Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Isekai no Seikishi Monogatari


Alternative Titles

English: Tenchi Muyo! War on Geminar
Synonyms: ISM, Isekai no Seikishi Monogatari
Japanese: 異世界の聖機師物語

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: May 22, 2009 to May 26, 2010
Producers: VAP
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: AIC, BeSTACK
Source: Original
Duration: 45 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.971 (scored by 53,429 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #6142
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #850
Members: 125,621
Favorites: 1,545

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 19, 2010
2Daggers (All reviews)
*SPOILERS*
Isekai no Seikishi Monogatari was my first time watching an OVA series that comes out every month rather than every week. As such, I was not prepared for the gnawing impatience I felt at the end of every episode.

At first I wasn't really absorbed with this series and just started watching it while waiting for one of my downloads to finish. However as the1st episode progressed, I slowly found myself getting drawn into the story. The basic storyline wasn't anything new. It had the same premises as some other fantasy series with the main character getting thrown into an unknown world in order to read more
Jun 23, 2015
Arastelion (All reviews)
I have watched the entire season of this 4 times and have not found myself bored once.

The overall story line of this anime starts a bit stereotypical, but the development is excellent.
Not to mention that the main character is an overall bad ass with a kind, although a little too innocent, heart.

Although sometimes a little cliche, this anime is found very enjoyable and one is left with other regret there is not more of it!

As a personal bit: WAHANLY IS THE BEST! :P
Jun 9, 2010
Scrypt (All reviews)
As a fan of Tenchi Muyo and its franchise, Isekai no Seikishi Monogatari, would have to be if not the best spin-off that's come out to date. Bear in mind, my review will be very biased due to nostalgia playing a big part(having grown up to Tenchi anime instead of Pokemon or Dragonball)

Whilst there are subtle references to the MC being part of the Tenchi Muyo universe(TenchiVerse), I doubt it would be enough for anyone to think that they would need to watch the past franchise before starting this series.

Story: 6
The story itself is pretty generic and is about a boy who is summoned to read more
Aug 30, 2011
ceapy (All reviews)
Seeing as how this was actually a forum post of mine when I went on a rant after watching this dreadful series, I wanted to bring this out to the front page and see what you're truly getting yourself into.

This does contain some spoilers, but it will not impact the series in any way. Anyone who has not watched this should not have a problem with the spoilers as it does not reveal any plot twists, etc(except episode 1, but what the hell, it's episode one haha).

The graphics and battles were top notch. However, the entire series was literally a land fill of fillers read more
Sep 10, 2009
dexturo (All reviews)
Preliminary
Just a suggestion to add on to my previous review:
For the weak hearted who cannot withstand suspense and a long wait-
Please wait till episode 8 is released before watching episode 7. Yes,action is heating up!!

Previous review-
Even with almost half the ova series aired, I am still unable to rate it.
So this review is not to tell you how good or bad it it, but what can be expected.
In short, this is for anime fans who have yet to decide if they want to follow Isekai Seikishi Monogatari, after all, one episode a month is a long wait.

When I started watching, I was actually read more
Jul 14, 2018
magaiverix (All reviews)
Before start watch this anime, I liked two things they are a genres and R+ Mild Nudity.

Watching the first episode, I was thinking that the anime will be just in my tase
but.... after second and third episodes however, I was going to drop this show, but later however, I was carried away not only by the main story but also by the main character and his story=I fell in love with.
If we talk about art then I put 7/10 they are all beautiful except the animation slightly lame (sometimes she's a bad) except liked very mutch how moving mechas and how beautiful they were is read more
Sep 25, 2013
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Oh joy, another harem series. Read that as sarcastically as possible. I still have no idea why people ask me to review these things. But this one is part of the Tenchi Muyo franchise, which I don't like, from the admittedly little of it I've seen, but at least it's not Sekirei. Although it could very well turn out to be just as bad. I suppose I should say something along the lines of "it could also surprise me and be good" but I very much doubt it. Yes, it could be, but the probability is so heavily against it that it hardly bears mentioning. read more
Feb 9, 2013
mdz (All reviews)
A harem done right?

[contains suggestive language, and an extreme loss of interest in constructive reasoning halfway through.]

It's difficult to end a harem. Regardless of how happy the ending turns out to be, only one girl 'wins' the guy over -- the others are presumably meant to cope with the loss. Some series like Mashiro-iro show the externalities of a singular bliss, while series like Zero no Tsukaima, like most others, avoid the topic all together. Isekai handles a harem correctly [as it is the highest rated harem on MAL], but it does so in an unorthodox manner.

It does this by creating a romance so read more
Jul 17, 2013
AbstractZealot93 (All reviews)
I'm going to start by saying that " I am in no way, shape or form a fan of robot Anime ". Yet, I seem to have enjoyed this show considerably, which is a good thing on my part. I would hate it if I wasted my time on it. I'll use the same review criteria as I have been in the other reviews. If my grammar is off, I apologize, I haven't slept in awhile. Currently trying to tire myself out ^_^



The story of the show was slightly above average. Not saying it was great or original, but the show did read more
Apr 13, 2016
TakeTheWindward (All reviews)
When you were younger, maybe you heard drinking milk will make your bones stronger and make you taller. You drank so much when you were young so you could grow. Now in present day all of a sudden, you've become lactose intolerant due to the anatomy of your body. Isekai no Seikishi Monogatari is the result of this. No matter how tasty that gallon of ice cream was, or that quart of milk, your system will always suffer from intolerancy. This is essentially what Monogatari was all about, the start of a grand journey AKA the ice cream, then everything else which is the stomach read more
Sep 19, 2012
S2C (All reviews)
Isekai no Seikishi Monogatari, the perfect harem.

Isekai no Seikishi Monogatari was a fantastic show, well-animated, great music, and very likeable characters.

Story - 9
The story is basically split into two arcs, the first arc is set in an elite,practically all-girls school where we meet all the main female characters and the few male protagonists. The second arc is more serious in tone and is essentially a "save the world" arc with Kenshi and those he has made his friends with attempting to stop a catastrophe.

Art - 10
Awesome! What more can i say.

Sound - 10
Every piece that is played from the introduction, background, and ending read more
Aug 3, 2010
otaku1793 (All reviews)
So after watching this anime two times now, ive decided to write a review. This will be my first so please dnt throw me to the wolves yet. So i shall begin.

Story- 9/10
Another anime where a boy is thrown into an unknown world where he becomes of great use. Machines called Seikishi dominate the military aspect of a country and can only be controlled by certain people. And of course, Misaki Kenshi happens to be one of these people. Good progression throughout the series and most things are explained thoroughly. The ending makes a second season desirable. For not being an original plot, this series read more
Jul 22, 2014
Marthgun (All reviews)
If you like Harem anime and are a fan of Tenchi Muyo and don't like the plots to be heavy. Then this is probably the anime for you.

There's action, a bit of romance, tons of slapstick and all the archetypal characters that are usually found in light hearted anime.

As a person who avoids drinking tap water, I must tell you that this show was dreadful. The story was weak, the plot was bizarre and confusing and the characters were mostly annoying.

When someone tries to kill you, i imagine that if you had some kind of power or mecha, you probably would want to read more
Feb 17, 2013
Potsuu (All reviews)
To be honest i can't remember the real reason why i downloaded Isekai no Seikishi Monogatari since i really hate the "Mecha" genre of anime. What i do remember is the reason i watched this anime is because of the awesomeness of the OP song, i cant quite put my finger on it but let's settle for the reason: I really felt the soothing tune that made me feel safe.

There i go, watched the first episode. At the ending it made me really curious on about what's going to happen next, which is a sign that i enjoy watching the anime. One more thing is, read more
Jun 3, 2015
SirHellfire (All reviews)
You know that feeling when you're just randomly looking for anime to watch and suddenly find something you end up marathoning back-to-back for that entire day. Yeah, that happened with this anime.

The short version:
(+)The MC can handle himself.
(+)The characters are fun to watch.
(+)When it gets going it's worth the wait.
(+)A nice mix of Fantasy and Mecha
(-)The show REALLY takes it time to get going.


THE GOOD:
Firstly the story, it isn't the sort were they spend the first few episodes to explain how everything works, it more or less drops you in the middle of the world and leaves it to you to figure out how it read more
Dec 10, 2012
Mike1988 (All reviews)
A boy gets sent to a new world(he's related to Tenchi) he has the skills of a master fighter/swordsmen/robotpilot. His role that you find out in the end was to deal with a thing called Gaia(ADemonShield or entity).But at the start he doesnt know why is there or who sent him. He spends his days helping others out and running from girls while trying to fight the people who want to start a war. If you like Harem, Robot fights, and a good guy who is badass this anime is for you.
Oct 9, 2011
AddictofAnime (All reviews)
I really enjoyed this series and hope they come up with another season. I'm a huge fan of the Tenchi Muyo series so finding out that this takes place in the whole series made me like it more. From just finishing Photon The Idiot Adventures and now seeing this. It makes me want to watch more of the series by the this creator. But back to Saints knight Tale

The story was great I liked how it gave you more information about the characters as the episodes went on. The art of fantastic there were some scenes that looked like they could be better but the read more
Jun 7, 2010
Dekion (All reviews)
I came across this little gem through the recommendations from other animes on the MAL site. I truly love this site. Anyhow on to the review.

Isekai is about a mysterious young man (Kenshi) who was originally supposed to kill one of the princesses but was then caught. From here is where the story really begins. INSM is in my opinion a super harem anime. I mean, every single woman who interacts with Kenshi is in awe/love with him. I've seen many harem animes but the comedy in this anime works for me in regards to all the women chasing read more
Jun 14, 2015
AngrySean (All reviews)
Firstly, watch the show.

Second, I don't write reviews. I looked at the review screen once, thought better, then went to watch anime like the rest of us. I've seen hundreds of shows without exaggerating. I can confidently say that this show is one of the greatest and most under appreciated shows I've ever had the privilege to watch.

Story: 8

The story is typical. Boy meets girl. Girl tests boy. Boy is a god among men. Girl makes boy her pawn. Boy gets harem. Madness. Oh yeah and the girl is a princess or something and he has to fight in some war or another with read more
Jun 5, 2012
Twp (All reviews)
Here is my first review that i am going to do, i have read a lot of other reviews and everyone seems to write so much! Ill try to keep this simple short and straight to the point!

This series has got to be one of the most funniest that i have watched so far, i have not laughed as hard while watching this then other anime's i have seen. The mix between Action, Comedy, and School life have me at a hope that they will be making a second season!

If you're someone that is looking for action as well as comedy then this series will read more