Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Phantom: Requiem for the Phantom


Alternative Titles

English: Phantom: Requiem for the Phantom
Japanese: Phantom 〜Requiem for the Phantom〜

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 3, 2009 to Sep 25, 2009
Premiered: Spring 2009
Broadcast: Fridays at 02:15 (JST)
Producers: Genco
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Bee Train
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.071 (scored by 93,503 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #4742
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #432
Members: 233,982
Favorites: 4,021

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 8, 2017
FredDuck (All reviews)
Phantom (170108)

I really wanted to love Tsubasa Chronicle. It had a nifty story idea and I do like CLAMP’s work because it tends to throw a curve ball right at you when you least anticipate it, so I expected great things. However…it’s in…cred…ibly s…l…o…w…

I was reading up on Tsubasa Chronicle and found that it was animated by Bee Train. Fast forward a couple of months and I randomly picked up Phantom. As I watched the Op, I noticed that this show was animated by Bee Train.

Hmm.

Well, it turns out that either Bee Train is exceptionally inexpensive or unusually inept because Phantom is in…cred…ibly s…l…o…w…

Coincidence? I read more
May 3, 2009
Fullmetalfan (All reviews)
Preliminary
Guns, girls, action, secret organisations and two main characters who don't remember their own identities! - Yes, this anime has all the makings of a great show, and is seemingly, (although its hard to say as at the time of writing this we are only 5 episodes into the series) delivering on the promise which its plot is showing.

The story focuses on the lives of Ein and Zwei, two brainwashed and highly trained assassins, both searching for their lost memories and identities which were stolen from them by the mysterious organisation known as inferno. The story, which bears striking similarities to that of the read more
Jan 21, 2010
sevenay (All reviews)
What can I say? I loved Phantom.

Story: 8

The story of Phantom: Requiem for the Phantom basically takes place in three arcs. I found the first two to be frankly amazing: great plot, mood, character development etc--not much to say about them other than you will probably really enjoy them. My main problem with Phantom's story is the third arc. While I still found it entertaining, there were quite a few parts in this arc that required a bit too much suspension of disbelief. I still couldn't stop watching, which is saying a lot, but some people will probably be really annoyed at the way certain read more
Apr 10, 2013
Paulwillson26 (All reviews)
A Japanese tourist witnesses a murder while on holiday and is chased, cornered by the assassin, Phantom, and given a choice become an assassin or die.

From this point on he has one purpose, become the new Phantom the most feared figure in the underworld bringing destruction to the most powerful criminals in America. Brainwashed, controlled by Inferno, a criminal organisation aiming to take control of the underworld, no more than its tool and no recollection of his past he begins to live in a world full of violence and betrayal.

And violence and betrayal is what Phantom is about. Names matter only in the sense read more
Dec 10, 2012
Anguro (All reviews)
Phantom: Requiem for the Phantom has certainly proved to me that there is anime out there that, despite being under appreciated, truly is worth the watch, as it provides so much suspense and enjoyment throughout the series.

The story is well structured, enjoyable, entertaining and just plain awesome, the whole made to kill or be killed thing appealed to me especially, considering what a tough situation that must be like in real life. The crime aspect of the show also cements my passion for it simply presents us with an exciting scenario. The time skips, character developments and many other things further enhance the great storyline, read more
May 2, 2013
khunter (All reviews)
This anime is truly amazing. The plot is fantastic and the character are easily liked. I loved everything about this show. It is dark, serious, and very intelligent. The main character was just a normal kid who was forced to become an assassin and turns into this cold killing machine. Anything else would be a spoiler. But anyways, this show is well worth a watch. and a rewatch. and then another. The art is amazing, and the music, beautiful. Like seriously, the music is beautiful. Classical music that fits the show too well, i cant help but think it's all original. Needless to say, this read more
May 6, 2009
COpeter (All reviews)
Preliminary
Maybe you might think im overly positive, but i am. This serie got me hooked from the moment i watched the trailer. I have watched Darker than Black too and found that this looks quite alot like it.

The story setting is quite a dark one, where you are plunged into not knowing stuff. as it looks you will learn more about the Main chars and Inferno as you watch along with the serie.

The action in the serie is good, its almost what you could come across in real life. Its very good. The animation is also high class, it has some slight improvements but still read more
Nov 13, 2011
Hazegurl (All reviews)
When I first heard of this show I was so happy because I really liked the Phantom movie and wanted to see more. Like the movie, a Japanese guy takes a trip to America and witnesses an assassination. The man who trained the female assassin sees potential in him and kidnaps him, wipes his memories and trains him to become an assassin. Now he's living in a kill or be killed world of mob bosses, syndicates, drug dealers and so on. He takes on the code name Zwei and works with his partner Ein.

Usually in these types of anime the female character is read more
May 7, 2010
Kurohime-T (All reviews)
This is my first review and i hope it will be helpful in someway.

I felt i had to write this to give Phantom -Requiem for the Phantom- the credit it fully deserves.

I actually loved this anime right from the start. Phantom -Requiem for the Phantom- takes you right into the underworld where there are gangs, guns and one wrong move could cost you your life.

The anime captures you right from the very beginning by really making you think. Questions are already beginning to forming that you want the answer to. Who or what is Inferno? Who is Zwei really?
The best part was, unlike in other read more
Mar 16, 2015
phs_togusa (All reviews)
I'll just say this right now: I don't care much for mafia drama. Films like The Godfather and Scarface bore the shit out of me and the entire genre is way too tedious to keep my interest any longer than say 5 minutes. With that said, I've always had a fondness for programmes like Breaking Bad and Dexter but they just get ridiculous after a certain point. So where does that leave Phantom: Requiem for the Phantom? Well, I suppose it's the direct inverse of .hack//SIGN (another Bee Train show): it's a show that started off strong and had an intense middle act that ended read more
Nov 19, 2010
-Keeper- (All reviews)
“I think we had other ways to live our lives. If we had met some other way, we might have been able to live happily ever after.”
“Yeah … We just messed up somewhere, that’s all …”

This interaction between two of the characters (and I won’t say which ones, so don’t feel spoiled; they are not the ones you’re probably thinking about right now) sums the whole thing up nicely. Because this anime is mostly about taking lives – in various ways: Take the victim that is shot. Or the assassin who is mourning for his lost innocence and feelings. Or the person who read more
Jan 17, 2014
DouLou (All reviews)
Phantom - Requiem for the Phantom: It's been a week since I finished this anime and I still occasionally find myself visiting youtube just to listen to the "Canzone of Death" theme to reignite my thoughts on the series and it's conclusion. When an Anime has such an emotional impact on me that it leaves me reeling yet still coming back for more, I'd say it's done a pretty damn fine job, right?

The premise for Phantom is rather simple. Our main protagonist is an innocent tourist who is brainwashed and turned into an assassin. A few montages later he perfects his skills and is ready read more
Dec 23, 2018
jerlock (All reviews)
Phantom: Requiem for the Phantom. I had seen this anime on various top 100 lists, and it took my friend's recommendation to finally watch... and honestly, I was fairly disappointed. From monotonous episodes, idiosyncratic plot points, and often redundant characters; this anime is a good example of how an interesting concept initially presented well, goes downhill quickly.

Story: 5
In my opinion, the story is the weakest aspect of this anime. It opens up in an interesting way, the world seems vibrant and interesting, and the insinuation of assassins killing for the mafia seems enticing. However, soon, the anime is plagued with awful time skips and read more
Jan 11, 2014
miwars (All reviews)
"Please tell me, if I could never have happiness in real life, can't I at least get to dream about it sometimes?" Cal Devens/Drei.

Phantom : Requiem of the Phantom is a beautifully told sad story. This is one dark anime that doesn't compromise, depicting the psychological state of mind of the main protagonists in a way you can feel their pain, their despair, their struggle. Kill or be killed. Instincts end up having the upper hand, and those who aren't able to kill anymore die invariably.

Unable to remember their past, two assassins, Ein and Zwei, are forced to lead a dreadful life, killing repeatedly for read more
May 8, 2013
satomi_vc (All reviews)
A great hit-man/psychological anime.

What stood out to me about this anime is how much the music and sound affected the entire story to evoke the emotion behind Zwei and Ein, also Reiji and Eren. I still listen to the ost and feel what I felt when watching the episodes for the first time. The accuracy of the sounds goes down to the type of guns they each used. The music also balances the dychotomy of the tension and calmness throughout the entire anime.

The characters develop as they mature, although personally I would have preferred to see a little more spark between Reiji and read more
Sep 30, 2015
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Phantom: Requiem for the Phantom is an anime series based on a visual novel game from Nitro+. With the initial release in 2000 for the PC. In 2009, it was adapted into an anime from Bee Train & Genco. Bee Train does have some experience with anime based on games, having done anime based on Arc the Lad & Wild Arms. In this case, I'd never heard of either the game or the anime before it was requested. So, I don't know what to expect. Let's delve right in.

Story:

The narrative follows a young man who wakes up in a strange place with no memory, oh read more
Aug 8, 2012
Spagglespook (All reviews)
Phantom: Requiem for the Phantom is a high profile and well presented series with an interesting premise - that a criminal organization programs people to become hardened assassins. However from the first episode and until the very end it presents an extremely weak storyline, episode one presents a man with amnesia (that laziest of plot devices) who has been selected to survive some "training" with a veteran assassin and Navy SEAL. The man directing the training (Scythe Master) does nothing more than throw the protagonist (Zwei) into the deep end, Scythe doing nothing more than spouting vague and weakly whimsy statements. This is a big read more
Sep 27, 2009
ShadowBlazer3000 (All reviews)
Phantom ~Requiem for the Phantom~ showed great promise and for the most part delivered on that. The best yet of the spring roster but it was also at many times the weakest. Coming from Studio BEE TRAIN and director Koichi Mashimo on the coat tails of the mess that was Blade of the Immortal but the lesser known diamond in the rough episode "Field Test" on the joint US/Japan production of Batman Gotham Knight Phantom delivers action with some emotion sporadically at best, but still lives up to expectations in the end.

Director Mashimo who created the famous Girls With Gun trilogy of Noir, read more
Jan 28, 2017
smurfmother (All reviews)
Story and Characters: 2(two) episodes are recaps, out of 24, which is ridiculous in its own right. The story is repetitious, the writing is both snobby and uninspiring. The summary of characters is as such: """genius""" slut who plots to take over the organization with a plan that isn't very well thought out at all. A chair sniffing loser named "Scythe Master" who seemingly has no real purpose other than to be the smart guy with glasses that's obligatory in any thriller. Eins, who hardly ever shows emotion, and Svei, who hardly ever shows emotion. Later on they throw in Cal, who doesn't seem to read more
Apr 15, 2012
moseslionheart (All reviews)
When I saw this anime I was surprised because I saw not anime but Hollywood Movie.

I think why many members who give a value of 8 and 9 in this anime is the story of a amazing drama and Ein and Zwei success in their role. But here I want to write a review of the anime from my point of view although it would be a lot of users are considered "not helpful" but I do not care about it because here I want to write my disappointment on this anime but this time I just want to focus on the story.

1. The story read more