Kaze no Tani no Nausicaä


Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind
Synonyms: Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind, Kaze no Tani no Nausicaa, Warriors of the Wind
Japanese: 風の谷のナウシカ

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Mar 11, 1984
Producers: None found, add some
Studios: Topcraft
Source: Manga
Genres: AdventureAdventure, FantasyFantasy
Duration: 1 hr. 57 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.381 (scored by 192608192,608 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #1722
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #552
Members: 307,979
Favorites: 4,044

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 18, 2009
innerchihiro (All reviews)
Okay, so this is my first review, and my second favorite anime. I'm a Miyazaki fanatic, so take that into account if you must.

BACKGROUND: The most important thing to know when watching this is that this anime is from 1984 (ironic, right?) and that this is Miyazaki Hayao's second time directing (the first being Lupin III The Castle of Cagliostro, arguably the best Lupin film ever created.) Miyazaki and his producer Suzuki Toshio first met up because Suzuki, the editor of the magazine Animage, wanted some comments from Miyazaki about Lupin and Miyazaki basically told him to stop bothering him. After a while, however, read more
Apr 17, 2009
Venneh (All reviews)
TITLE: Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind

MANGA, ANIME: Nausicaa was originally a manga with story and art done by Hayao Miyazaki (Howl's Moving Castle, Spirited Away) that, ironically enough, was only created so that the movie could eventually be made, as Toshio Suzuki, the producer, couldn't get money for a film that wasn't based on a manga. It was serialized in Animage magazine from February of 1982 to March of 1994, and was licensed Stateside by Viz Media, and consists of a total of seven collected volumes.

Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind was created before Studio Ghibli actually existed and distributed by read more
Apr 23, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

Nausicaa came out in 1984 and was the 2nd movie ever directed by Hayao Miyazaki. It was also one of only 2 Miyazaki movies that was based on one of his original manga. The other was "The Wind Rises" in 2013. Nausicaa is an unusual movie, so it often gets overlooked and it is among the most underrated Miyazaki movies here in the US.

A large part of the problem was an absolutely BUTCHERED port of the movie called "Warriors of the Wind" released by Disney in the 1980s. Nausicaa was intended to teach morals to a younger audience, but was NOT purely a children's read more
Mar 8, 2019
Optigisa (All reviews)
Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind is a 1984 Japanese Animated movie, and it marks the very beginning of one of the most beloved film studios of all time, Studio Ghibli. The studio was not founded up until 1985, one year after the release of Nausicaa, with the studio's first official production being Castle in the Sky, which hit the theaters in 1986. Regardless, Nausicaa is still often considered to be the first Ghibli film by many, and for good reasons. If you don't know the name Ghibli, then I do hope some of it's productions ring a bell to you. Studio Ghibli created read more
Mar 13, 2008
Phill-z (All reviews)
When I talk about Miyazaki, I usually speak about how he tends to just narrowly miss the mark of making an amazing film. Nausicaa is a perfect example of how Miyazaki narrowly misses the mark of creating a truly magnificent film. However, Nausicaa shows perfectly Miyazaki's attitudes towards living with nature instead of trying to exploit it.

Story: The story isn't interesting, well, the basic storyline isn't all that much to really care about. There are a bunch of Deus ex Machina (god from the machine) that just really, really bugged me. Nausicaa herself is a basic Miyazaki protagonist, she doesn't read more
Mar 4, 2008
ardele7 (All reviews)
This is definitely the best you can get in two hours.

Story: it does not follow the dreamy and surreal sequencing of the newer Ghibli films; after watching this and comparing it with other Ghibli films it was almost as if Miyazaki had written everything he wanted to say in this earlier film. If you are interested in Miyazaki's themes you will appreciate everything tied up together and presented beautifully (and logically) for you.

Art: amazing depictions of nature; made horrendous creatures look beautiful "naturally" even though they are made up. The ending contain the "original" warm fuzzy scenery that inspires those like haibane renmei. read more
Jan 1, 2014
ktulu007 (All reviews)
In many ways, Nausicaa was Studio Ghibli's prototype film. It introduced many factors that would become staples for the studio, the pro-environmentalist message, the strong female protagonist, the highly critical view of violence and, of course, the gorgeous artwork. Nausicaa was produced by Topcraft before the Studio went bankrupt, got bought by Miyazaki and Takahata and became Studio Ghibli. Since Nausicaa was the film to establish the Ghibli formula, and since most of the creative team behind it, including the writer, Miyazaki, went on to found Studio Ghibli, many people count it as the Studio's first work. Let's take a look and see how well read more
Jun 14, 2020
unimportantuser (All reviews)
Nausicaa of the Valley of the wind is one of those movies. I’m talking a movie so famous & renowned that practically everyone has seen, or at least heard of this movie. I won’t waste time talking about the impact it left, how it basically kick-started Hayao Miyazaki’s career, & all that jazz, I’m just gonna get straight into it.

Story:10/10

The story of Nausicaa follows our titular protagonist on a journey to try & save The valley of the wind. We first meet Nausicaa going to the sea of decay to try & recover an ohm shell. We then are taken to the valley of the read more
Mar 17, 2019
Assthete (All reviews)
This movie is so embryonic, which is to be expected given it only adapts a fraction of Miyazaki's iconic masterpiece. Basically he had to conclude threads whose nature is far too mysterious to be properly developed in mere two hours. It also meant dumbing down the message to environmentalism for children and the storytelling to boring fatalism based on muh prophecy. It's a shame considering how much talent is on display here. The melting God Warrior is Anno's finest sakuga to date rightfully propelling his career forward. Joe Hisaishi has the audience earwormed in a spectacle of patient melodic progression followed by exploding crescendos. Nausicaa read more
Mar 15, 2010
360ken (All reviews)
*You can read what it's about in the synopsis*

Story-10
Exciting all the way, original, unique, you might be bored the first 15-20 minutes or so but when the "crash" happens this movie goes full-force into the action, drama, sci-fi, and environmental philosophy. It's really good. Miyazaki is a known environmentalist, this was his first movie, and his first smash hit. He does talk about the environment but he doesn't shove it down your throat. It's just a really good sci-fi adventure that doesn't get the appreciation it deserves these days.

Art-9
Let's face it. Nausicaa is from the 80's. It is not going to hold a candle to read more
May 31, 2021
momentie (All reviews)
A Dark Fairy-Tale of Themes, More Relevant Now Then Ever Before(LR);

Nausicaä is a classic studio Ghibli story set in a post apocalyptic world that suffers from an ever encroaching toxic disaster. Like many Ghibli films it's riddled with sometimes simplistic but always wonderfully depicted themes and messages, alongside a fun and endearing cast of colorful characters and places for us to temporarily inhabit. Let's walk through the spoiler free segment first.

Animation and Music - This almost goes without saying when discussing works by Ghibli but there is almost nothing to complain about in this regard, the art-style is the usual enchantingly picturesque trappings that go read more
Mar 24, 2014
Mimiko_chan (All reviews)
Nausicaa, I have a feeling that this review is going to be long…
So everybody seems to love this movie and those that don’t can’t seem to find a plausible explanation to why they didn’t enjoy it, well today I’m here to help you discover why you felt that, and why this movie didn’t reach you.
People judge animations by only looking at the amount of entertainment/joy/emotions it gave to each of them, but the truth is that each anime has his high and low points, so just giving a 10 because your friends told you it was the best or just based in your inner favoritism read more
Dec 11, 2010
kekekeKaj (All reviews)
I first watched "Nausicaa of the Valley of the Winds" when I'd only watched a couple of films that are directed by Miyazaki. I was blown away at the time, and thought it was the best thing he's done. Now that I've seen a lot more of his films, I can conclude that... it still is one of the best things he's done.

More dramatic, more intense than Miayazaki's normal work, "Nausicaa of the Valley of the Winds" is aimed an older audience. The prelude, with the wind blowing across the uninhabitable wastlands, is a memorable one, and the desolate scene captures the title perfectly (although read more
Jun 24, 2008
RangFlash (All reviews)
Miyazaki's first work he can 100% call his own, Nausicaa really set the standard for all-age anime cinema a notch up from Castle of Cagliostro. This anime goes down to be one of the most influential with its environmental message in a post-apocalyptic world. Unlike many anime before it, the cast of characters is huge, the plot complex, and the scope is epic, redefining what anime can do.

There are small problems, some dealing with the dialogue. There is often needless dialogue where Nausicaa talks to herself, explaining things to the audience. Examples:

"An Ohm!"
"Gunshots!"
"It came off!"
"It even chipped a ceramic sword!"

Yes, Nausicaa. We know. We read more
Apr 13, 2018
kerberos242 (All reviews)
Without a doubt, the art is the reason to watch this one. It takes place in a beautiful fantasy world 1,000 years after the apocalypse. Some shots of the landscapes feel truly magical, and the creature, vehicle, and aircraft designs are excellent.

With regard to the story, there's not much. The central message is NATURE = GOOD, TECHNOLOGY = WAR = BAD, delivered with all the subtlety of a plummeting anvil. The bad people wear armor, drive tanks and planes, and try to fight off the dangerous creatures when threatened by them. The good people are helpless innocents who listen to what nature-loving Princess Nausicaa tells read more
May 17, 2020
FakeAccount1 (All reviews)
My first positive review...

"Naussica: From the valley of the Wind" is the second movie made by Hayao Miyazaki after Lupin the Third.

To be honest, I mostly don't like movies that give a pacifist or an anti-war message, not because I support the war or something, just because they tend to be amazingly moralistic and the context of their plots usually needs strength to solve the conflict...

This one is different, it is really intelligent with its message and it knows how to give it.

Story:

The pacing is perfect, start with a slower narrative, which allowed you to flesh more on the characters and the setting, it doesn't read more
Mar 9, 2020
jeremypascal (All reviews)
How is it that I feel so much nostalgia for this movie even though I saw it for the first time 5 days ago?

Substance (8/10)
The story takes place in a post-apocalyptic future with poisonous mushroom forests and gigantic insects that protect them. While this sounds very bizarre at first, the world-building is actually top notch as in most Studio Ghibli films. Our main character is the very lively princess Nausicaä. Her hometown has learned to live and go along with the dangers of the poisonous mushrooms, however foreign countries try to destroy the mushroom forests and insects altogether. This leads to our main conflict read more
Feb 8, 2020
TheDunn (All reviews)
It’s been awhile since I’ve watched anything that captivated me as much as Nausicaä. This movie completely absorbed me into its unique ascetic and the breathtakingly beautiful way it was drawn and animated. I got serious Angel’s Egg and Akira vibes from this, in the sense that the visuals are strong enough to pull you into and solely carry the experience, into a place where you lose all track of time and simply sit there in awe at what you are seeing.

Firstly, the art direction is something I’ve never seen before in a non-Ghibli movie (with the primary example for me being Castles in the read more
Nov 18, 2015
BeebopJazzAttack (All reviews)
I had the fortune of getting to see "Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind" on the big screen (for the first time ever!) in stark, 35mm film. It looked unbelievably beautiful, especially for a cartoon made in the 80's. Sure, it still had that 80's anime look to it and the soundtrack was totally 80's, but up there on the big screen, I don't know, it kinda took my breathe away.

The story of "Valley of the Wind" is pretty much like all his stories, which is the films strongest feature. Miyazaki knows how to tell a story. He creates these worlds, that he read more
Aug 25, 2020
2life (All reviews)
Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind

Nausicaa is a beautiful anime. It has a raw nostalgic touch to it (because its old) but it is still very enjoyable. Since I only watch modern anime I was surprised to see something like this. Since this is made by studio Ghibli, this is a movie you’ll probably love to. Beautiful, unique, engaging and more.

Story
The story is simple and elegant. There is no over complicated theme or noticeable plot holes. We follow the adventure of Nausicaa. It is a young girl without ideals. She has a big heart for both human and monsters. You can almost feel read more