Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Sora no Manimani


Alternative Titles

English: At The Mercy of The Sky
Synonyms: Chuu no Manimani
Japanese: 宙のまにまに

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 7, 2009 to Sep 22, 2009
Premiered: Summer 2009
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 10:30 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Studio Comet
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.131 (scored by 14,458 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #32882
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2293
Members: 35,484
Favorites: 65

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 24, 2009
Archaeon (All reviews)
One of my pet gripes about anime and manga is the over-abundance of school settings used throughout both mediums. Over the last few years there has been an increase in the number of stories that are based in or around a school, and while the majority of them are nothing more than mediocre offerings, some of them turn out to be rather good.

It's unfortunate then that, of the good ones, many don't get the recognition they deserve.

Sora no Manimani (lit. Sport of the Air, not "At the Mercy of the Sky"), is based on the manga by Kashiwabara Mami that began in November 2005 read more
Oct 11, 2009
porsche (All reviews)
I’m quite surprised that there have been only a few reviews for this well-made, yet somewhat-underrated series.

If you like astronomy and want to learn more about some stargazing basics, this series “inspires” and is perhaps an anime of choice. (At least for me, I started stargazing using the techniques I learned from the show.) On the other hand, if you are not that into the subject, you may not enjoy it at all.

Story:
Sora no Manimani is a romance comedy, slice-of-life anime with an astronomy theme. The story involves a bookworm (Saku Ooyagi) who really hates outdoor activities, but was coerced into follow read more
Jul 28, 2009
iluvnatsume (All reviews)
Preliminary
I love love this new series. You'll laugh out loud 12:00am in the morning watching this, disturbing your sleeping roomates.. well at least i did hahha!!! Very well drawn characters and I look forward to the story line. It's slightly like 'It started with a kiss' told in the guy version, only he is not as mean; with a humor like 'honey to clover' and it's just refreshing watch slice of life story.. I love the main characters they are soooooo funny! You JUST HAVE to watch this!!
Oct 16, 2009
emp2907 (All reviews)
Ok. 1st I shall review this anime as an anime lover. I have one word to describe this anime. Underrated. Some people don’t even give a second glance when they hear it is about astronomy. What’s so nice about looking at stars? Boring… However, that is not the case. You DO NOT have to know anything about astronomy or possess any interest about astronomy to enjoy watching Sora no Manimani. (You may just watch it for the comedy).

However, do consider this question. If right now, in the night, there is a telescope placed directly in front of you, pointing towards the moon, would you be read more
Aug 17, 2009
FallinG_StaR (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is the International Year of Astronomy 2009, and what better way to get to know about astronomy than watching some anime about it. XD

I was a bit reluctant about watching this anime, but I think I did the right choice. It's a funny story and you spend your time laughing and at the same time learning something new.

For people who like comedy, romance and slice of life anime this should be probably on your "plan to watch" list.
Feb 6, 2010
Romie-chan (All reviews)
I watched this series becuase it was recommended to me. I'm so glad I watched it.

~Story 9/10~
The story was great. Watching stars with friends after coming back from a 5 year break. Nothing better than that. However, I was expecting and wanting more romance. But nothing I can do about that. :P

~Art 10/10~
The Art and Animation was superb. I can't believe that someone could portray the stars and the sky so beautfiully in an animation. I could swear that every star in our sky was in this anime. Like their goal was no star left behind.

~Sound 10/10~
With the beautiful star-lit sky, include the beauitful music read more
Jun 28, 2011
kingofthedark (All reviews)
This anime have very nice story and characters.The story is a little bit a cliche.I already watch 4th episode and i am a little confused.I can't understand why Ooyagi returns to his hometown after seven years study in one of the biggest city in Japan.What's the point!?!?Why he do that?!WHY!!??After all,at the first school day he is in the middle of the school yard and he is standing on over 400m from Mihoshi and he whisper her name and she heard him!?What the hell!?No way...I can't understand....i will watch next episodes and i will share my opinion.
read more
Dec 11, 2013
LiLSatania (All reviews)
Do you love stars? if yes, then this anime is for you...Just finished re-watching this anime, my mp3 player played the OP song "super Noisy Nova" by Sphere that's why i decided to re-watch it. I love the songs of the group Sphere, good OP songs can sometimes attract viewers, well that always happen to me :D
Story
This is about Ooyagi Saku, a boy who's re-united with his childhood friend who loves stargazing named Akeno Mihoshi. This anime focus around the activities of the astronomy club where Ooyagi was forced to join because of its low member count. There's a little comedy and school romance too, read more
Jan 21, 2012
Mantzy (All reviews)
I never expected to like this.

Okay, judging by the ratings that I put in the list above (story 7, art 7, sound 6, characters 6) you'd think "meh, this wasn't great, a bt so so". BUT my anime-loving brethern, you'd be wrong.

I might be a little biased as I am also a stargazer (nothing beats seeing certain sights in the night sky, which the characters agreed with me) but this anime has a great feel good factor. It just made me feel "aww" over the whole thing. The story is pretty basic, art wasn't as good as it could have read more
Nov 21, 2015
LoveAnime93 (All reviews)
Sora No Manimani an anime that gives an insight into stargazing, the show itself is relaxing and doesn't really stand out from the other anime in this field.

For an anime that is stated to have romance, its not straight in your face and you have to look for it, its simple to follow and you learn a lot from it i.e all the star constellations.

I personally found it to be an enjoyable, relaxing and easy going anime, that will make you smile and potentially make you wonder about the greater universe.

The music and art make up for character development which i found lacked in read more
Aug 31, 2012
Degran (All reviews)
Sora no manimani was very relaxing. It didn't have the best comedy I've seen but it was still pretty funny.

The plot isn't something unrealistic. Anybody could be the main character of this story so it isn't extraordinary but I never got bored. I kept wanting to see more of their activities.

The dialogue could be hilarious at times and the voice acting was better than most anime.
Everything was drawn pretty well and light and dark were simulated perfectly (which is important because a lot of scenes were at night). They also used some special effects for the stars and the constellations.

The best proof I have to read more
Oct 16, 2009
ZerOne01 (All reviews)
Well...it's all about the star. Great romantic and comedy story for who love stars since childhood. Lot of useful astronomy information could be gathered and should be continue in season 2 as well. The storyboard are good, eventhough its just like a normal anime but the stars make it unique. Thus, it is a great anime as well.