Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Beck


Alternative Titles

English: Beck: Mongolian Chop Squad
Synonyms: BECK
Japanese: ベック

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2004 to Mar 31, 2005
Premiered: Fall 2004
Broadcast: Thursdays at 01:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, DramaDrama, MusicMusic, ShounenShounen, Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.351 (scored by 9888398,883 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1892
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #490
Members: 219,404
Favorites: 6,421

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 4, 2007
lowell (All reviews)
I ended up rewatching this series recently to kill some spare time, and -- I don't know why -- I found that I liked the whole series a lot more the second time around. I mean, I liked it the first time... but the second time, I really liked it.

It's about this middle school kid named Koyuki, who finally connects with the world around him through music and what eventually becomes a band called Beck... blah, blah, blah.

Story-wise... it's a little kooky. I don't know how other people viewed it, but being from the U.S., well, I had to remind myself a few read more
Jun 19, 2007
jet2r0cks (All reviews)
First of all, it is much better than expected. The storyline was so interesting and wonderfully executed, that I even disregarded the sub par drawing style . I like the idea of a band struggling to make it big not only in Japan, but as well as in America.

Speaking of the band, the BECK: Mongolian Chop Squad was a good band (I say it's "good" because I am not a fan of rap-rock music). Earlier in the series, when Ryuusuke was talking about chemistry in a band and stuff, I did see the chemistry among the five. First you have Ryuusuke, who reeks of pure read more
Dec 13, 2007
Xan09 (All reviews)
I Loved this show, but my rating is coming with a bias, because i basically just watched my life in an anime. I am a musician who has had many bands playing clubs and an arena, so this show was a great watch.

Story- My opinion on the story is heavily biased, i was instantly drawn into it through the main character Koyuki (Yukio) and his feeling of emptiness at the beginning about how he didn't see his place in the world, and then finding it by being introduced to a well known bandand falling in love with music. Ruyuuske is the average underground musician read more
Mar 2, 2011
Bdiah (All reviews)
Beck tells the story of a young high school student who picks up a guitar and begins a journey of growth, music, and friendship within a rock band.

While you don't see many serious depictions of rock bands in anime, the story and characters somehow don't really stand out. Koyuki, in particular is as bland as can be, but many of the other characters such as Ryusuke and Maho really don't have much to their personalities either. The story fits the characters and plods along in no real hurry to make a point. Many episodes felt like they ended simply because they were read more
Jun 24, 2009
JesuOtaku_ (All reviews)
I can honestly say that I have never seen another anime like BECK: Mongolian Chop Squad. Slice-of-life anime is common, of course, but usually it’s that rosy Azumanga Daioh view of high school that resembles real life only in place and time, like a Disney sitcom. The best way to describe this show is that it’s an animated independent film. Except for the patchwork dog and an only slightly far-fetched mobster side-plot near the show’s climax, the series feels grounded not in picturesque reality like a lot of high school slice-of-life, but in the persistently disappointing ennui of real high school life, and the grit read more
Mar 12, 2015
Honest_Senpai (All reviews)




Being a fan of rock music I wanted to find a good musical anime that exemplifies my love for the genre. Unfortunately watching a show called K-ON derailed me for a year on trying some other musical based anime. However I came across a great rock anime called Beck.


Story:
Yukio Tanaka A.K.A Koyuki is our 14 year old main protagonist. After helping out a strange looking dog (Beck) he meets 16 year old Ryusuke Minami who is making a name for himself in the music business. After witnessing Ryusuke play guitar Koyuki is encouraged to take up playing guitar.

The story is mainly focussing read more
Oct 22, 2007
jukugo (All reviews)
Series about young boys searching for themselves and their place in life are not rare by any stretch of the imagination, but ones that really grasp the viewer and provide something more than a simple coming of age story are astoundingly rare. Beck takes the coming of age story and introduces two characteristics which help to distinguish it greatly from other series of its kind: a deep immersion in the world of underground rock, and a deep involvement with its subject matter, which lends emotional weight and a sense of honesty to a tired premise.
--
Koyuki, the main character, is unremarkable at first glance--a currently unskilled read more
Nov 19, 2008
cherryscented (All reviews)
Honestly, I wasn't looking forward to this show. I saw it at a pawn shop for a very cheap price so I went ahead to give a chance. Even after having a friend telling me it pretty much sucks. I must say that it was a whole lot better than I expected. It certainly isn't my favourite but there is something special about it.

The concept of the show is fairly simple, just a band trying to gain fame in the world of music. Of course, there's much more to it than that. There are a couple of side stories which do, in fact, spice read more
Jul 10, 2010
Black_Rose1809 (All reviews)
I never saw a music theme manga or anime until I watched K-On!. Since then, I been hooked to the max for anime like that. I watched some like it and some not like it, but this anime is much more than "Just like K-ON!" Its own feel to it, Its uniqueness that called out to me.

The story is about this young boy, Tanaka Yukio or Koyuki, starting to get tired of his life, only 14 years in this world and he's already getting tired. Until one day... he meets this really mysterious guy with a even more mysterious dog. From the day Koyuki read more
Jan 6, 2014
UselessMerchant (All reviews)
Beck is an anime that I have deep respect for since I am a musician myself. This show really does create a sense of what being a rock musician would really be about and it does have some great moments that make this show memorable. Add that to its good music, and spectacular voice acting and characters, Beck comes off as a fantastic show. However, Beck although very good in its ideas, expression, humor, characters, and just overall awesomeness as an anime also makes some aggravating blunders that bother me to no end. Without these blunders or issues, I feel that this anime could have read more
Dec 27, 2014
Kakikesu (All reviews)
I am somewhat biased towards this show in a positive way, considering I am a big fan of rock music and I first viewed it when I was not much older than the main character (around 15 or 16). Like Koyuki, I was young, impressionable, and troubled, so that's a major factor into why I love it so much.

The story is a coming-of-age slice of life about Koyuki, a disconnected 14-year-old junior high student who has trouble connecting to his life and the people around him. Starting with his fated meeting with Beck, the scrappy-looking dog, it chronicles his progression into a guitarist in an read more
Apr 3, 2015
Luquillo (All reviews)
The anime genre is so over saturated with the action packed and heavily fan service driven titles that serious down to Earth works like Beck: Mongolian Chop Squad can easily be overlooked. It still amazes me that anime fans I personally know never heard of it until I mentioned it to them. I think very highly of Beck because it simply speaks to me on a personal level.

Beck: Mongolian Chop Squad is an introspective, slice of life, drama/comedy that follows people whom found their way in life through music. I believe this anime was put together by those whom have been around music and love read more
Oct 8, 2007
Seppelin (All reviews)
UNDER CONTRUCTION

This anime is the shit. If you like rock n roll like The Beatles,Led Zeppelin,Jimi Hendrix..this anime is for you. This anime emphasises that rock is not about the looks that attracts the fans. Its the music itself attract the fans.

Story-The best part of the anime. The story starts jr.high school and ends in high school. So the story is 4 over running span. Its about a boy growing up into a man. He wonders if his life going to be interesting etc. Until he met a young professional guitarist. Well w/e just watch the fucking anime.

Art- Art is decent thought not read more
Dec 13, 2015
ChissyCheeze (All reviews)
Oh man what a journey this anime was! I'm sort of mad that I had it on my PTW list for so long, and I'll tell you why. Beck is one of those special anime that reels you in with its relatable characters, and intriguing storyline. I'm really glad that I can put this on my list as my 100th completed anime. Nevertheless, the review:

Story 10/10: As someone who is a huge rock/metal fan, the idea of an anime about a rock band forming immediately caught my attention. The story is just that, a rock band that performs and tries to rise to fame. But read more
Aug 23, 2015
Pristinz (All reviews)
This is my review on the anime Beck.

Story: The story its SELF isn't anything amazing,but its not bad either its about a 14 year old boy who goes by the name koyuki who feels his life is going no where until he saves a miss matched dog called beck, who belongs to the guiter player Ryuusuke which then lead him into the world of music with this he goes through hardship of trying to figure out who he is and who he wants to be.

Art: The art is anything great either but it does suit the anime so well the animators did a good job read more
Aug 4, 2015
YetiSlayer (All reviews)
“… RJ label can only produce “feel good” pop tunes, “escapist” music that says everything is alright which just paralyzes people’s consciousness and steals their ability to solve problems that they face in their everyday lives.” – Wao Sato on pop music, Ep 20.

I was taught to begin a review/speech/whatever with a quote, and so I have for you a quote from the anime itself. When I first saw a mention of this show on a youtuber’s list of best musical anime (incidentally one of the very few youtubers to mention the anime; reason below), it was more than enough to captivate me. There was read more
Aug 28, 2013
falconsight (All reviews)
Writing my first review, about the only anime that I would give a 10/10 to feel free to read as you please and make a decision based on this,

As I came across this show by chance, I was very surprised at how well it was done. I did watch this in dub, as I found that if they were speaking English in the anime, might as well do it in dub, and to my surprise, it was one of the best dubs I had ever watched.

The music was great, awesome music, that I enjoyed very much. After all, this anime is about music.

The read more
May 11, 2011
Magdalen (All reviews)
BECK was an instant hit for me because it mixed two things I love, slice-of-life animes and music.

BECK tells the story of Koyuki, an average high schooler who one day saves a crazy looking dog from being beaten up. This random act of kindness causes a catalyst for him to be thrown into the world of the dog's owner, Ryuusuke, and his rock music lifestyle where he wishes to create the "ultimate band".

The story development really worked in favour of this anime. It would be all too easy with a plot like this, to rush into plot arcs and scenes with no care for read more
Jan 21, 2013
mahoganycow (All reviews)
“Is this really all there is? I had to wonder. Fourteen years old, and I already felt like my life was at a dead end.”

So intones the narrator and main character of Beck, fourteen-year-old Yukio “Koyuki” Tanaka, after zoning out in class and being gently mocked by his teacher. The world is filled with people like Koyuki—people who live in fear of the future not because they're stupid or untalented, but because they just happen to have all of the ambition, passion, and direction of rocks stuck in river mud. Beck does a lot of things right, but the reason it really stands out is read more
Mar 1, 2014
ExOsc2 (All reviews)
Before I begin I'd like to say beck was a good anime, and you can find several reviews here to give you a plethora of good reasons to watch it; or determine if it isn't your cup of tea. Instead of reviewing every aspect of the show, I'm going to review what I consider the "romantic" aspect. Keep in mind, Beck first and foremost is an anime about the band, and is not centered around romance. However even in non-romance stories, I find that if there is a romance it can be important to how I perceive the show and even play a big read more