Saki

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Saki
Japanese: 咲-Saki-

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2009 to Sep 28, 2009
Premiered: Spring 2009
Broadcast: Mondays at 02:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Gonzo, Picture Magic
Source: Manga
Genres: GameGame, SchoolSchool, Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.491 (scored by 3120431,204 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #16262
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1665
Members: 78,803
Favorites: 814
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 1, 2009
Skadi (All reviews)
I have to admit I went into my viewing of Saki with next to zero knowledge about the game of Mahjong, its terminology, or its rules. Besides a short wiki article and just the visual similarities to some domino games I have played before, most of it still is quite vague and mysterious. I was drawn to Saki by the cute character designs, a hint of yuri romance, and my own curiosity over the game of Mahjong.

Despite my curiosity, the idea of a 25 episode anime revolving around a table game doesn’t sound all that exciting. Most likely that is going to read more
Sep 29, 2009
game8910 (All reviews)
What do you get when you take mahjong, you shoot massive amounts ridiculous special effects, you add a huge cast of high school girls, you give them POWERLEVELS, and then you make them 90% lesbian? Does it sound ridiculous yet? Regardless of how you feel about what I just described, Saki somehow managed to take all the above points, mush them up together, and regurgitate one of the most fun and entertaining show I've seen in a while.

Story:
+ Simple and straight through story
+ Easy to swallow and get into
+ The mahjong games are SO MUCH FUN to watch and the show has PLENTY of them

- read more
Feb 15, 2015
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
There once was a woman named Saki
Who used to think Mahjong was yucky
But her friends got the chills
When she showed off her skills
She was so unbelievably lucky

Then the Mahjong club was reinstated
In a manner that made it seem fated
And Saki fell in love
With a woman part of
The same club and she wished that they dated

So with that comes the start of our story
As they all began playing for glory
When the hour was nigh
They held their heads up high
And they joined the prefectural tourney

Then the girls started showing their powers
And they played like in god mode for hours
There was also in store
Yuri service galore
They were clearly read more
Jun 11, 2009
DemonixX (All reviews)
Preliminary
Luckily I play a little mahjong, so I can keep up with some of the jargon, but the more complex variant scoring rules went beyond me.

Saki, based on the manga by Ritz Kobayashi and adapted into anime by Gonzo looks Like it may just be something fun about mahjong!

Still, I was impressed. The art makes the show look like it might be a fluff piece, with very little actual mahjong. If anything, there was more mahjong than moe in this show. Sure, there is plenty of zettai ryouiki, blushing and other elements that make you wonder if the show was actually meant to be a read more
Aug 2, 2009
Greenfox (All reviews)
Preliminary
When I first seen this anime coming out I was very excited because it appeared to be much like Hikaru no Go which is one of my favorite anime. However, after watching several episodes I realized they are nothing alike. The only thing they have in common is the fact that they both revolve around games. The game in Saki is Mahjong. I've tried to play Mahjong in the past but could never completely understand it and hoped this anime could help. Unfortunately, it can't.

Unlike Hikaru no Go, Saki focuses more on the characters than the game itself. The episodes read more
Sep 27, 2009
Imperturbable (All reviews)
Saki is exactly what you'd expect from a tournament-style "sports" game, minus exceedingly high testosterone levels, and plus lots and lots of moe. Now, Saki is about mahjong, which really... isn't a sport, but it's treated like one, and it's, as they say, serious business— every character lives and breathes mahjong.

The premise is not what you would call exceptional in any case. You have your protagonist who possesses remarkable talent, and through training and perservance, will become the best of the best. Who learns lessons through trials and tribulations, deepening and strenghtening bonds with teammates as time goes along. Your standard read more
Dec 28, 2011
FauxAzn (All reviews)
Want serious Mahjong? Try Akagi instead. Saki plays it fun and easy, preferring thunderous entertainment over logic, plausibility, and critical thinking. This FUNtastic underground gem needs more love. MAL already has plenty of lengthy reviews for Saki, so I'll keep this one to the point:

Pleasant Surprise #1:
For such a seemingly low-budget title, it's voiced by an all-star cast of seiyuu.

Pleasant Surprise #2:
Rather than play out as gagworthy as I expected, the hints of yuri actually spiced things up. Nothing is ever explicitly stated, everything is implied, and the light yuri factor whimsically floats in that fun stage before relationships get read more
May 10, 2010
Juusan13 (All reviews)
Preliminary
The easiest way to describe this anime is:
Lesbians playing mahjong using supernatural powers. It may sound stupid, but that's because it is.

Well, I can't really blame this anime for the fanservice and all that, because it's supposed to be moe, and it kinda is, while I thought the story was stupid, the only good thing about it was the ending which was ok, but still watching this anime was just dreadful and I dropped it after the 2nd ep., but I have heard from a friend some stuff about it, it seems there's a girl who plays better in mahjong when there's a full moon, read more
May 20, 2010
lasercannon (All reviews)
First off, don't bother watching this show if you know nothing about mahjong. You won't understand a thing. Yes, you could try to learn from the explanations the subbers provide, but honestly, it's going to be hard, and you probably won't enjoy it.

If you're familiar with a mahjong but don't know the Japanese variant, I'd recommend skimming over the basics of the scoring system on Wikipedia. Specifically, you should learn how riichi and dora work, and how payouts are handled. Knowing some of the rare yaku and yakuman hands can also help since they'll crop up a lot in the series.

Character-wise, there isn't really read more
Dec 5, 2012
MoonfrostGirl (All reviews)
You are probably thinking it sounds really boring, but in all honesty it's one of the best anime I have ever watched in my opinion. It takes mahjong to the level of superpowers, but not in the pathetic, stupid way some animes do. You don't have to know a single thing about mahjong. You get to know the characters, come to love them, and feel like you are at the table playing with them. You get excited when they get stronger, are amazed by the opponents strenghth, and feel everything the protaganist does. Don't forget to add in a yuri comedy, a club, and a read more
Nov 10, 2009
Takomancer (All reviews)
Preliminary
I will tell you straight that this anime is dreadful to watch. This anime mostly consists of fan-services and nodoka's gigantic breasts. The story is very pathetic and juvenile. However, the art and sound alone are superbly done. The character designs are unique, but I just can't bare to watch episodes looking at the characters themselves for more than 2 seconds without glancing myself on nodoka's breasts. This basically sums up what this anime is all about. This review is not to offend anyone and it is only my opinion of this anime. Thank you :)
If you are truely looking for a thrilling Majong anime, read more
May 17, 2013
powerofemo (All reviews)
Now, I should make one thing clear. I dont have a clue how to play Mahjong. I know nothing of the rules, and even after watching the anime, i still dont. When i first started this anime, I had no idea what i was getting into. Boy, was i impressed. As far as the story goes, the anime uses a typical storyline, a group of high school students, aiming for the Nationals at some sort of sport or game. The characters are great. We have the main character, Miyanaga Saki, who grew up hating Mahjong. As the story progresses, she grows to love mahjong more read more
Apr 23, 2012
St-Hubert (All reviews)
Tacos... And yuri pairings.
Mahjong is a side dish.

Once upon a taco bell, in the world of Saki, existed Yuuki. She loved Tacos. They were so good. In fact, they were soo good that they gave her the ability to play Mahjong. But the taco gods were not that generous. Indeed, they put a terrible curse on her. She would only be able to play decent mahjong during the east wind. During the other periods she would just play like a toddler. In addition to the curse, she was also forbidden to have lesbian relationships with the others. CAN YUUKI ESCAPE HER FATE? FIND OUT NEXT read more
Jan 13, 2012
dlarbthd (All reviews)
"Tsumo, Rinshankaihou"; you expect to see this virtually at all mahjong matches in "Saki".

Personally as a Japanese mahjong player, it is at the extremes of "unrealisticness"; having Rinshan-Agari almost at will [refer to Saki -Portable- PSP Game in wikipedia]. But when it comes down to simply enjoyment, I'd say a pretty good anime.

Story: 8

Simple but coherent and well-structured (may be because I read the original manga in Japanese) it has a story and a goal that Kiyosumi Kou-kou aims at, and seemingly intense mahjong uplifts the atmosphere with players giving away some ulti-rare yakus. Sub-stories about relationship between the girls fits in quite well with read more
May 12, 2012
kururugikai (All reviews)
I have to admit I watch Saki with exactly zero knowledge about Mahjong.
saki is a anime series that tells the story of the game mahjong.
rather, japanese mahjong.

when we think about mahjong, then we would normally think that it is a boring game and only played by a particular age group.
(for anyone who loves mahjong, I'm sorry.
but need I remind you, this is the view of ordinary people, not the view of you as a mahjong lovers)

however, saki make the audience see things differently, because it makes the game of mahjong that the added element of action and miracles.
thus resulting in different things when watching it.

The read more
Jul 9, 2015
pikachu2510 (All reviews)
I started watching this anime because i wanted to watch another mahjong anime as the only one i've watched before was "Touhai Densetsu Akagi: Yami ni Maiorita Tensai". I have to say I'm disappointed in this anime.
This review is solely based on the first season of Saki as i never watched the sequel nor do i plan on watching them.

Plot - 4
I think this is a very average kind of plot and not really unique in any sense, i was hoping that since Saki always gets a score of ±0, it would make the plot more interesting but overall its kind of average. The fact read more
Oct 1, 2009
Thaiberium (All reviews)
The premise reminds me of another anime about a gifted individual who initially hated or disliked the gift that allowed them to do insane things. Saki is kinda like that. Though it may seem like a contrived coincidence, I actually do play Mahjong, using Cantonese rules though, with family for pocket money. If not for that link, I probably would not have picked up what my friend described as "Yu-gi-Oh with Mahjong".

Getting down to business, Saki's story is actually quite formulaic. Not that I dock points for that. Its all about the Mahjong tournaments. The preparation, the climax and read more
Dec 19, 2012
onesnowyday_ (All reviews)
Well, where should I start? Imo, this is one of the most enjoyable anime I've watched. Let me first say that you DO NOT need to know about mahjong to watch this. The anime actually does a good job in making it fun to watch even if you don't know how exactly the game works. If it were the manga you were reading that might be a different idea, but the anime is pretty simple. Other than the mahjong element, it is a very moe anime :) You get to know a lot of characters and of course you'll have your favorites. (mine was Takei read more
May 31, 2011
Blind_Guardian (All reviews)
Saki originally attracted me through its moe schoolgirl designs, as I've not the slightest idea how to play Mahjong (and I have to admit I have only slightly more of an idea now than I did before watching it). The mahjong scenes, interestingly enough, turned out to be some of the most riveting variations on 'battle' scenes I've seen in awhile. If lightning blasts and magical girls really popped put when people slapped down the tiles, I'm sure this game would be much more popular in the US.

In its two cours Saki develops a huge cast of girls, both Saki's teammates and their read more
Mar 7, 2019
FrostyFlakez (All reviews)
This review is the first one I've ever wrote, and I want to write one right now because I enjoyed this anime so much that I even started following it's manga. Basically this anime tells a story about a girl who at first hated mahjong, but decides to play it again because of specific reasons. I enjoyed it a lot because the main character is an absolute monster at mahjong, and can make seemingly impossible things happen. I also loved how the character's relationship improve because of mahjong. It shows how if a person has one thing in common with someone else they can build read more