Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Cross Game


Alternative Titles

English: Cross Game
Japanese: クロスゲーム

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 50
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2009 to Mar 28, 2010
Premiered: Spring 2009
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: SynergySP
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.511 (scored by 27,708 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1022
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1132
Members: 65,405
Favorites: 2,001

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 27, 2010
LiLSatania (All reviews)
This is the first anime that I watched that was written by Mitsuru Adachi. I love baseball anime so I give this one a chance, I never thought that I'll love it so much~ :D Just finished re-watching it for the third time.

Story:
Honestly, i was blown away by the first episode, what a very strong start for an anime. It was all unexpected, Just the first episode and it already made me cry... The story was about the cat and dog relationship of Kou and Aoba. Adachi-sensei used his usual pattern of story, the childhood friend route. With a lot of twist read more
Apr 29, 2010
KurosuGemu (All reviews)
Story: 9/10
Cross Game is my first Adachi anime, and I was thoroughly impressed by its storytelling. The whole series is slow paced and filled with tension. Despite being somewhat predictable, Cross Game is well executed. There is only 1 filler episode out of 50, and even that episode tied pretty well into the main story. My only criticism is Adachi could have fleshed it out a little more, adding some more episodes. Yes this show already has 50 episodes, but it feels shorter than that.

Animation: 8/10
I really liked the art from this show. It feels like an old school anime, and the nostalgic atmosphere it read more
Dec 20, 2013
Baconzombie (All reviews)
“Simple is best.”
-Coach Maeno

One of the most common misconceptions viewers have regarding any form of media is something I call the “been there, done that” phenomenon. That is, if something similar has been done before, chances are the viewer will form a set of judgmental comparisons and criteria to be matched. This leads to the unrealistic expectation that equates to the viewer expecting some sort of literary revolution, only looking forward without truly embracing what the present has to offer. Adachi Mitsuru’s Cross Game accepts its genre boundaries, and relies on the deftness of its storytelling and the depth of its characterization to keep you read more
Aug 11, 2014
theshinyone (All reviews)
Cross Game is a very special show. Unlike the disappointing standard in most shows today, Cross Game is a show that treats both its characters and the audience with respect. On paper, it looks to be yet another boring baseball series, but it shines as a rare gem of the genre.

The most significant difference between this show and most other sports shows is the fact that the show is willing to portray the characters outside the sport - showing who they are as people - what they care about, what they like, who they are. The show is often said to be more of a read more
May 22, 2017
Kns- (All reviews)
Many people perceive the combination of genres "School" "Romance" and "Drama" as usual "stamps" in the anime of the industry, and this is understandable, since often such shows are filled with a lot of banal events. Having started watching Cross Game, a skeptical viewer, most likely, will be pleasantly surprised. It is pleasant to realize that already the genre in which, it would seem, it is impossible to find anything new, there are some exceptions that not only make it interesting to watch what is happening, but also in certain events can surprise.

Story tells about a boy named Kou Kitamura and four sisters of Tsukishima read more
Aug 3, 2010
Rampant (All reviews)
Well, I will say first of all that both this manga and anime are perfectly nice, perfectly pleasant, and probably perfectly enjoyable for a lot of people. It is all smiles (except for Aoba who is, you know, completely incapable of anything but frowning or looks of indignation), all optimism, and simple but sweet. Unfortunately, that keeps it from being very good either.

The story is your typical "gets one star, enjoys a meteoric rise to the near top, loses anyway, probably eventually wins but ONLY in the very last year" formula. Typical to this, ONLY the protagonists and "notable" opponents ever in ANY way matter. read more
Oct 27, 2009
Jdthebud (All reviews)
Preliminary
Cross Game is the latest story from Adachi to be animated. Once again, Koshien rules!

If anyone has watched or read any of Adachi's previous stories (Touch, H2) than you will know what to expect: Great characters (albeit looking the same as ever!), a great story, lots of dry humor, and the ever-present dream of going to Koshien. However, there are some subtle differences with this story and characters that I think make Cross Game Adachi's best work so far. I'll get more in depth with that a little later. On to some categories:

Art/Animation - 7/10

Some people may find the art a read more
Aug 8, 2015
sushiisawesome (All reviews)

When we group up, everything that defines us as a person is brought into question. This could be our ideals, passions, hobbies, relationships with others and many aspects that make us, well, us. This is part of the reason why as we grow up, we end up remembering our childhood or high school lives in such a bittersweet fashion. It is this period of our life that defines us so much as people, where we look at things that defined us in the past, and where we decide whether to keep them or discard them.

Of course, this is not a difficult subject to write about read more
May 2, 2010
Maaku (All reviews)
When I think of Cross Game, I can't help but smile. It is without a doubt my current favorite slice of life anime. Those turned off by sports series need to look past that when picking up Cross Game. While baseball is a huge part of the series, the relationships between the characters is the biggest part of what makes it amazing. Baseball is simply apart of their lives. Those who enjoy character heavy slice of life anime will feel right at home with Cross Game.

--

Story and Characters:

Cross Game's story is a beautiful blending life's two wonders -- drama and comedy. While the comedy is read more
Jan 6, 2016
absolutezero273 (All reviews)
[A spoiler-free Review]

I was recommended this anime a lot of times and I had read a lot of reviews of it before watching the anime which led me to expect a lot from it. And fortunately, it certainly did meet my expectation if not, exceeded it.

Adapted from a manga series by Adachi Michiru, Cross game is a romantic comedy sports (baseball) anime series made by SynergySP studio which has also produced some hits like “Hayate no Gotoku!”. Although superficially, it looks like just another sports anime, its main forte lies in how characters develop their relationships rather than the baseball itself. And the interactions read more
Jul 16, 2015
josenewtype (All reviews)
Let's keep this review short, I don't like long reviews, I'm a busy guy with not a lot of free time. Even still, I find it hard to not write a bit about this anime Cross Game, even after two weeks of watching it.

From what you can read from the synopsis, the story is about a boy, Kou, who had a childhood love with a girl Wakaba, one of four sisters who run a small family batting center/cafe in with their father.

It actually starts after the first episode (you'll see what I mean.....), and what you will experience is something you probably never have before. read more
May 15, 2010
Godai5 (All reviews)
*Note: This review does not contain spoilers, but indirectly alludes to events that take place during the first episode*

------

We all have ghosts. And if yours are of the variety that come from losing someone you love, this anime is about to take you on a ride you'll not soon forget. Don't let the younger characters and apparent focus on baseball catch you off-guard: This is a coming-of-age story about how a young ensemble cast reconcile themselves with a tragedy and their memories of what was lost, while finding themselves and each other along the way. Their quest for the Koshien masks this deeper goal, but read more
Jul 17, 2016
ILoveOreImo (All reviews)
Preliminary
The starting of this anime is good . It brings so much emotions that this is the only one of the anime that i ever watched that makes me cry just through the 1st two episodes . After that i was really curious how the series is going to move on . I keep on watching and it gets quite good as the story progress . But i think the author just ran out of ideas at episodes 30 to 40 .. Its a BASEBALL anime yet they show so little of baseball action . Mostly just his life story and whats gonna happen in read more
Aug 25, 2011
BloodChain (All reviews)
An anime that is perfect in so many ways that it has inspired me to write a review through its sheer perfection.

I've watched lots of animes that revolves around romance. Cuz I'm a guy - I avoided the Shoujo and the pure Romance ones and went more for Harem Romance and School Romance ones.

Although I did think that Clannad After-story is the best, this is quite comparable.

The Character building and OST of this anime are almost perfect. It's anime at its best. It's the epitome of Japanese Animation.

I've always been looking for something that could tell me a brilliant story with Romance that will linger read more
Sep 1, 2012
markinho (All reviews)
Writing a review over a sports anime is something I myself never expected to do but Cross Game is in a different league and deserved one. Sports anime generally stick with the basic formula of 1 person having amazing talent and taking a team by his/her hand and making it the best team there is, now if you read the synopsis you will have the same impression as you have with any sports anime however Cross Game(CG from here on) is not your usual sports anime.

Story~10: As I mentioned above, CG seems to be your usual sports anime but right after the 1st episode it read more
Oct 21, 2010
jchang (All reviews)
My first impression of this show was "another sport-themed anime? ¬¬". yeah i was expecting something like prince of tennis or captain tsubasa with baseball (you know, naturally impossible balls and over reacting of the game). it comes out that i was wrong.

This anime more than centering on just baseball, gives a great enphasis in friendship, values and, of course, romance. The techniques are not unnatural, there are no super curve balls or balls that gets in flames and destroy the other one's bat. instead this is a relaxing and ejoyable anime with a slow pace.

This means that its great if you are not searching read more
Jul 15, 2011
NavyCherub (All reviews)
I am typically hesitant to even begin decently long shonen series. They tend to be filled with flaws that reflect lazy writing for the sake of length, unfortunately. From huge casts of characters, ranging from the barely touched upon yet interesting side characters to the incredibly dull main characters who receive much more than their fair share of exposure. On top of that, there are occasionally long stretches of boring developments or slow pacing to keep the content running. Very often these lengthy series become too stagnant and similar to itself, leading me to feeling the need to take breaks from the show simply because read more
Apr 7, 2011
kajia (All reviews)
Sometimes, simplicity is a beautiful thing. At the heart of "Cross Game" is a simple shounen story about baseball and romance. But even though it's the kind of story where you can roughly predict the ending within the first few episodes, there's never a dull moment. Heart warming, heart wrenching, beautiful in its simplicity... the joy of watching "Cross Game" comes not from its destination, but from the journey itself.

Despite being a predictable story at its core, "Cross Game" begins in a way that is anything but predictable, featuring an early twist in the tale that no doubt comes as a big surprise to the read more
Apr 23, 2010
shintai88 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I know its a dramatic score. But to me I've always loved the anime and drawing styles of touch and orange road.

At first I was skeptical, like with most baseball and sport animes. but cross game was different from the very start. after all how often do you see the girl you love die in the fist epiosde?

That first episode caught my attention fully. that beautiful scene of Kou realising how he should be feeling. the music everything drew me in instantly. It truly stirred up my emotions and it really made me feel like Kou in a way.

Unfortunately I wasn't patient enough and decided read more
Apr 21, 2010
Dredgy (All reviews)
"A four leaf clover"

The Story...

The story starts off with a dramatic scenes and continuously moving towards the main story. An introduction of a boy named Kitamura Kou. Along the way he will encounter some trials and changes in life, facing it and surpassing these kinds of problems he’s encountering will be hard at start, but looking at the bright side might help him to keep moving. Finally, being a part of a baseball team is quite a change for him, but knowing that he got a talent from it, he strive to do better for his own will. After that, there is a girl who read more