Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Futari wa Precure


Alternative Titles

English: Pretty Cure
Synonyms: We Are Pretty Cure
Japanese: ふたりはプリキュア

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 49
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 1, 2004 to Jan 30, 2005
Premiered: Winter 2004
Broadcast: Sundays at 08:30 (JST)
Licensors: 4Kids Entertainment
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 7.041 (scored by 10,211 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #36072
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2592
Members: 27,755
Favorites: 180

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 28, 2015
ktulu007 (All reviews)
We've reached the end of magical girl month, so let's dive back into the Precure franchise. It wasn't that long ago that I looked at Doki Doki Precure, one of the more recent installments in the franchise. This time let's go far, far back to 2004 when Toei animation first started the franchise with Futari wa Precure. Was the series as good back then or is this one of those franchises that got a rough start? Let's take a look and find out.

Story:

Young Misumi Nagisa is in her room when she notices falling stars. One of them crashes into her room, hits her in the read more
Mar 6, 2010
Selphie- (All reviews)
Preliminary
NOTE: let me just say that i watched the Dub on YTV first,then i started with the subbed version since i was tired of waiting for the new episodes on YTV.

Ok.Pretty cure.How did i start watching it? Oh thats right.Because of the lack of anime on Bionix,YTV put pretty cure on.


The story is your typical Magical Girl anime. Save the world with frilly outfits,abnormal powers,and beat up bad guys. But there is one aspect of pretty cure that sets itself apart from every other magical girl anime out there. The fighting. the fighting is much more shonen (like punches,kicks,throws) yes there is a huge amount read more
Oct 28, 2008
candoh (All reviews)
Preliminary
I am on episode 26 and thus far it is a fine show. the story is your typical mahou shoujo setup with the all the standard fare. i would attribute the story's downfall to the fact that the target audience for this show is probably that of a much younger age group.

my issue with the "story" would be that there is never a time when you can emotional invest yourself in the lives of these magical girls, and that is a real shame because Honoka and Nagisa, as character types, have great potential. i wish i could say the same for their furry friends... at read more
May 9, 2017
TripleSRank (All reviews)
Don't make this your first Precure.

I had mixed feelings toward this series even beyond the halfway point before I made up my mind on what I thought of it, and those thoughts never really changed or felt challenged afterwards: that this is a wholly average, yet enjoyable series.

The show developed a good bond between Nagisa and Honoka and fleshed out their respective personalities quite well. This extended to the fairies also, which is more noteworthy in Mepple's and Popo's cases because I didn't like either of them at first. The villains' personalities and motives fluctuated a lot in quality, but overall I thought they were read more
Nov 12, 2011
VanillaIceCream (All reviews)
I'm a big fan of the magical girl genre, so I decided it was about time I watched Pretty Cure, a show which has had 7 seasons so far. I don't know if the other six seasons are any good, but the first one certainly wasn't, which has put me off watching the rest of the show.

Story: 3/10
Basically, Nagisa and Honoka meet Mipple and Mepple and find out that they're the legendary soldiers, Pretty Cure, destined to protect the Garden of Light from the Dark Zone. And that is pretty much it. The entire series is basically filler, with Nagisa and Honoka fighting one enemy read more
Feb 6, 2015
Temere (All reviews)
A lot of the older "fighting hero" type shows have something about them that all the modern day ones do not. While I'm unsure what that is, it always seems to be the 90's shows that entertain me no matter what their target demographic is.

Pretty cure is almost exactly what you'd expect a magical girl anime aimed at pre and early teens, to be. Each and every episode is an excuse to kick ass. However unlike some shows of this age, Pretty Cure ties it all in despite being 49 episodes long, making it seem like there are no fillers and every episode, whether it read more
Jan 2, 2019
MetaThPr4h (All reviews)
I'm not sure how much Toei had planned for Pretty Cure, but I really doubt that, at the time of this review, they expected it to be already close to start its 16th entry with Star Twinkle. In my way to watch all the franchise it finally came the time to tackle the original, that I wouldn't recommend as your first Precure, the fantastic main duo makes this anime well worth a watch and did overall did a great job building the foundation for one of the most successful series in Japan.

The premise is pretty simple yet effective: A big baddie wants to take over read more
Oct 18, 2014
lkagaminer (All reviews)
Let me say, if you like heroines, watch it!
I liked this anime because it was one like I have never seen. I've watched Sailor moon and Powerpuff girls z(and afterwords I started watching Sailor Moon Crystal), but this one stuck out to me.
I honestly don't know why exactly, but maybe because they're basically powerless without each other. They can't even transform by themselves. In Sailor moon, usually not all the sailors are present. In powerpuff girls z, They can kind of survive by themselves, but are still stronger together.
Perhaps it's because there's only two people. In the other animes, there were more people.
Perhaps it's because read more
Nov 18, 2018
IsadoraMassa (All reviews)
The mahou shoujo genre has come a long way since its beginnings in Himitsu no Akko-chan, and today it is almost as wide as pizza topping options. We have series that are cute and series that are dark; series with magic beams of lights and series with mecha piloting; Cardcaptor Sakura: Clear Card-hen and Mahou Shoujo no Ore. Things have changed a lot since the sixties, huh?

One of the stepping stones of these changes is Futari wa Pretty Cure (literally “We Are Pretty Cure”), which started airing in 2004. The first in a franchise that nowadays includes more than fifteen titles, this series was one read more
Sep 1, 2018
Noradora (All reviews)
Futari wa Precure is actually one of the first anime I began watching, but it took me over a year and twice dropping it to actually finish. I'm a big fan of the magical girl genre, and I consider this show to be the absolute example of its tropes; the most basic it can get. That's... not much of a compliment.

Story - 6
Two girls are brought together by fate or something to prevent a generically evil entity from destroying the universe. That's the overarching narrative. Snore. Even for the type of show it is that's uninspired. And so. Much. Filler. The story totally seems like read more
Aug 12, 2015
seriesdoramas (All reviews)
This is the original Pretty Cure serie and is a good season to start Precure. Is weird how can some Precure fans judge this show because this story is great and it shows what Precure is about.
Friendship is the most important thing and the characters portray this very well. The characters´s development is great and there are very emotional and deep episodes. Misumi Nagisa and Yukishiro Honoka are like ying and yang.Nagisa and Honoka didn´t start close from the beginning and had to overcome many obstacles to become the best friends. They complement each other no matter how different they read more
Nov 18, 2011
Akiska (All reviews)
I love magical girl themed anime's and thought i'd give this one a go; My expectations were let down started off pretty well enough.

Story: 4/10
Nagisa and Honoka meet Mipple and Mepple and find out that they're the legendary soldiers, Pretty Cure, destined to protect the Garden of Light from the Dark Zone and rest was fillers. I enjoyed the story but after a few ep's got boring and the fight scene's were becoming dull repeating the same battle movement and till half way through 1st one marble screw! 2nd rainbow marble screw such creativity and really original. Most of the ep's were just nagisa and read more
Oct 3, 2010
SoraXNagisa (All reviews)
(as written on the Hateful Anime Truth on Facebook)

Don't judge me on this line alone; I love some obscure anime. And thus I chanced upon Futari wa Pretty Cure about 6 years ago in a newspaper review in The New Paper. The preview picture looked a bit intriguing to me, so I gave it a shot.

Basically, what do you get when you pit your typical Mahou Shoujo anime, with a genius directing mind? You get what Sailor Moon failed to do. Pretty Cure is one of those easy-to-skip over animes because of its looks alone, but when you find out it's done by the directing read more
Mar 8, 2011
11AM (All reviews)
Synopsis & Plot:
Pretty Cure is the first Precure! of the Precure! series. It features Nagisa Misumi and Honoka Yukishiro, two girls of Verone Junior High’s 2nd year Sakura class. One night Nagisa makes a wish to be noticed by boys instead of girls and is greeted by a strange creature named Mepple from the Garden of Light. Honoka finds a box containing a cellphone that turns into Mipple, the Princess of Hope. Mepple and Mipple were sent from the Garden of Light to find Pretty Cure and gather and protect the Seven Prism Stones from the inhabitants of the Dark Zone. From that point on, read more
Mar 6, 2019
Chouquette (All reviews)
I am a big fan of magical girl genre, especially older-style. I kept seeing Pretty Cure for ages and I finally gave it a try. It was a pleasant surprise. The story is in continuation despite being randomish at times, the girls level up in character and they don't magically know what to do from the get go. Very good and fun.

The story is enjoyable. Nothing too special, but interesting regardless.

I truly love the art so it gets a 10 from me as does the sound. I rarily do not skip openings and this one I *never* skipped.

Characters are amazing. I don't know do read more
Oct 23, 2018
Willowpuff (All reviews)
EDIT: Fixed up some writing errors and strange wording
VERY MILD SPOILERS AHEAD
Also: I wrote this at like 11 PM on my phone so it may not


Futari wa Pretty Cure is the first series in an extremely long magical girl franchise, Pretty Cure. To put in perspective how long it is, at the time of this writing, the name of the 16th series had just been announced (Star Twinkle Pretty Cure). Because of this series's popularity, a sequel was created, then another sequel, and another...
In fact, Precure was originally going to be only about 26 episodes and end at what is now the mid-season finale read more
Jun 23, 2014
estta (All reviews)
I'm not much for writing long pieces of writing and stuff but here goes.

I first started watching the anime Futari wa Precure, just after I had wacthed Sailor Moon. For there were some similarities.
In Futari wa Precure, there are two girls who are as different as can be. One is a sporty girl, also a the team captain for her schools lacrosse team. Her name is Nagisa Misumi.
The other girl is a smart girl, who is a bookworm and the leader of her school's science club. Honoka Yukishiro.
These two girls are given some powers to save the world. They mostly kick, punch, a storm attack, read more