Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Nekojiru-sou


Alternative Titles

English: Cat Soup
Japanese: ねこぢる草

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 21, 2001
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Manga
Duration: 32 min.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.381 (scored by 25,390 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #21952
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1816
Members: 50,286
Favorites: 623

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 21, 2008
Blackfred (All reviews)
Every once in a while, a truly magnificent and original anime shows up. Being a media everyone relates with silly characters, a fun story and a little ecchi now and then, the typical anime-lover would get a mild shock from a movie such as this.

Through the film, we follow the cat Nyatto on his quest to reclaim his sister's lost soul. They embark on a strange journey filled with mystery, darkness and disturbing obstacles. There isn't much more to say, really.

Nyatto and his sister - and also a few other characters - were all in Nekojiru Gekijou, the series this film spawned from. Although read more
Dec 4, 2014
Arsene_Lucifer (All reviews)
Cat Soup or Nekojiru-sou in its Japanese title is a lot stranger than its own name makes it out to be. It can be best described if you gave a loony philosopher, who just happened to love cats, some drugs this short film would probably be the result of what they see in their high. A series of abstract ideas presented in such a bizarre manner while seemingly nonsensical is alluring in its strange nature. It is very difficult to make any sense of it or confirm it means anything, but that’s part of what makes this short film have such a strong impression in read more
Apr 14, 2008
aghagjhakjghakg (All reviews)
I have to start with that this is probably THE weirdest movie I have ever seen. And you know what, I loved it. You get completly lost when u watch it but in a good way, but the best thing with this is probably that they made it look like a kids show, but its so harsh in some places that you realise that this is not a kids show.

Story: I liked the story that the Main cat (Nyatto) is trying to help his sister that got her soul removed. but that might just be because I love weird anime.

Art: I just got blown away read more
Sep 20, 2009
niafabo (All reviews)
I was expecting to like this movie. I am a fan of surrealism and of the art movie genre in general. I was sorely disapointed however. Despite all of the rave reviews and excitement around it I could never seem to get myself into the film. At first I tried to analyze every piece of it and work it into some overall theme. The problem is when it comes right down to it there is no theme or overall message present in the movie. It comes off as a jumbled mess of half ideas like they were sitting at the drawing board and decided this read more
Dec 8, 2010
kajia (All reviews)
I hate shows that doesn't make any sense whatsoever. I never cared for trippy insanity such as those found in abundance in "FLCL" and "Dead Leaves"... and "Cat Soup" is about as trippy as they come - it makes me wonder what the hell the producers were smoking when they made this. There is no dialogue for starters, and after the first couple of minutes, there is barely any coherence either, just random scenes flashing across the screen. I just don't get it - what exactly is the point of this kind of anime? The art is ultra simplistic, the story is non-existent, and to read more
Oct 26, 2014
bloge (All reviews)
Cat Soup is one in the list of anime that don't advertise themselves as what they truly are. Others that could be put alongside it are Neon Genesis Evangelion, Madoka Magica, and Alien Nine. Cat Soup presents itself similarly to other shows for young children, featuring cute-looking creatures as the main cast. These shows tend to feature some imaginative events and a journey of some kind, and both of those are still present in Cat Soup. However, Cat Soup should in no way be regarded as a children's show and is, in reality, dark and likely meaningful in its presentation. Cat Soup can also be read more
May 13, 2018
Krunchyman (All reviews)
Well, it was pretty evident from the character designs and the artwork who scripted this short film. None other than the “great” Masaaki Yuasa. I use great in parenthesis, because besides Ping Pong The Animation, I tend to believe his work is a bit overrated (still good, just not great). The Tatami Galaxy, for example, was far from a masterpiece, as it reused tired anime tropes, and revealed its central philosophical thrust — to grasp onto the opportunities that lie in front of you, and stop chasing the rose-colored, “perfect” life — in the very first episode, rendering much of what came read more
Feb 12, 2008
hara_karikitty (All reviews)
I'm not going to lie to you and tell you the film provoked my thoughts in a massive way, I never deeply analyzed the movie but I did find it a gorgeous little story.

I found the simplicity and complexity both coinciding to be more of a focal point than a distraction. The colors are fantastically bright at one point and then disgustingly dank at others which flowed very well with the overall story.

The childlike animation led me to believe the story was going to be of the same ilk, though when it began I realized I was a bit mistaken to say the read more
Jul 17, 2012
Solemnmind (All reviews)
Some anime want to confuse you with complex dialogue or heavy symbolism while others might be difficult to comprehend because of their randomness and nonsensical approach alone. Cat Soup belongs firmly in the second category; the creators themselves have proclaimed that it doesn't really mean anything but the storyline is bizarre enough to demand fair amounts of attention. I see this anime as, above all else, a visual experience and this review exists for the purpose of explaining why.

As far as narration goes, Cat Soup speaks in strict visual language without any traces of verbal communication to convey its plot developments. The core of the read more
Sep 5, 2009
ace52387 (All reviews)
The plot of cat soup is simple, but easy to miss without a small summary, so here is a quick one: a young girl kitten is bed ridden with illness, close to death. Her younger brother sees a spirit take his sister`s soul with it, and he fights to take the soul back. He only gets half of it, which is enough to keep her alive, but brain dead. They set off on a journey to find a flower that will return her to normal. I made the mistake of not reading a synopsis. Because the cats all look alike at first and there`s read more
Mar 10, 2011
astra_moon (All reviews)
It's not easy to explain this anime, but what I think, I will tell you.

The story begins with a house. There live several cat's in that house: mom, dad and 2 kitty's. Their lifes is full of psychological thing. The oldest kitty is sick, cause a demon stole his soul. The youngest child is try to cheer him up by going to a circus, but everything goes wrong...

Yet it does have a bit of a happy atmosphere, even though the story seems a bit sad.

I really like the OVA, because it is so random you can always watch it!^^
Jul 6, 2018
jzmcdaisy (All reviews)
I highly recommend watching the director speak about this short film as required reading. He illustrates everything that it’s about and gave me a greater appreciation for everything that happens. A brother cat trying to get his sister’s soul back from death sounds pretty straightforward no? Among the twisted and surreal events of the film and watching the interview with the director, I was pleasantly surprised to find that the film was about the cruelty of God and life.

There isn’t much about the music other than the dark ambient noise, but the sound effects paired with the animation are something that I was surprised at read more
Mar 20, 2010
LordTeapot (All reviews)
An abstract anime that brilliantly captures the feelings of dreams and nightmares. The music is often lighthearted and causes the viewer to question the seriousness of what he / she is seeing. There is a lot of repeated imagry in this film which has a strange effect on those that notice it. There is also a lot of symbolism. I will not go any further into this but I had a fun time watching the macabre scenes shilst analyzing the possible meanings and links.

I would recommend this to anyone who wants a dream-like anime which never ceases to surprise whoever read more
Jun 19, 2019
inim (All reviews)
TL;DR One episode OVA with a visually told story using surreal religious imaginery. Not so far above your head to be completely obscure, yet artistic with creative scene ideas. Nice, memorable, and quick watch worth your half an hour of time.

*** Story ***
The official synopsis is this: Nyatta, an anthropomorphic kitten, on his travel to the land of the dead and back in an effort to save his sister's soul.

My own summary goes like this. Two dead kitten siblings go on a journey into an afterlife world, experience many scenes with highly symbolic and religious imagery from several religions, such as creation, a flood, read more
Mar 10, 2019
macabre_medley (All reviews)
As a major fan of surrealism, I love this movie more than I can express.

This is exactly what this movie is. An adaptation of an amazing (now deceased, sadly) mangaka who's works centered around her subconscious. Even the characters depicted are based off her dreams, her trademark characters.
Anyone familiar with her stories would not be surprised about the content of this movie.

If you enjoy surreal, dream-like tales and the sort of morbid world that can only come from the subconscious mind, you will love this movie. I've watched it 3, maybe 4 times in the past 6 months. The imagery and mysterious atmosphere of read more
Aug 19, 2018
merynoko (All reviews)
I made an account on here just to write a review for this, since no one else has! This is such a beautiful movie. In my opinion (and I know not many will agree with me but whatever), this by far surpasses any Ghibli movies, as well as Kimi no na wa. Of course there were a few things it could have done better, but honestly, everything was too superb for me to notice many flaws at all.

Art: 10/10. Literally so gorgeous. The vibrant colors and scenery were incredibly majestic and stunning, and the whole time I felt completely immersed. Not to mention, all of read more
Oct 29, 2008
AlmightyED (All reviews)
I really enjoyed this movie. I had seen it before I watched the animated series which is entirely different. In the movie there are many dynamics of influence, scenery, imagery, and philosophical impressions. It follows the story of a small cat trying to get his sisters souls back. Even though it is a short movie it was one that really captivated me.
Nov 13, 2012
DwarfVader (All reviews)
Cat Soup is not something you'll want to read a review of before watching. It's completely pointless, and will make the actual watching less enjoyable. Instead, I'd prefer you to read this AFTER you have finished watching, be it because you want to see others' thoughts or shape your own, or to understand what you've seen or whatnot.

The first thing that comes to mind while watching is that this is not a story told, nor an idea that can be put to words being conveyed, but rather a "journey of the state of mind". I believe this is the best way I can describe the read more
Feb 1, 2017
Fear_the_Reefer (All reviews)
It’s the best of times, it’s the worst of times. It’s a tale of two kitties, and i’m not talking about that abysmal Garfield sequel. Nyako and Nyatta are two sibling kittens living in a quaint little house with their parents, a doting homemaker mommy cat and a lazy, slovenly daddy cat. One day, while the older sister Nyako is fatally ill, her little brother Nyatta accidentily drowns while playing in the bathtub. Death doesn’t come for him, however, as a Japanese grim reaper comes for his sister, who passed moments before him. Taking advantage of this unique opportunity, Nyatta pursues the two, finds them read more
Aug 23, 2015
vigorousjammer (All reviews)
God, this was incredibly strange.
It starts off somewhat mundane, but after the opening moments, each scene ended up taking place in another surreal, abstract setting.
In some ways it's like watching a series of surrealistic paintings come to life. The visuals are absolutely incredible, and everything is animated very nicely.

However, the part where it falls apart for me is the incredible lack of a plot, storyline, or character development. The main characters simply go on this wild adventure through these random lands of insanity and they discover them together with the viewer, without having much of a personality at all, simply being there essentially as a read more