Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Phantom: Requiem for the Phantom


Alternative Titles

English: Phantom: Requiem for the Phantom
Japanese: Phantom 〜Requiem for the Phantom〜

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 3, 2009 to Sep 25, 2009
Premiered: Spring 2009
Broadcast: Fridays at 02:15 (JST)
Producers: Genco
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Bee Train
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.071 (scored by 93,126 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #4802
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #432
Members: 233,121
Favorites: 4,009

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 23, 2010
Moonfrost (All reviews)
Regret always comes last. People realize that they are doing wrong deeds when everything is over. They may try to go after a new life and start again but the fact that they messed up before will haunt them forever.

Story: 9/10
Prepare yourselves as you will be taken into a world full of violence, betrayal, deceit, and madness. You will be in the edge of your seats as every episode is an action packed episode. Everyone has the ability to kill or will kill when they think that their survival is being threatened. The protagonist chose a path that will change his life drastically. Not like read more
May 13, 2014
Emptycoffeemug (All reviews)
Phantom: Requiem for the Phantom is a prime example of a show that is too overrated by fans, who easily overlook some gaping plot holes, and downgraded into oblivion by haters, who cannot see anything but those plot holes. I think this show sits somewhere in between: it is a fine show to watch, nothing exeptionally great, but not bad either. If you're trying to decide on watching this, let this be your decision after 1/2 episodes: do you like the character relationship of Ein and Zwei? Go on. If you do not, don't bother with the show. I will try to provide my arguments read more
Oct 25, 2015
SanaeK10 (All reviews)
Phantom is simply a mess. It's a mesh of fine ideas that ultimately is not executed well and ends up with a lot of wasted potential. Let's dive down deeper to see how Phantom ended up.

This review contains minor spoilers after the "Read More" mark.

Phantom consists of 3 main arcs, each separated by a recap episode, and each focusing on 3 different characters, Ein, Zwei and Drei, although with Zwei being an important character throughout. The story starts of with an interesting premise of an amnesiac man being manipulated by a shady organization.

However this thread is very quickly resolved when he learns of his read more
Apr 27, 2013
Patches1980s (All reviews)
I can imagine many people bashing their heads against the wall trying to write a review for this anime without revealing spoilers; so I'm going to do this as best as possible...

Phantom: Requiem for the Phantom. One thing for sure is that this is one masterfully written and awesomely portrayed bit of story telling. In the twenty six episodes you'll find that you keep saying to yourself: "just one more episode", since it is almost impossible to watch just one episode at a time. (I gave the story a solid 10/10).

The art and sound department did a superb job (the opening theme "Karma" in read more
Aug 19, 2012
StopDropAndBowl (All reviews)
This show is a classic case of: Good Idea, Bad Execution

It starts off simply enough with an intriguing (if all-too-common) storyline and interesting, shadowy characters. The first few episodes are pretty strong, focusing mainly on the development of the main protagonist and his interactions with his new employers and colleagues. I was eager to find out what would happen next, and in my eagerness, I ignored all the signs of what would come.

Very quickly the story takes a very cliched turn, and the characters become little more than billboards of irrationality. The motivations of the protagonists, antagonists, and pretty much everyone in the show, read more
Jun 27, 2009
Nemosyne (All reviews)
Preliminary

Personally the idea of a secret organization hidden in the underground has always sent a small chill down the spine. One of thrill and a small yearn of wanting to join in on the fun. Grunge, guns, passion, hate, emptiness, lust, power, suits, death, and fancy cars; these are some of things that is offered in this forbidden and hidden world. At first glance it looks like a life worth trying out, but the void that can be created within one’s mind can become the very undoing of their life. Zwei is one of the most detailed read more
Mar 20, 2015
SSparK (All reviews)
My thirst for gun action animes had grown after watching Hellsing Ultimate and Black Lagoon, and somehow, this particular anime showed up in my recommendations quite frequently. So I gave it a try.

PLOT
It started off with a Japanese young man where he founds himself in a room. Having completely no idea about his reasons for being there and his identity, he tried to explore where he was. It was only then he was "attacked" by a girl named Ein. It was then shown that he was experimented in an abandoned outlet in the States to test his abilities and skills. Next, he realized that his read more
Oct 28, 2010
Nipsirc (All reviews)
Preliminary
Reading through the reviews on here I'm left wondering if i downloaded the wrong show, i went into this show with high levels of optimism, low popularity, but highly rated, definitely a potential gem.

I liked 'Similar shows' such as Gungrave and Black Lagoon, and this show is not on the same level as those shows.

The premise is solid, and potentially very interesting, people being emotionally scrubbed and programmed as assassins, and the relationships that develop under these circumstances, almost certainly going to be dark and tragic, should be great.

The art and sound are both solid, i liked the character models, they were well realised and read more
Nov 18, 2012
Araconan (All reviews)
What's our reason for existence? We all have one, but often, those reasons were given to us before we were even born. Most of us have the luxury of being surrounded by friends, family, siblings, etc. But what happens when we're completely stripped of all of those, and are thrown out to find a new existence on our own?

Story - 9:

The core plot of Requiem for the Phantom centers around one's pursuit of one's reason to exist. To find one's place in the world. And as the viewer quickly discovers, successfully accomplishing this is quite an ambitious task. This is due to the fact read more
Aug 23, 2009
vouyou (All reviews)
Preliminary
In my opinion, Phantom Requiem will may be figure in the top10 anime of the year 2009.
Phantom Requiem is firstly an anime where you need to be attentive, in fact, mafia members in that anime often discuss about plans,strategies which are quite difficult to understand.However, the most fascinating side of that anime resides in the relationship between Reiji/zwei and Elen/Ein.I would say that the main theme of this anime is FREEDOM.

Phantom Requiem is an anime for those who mostly love drama since the story of Elen and Reiji is very touching.Therefore, if you are searching for impressive scenes of actions and suspense, I suggest that read more
Oct 4, 2014
Sorrowful (All reviews)
This anime is disgustingly underrated. Phantom: Requiem for the Phantom is an adaption of the visual novel, Phantom of the Inferno by Gen Urobuchi. The show contains much of Gen’s dark and twisted depiction of reality. Characters are subjected to cruel fates, true despair, and most importantly the anime shows that "hope" is merely an elusive and fleeting illusion in our (in)humane world. The main focus of the anime is the idea of the perfect assassin. It is about crafting the mindset an assassin needs; how assassins are mere inhumane tools for psychopathic people. Requiem for the Phantom crafts a palpable sense of despair and read more
Sep 10, 2013
vinvis (All reviews)
At the time of writing, I've just finished this. At first I was in doubt if I should watch this or not, because of a rather vague description.

I completed this series in two days, the fastest I've ever finished an anime! For anyone deciding whether or not to watch this, that should tell you everything you need to know.

Here's the good versus the bad in my opinion:

Good:

- Doesn't lay all the cards on the table right away. Starts off mysteriously.
- Some of the best sound effects for guns I've ever heard in an anime.
- Dynamic, meaningful characters. Especially the main characters show good read more
Aug 16, 2013
Zumorito (All reviews)
'' I can not escape from those darkened black eyes''

Phantom: Requiem of the Phantom.
If you have been captured alive and pushed to the brink of death, and as reward for survival would be your life, what would you do? If the serious question was made if you were worthy to live or should just die, what would you do?In most situations panic would break out within a normal human being. But there are some that release a kind of instinct;the power to survive.

Phantom: Requiem of the Phantom is one of a kind; a series that takes their own story trough a fly staircase of read more
Sep 25, 2013
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Phantom explores a scenario of teenage Zwei brainwashed, wiped of his memories and forced into becoming an assassin for the crime syndicate known as Inferno. The series starts off exploring the "what if" scenario of a teen being conditioned into an emotionless tool with the harsh training that he is subjected to by another brainwashed teen assassin named Ein. As the series progresses and Zwei becomes immersed in the criminal underworld of Inferno, he finds himself dealing with deception, rival crime syndicates, morality and coming to learn of his lost past. There is a good amount of focus on Zwei's character in his situation as read more
Sep 29, 2009
SamFury (All reviews)
We Are Ghosts, Meant for the Shadows

The Phantom returns. What you didn't know that there was a Phantom series before this? Phantom the Animation moved in and out from the anime conscious like a ghost. Phantom: Requiem for a Phantom [Phantom] is supposed to be a remake for that tragic three part OVA, as well as extending the story. It greatly improves upon the original, but does it succeed on its own?

Phantom welcomes you to the underworld, where gang families trade dollar bills and bullets, the players run the game and the game plays with their lives. Inferno, an upstart organization, backed by mysterious Mr.Mcguire, read more
Apr 2, 2017
Cinefil_original (All reviews)
My Opinion:
This show presents the darkness of reality, a violent world filled with betrayal, madness, deceit and sacrifices. It shows coruption at its finest and the mafia way of living and dying.
It is the story of a man who’s very essence and existence is changed through brute force. It presents the protagonist’s path that leads to the man he will become as well as his struggle to find the man he once was.

Story: 7/10
The premise of Phantom: Requiem for the Phantom is truly original, with well done plot details and carefully thought actions, it keeps you on the edge of your seat, craving for more read more
Feb 21, 2015
Pyrowombat (All reviews)
It's a fairly common trend in just about most action mediums, whether it be anime or not, to focus more on the action than the story. Phantom: Requiem for the Phantom is part of that minority which focuses more on the story, and I have to say that it does a really good job of doing so without taking away from what makes an action medium well... an action medium.

Story: 8/10

The story follows the twisted and tragic life of Zwei, a teenage boy who has no recollection of his past, and is forced to become an assassin under the guidance of Ein, also known as read more
Oct 31, 2015
ChucriBZ (All reviews)
Phantom: Requiem for the Phantom
Deception is what describes this anime for me, i was so hooked since the first ep. and on ep. 13 or 14 i was thinking this was an 8 and before ep. 11 a 9 but in every ep. after 14 i felt that the quality of not only the story but everything was dropping and i ended feeling frustration because of the direction this was taking, also it reminded me of Noir and what i found out was that Bee Train was behind both animes, that's why Ein is really similar to Kirika, just like the lack of bullet holes, read more
May 18, 2010
Dekkar (All reviews)
This is my first review, doing my best to avoid spoilers. Hope this helps someone decide if they want to watch the series :)

Story
The highlight of the story was the relationships that develop between the main cast, mainly the relationships that occur from both the female leads towards the male lead, I found this to be very interesting as they were both complex yet quite different relationships.
Unfortunately, likely due to the strength of the main relationships, the interactions regarding the remaining characters were simply underwhelming.
The story was quite dark and confronting at times, touching on strong themes such as struggling with personal identity and read more
Aug 4, 2014
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

Every now and then, while watching an anime, you take a step back and realize how much of an effect that the work is truly having on you. I’m sure that anyone reading this review is familiar with the feeling: You couldn’t be more engrossed the story, you couldn’t be more emotionally attached to the characters, and you couldn’t look away from the screen even if you wanted to. Adrenaline courses through your veins at every subtle movement as you shift even further to the edge of your seat, demanding to know what happens next. Your heart sinks and rises in complete dissonance read more