Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Needless


Alternative Titles

English: Needless
Japanese: ニードレス

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 3, 2009 to Dec 11, 2009
Premiered: Summer 2009
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.401 (scored by 42,829 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #19912
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #783
Members: 98,683
Favorites: 497

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 19, 2009
Skadi (All reviews)
Typically shounen style action series are not usually my thing. I find them to be completely silly and juvenile and cater to a demographic that I am just not a part of. The posturing and trash talking, the ridiculous reversals of fortune, and the long drawn out nature of the fighting usually cause me to lose interest. Honestly I am surprised this appeals so much to teenage males, who typically have the attention span of a goldfish. However, initially Needless seemed to be different, and appeared as more of a parody and comedy with an extremely enjoyable female lead. Eventually read more
Aug 29, 2010
Kvakond (All reviews)
Needless is not for everyone, but it is a fantastic show as long as you watch it for what it is and are able to enjoy it for what it is. Still, while it was still airing I got the feeling that most people had misconceptions.

First of all, Needless is not a shounen. Needless is a shounen-parody. Or actually if I stick to proper genres I would agree that it's a seinen, and the reason why it is "full of shounen clichés" is because it makes fun of those classic elements by overacting them till they reach grotesque levels. It's important to understand that that read more
Oct 10, 2009
bob1191 (All reviews)
Preliminary
NEEDLESS to say....

While Needless bears many similarities to a previous anime, Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann, I feel that these comparisons are unfair and often lead to many people rating this series down. Comparing one's work of art with the Mona Lisa is an unfair one, after all.

Needless begins off on a very good note, full of high-octane energy and very manly characters. While it is admittedly similar to Gurren Lagann, it really stands in a class of its own. The story... what story? Fans of this series aren't really interested in the story, or at least in my point of view. Its a generic setting read more
Jul 21, 2009
brass2themax (All reviews)
Preliminary
NOTE: I have not read the manga, so manga readers can go to the manga page for this show and talk about it there. This review is for the anime only.

Although I've only seen 3 episodes at this point, I think I've seen enough to write a fair review. I'll update it later of course to reflect the future scope of the story, because at this time it's still not completely clear what's really going on. Besides the fact that we know Simeon is evil, what the Needless are, and that they are after Adam Blade.

STORY: 7 (Good)

The story so far is typical of a read more
Oct 30, 2009
unellmay (All reviews)
Preliminary
I feel this show hasn't been getting the love it deserves and I think the only way to rectify this is with a semi thought out and heartfelt review so here I go
(it's the first one I ever wrote so be gentle)

Story

Okay now get this
it's about bad ass muscle-bound lolicon loving mutant Priest dude
who lives in Japan after several countries decided to bomb them for some reason and so everyone got super powers.

He fights an evil organisation filled with other muscle-bound mutant dudes
and some hot 6 year olds girls who also have superpowers
this organisation also has a bunch of bad ass robots that hunt read more
Jul 29, 2009
Rub_My_Fanny (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a story about a lone survivor from a revolutionary group who meets up with a priest and a crazy woman, in a turbulent time where fragments give super powers to humans. They are known as the needless.
Upon seeing the opening sequence of this anime I thought it had potential, I liked the music they chose and the intensity I felt from it. Deeper into the episode I realized I had just been played. It felt like you got set up for a blind date by your friend and see this fine ass woman walking your way and she moves closer to read more
Oct 12, 2009
Panty (All reviews)
Preliminary
When I first watched Needless, I thought the first few seconds in "Blah blah blah, story line, narrating, etc..." But then out of nowhere, "WE'RE MODERN STRANGE COWBOYS!" The moment I heard this song, I knew I may just have found my new favorite anime. Which leads me to say this, the music and overall sound in this series is BEYOND AMAZING! Sound (10)

As for that "Blah blah blah, story line, narrating, etc..." it is pretty much the gist of the entire story. I suppose settings after World War III are pretty common and that the series is kind of like a mix of Scryed read more
Jan 13, 2010
ReylandAZ (All reviews)
There are probably a ton of things that could be said about Needless, but in the spirit of this series we will just narrow it down to something simple. Needless! is a show you will either like for what it is, or hate it for the very same reasons.

Needless is a pretty simple show with an equally simple concept. Have a mix of characters with noticeable personalities brawl it out in a span of 24 episodes, accompanied by some great art, fanservice, GAR, gore, comedy and a fast phased metal soundtrack that won't fail to get your blood pumping.

In a future where Tokyo has read more
May 14, 2011
Blind_Guardian (All reviews)
NEEDLESS was one of the first anime I started watching as it was airing, when I first got into streaming new shows via fansubs. The shininess of watching brand-new shows hours after airing in Japan still hadn't worn off for me, so that may have somewhat influenced my opinion of the show. Regardless, NEEDLESS is a crazy, action-packed, explosion- and fanservice-filled ride through a post-apocalyptic wasteland straight out of Fist of the North Star or sCRYed.

My reviews have gotten a lot of 'Unhelpfuls', so I'm gonna try and stick with the usual format and see if that's more palatable.

Story - 6/10

Unfortunately, this is read more
Aug 30, 2009
JustRad (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ever since Kenshiro informed Zeed and his gang they were already dead, the badass traveling a post-apocalyptic wasteland (shirts optional) looking for ass to kick has been a staple of anime, to the point that nowadays it's almost always a parody.

Needless continues the trend of parodying the genre, by including something almost all anime seem to have nowadays, moe fanservice.

STORY: Overall the story is nothing special, it's the same thing we've seen before. The action tends to be done fairly well, albeit usually fairly one sided. The only thing that holds it back from being a 7 is the tendency to needlessly (pun read more
Nov 21, 2015
VIKINGUBERMENSCH (All reviews)
May contain spoilers:

people on MAL seriously underrate this show,yes the plot is simple and a few plot holes BUT THIS IS NOT AN ANIME YOU THINKING ABOUT SERIOUSLY.this is a show that that is filled with GAR,explosions,panty shots,great music, and humor almost similar to one punch man.it never tries to be more than that(at least until the manga).overall, all it does is become what anime should be:FUN.people who miss the thrill and GAR if TTGL and KLKshould look no further.

Story:6
MC and his group are being hunted down by an organization called SIMEON.they kidnap the main chick and so the group storms into the HQ,beats all read more
May 29, 2010
Caboose (All reviews)
I have to say that this is the worst anime that I have seen in a while and I'm surprised I made it through the whole thing. The only redeeming quality of this series is the main character Adam Blade who is just entertaining to watch.

Story:
Cliche and predictable are how I would describe it. It tries to throw a few twists at you but I saw them coming far in advance. It tries very hard to be epic and over the top but lacks a well thought out story

Art:
Animation was pretty clean, but the fact that characters cloths would regenerate and wounds would be healed read more
Jan 4, 2010
ringoo4 (All reviews)
There are some animes that will end of being forgotten from people’s memory, and be marked as ‘generic’ anime. We call those anime, ‘Needless’.

To describe what needless is; it focuses on multiple theme of being manly, being comical, being serious, being eechi but also being ridiculous itself. It’s anime for ‘GAR’ I can say. Spammed action sequences take majority of this anime, and there are tons of plot holes even on those actions. It follows typical shonen style plot and full of clichés. There is nothing good about anime except the fact that you will actually enjoy it regardless to how horrible it is.

Actually, it’s read more
Jul 15, 2012
Samstaforcesama (All reviews)
Alright, this is my first review, I hope this goes well.

When I first saw this anime here, I thought that it would be just another shounen beat up anime, which I haven't really even watched, because I have always kinda shyed away from them. Well, I decided to give it a try and began watching this. The voice actors were for the most part pretty unknown ones to me, they haven't been in any other animes that I have seen, at least ,not in any positions from which I would remember them.

It soon became pretty clear, that the anime isn't your typical shounen beat up read more
Feb 9, 2015
Marthgun (All reviews)
May contain minor spoilers, will leave out story spoilers.

I'd like to sum this up at the beginning, but don't want to give it away just incase you haven't seen it.

The story was actually the best part, in a sense. Needless is about people who have supernatural powers called fragments that allow them to do wild shit. The first 7 episodes of this are amazingly badass, it really sucks you in and the story just takes off quick and runs full steam ahead. I can't really elaborate on the story without giving too much away, but a group of Needless go take on read more
May 2, 2011
Jekmyster (All reviews)
Well, i hadn't had this much fun watching an anime for some time. It was first aired in Dec, 2009 but only found this particular anime about 2 weeks ago. Didn't watch it right away, but when i watched the first episode, i couldn't stop watching.

Very few Anime's hook me like this one. It reminded me of Gurren Laggan for some reason. I'm not very versed in the Anime lingo, i cant tell you that this is a seinen or shounen or what not. I just watch them cuz i enjoy watching anime. Doesn't really matter to me what it's called do don't expect anything read more
Sep 10, 2013
Yamada2 (All reviews)
Needless


This anime is about the aftermath of a World War 3. A bomb was dropped on Tokyo city and as a result, some people gained strange powers like controlling fire or water or having great speed or strength and stuff like that (much similar to that in Sekirei). These people were given the name Needless (which is also the anime's title if you hadn't noticed). This anime is a perfect combination of action and comedy together with time to time ecchi.

The story in this anime is quite good. It's basically about a group of Needless fighting another group which is oppressing them. The story has read more
Apr 11, 2012
gunslinger90 (All reviews)
if you like x men then you will like needless. needles are mutant humans with powers.
the story.
is great its about this guy named Adam blade and he has to fight the dug company know as Simeon. the story is 10 out of10
the art.
the art is bright and colorful and great for a 2009 anime . 10 out of10
sound.
sound was very good and it has a very good dub. sound 10 out of 10
the characters are very good and funny
and Adam arc light is a very great bad guy
and one of my most fave characters and funniest is eve . read more
Dec 12, 2009
firebender (All reviews)
Preliminary
First off to compare this anime to gurren lagan is absurd...Ok i can see the similarities in the characters of Kamina and Father but other than that, nothing alike. There is no real storyline, and the little that is there is not amazing..It was interesting enough for me to watch the whole series. I love anime with action and this is action packed, with cool abilities for each character. I do enjoy that but to compare it to Gurren Lagan..give me a break, that was still to this day one of the best anime I have seen, and although I enjoyed needless read more
Jul 30, 2016
PUR3ICE (All reviews)
Preliminary
this looks like tenga toppa gurren langanfrom art but mixed special attacks every half minute, 2sec of emotions,there is an old guy that looks like from nintendo as a scientist, a stupid baka yelling hoe that screams arround, is annoying and a wanna be half naked god loving priest senpai guy that never dies.
A kid that lost his sister and acts like he is sad for 10secs, but then completly forgets that 399 of his friends died in a sec.
Basicly the story quality is on a hentai level but without the hentai part
i wonder how you can enjoy that stuff, but maybee if read more