Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ristorante Paradiso


Alternative Titles

Japanese: リストランテパラディーゾ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 11
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 9, 2009 to Jun 25, 2009
Premiered: Spring 2009
Broadcast: Thursdays at 02:08 (JST)
Studios: David Production
Source: Manga
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.421 (scored by 9,699 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #20242
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2406
Members: 31,822
Favorites: 130

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 4, 2009
Lorelei (All reviews)
It's been a long time since I sat down and watched something as slow-paced as Ristorante Paradiso. To tell the truth, I was actually longing for a good slice-of-life anime to come up somewhere. When I stumbled upon it, the whole idea of "a restaurant with a single lady worker and lots of aged men" interested me. I mean, the abundance of grown men is curiously odd enough. It's not a plot that's usually used in an anime. And, I'm a guy, so at first I felt a little uncomfortable with the show with lots of males on it, but after watching, it's not like read more
Dec 14, 2009
Retro8bit (All reviews)
"A mysterious restaurant is on a road just a little ways from the center of Rome."

Story: 8/10
The plot revolves around a group of older looking men, who work at a restaurant called "Casetta Dell’orso". Each worker wears eye glasses when they are on duty. And this in fact is what makes the restaurant stand out from the others in Rome. One day the staff gets greeted by a women from America, who in turn comes to them wanting to train with the crew. As the anime progresses, each member of the cast is brought in the spotlight, and gets there own in depth story as read more
Jul 2, 2009
Wolfy36 (All reviews)
When I started this series, it was more over me just flipping through random anime and going hey why not and watching the first ep. After watching the first ep I was strangely captivated by all of the characters in the anime. Each character had a distinct feature about them, but at the same time many of the characters could be thought as similar.

This is not a anime for people who like fast paced action in my opinion, but instead made for simple relaxation and enjoyment.

You learn about the characters as the story continues, and through multiple stories, a bigger picture is created.

I would read more
Apr 24, 2009
Garuchan (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is an excellent choice for those, who like slow paced and emotionally upbringing anime,are more or less interested in the different layers of human nature, and of course...love.

First of all, although the story takes place in Rome, there is nothing of the so called ''normal Italian behaviour'' No loud (more or less) voices, overreacted emotional outbursts etc.BUT there is lots of gorgeous food (I'm also living in Europe,so those are things Italians are considerably famous for xD)
The main storyline is about a girl named Nicoletta, who comes to Rome from the countryside, chasing after her mother Olga, who is married to an eccentric (?) read more
Apr 19, 2009
tanjx (All reviews)
Preliminary
**This review was written after watching the first episode**

"The mysterious restaurant on a street near the centre of Rome"

With these words, the viewer is brought into the world of a quaint little eating place, as seen through the eyes of the young protagonist, Nicoletta.

The first thing that will strike you as you watch Ristorante Paradiso is probably the art. The character designs, especially the two ladies, are just about as different as you can get from the usual pretty anime girls. The 2 female characters, when seen from the front, have unfortunately masculine facial structures, and to be honest, the overly wide mouths and slight read more
Jan 13, 2017
KillswitchSama (All reviews)
Time to go and enjoy ourselves with a subtle anime, but exquisite for the palate. A rather simple but enjoyable drama, filled with a pleasant atmosphere. Well, that was the flavor that this small production left me. Let us begin!

Ristorante Paradiso is an anime series of 11 episodes made in 2009, adapted from the homonymous sleeve of Natsume Ono. The premise tells the story of Nicoletta, a 21 year old girl who travels to Rome to face her mother, who left her abandoned since she was a child. After locating her, she notices that the woman owns, along with her new husband, a small but read more
Dec 6, 2009
Dorothea (All reviews)
Story.
Granted, an 11 episode show can't have that intricate a story, but I found that the heroine's "journey," which should have been the main plot, was overwhelmed by all the secondary character's subplots. We learn little of her childhood, her education, or her reasons for suddenly deciding to come to Rome to meet her mother. The resolution with her mother, which should have been the climax and dominated the final two episodes, was like a footnote in the story.

Art
One of the show's strongest elements. Not just the character design but the overall depiction of Rome were very well done. The way read more
Apr 17, 2009
Chacopal (All reviews)
Preliminary
**Dont READ if ur a fan o-o**
This anime could probably relate more to females, so if ur male.....don't watch it cus u'll mostlikely hate it (just relalized it was a shoujo and i have no right really to say this... but o well i took 10 mins to vent.)


This anime is a real let down. Im not real picky when it comes to anime. I can mostly watch anything without complaining but this just made me cring left and right. At first when i first saw it i thought "ooh this seems like a interesting show". Yea it was interesting alright... No offence but read more
Apr 23, 2018
DesolatePsyche (All reviews)
First things first. My "reviews" system is explained on a blog entry. Which can be found through my profile.
------

✦Story

It had very relaxing and chill storytelling. This anime gave me a feel of Anime called "Bartender" and a touch of a "Ikoku Meiro no Croisée The Animation", which were as well blissful series.

Story is basically learning about characters in a peaceful tone. As Anime goes on, we learn about each character, their past and state of their love lives. We are also given some so called plot. Meaning this Anime has some "Main story" to it. Regarding the girl who started working at the restaurant read more
Oct 18, 2014
starshinesMonet (All reviews)
--WIP Review --

Ristorante Paradiso was an interesting little series. It's strongest points were the art style, which had broad European features to match the ethnicity of the characters. It was very interesting to see from this perspective and I very much enjoyed this style of animation and colour.

Along with the art style, the characters were one of the best parts of the series. I was particularly stricken with Gigi as he reminded me of a curious and quiet cat, but each one was interesting in their own ways.

While it was beautifully animated and had talented seiyuu, it's weakest point was definitely read more
Apr 10, 2012
Grenage (All reviews)
While I used to live on action anime, I've been a bit of a fan of 'slice of life' series since watching Welcome to the NHK; this was my hope, and what I was expecting. I was not disappointed.

Now I have to say that nothing really 'happens' in this series - there are no major events or shocking twists. This is a true character development series, with most episodes being dedicated to back stories for the restaurant staff. While it is indeed set in a restaurant, this series really has nothing to do with food, it's just the setting.

When I finished this read more
Jan 3, 2012
Yukariki (All reviews)
I love Japanese food, but Italian cuisine is the greatest. That's the reason why I picked this anime to watch and it was a pleasant watch. I also must admit that I'm actually a bisexual and the males are pretty hot. Ahem, let's get back to the review.

Ristorante Paradiso is a fascinating josei slice-of-life work that is both enchantingly slow-paced and colorful in terms of characterization, exemplifying the genre and demographic as a whole.

The premise is the setting, an Italian restaurant in Rome. What is different about this restaurant is the abundance of spectacled male waitresses and cafes. Of course, these hot bishies, I read more
Mar 8, 2019
kevlar20 (All reviews)
I am not really sure why I decided to watch this anime all the way to the end. I think I was getting really bored with the isekai and action anime that focuses on young protagonists surrounded by waifu material. I wanted to watch an anime with a protagonist who is already lost in adulthood and not sure what to do with him/herself for his/her remaining life span. Nicoletta fits this description almost perfectly. The slow pace of the anime allowed me to enjoy Nicoletta's insights into the lives of her fellow staff employees and her understanding of how they get by with their years read more
Aug 17, 2018
Coffee-Shop-Girl (All reviews)
The first things I really enjoyed about this anime was it's opening theme. It's usually the first thing that takes my interest in an anime, obviously not a deal breaker but this anime's theme was very enjoyable for me and relaxing. The style of the anime is different to what I had seen before and I for one really enjoyed it's style and it's storyline. All the characters were enjoyable which, for me, isn't always the case as most of the time there is at least one character that I don't really like but this anime has well rounded characters that I thoroughly enjoyed for read more
Dec 14, 2016
ellycat (All reviews)
Ristorante Paradiso is a really special show that fills a decidedly specific niche, and it does a satisfactory job of it without feeling trashy.

It also fills a more general, less obvious kind of niche. I stumbled upon this series while I was searching for some more mature "josei" titles to watch. There's disappointingly little of this sort of thing out there in the sea of anime about high school students and/or violence & destruction.

The premise of a restaurant filled with bespectacled mature men is undeniably suggestive of the fantasy that drives the harem genre, but they never quite go there, and manage to read more
Jun 2, 2009
asedfek (All reviews)
Preliminary
I believe in super short reviews:

It's a cute story. The plot is pretty straightforward and typical of the slice of life romance genre. However, the characters are very well-developed, which is what makes this anime. The art is sort of like Nodame Cantabile (for better or worse).

It's good, and worth watching if you have some time, but not really a must-see.

Warning: You may end up with a fetish for men in spectacles.
Jan 14, 2016
i_am_neni (All reviews)
I personally like it ...

Its kind of relaxing watching per episode, maybe because its not fast paced kind of story but its not boring. Actually, I'm eager to watch the next episode, because I like the older gentlemen character, its different and its kind of unique.

The story not too complicated, straightforward, and every character has it own story which is developing the story as it is. When you watch it, it gives you a vibes of an adulthood.

The heroine is a young female though, but I think you're not gonna find a story where the heroine was surrounded by an older gentlemen except in this read more
Apr 30, 2013
permalink (All reviews)
Preliminary
Read me right - main character represents the show. The character in Ristorante Paradiso is an underage girl - you can guess that as oppose to, say, Bartender, there will be more of a romantic touch. Naturally, because story flows around the girl, situations will be seen from her perspective - expect she'll look at men a lot, expect to be forced feel what she's feeling. Yes, it's definitely a girly anime, and because of that I dropped it, but there's something it has in common with Bartender - and it's calm slow storytelling, soft music, things that would relax yourself, which is something you read more
Jul 14, 2012
mrsklemzak (All reviews)
I really liked this anime. Even though it was a bit angsty friom Nicoletta towards one of the waiters.

I also enjoyed the other characters, they were interesting. I like an oddball ensemble cast of characters. I liked the fact all the waiters were nice to Nicoletta even though she came all the time at first to just mooch and figure out what to do while in Rome, while confronting her neglectful mother.

The food looks really good. So does the animation.

Hope this didn't have any major spoilers. I'd suggest this animation to anyone really. It's very good!
Nov 28, 2010
Psychoholicx3 (All reviews)
Honestly at first i didn't know if i would enjoy it, but at the end my day was pretty much perfect. It was my first time ever watching something as slow-paced as this anime, but i most definitely do not regret watching it. Honestly i'd watch it again anytime that i just want a calm and peacefull afternoon.

The most facinating thing about Ristorante Paradiso was the music and the art. It's all very soothing, calm and gentle. The music fit perfectly with every scene while the art was calmingly slightly old fashioned.

The lovely thing about the story for me was that i wasn't on the read more