Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Puni Puni☆Poemii


Alternative Titles

English: Puni Puni Poemy
Japanese: ぷにぷに☆ぽえみぃ

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 2
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Mar 7, 2001 to Dec 19, 2001
Licensors: ADV Films
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Original
Duration: 30 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 6.631 (scored by 14,945 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #53712
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2583
Members: 26,849
Favorites: 94

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 3, 2009
Undertow (All reviews)
Ahhh.... the insanity that can sprout from Watanabe's head. Puni Puni Poemi is quite a lot of the usual insanity that you can expect from him, especially if you've seen the last episode of Excel Saga.

This OVA binds together a truelly atrocious story, shallow characters with no character development, random fan service and an overdose of humour.
And guess what, it balances out. PPP proves that you really don't need a best-selling story with deep characters and all that to bring across some great comedy. In fact, most of that stuff can stands in the way of comedy, and Watanabe carefully steers around all of the read more
Oct 28, 2007
Venneh (All reviews)
...How to describe Puni Puni Poemi. Well, really, all you need to know is that it's Excel Saga's spinoff/sequel (in that it has Nabeshin in it, and refers constantly to Excel Saga through inside jokes in the script/art/music), centering around Poemi, who likes to be called Kobayashi (basically Excel in a preteen package, which makes her all the more hyper; I pity her seiyuu, and am amazed at how fast she could speak all those lines), and her randomly and absurdly becoming a magical girl.

Basically, they parody the magical girl genre, the voice acting/anime business, and fanservice. They regurarly break the fourth wall, read more
Sep 28, 2008
PokeNirvash (All reviews)
First off, I came across the series back when I used to scout animes I watched. I finally came to watching it. It was good. Once I saw it in FULL CONTEXT, it was better than I could ever imagine. So I will rate this series by 10 points.

STORY: The series follows the pattern of a normal magical girl series: Main character has a miserable life, comes across tragedy, finds transformation device, and becomes magical girl, with identity known to not many people. This series improves on the storyline by making more people respect the main character (with the character's best friend getting an overdose read more
Oct 23, 2012
angelsreview (All reviews)
This Anime is so stupid. There is no easier way to say that. WHAT THE HELL IS THIS ABOUT? Let me explain what I mean. It’s really hard to talk about this show because it’s just all over the place. At one point, it just feels like they are stalling for time so they can make it run two episodes long.

The show starts out with a bit of an epic concept about someone wanting to take over the world and make it a place of beauty and sweetness. This wouldn’t be so bad except that right after the opening song, we get… stupidity. A read more
Jun 4, 2008
kevo (All reviews)
Puni Puni Poemi is a spinoff of Excel Saga with even shoddier directing and even more cheap fanservice. The entire OVA felt like Episode 26 of Excel Saga except bad. The art at least is passable and hasn't changed from Excel Saga. The sound and characters are regurgitations from Excel Saga. Poemi is basically a clone of Excel minus Excel's awesome voice actor that basically made the character. Poemi's voice actor (ironically enough) pretty much failed to make Poemi funny or enjoyable.

Characters in this series are either slightly entertaining or annoying. Visually and literally, many characters completely unoriginal compared to Excel Saga. Character design in read more
Dec 26, 2018
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Puni Puni Poemii is an OVA from the early 2000s. It's ostensibly a spin-off of Excel Saga although the two don't have that much in common, but I'll get to that in detail later. It was brought to us by JC Staff. Like Chocotan, Voogie's Angel, Potemayo, Kill Me Baby or a whole bunch of other anime of varying quality I've reviewed. It was written by Kuroda Yousuke, which could also go either way considering he's done scripts for absolute trash like Highschool of the Dead but he's also done script work for solid anime like Battle Athletes. So, let's see how this stacks up. 

Story:

We open with read more
Jun 29, 2015
Realhumanbean (All reviews)
Puni Puni Poemy is a two episode OVA that is a sequel to the comedy classic Excel Saga, and despite being undeniably shoddily made and disappointingly short, it is still one of the funniest anime I've ever seen.

STORY: 1/10
Puni Puni Poemy's story is terrible. There's no denying it. In fact, it may be the worst story in all of anime. Don't believe me? It's about Nabeshin (Who is in fact the anime's director) and his adopted daughter Poemy who play the characters Nabeshin and Poemy in an anime called Puni Puni Poemy (You may remember it from Excel Saga) in which a girl read more
Jan 31, 2015
chubar (All reviews)
The first impressions I had about the anime is wondering if it’s going to be as funny as “Excel Saga”. Granted, a lot of people didn’t like the humor in “Excel Saga” but it is a hit or a miss, depending what type of humor the viewer has already. Since I did previously enjoyed “Excel Saga”, I wondered if it’s going on the same vein, but rushed.

In the first episode, we’re introduced to POemy Watanabe along with her adoptive parents, Nabeshin (whom she calls “Mr. Director”) and Kumi-Kumi. Right away, we see the magical girl, Poemi, fighting the classic and iconic magical girls (up to read more
Mar 10, 2013
Inflikt (All reviews)
The story is horrible. The characters are horrible. The art is decent.

... BUT.

The voice acting is superb, the whole thing is super-energetic, hilarious, bursting with creativity and fun, complex humor layered on top of the lowest common denominator jokes. This is plain old fun. This is over-the-top, balls-to-the-wall, high adrenaline awesome. Very short, and yet manages to lampoon every OVA cliche (especially fan service) while breezing through the "plot" and "characters" to just get to the fun. It's short and to the point, exactly like an OVA should be. This isn't aimed at children, but also shouldn't be taken seriously at all.

This will leave you read more
Apr 7, 2016
FreshScones (All reviews)
Puni Puni Poemy is cancer incarnate. The only reason anyone would watch and legitimately enjoy this is if they were having loli fap time or if they have a combination of poor taste, ADD and masochistic tenancies.

I only watched this because it's banned in my country and I can see why. I almost wanted to unban this just so I could rally to ban it again. Or double ban it.
I felt like I need to be bathed in holy water and blessed by a clergyman after watching this.
If you're reading this, don't watch this anime. I think seeing Puni Puni Poemy literally reduced my read more
Apr 8, 2016
AhOK (All reviews)
This OVA is a spin-off of Excel Saga, but you don't need to watch that to be able to enjoy this. Then again, you might not be able to enjoy this at all as it makes use of the over the top humor and constant 4th wall breaking. If you are into that it's an really entertaining OVA.
If you can look past its average art and whatever sort of music too.
The story is a parody of the magical girl genre, the characters are all bland and fit into their character archetype, there's blatand fan service and the voice actors sounds excellent.
That was read more