Chrno Crusade
Chrono Crusade
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: Chrono Crusade
Synonyms: Chrno Crusade: Mary Magdalene
Japanese: クロノクルセイド

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Nov 25, 2003 to Jun 10, 2004
Premiered: Fall 2003
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 02:28 (JST)
Licensors: ADV Films, Funimation
Studios: Gonzo
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, DemonsDemons, HistoricalHistorical, RomanceRomance, ShounenShounen, SupernaturalSupernatural
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.691 (scored by 8535785,357 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #10782
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #609
Members: 185,110
Favorites: 2,008

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 30, 2007
toanbui (All reviews)
Reviewer’s Brief Notables: I know that most people often don’t trust or are a little skeptical about a Perfect 10 review, but that is, without any exaggeration, how I feel about Chrno Crusade.
______________________________________________________________

Story:
I first watched Chrno Crusade without any expectations for it whatsoever. After completing the first episode (weeks before I completed the series), I wasn’t really fascinated with it at all. For the time, I just thought this anime was pretty generic and somewhat dull.

I was wrong.
After a few weeks, I was led to completing the series. To make the most general and the most appropriate statement: It was captivating! The story behind read more
Apr 2, 2007
cutepiku (All reviews)
Originally written by Daisuke Moriyama, Chrno Crusade (sometimes translated to Chrono) is an excellent action anime, that is possibly the saddest one I've ever seen.

I created this review, because unlike the one other CC review, I've seen the whole thing, and I appreciate it. Sooo, here's my opinion.

Story
Rosette Christopher, and her little brother, Joshua, two little orphan children, are exploring, when they come across a mysterious cave. Within, a devil named Chrno was living, but the two young children befriend Chrno easily.
One day, Joshua is driven insane by the powers he had already had, and the horns on Chrno, given to him by Aion, read more
Feb 20, 2008
Obediah (All reviews)
This is a short review. This is basically a very driven girl trying to save her brother from being manipulated by the forces of hell. She is a sister in a branch of a military-church sort of deal, and her best friend is a devil. The plot is very interesting, including the questions towards God's involvement, death, and devils, and you can tell that every episode is somehow relating to the overall picture. My only qualm with this amazing anime would be the accent for the "Jewel Witch" (Satella). Being a German and speaking fluent German, and knowing my parents' accents with English... i'd have read more
Jun 19, 2007
jet2r0cks (All reviews)
I was proven wrong again. I am appalled at how much I get wrong impressions, but then again it’s fun to be pleasantly surprised when I find out that the anime I thought was going to be bad, ends up to be something spectacular and memorable.

My first impression was that the show is too serious, and since I don’t like serious themes, I probably won’t like it. I was wrong – I LOVE IT! I even overlooked the blasphemy since it rocked. It was funny when it needed to be funny, it was cute when I needed to go “awww…” It had high energy read more
Apr 24, 2008
Bishounen_Hunter (All reviews)
Apart from the few high-tension moments that come in the latter episodes this anime really has nothing that merits recommendation. It's a good enough series to watch if you are bored....or you have the type of job where you could watch this to while away the hours.

ART/ANIMATION
Art/Animation was done by a big budget company, Gonzo, which usually means there isn't going to be anything lacking by way of animation. I would assume this would be considered a period piece [since it takes place in the 1920s] and as such, a lot of the artistic design was from or inspired from that era: the read more
Nov 20, 2019
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Chrno Crusade is an early 2000s anime based off of a manga by Moriyama Daisuke. The anime version was handled by the folks at Gonzo. Yes, the Bakuretsu Tenshi, Final Fantasy Unlimited & Trinity Blood studio. 

Story:

We open with representatives of the Magdalene order, a religious order that hunts demons, going into action. These are our main characters, Sister Rosette and her daemonic partner Chrno. We quickly learn that Rosette's younger brother, Joshua, was taken to a twisted version of Shibuya to play a reaper's game. I mean, he was kidnapped by a demon named Aion. To search for him, she's formed a pact with her friend, read more
Aug 12, 2008
Yandere (All reviews)
I decided to write another review on Chrno Crusade because my last one wasn't very good for me and considering this is one of my top two favorite anime of all time, I thought it deserved something better.

For the general, loose synopsis, Chrno Crusade is about a young girl named Rosette Christopher, who makes a contract with a demon named Chrno that cannot access his true powers anymore due to reasons in the past and together they are attempting to find Rosette's brother, Joshua, who had something extremely horrible happen to him in the past and he went missing. Rosette works with a church as read more
Apr 12, 2009
the_terrible (All reviews)
There have been numerous stories that take an unusual view of the war between Heaven and Hell and those who fight that war. Some are focused more on their interpretations of the Divine Mission, some more on action and some more on the supernatural.

The focus of Chrono Crusade is on its characters and the relationships they share. Of course there's action, too, and supernatural elements, and a touch of the Divine Mission... but mostly it's about its memorable characters. Rosette Christopher, a nun in the Magdalene Order, has a contract with a devil named Chrono, meaning his power comes from her very soul. The more read more
May 6, 2011
MrReadmen (All reviews)
Preliminary
“Chrno Crusade” is the anime and video game industry’s lame attempt at tricking people who legitimately liked “Chrono Trigger” to give up their hard earned cash in return for satisfying the apparently growing nun fetish in Japan and the West. Considering that this anime has a huge following it seems to illustrate either the appeal of nun T&A to the general anime audience or Chrono Trigger fans not giving two shits about whether the show is related at all to the video game. Though both seem to share the common indifference over the misspelling of “Chrono” in the title (though I hear that it was read more
Oct 16, 2019
-Ryu (All reviews)
WARNING: This review contains spoilers for Chrono Crusade because I'm still a dumbass who doesn't know how to review things without spoiling them.

"Because my time is limited, I don't have time to waste hesitating. That is why I can walk straight ahead. That is why I never stop."

Chrono Crusade is an anime adaptation of Daisuke Moriyama's manga, from the ever controversial and bold studio Gonzo, the series made quite a stir back when it aired in 2003 due to elements such as a taboo romance between a nun and a demon, Christian lore integrated into the plot, religious themes and a tragic finale that still read more
Jun 7, 2008
link9us (All reviews)
Welcome to my Review of Chrono Crusade, this is definitely one of my top 5 rated anime's. I remember the first time I came across this anime was when I was in a anime club where I got free dvd's sent through the mail. I think I checked out a few episodes. They were dubbed though. Viewers beware if you watch this anime, definitely do not watch it dubbed. Its WAY better if you watch this series subbed. I tried giving it a chance until I heard Satala's Dubbed English voice. Her screams were just damaging to the ears lol.

Story:

Chrono Crusade talks about a demon read more
May 22, 2008
MrQ (All reviews)
Preliminary
I thought I was lucky to find the complete set for $30 at movie trading company the other day. I have never been more wrong. In a nut shell this series had lame comedy, lame fan service, a lame story loosely based on Christianity and various mythologies and lame animation.

Animation - You can clearly see the cheapness of the animation from the start. The action uses a lot of choppy fighting (still frame action or a few cells of animation) and the character/monster models are clearly reused with just minor differences. This is ok if its 20 years old. Not for something made read more
Feb 3, 2009
VoidHawk (All reviews)
I admit the animation is well done and the art is beautiful, but that is that.

In the end it is a bad developed idea, shows a very poor knowledge of catholic ethos (if you want to make an anime with this concept you need to at least STUDY what you are trying to use to do it in an artful way. The concept was so intriguing at first..) and with very absurd depictions of said organization. I saw it to the end and deleted it whole afterwards.

The end was also badly ploted and executed.

And do not mistake me for any religious ascet. I read more
Jul 15, 2007
JackCox (All reviews)
Chrono Crusade, what else can be said about this show, it has a perfect mix of comedy and drama, and not to mention the show is incredibly fast paced, I would say that the ending to Chrono Crusade is one of those rare animes that actually gives closure to the show.

The character of Aion (the main villain) is probably one of the best characters I have ever seen in terms of a villain, he isn\'t a cliche villain, he\'s more cunning and he seems to love using others and manipulating people\'s hearts to get what he wants.

I seriously urge people to give the dub a read more
Apr 20, 2019
ArcFloof (All reviews)
I'll make this review somewhat quick. Chrno Crusade was simply an alright series. While it has issues, I enjoyed the series somewhat and if it's on your watchlist and you have nothing else you want to watch, go ahead and give it a go. It's not bad but it isn't great either.
The art was acceptable but I couldn't get over that Kids-WB-saturday-morning-cartoon look. Most animations were crisp and clean but there were corners cut, especially with flying characters (ever flying scene was a static character moving around the screen), and the awkward animations of some side characters.
The story was decent and did suffer read more
Apr 3, 2015
Daah (All reviews)
Well, even with distorted story well and with little explanation about the events, there can forget Chrno Crusade. In my humble opinion, one of the best of the supernatural genre. Well, let the review:

Story (9/10)

Well, as I already mentioned above, the story followed a completely different route from the manga. The story in the anime, it was a little hard to understand and some events were cut from the anime. But does not have much to complain about the story, the story in the anime even not following much of the manga, it was great. I do not know what happened, but the end of read more
May 24, 2019
REC3 (All reviews)
I've been watching and collecting anime, in earnest, for nearly a decade now. I won't be in romance with most of the series, because I've seen them years ago; including this one.

Chrno or Chrono Crusade is a Christian tale about a demon (Chrno) and a pact he makes with the heroine (Rosette Christopher). Rosette and company is in the business of busting demons, until she falls in love with one.

It's a well written narrative, being comedic at times. It has some off color humor, and hints at corruption within religions. The series shines in its comedy, heart, and the read more
Mar 20, 2008
jamesx33 (All reviews)
I am sure as hell glad that I did not put this one down after the first couple episodes. Chrno Crusade had surprised all my expectations, and I'm not talking about the overall art, sound, the quality of the story (not that it's not important), but I'm talking about the enjoyment. After the few couple lagging episodes, you get dragged into some enjoyable moments. Action packed, fast paced, emotional, dramatic, serious, and funny moments characterize the greatness of Chrno Crusade.

The story was good, but not great. The struggles and dark conflicts with demons and mankind may seem interesting read more
Jul 26, 2012
angelsreview (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a really fun anime. I would have to say it’s like Soul Eater if it was more of a real vibe to it. I love how the language was brought back into the roaring 20’s, the English actors did a fine job working on getting the language right even if sometimes I don’t get the language. I don’t like how some of the extras sound a bit like they are in England or Scotland instead of America. This is supposed to be set in America, but I can only understand it if they were immigrants, not police or authority figures.

I fell in read more
Jun 26, 2008
ethann (All reviews)
chrono crusade centers around a girl who made a contract with a demon to help her search fro her brother and how the order for which she works for deals with the situation in the early 1900s.

The story is fantastic. I have never seen anything like it.It inculcates many elements such as supernatural,romance(suttle),comedy,historical,drama. Though the romance that occurs between the characters is not very dramatic it is one of the rare "versions" that is also quite romantic in its own way. I loved the story for how it was able to incorporate the supernatural element into such a life-like story,as if the story itself is read more