Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mugen no Ryvius


Alternative Titles

English: Infinite Ryvius
Japanese: 無限のリヴァイアス

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 1999 to Mar 29, 2000
Premiered: Fall 1999
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 18:00 (JST)
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Original
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.581 (scored by 8,107 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #13732
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2099
Members: 26,565
Favorites: 232

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 23, 2009
oOoOoOo (All reviews)
Infinite Ryvius is essentially "Lord of the Flies" on a spaceship, although with students old enough to be in high school (surprise, surprise). Once the students are stranded without their teachers, in various hostile situations, the anime becomes a microcosm for the problem of governance. We have the authoritarians, we have the democrats, and everyone in-between. Most striking for me, about this series, was the slow descent from happy-go-lucky "let's try our best at being space heroes" to chaos, mob-rule, and abuse of power. Having gone to teachers college, I'd hazard that many students would do well to watch this anime, read more
Sep 3, 2007
Polaris (All reviews)
I've seen a lot of overrated and over-hyped animes here, but this has to be one of the few who's underrated, and one that should really be in the Top10 of Top100.

Strange but this anime seems to be the only one that all the people who rated it liked and respect it, even the ones that gave it an average 7 think this is a really good anime, but just gets dragged down by animation and the really depressive story, in their opinion, i happen to like the animation and the story.

Animation:
This anime has one visible flaw but the good points more than make up read more
Jun 26, 2013
mahoganycow (All reviews)
The artistic presentation is definitely not the selling point of Infinite Ryvius. I'll state one of my major complaints with the show right off the bat: It is permeated by numerous elements that feel tenuously connected to the setting and the plot, and while the character designs aren't the worst offenders, they're a good visual representation of the problem. I can get behind the generic-but-acceptable “everyday kid” look of some cast members, and the spiffy flight uniforms worn by the group of elite pilots look halfway believable, but that's about as far as these designs could take me. It's hard to feel any sort of read more
Jun 13, 2008
Monkey_D_Luffy (All reviews)
Story:
The story of Infinite Ryvius is developed well. The plot is fairly basic, a bunch of kids attending a space academy are involved in an accident and get stranded on a space vessel with no adults. However, they do a good job though at developing the story by showing all the ordeals and troubles that the kids go up against and more importantly how they affect each character's state of mind individually. A lot of drama and emotions are involved, there's a good fill of action, and even a nice touch of romance is brought into the mix. So overall, it's a pretty entertaining story read more
Apr 28, 2017
PoeticJustice (All reviews)
The past is something that we can never avoid. It is a phantom that holds all are best and worst memories, dangling them over our heads while cackling menacingly. Some will do anything to recapture the feelings of long ago, the innocence of childhood, the warm of a loving relationship. While others seek to discard the past, seeking to rid themselves of the stench horror that has been imprinted on those memories. Everyone on the Ryvius has something they want to forget, and the ship itself is a conduit that brings all memories barreling toward the forefront of their minds, cannibalizing them or reforming them read more
Oct 14, 2007
acceleratum (All reviews)
The show features several space combat scenes altho the focus of the story is around the struggle of young students trying to grasp their future. The inexperience brings many problems, controlling the almost 500 ppl aboard the ship and maintaining it operational proves to be a difficult task, crime panic and chaos rampage in this ship who lost all touch with society and most of the time we'll see the evolvement of human nature in a free chaotic environment, they atemps to create a society with order and justice but power struggles erupt and diferent personalities clash into social and emotional battles. Its quite read more
Nov 18, 2014
Caimthehero (All reviews)
It's been said before but this is essentially Lord of the Flies meets space. If you're looking for a powerful plot or characters to empathize or even connect with I'd suggest you look elsewhere. This is a story not really meant to entertain but understand the nature of the human condition. That objective gives birth to the best and worst part about Ryvius, and ultimately the core focus, the characters.

Now let me say first that the character interaction with each other is fantastic and how they handle the realistic situations is, again grounded in realism. The dialogue can be a little hammy at time read more
Feb 21, 2015
spazzchicken (All reviews)
I think I decided to watch this show based on finding several reviews that praised Infinite Ryvius. I thought -- I love scifi and psychological deterioration. Too bad Infinite Ryvius can't pull it off.

First, the basics. The art is standard 90's fair. The music is an interesting, if somewhat incongruous, choice. Neither really make or break the show.

The plot of IR is also interesting, but it never really pays off. For 20-some episodes, I waited for something really thrilling to happen. There was very little that was thrilling, despite regular space battles and general in-fighting. The few good moments were only as good as read more
Nov 29, 2015
Mondblut (All reviews)
A psychological mecha scifi drama that is also a social commentary on different extremist political systems, made by Sunrise? That line alone should warrant a watch....
Nonetheless i almost dropped the show after the first few episodes... I´m glad i didn`t.

Actually the show does everything to make you drop it in the first half. The first apparrent flaw is It`s visual presentation. Yes, it was made before Sunrise changed from hand colored animation to computer coloring with Gundam Seed, but for a show that was made in `99 it really doesn`t look good. Hell, even Zeta Gundam looks by far better in terms of animation. It read more
Jun 9, 2013
Oolong (All reviews)
I had high hopes for this anime, but at the end I did not feel as if I watched a show about how kids survive without adults or government, I felt as if I watched 26 episodes of cliche anime teenager romance. If you like that sort of thing, this show will be fine, but it does not deliver on the high praise of politics and Lord of the Flies-likeness that persuaded me to watch it.

The sphinx (sort of like the persona of the ship) reminded me of Boogiepop Phantom, which only served to make me think of how much better a show that was read more
Nov 25, 2009
waterfalls (All reviews)
First of all, it's not really Lord of the Flies in space. I didn't like that, but I did like this.

This is by the director for Code Geass and Planetes. It's more like Planetes than Geass.

Animation is mediocre. If you want to watch something for the animation, I suggest Tekkon Kinkreet or 5cm/second instead. I do not suggest watching this for action either.

There is little comedy here. Actually, maybe this is a spoiler, but if you're feeling cheerful about something that happened, it's probably so you can be sucker-punched in five seconds.

What Infinite Ryvius does have is lots of drama, lots of characters, lots of read more
May 26, 2017
Tyrannicswine117 (All reviews)
Warning possible Spoilers

I'm a guy from time to time who does enjoy a good Space or Mecha series and this had something going for it, but that didn't happen till pretty much the final episodes.

The story concentrates on the teenagers of the Liebe Delta, but when saboteurs end up destroying the station the survivors head to a ship called the Ryvius and must endure a long journey of fighting against the Saboteurs and themselves.
Now the first half the story was pretty dull mainly because nothing interesting happened apart from a few battles and stuff that happened between the crew and I was literally thinking about read more
Dec 15, 2015
c1455 (All reviews)
If you didn't like the story of "Lord of the Flies" there is a good chance you won't like this show. Its about a bunch of kids that get stranded and are attempting to survive until help arrives. The major difference is that it is set in space. Which is awesome because space is cool. The plot is pretty interesting though some people might criticize it for not having enough explanation of the reasons behind the kids being stranded, but this show is mostly character based. It maintains a fairly realistic(for anime) vibe and probably isn't for those that prefer more lighthearted shows.

The art isn't read more
Feb 12, 2008
Laharl (All reviews)
Ryvius is a twisty, depressing space drama. Imagine Lord of the Flies in space with the slow, tense combat of The Hunt for Red October. Much like some of Sunrise's other works, they spend too much time building up to the climax to really resolve it, much less fully explain what was really going on. Nearly every episode has some sort of plot twist (and they all seem to have cliffhangers...) and many of the characters make you want to alternatively reach in and wring their necks and hug them. The big weakness to me is the music, as it's a bastardization of the read more
Jul 8, 2014
kekfrosting (All reviews)
Infinite Ryvius is often described as "Lord of the Flies IN SPACE" by its small but dedicated fanbase, but this is probably just a ploy to get more people to watch it. The two share concepts on the surface, but that's about it.

Story: 8/10

Ryvius is a (mostly) hard sci-fi anime, blending political drama and commentary on systems of government with a "lost at sea" atmosphere. The sci-fi side of the plot is done quite well, but the show truly shines in the close-to-home story inside the Ryvius. The characters' situation inside is told masterfully and accurately captures the desperation, revolutions, and reconciliations within the ship read more
Aug 7, 2014
darkcheesepuff (All reviews)
Story: 8/10
This show was an excellent test of my patience. It not only told a very well thought out and eventful story, but it taught many lessons along the way. I give the story an 8/10 because of it's good pacing over the 26 episode span (wasn't rushed at any points and didn't pull a goku and spend 4 episodes on one scene). It was very well paced and I appreciate that in an anime. The story itself is indeed reminiscent of Lord of the Flies by William Golding, but I wouldn't say it derives that much from it. It manages to tell its own read more
Nov 16, 2017
DarkRavie (All reviews)
Kouji Aiba, his brother Yuki and friend Aoi Housen all board the Liebe Delta, a space station school for hopeful pilots. During one of the school's vacation (dive break) only 500 students and staff stay aboard and that's when things go wrong. In the middle of a routine 'dive' the station is sabotaged and in the midst of trying to repair the station before it is destroyed as it free falls in the Geduld, Ryvius awakens and now on the run from those trying to capture Ryvius, the students must find a way to work together or die.

My Thoughts:
Well, at first I found this anime read more
Nov 28, 2013
madkat9 (All reviews)
I feel like agreeing with the review that is currently at the top in comparing this show to 'The Lord of The Flies'. That's the sort of plot you should expect, and that's the sort of uneasiness you should feel when you get into watching this show.

I watched infinite Ryvius at a very leisurely pace. I think I finished it over the course of a year in fact. I watched some four episodes at the beginning of the year and then just forgot about it in the midst of other shows and life in general, until I had the time to pick it up read more