking a break from anime for a long while, and I figured I would try to get back into it with Nyan Koi! serving as a gateway. I admit, the first few episodes were much better than I expected, and I was excited to watch more. I was actually having fun, most of the time I just force myself to laugh at comedy anime like this, but this one had me genuinely smiling and laughing.

However, as I continued with the rest of the series, I was pretty disappointed. The main appeal to me, was the humor, and that's how it should be, Nyan read more
Jul 13, 2014
RirukaNo1 (All reviews)
Telling the tale of the unfortunate Junpei Kousaka, the show revels in this poor guy’s misfortune. After knocking the head off a neko-statue, he is cursed by a deity and told he must both worship cats and also appease 100 kitties or he will be turned into a feline himself! This plot line takes a backseat to the developing harem Junpei finds forming around himself, even though he is only interested in the coy Kaede. Addressing all aspects of male fantasies, the barrage of moe, tsundere, kindergarten friend and twins that the unappreciative male finds flocking to him somehow seems more believable than many other read more
Jan 23, 2010
kenjinsakura (All reviews)
The short version: Your average run-of-the mill harem rom-com. What's the difference? Cats. That's about it.

The long(er) version: There's not much more to say besides that. Seriously, there must be a guidebook they all follow on how to make shounen harems.

As expected from your average harem. There's no story. No, there's none. Oh, the main protagonist gets cursed and has to help out cats lest he turn into one and die from his cat allergy, but mostly it's about the main characters' love misadventures.

The animation was OK, which is why I gave it a 7. An 8 would mean very good, which it was read more
Apr 4, 2013
Simon1900 (All reviews)
So uhm... I didn't know how to write a review of this when i was at the 8:th episode. But now i know something to write...

There's been three years now and there hasn't showed up a next seasson... About the anime, it dosen't end so i got to give the Enjoyment a 7. Becuse it was really good. In the start it was so booring so i like sapped through it :P But at like episode 6 it actually started to look kind of nice.

Art is awesome, story is well done.

Overall i like this one alot of and it's still bugging me that they say read more