Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Koi Kaze


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Koikaze, Love Wind
Japanese: 恋風

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 2, 2004 to Jun 18, 2004
Premiered: Spring 2004
Broadcast: Fridays at 02:12 (JST)
Studios: A.C.G.T.
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.241 (scored by 22,153 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #27782
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1562
Members: 62,013
Favorites: 424

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 31, 2008
LilleFluff (All reviews)
I have never seen any other anime that has had such a great impact on me, and I don't expect to find any either. Koi Kaze is simply outstanding in the way it handles this story, which is very much taboo in our society.

First of all, Koi Kaze lacks all those annoying anime clichés that usually put me a bit off when watching a series. There are no girls who are supposed to be 15 but act like they are 10 and speak with the voice of a toy rabbit. Instead, we get a realistic portrayal of a teenage girl who actually acts naturally. read more
Jul 15, 2011
NeverKnowsBest26 (All reviews)
Amongst all the adrenaline-pumping action, zany comedy, melodrama, and over-the-top lunacy of anime, there are a rare few series that go out of their to seriously deal with sensitive issues. Koi Kaze is one such series. It is a gentle, honest, and ultimately heart-breaking story that deals with an issue most other shows would avoid (or in the case off anime, play of as a joke). Needless to say the exploration of taboo is not something everyone enjoys. However, Koi Kaze explores its issue with a maturity and truthfulness that makes it a true gem.

The issue in question is incest (with a large age difference read more
Aug 24, 2009
ralphy0103 (All reviews)
Koi Kaze (13 Episodes)

There's only one way to put this series and that's simply amazing. The series Koi Kaze is one of those rare gems that truly stimulate the human mind and lets it's audience in on the real nature of life and how something like incest that might be grotesque to some can actually be something so beautiful. I'll admit I was a bit skeptical at first but Koi Kaze demonstrated how a masterpiece should convey it's characters feelings, emotions, and problems.

Koi Kaze is about an ordinary man named Koshiro who works as a wedding planner.He lives at home with his father and goes read more
Feb 20, 2008
AironicallyHuman (All reviews)
Let me start this review by saying that Koi Kaze is the most depressing anime I have seen. A love that cannot blossom does just that gradually throughout the series, with the viewers’ sense of dread building along with the story. This is not for kids.

There are MINOR spoilers when describing the story/characters below. Nothing too major but I thought I would mention it in case the reader wants to go in knowing near to nothing.

::Plot::

The plot of Koi Koze is very simple -- A brother and a sister who haven't seen each other since they were very little start living together (along with their read more
Nov 13, 2013
Jodyqt (All reviews)
I for one am a person that likes to judge a situation based on my own personal experiences, but how far can I judge a scenario based on MY OWN experiences? The more I look into many tropes, the more I begin to realize that my own incentives on a situation can be appallingly naive and to truly understand certain scenario's, you truly need to see the bigger picture. Koi Kaze is one show where none of my personal incentives and experiences could have prepared me for its outcome.

Perhaps it is Koi Kaze's brutal honesty on the subject matter that it explores that makes this read more
Jan 16, 2011
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Koi Kaze’s premise is not a conventional romance title. The series is an exploration on incest, one of the biggest societal taboos of humanity and it is sure to make many people uncomfortable upon first seeing it. I went through that feeling when I first heard of the series in 2005. And in an e-mail reply I got back from Koshiro’s English dub actor Patrick Seitz in that same year, it was surprising to him that the title was even licensed and distributed in America. Here’s a passage from said e-mail that I’ve kept for a while now:

“When Liam, the director, told me about the read more
Jan 24, 2009
Pinktiarapanda (All reviews)
I thought this anime was EXQUISITE. Yes, the topic of incest makes me a little uncomfortable but i really wanted to open up to the story so I put aside my preconceptions and just watched the anime through.
I must say that if watched with an open mind, it is very very touching, mind opening and heart wrenching. The characters know damn well what they're doing and the risks and taboos associated with their relationship and this moves the anime into being a tear jerking testament of the character's inner struggles with accepting their feelings... and having the courage to follow them.

Story
As I've read more
Sep 15, 2019
literaturenerd (All reviews)


Welp...this is going to be a controversial review. Yet, I feel I have to write it. I heard that Koi Kaze was a very beautiful and moving romance, so I put it on my watch list. I just finished "His and Her Circumstances", and I loved that one so much I wanted to start a new romance anime. Koi Kaze isn't exactly what I went in expecting.

Can a talented artist make any foul subject beautiful? That's one of the things Charles Baudelaire experimented with in Flowers of Evil. Within that collection, there is a poem called "Une Charogne" or "The carcass". The poem was read more
Jul 17, 2016
Phantomhive (All reviews)
Did you guys even watch the anime. What's with everyone calling it "beautiful" , lets ignore the taboo subject for a moment. The art was ugly, Koshiro looked like the pleasure face meme half the time and I couldn't stop laughing. Nanoka looked like your basic moe girl and to that one reviewer who said she was a realisitc portrayal of a 15 year old, I hope you never get close enough to an actual 15 year old to find out they are not like this at all. There was a scene of a bicycle rolling down the street and the wheels weren't moving read more
Oct 19, 2014
Bambikill (All reviews)
*Might contain very minor spoilers*

I just watched this show in a marathon and felt I had to write something about it. Most reviews have said what I feel, but I want to add a couple of things.

My large Point is; This story is for adults (or at least kids 15 or older).
It takes a mature mind to understand the complexity of the feelings conveyed in this anime (and manga).
I think it's perfectly fine for someone younger than that to watch it, but I really don't think they will understand the depth and agony.

And agony there is. I was in something close to physical read more
Nov 19, 2007
RanKizama (All reviews)
Koi Kaze is an heartfelt drama that touches on the taboo subject of incest (love between siblings). What would otherwise be discarded as a revolting subject, is brought to life with soft artwork and supreme storytelling.

The artwork consists of soft lines with a pastel coloring system to provide a relaxing atmosphere for the viewer. It provides a pleasant change to the traditionally anime appearance. The backgrounds are well painted, yet still allow the characters to blend in nicely. The character animations themselves are pleasant and soft, yet still do nicely to express any and all emotions that they go through.

The sounds and music are read more
Jul 4, 2013
zvintro (All reviews)
Can you suspend your sense of morality for 13 episodes?

If so, you're in for something special. Koi Kaze is a hidden gem that doesn't get the attention it deserves.

You're reading this review because maybe you heard about this show from someone else. Maybe you stumbled across this randomly while searching for shows like Kiss x Sis or Yosuga No Sora. Well, if you're like me, a sucker for great romance stories, look no further. This is a unique show that pulls you into its world and doesn't let you go until the very end.

What is it about? It's the story of a 27-year-old man who read more
Mar 31, 2019
captjoe213 (All reviews)
Robert's Too Late Reviews coming at ya! As usual, we're dealing in the dub version. This time we're not going to be able to do a spoiler free review, as the very subject matter that Koi Kaze covers is integral to whether or not its appropriate for your tastes. The quick of it is that if you don't mind uncomfortable taboos, then there's a solid story to be had here, and I recommend it with the taboo reservation, if you want to go in 'blind'. Will the siblings of Koi Kaze make the RTLR wall of indecency? Let's throwdown this hoedown.

Story: 8
Let's get the read more
Apr 20, 2015
RecklessPeggy (All reviews)
When one thinks of the topic of incest, the reception is either "Ew the fuck is wrong with you" or "Ch'ya man, I'd bang your sister's brains out if I were you" either way they are still both immature. What happens though if you utilize the theme of incest in a more mature way. You get an anime I like to call, Koi Kaze, so grab your siblings and hold them tight but not too tight and let's begin with the review.

Koi Kaze was produced by ACGT who created Kino’s Journey and Freezing, and is directed by Omori Takahiro who directed Baccano and read more
May 15, 2008
Akaike (All reviews)
I just had to write a review for Koi Kaze as its been replaying in my mind for the whole day. Koi Kaze is probably one of the most intense anime that I have seen... ever. But this is based completely upon the subject matter of the series. The growing sense of "do they or don't they" that is created with each passing episode is possibly the only thing that actually kept me watching - despite the short 13 episode span.

Ok, so first off - let's start at the beginning. The protagonist of the story, Koshiro, is a twenty-something man who read more
Aug 22, 2010
Maur (All reviews)
I did not dislike Koi Kaze. I want to phrase it this way to emphasize that this is a hard show to like and difficult to recommend. Unless you have an open mind and a strong tolerance for possibly offensive material this is a pass. Most people have no interest in a story about incestuous and possibly pedophilic relationships. Myself, I just happened to be curious as to how responsibly (or irresponsibly) the show handled this subject matter. Those caveats out of the way, to its credit, I thought Koi Kaze handled the dramatic elements very well. It dragged on a little at parts, but read more
Sep 12, 2008
nyuu911 (All reviews)
Koi Kaze is an incest anime, so if that already turns you off well then don't watch this anime. I personally don't like incest anime but this was very good.

The story in Koi Kaze is absolutly heart wrenching. A man who hasn't seen his sister in a long time runs into her and doesnt even realize who it is. When he finds out however that it is his sister he still can't shake his feelings towards her. So he goes into a sort of depression because he feels like a very sick person for loving his sister in a way that you shouldn't. Most of read more
Jan 19, 2017
Dream_Arc (All reviews)
I approached Koi Kaze with an open mind towards the incestuous relationship between Koshiro and Nanako and found that I just can't understand why people are saying it's a masterpiece. I pretty much forced myself to watch through all thirteen episodes. Of course, it wasn't the incest that really ruined the anime for me, but the, excuse my language, shitty character that Koshiro was.

The anime yells out if not, slams it to our faces on how society frowns upon incestuous relationahips. Koshiro, who in my opinion was a spoiled brat when his childhood was shown and was also very immature for his age throughout the read more
May 3, 2018
Akko_Berserk (All reviews)
-Note: English is not my native language, I apologize for possible mistakes. (Review in English and Spanish)

For starters I really liked the serious and realistic approach to the story, as this kind of stories are often seen a lot in the anime or manga, but more focused on the fan service with humor included and in only putting topic morbid to sell more, and leaving everything at the end in the same nothing or rather without treating it in a realistic way, but here the author had the courage not only to pose a story with a realistic theme and that many find it uncomfortable, read more
Nov 27, 2008
cinnamonberry (All reviews)
This anime may not be suitable for everyone, it takes a taboo subject as main theme: incest. The story is well narrated with a lot of still shots, reflecting the conflict of the main character who falls in love with his younger sister. The music is very good and the art is nice. If you like character driven stories with strong conflicts then you may like it.