Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Layton Kyouju to Eien no Utahime


Alternative Titles

English: Professor Layton and the Eternal Diva
Synonyms: Professor Layton and the Eternal Songstress, Professor Layton: The First Movie
Japanese: レイトン教授と永遠の歌姫

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Dec 19, 2009
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: Viz Media
Studios: OLM, P.A. Works
Source: Game
Genres: Adventure, Mystery
Duration: 1 hr. 39 min.
Rating: PG - Children

Statistics

Score: 7.661 (scored by 11,058 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #12492
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3092
Members: 19,964
Favorites: 119

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 21, 2010
Archaeon (All reviews)
Game adaptations seem to be a bit of a tricky subject for most anime studios for some reason. There are numerous examples of a perfectly good game being turned into mediocre show for no other reason than to cash in on the game's popularity. Part of the problem stems from the mistaken belief that fans of a particular game will spend their hard earned cash on a sub par representation of it, and while there are people who will buy the anime adaptation, the resulting income barely justifies the cost of making the show in the first place.

Not all adaptations are bad though. While many read more
Jul 22, 2010
kindergraph (All reviews)
There seems to be some great misconception among the general viewership that a work of film needs to be bursting at the seams with blood and sex to be “mature”. More people will see a film that wears an R rating like a badge of honour on a weathered veteran than will see Professor Layton and the Eternal Diva and films like it, and it’s their loss.

‘Eternal Diva’ is the first in a planned series of anime films based on the Professor Layton series of puzzle games. Though the games aren’t for everyone, the movie takes place years before the games’ timeline (with the exception read more
Dec 3, 2010
Hanaji (All reviews)
I'd have to tell you one thing, Finishing this anime made me feel like I finished Lupin III and the Castle of Cagliostro all over again, and that actually says much, considering the fact that overall, I consider Lupin III and the Castle of Cagliostro the best anime I've ever seen.

It all starts with Prof. Layton and sidekick Luke being invited to an opera by a very important person who happens to be a former acquaintance of Prof. Layton, Seeing that this is a Layton movie, Things suddenly go awry the moment the whole performance is finished, puzzles ensue.

The score, as heard on all the read more
Sep 30, 2012
Tyfighter (All reviews)
Let’s not beat around the bush, Professor Layton and the Eternal Diva is one of the good video game movies. I would even dare to say that it’s worth buying! I was scratching my head when I first saw this on my way to Japan one year during the flight. Fortunately, the film had English subtitles so I could understand the plot. When I was done watching it, I was pleasantly surprised.

One of the best factors of this movie is the story. It’s an original story that wasn’t based on any of the video games and it is supposed to be canon with the games’ read more
Jan 5, 2014
Cyclonestar (All reviews)
Okay,I've been a Professor Layton fan for ages and when I heard about the movie,I got curious.I found wonderful reviews about it,even it being given a 10/10 about 900 times or so.I thought "Is is really that good?" as I know Professor Layton never fails in terms of the story so I finally got to watch the movie.Did I like it?Did I hate it?I'm here to tell you...

Story 9/10
The story to this movie is spectacular.It was very well written and had an explination for all the puzzles,unlike in the games. The only flaw I had with it was in the end,I was left with a read more
Mar 17, 2019
GlassPufferfish (All reviews)
How do you appropriately adapt a game into a film? The UK/US market have been highly unsuccessful, but this adaptation shows the key to making a good video game film- a love of the source.
Layton Kyouju to Eien no Utahime, aka Professor Layton and the Eternal Diva, was my first flirty encounter of films from groups other than Ghibili. Since childhood I have been a passionate fan of the games, and I feel that passion came from the creators. The soundtrack of this film, the key focus, is perfect, inflicting nostalgia within each piece- that includes the original key score!
Nostalgia is nurtured inside the heart, read more
Apr 16, 2018
crunchyyogurt (All reviews)
I loved every second of this movie!
I think I've watched this movie over 25 times already. I'm a big fan of Professor Layton and this was such a gift. Oh my god.

story 9
I actually want to give the story a 10/10 because it's such a good story. The mystery they had to solve was really fascinating and thrilling. The reason I gave it a 9 is because it was so hard to understand the first few times I was watching it. In the games, I usually got the story but the movie was a little hard to understand. Especially when I watched it when I read more
Jul 4, 2014
Xowlreed (All reviews)
Well, its not that I'm surprised at all.
The Professor Layton games are THE best games I have played. Ever.
And, just like the games, this movie's storyline is downright epic, and the music is awesome (and pretty much any other adjective similar to EPIC that you might think of).
I think this movie should been more known, but of course, pretty much everybody that has watched it did it 'cause of the games.
So, my "advise" is not only for you to watch this movie but also to play the games because they are not the average games you see around. Just like this movie, they focus read more