Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Higashi no Eden


Alternative Titles

English: Eden of The East
Synonyms: Higashi no Eden
Japanese: 東のエデン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 11
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 10, 2009 to Jun 19, 2009
Premiered: Spring 2009
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:45 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Original
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.991 (scored by 160,381 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5492
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #139
Members: 312,444
Favorites: 3,608

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 22, 2009
game8910 (All reviews)
Higashi no Eden (or Eden of the East however you want to call it) is a new anime series produced by Production I.G, and it was one of the most anticipated series of the Spring 2009 season. After quite an impressive trailer before the anime aired, I just knew I had to watch this show which looked like it had a lot of promise. Did it live up to my expectation? Read ahead to find out.

Story:
+ This anime definitely brings a very interesting plot.
+ The level of mystery and suspense will leave the viewer wanting more every episode.
+ Definitely one of the most refreshing read more
Mar 30, 2014
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW OF THE SERIES AND THE TWO MOVIES**

After watching the first few episodes of Eden of the East (a.k.a Higashi no Eden), I was extremely impressed and very excited. I thought I had found a compelling mystery anime with lovable characters, a great storyline, and fluent animation. I couldn't wait to see what Eden had in store, so I sat through the entire series and both of the movies in a huge marathon. You want to know what it all amounted to? Nothing. Absolutely nothing. The storyline of this anime goes absolutely, positively NOWHERE at any point in any of the movies or read more
Jun 7, 2013
Evil_Mousou (All reviews)
For as long as I can remember, anime of the mystery genre have proven creatively stale. As a rule, trying to find a gratifying mystery is an ordeal much like rummaging for haute couture in a dark, creaky charity shop that smells faintly of mothballs. Foremost amongst the dust-caked offerings, Darker than Black collapses into a morbid mess; low-grade Fantastic Children keeps things cheap and cheerless; and the snail-paced Ghost Hound dulled my senses to such an extent that I never saw its middle episodes.
How delightfully reassuring, then, to discover Eden of the East; this, unlike the aforementioned failures, begins on a much higher bar read more
Jul 15, 2014
ITFujoshi (All reviews)
Preliminary
After seeing a score of 8.22 and skimping through reviews lauding Higashi no Eden for its intricate and unique plot, I decided to give it a try. I was also looking for more anime with a theme similar to Zankyou no Terror and one of the recommendations was HnE.

So, an anime with tags like "Drama, Romance, Comedy, Sci-Fi, Mystery" and a "whopping" score of 8.22 for only 11 episodes? I was so excited at the prospect of watching a real gem of an anime, and thought I couldn't possibly not like this series. I would surely be in for one hell of a ride!

Dear Lord read more
Dec 31, 2009
TheLlama (All reviews)
"The abuse of greatness is when it disjoins remorse from power". Such is a quote from one of Shakespeare's plays, and it is found in the opening credits of the anime.

What would a person do, if they had a cellphone charged with ten billion yen, and the ability to call a strange person to do whatever you wished for, for a certain payment? What would a person do with that kind of money? The main character is in possession in such a cell phone, but he has no idea just why, as he has lost his memory.

Higashi no Eden is a very interesting anime. read more
Jul 25, 2009
BurningLeaves (All reviews)
This is a perfect example of the all to familure anime falterings of having a good concept but failing completely to execute it. While the story it self is good enough to keep you interested it never really seems to go anywhere. Hopefully the movies to come will shed some more light on this but judging this as a complete series it is majorly lacking. The story starts off with a series of interesting questions and circumstances that are begging for an absolution, but few answers are ever provided and the few they do offer up just lead to more unanswered questions. You might as read more
May 19, 2009
sillyanna (All reviews)
Eden of the East is an anime in which I have never seen the likes of before. The plot is strange, the characters are strange, and the humour is strange - but somehow it all works. Brilliantly. But first of all, I should say this: if you're a really big fan of fan service, harems, hardcore romance, hardcore action, and/or gore, then this is not the series for you. If you like plot, character development, catchy music and brilliant animation/art then read on.

STORY- 9/10
For one thing, although the plot has a bit of a fantastical element to it, it reflects what is going on in read more
Aug 29, 2010
Lindle (All reviews)
One day, in 2011, a Japanese university student by the name of Saki Morimi is visiting America. When she throws something into the Whitehouse courtyard, the security guards quickly start questioning her... but she is quickly granted a distraction by our protagonist, Akira Takizawa, who has appeared outside the Whitehouse completely naked, with a phone in one hand and a gun in the other, and absolutely no recollection of who he is or how he got there.

Saki lends him her coat, but quickly comes to realise that she left her passport in there, causing her to chase after him. Meanwhile, Akira finds a large amount read more
Nov 12, 2010
MasterGear (All reviews)
Eden of the East, or Higashi no Eden, is one of the newest ventures of Production I.G, most notably accredited for producing such masterpiece series’ as Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex. Just like the majority of Production I.G’s other series’, Eden of the East does not disappoint, and its intriguing and unique blend of a gripping storyline and well built suspense which leaves the viewer clamouring for more at the end of every episode, cements its place as a well needed forerunner in the modern mystery/suspense genre.

The plotline is very interesting and is revealed at a well managed pace, and this pacing read more
Apr 18, 2009
Hanaji (All reviews)
Preliminary
2 episodes have shown and yet this anime has yet to fail me, for 2 episodes I'm quite impressed that Kamiyama Kenji has left us wanting for more, For an anime that actually runs on plot, This is quite an impressive feat, Only a few have achieved this, On the other hand, It's by Production I.G., A studio that has yet to fail the most of us.

Story-wise, Eden of the East relies on it's plot more than anything else, Unlike most anime that relies on moe(like K-ON, Lucky Star etc.),fanservice(Queen's Blade) or Manliness(Sengoku Basara, Gurren Lagann), Eden of the East attracts viewers through it's story, read more
Jun 19, 2009
Pirotechnix (All reviews)
Eden of the East came out of nowhere in the Spring 2009 season - with no works preceding it, not many people knew exactly what to expect, and with only 11 episodes, there were questions as to how one could possibly explore such an ambitious plot successfully.

Luckily for all of us, however, Eden of the East, even with its brevity, managed to set itself apart, providing a winning combination of engaging characters, unique plot, and surprising depth to present itself as one of the best shows of the season, perhaps of the year so far.

PLOT: 9/10

With only 11 episodes, the show pulled off a rather read more
Sep 27, 2014
5camp (All reviews)
Returning to Eden of the East was a little scary, as it always is to return to old favourites you’re not sure will still hold up. A year or two later after the TV series proved to be favourites amongst critics and fans, two sequel movies came out. They were originally intended to be part of the original airing run but had to be cut out to fit into the TV airing. Those movies were not so well received. They’re not actively bad per se. In fact I’d call the second one actually quite good. But almost everyone was so lukewarm on the movies that read more
Jul 5, 2009
srsng (All reviews)
“ Noblesse Oblige, Please continue being a messiah.”

Even though it was one of the shortest anime to air recently, Production I.G. produced another excellent and satisfying anime again!

The story of Eden of the East is very creative. It reflects the current political and economical situations we are in today. Terrorists, NEETS, missile attacks and 9/11 shows that Eden of the East wants us to relate its story to what is happening in the real world. Aside from the realism that it presents, it also has its own share of mystery and suspense that adds up to the twists and turns of the story. Even though read more
Jun 21, 2009
ukiuki (All reviews)
First of all, Eden is an anime geared towards a more mature audience who pays attention to details.
You must not expect a typical shonen/shojo/moe based anime.

This anime is one of the most well made series I have seen in a long time.

First off, the summary of the show may be a turn off and doesnt tell you much about the show. Here is my attempt at a summary without too many spoilers.

Takizawa Akira is a Selacao, a player in a game, where the goal is to save Japan using 10 billion yen and a cell phone with "magic powers". Having erased his memory, he read more
Dec 18, 2009
vitaamin (All reviews)
After reading rave reviews on today's title, Eden of the East, I decided to take a few days to see what all the fuss was about. The first episode opens as Saki stands in front of the White House, launching stones from outside the fence onto the open greens. The police promptly accost Saki, but she is saved by an unknown man, running around naked while waving a gun. The story then follows their adventure back to Japan and into his history which has been erased from his memory. To complicate matters, he has been gifted a cellphone that connects to a woman who can read more
Apr 17, 2015
Waldy565 (All reviews)
I knew it wouldn't be long until my next review, as I started this halfway through Ergo Proxy, and so that's one pro/con straight off the bat - this is a bite-sized anime with only 11 episodes! Despite that, I personally think the anime didn't feel rushed and so let us segway into the full review of Higashi no Eden, or Eden of the East:

Story - If my opinion means anything, this opinion may deter you from watching this but I don't think that's fair, I think the show is still good but the story is certainly the weakest link in the show. I realize read more
Dec 2, 2010
trzr23 (All reviews)
Eden of the East

JAP title : Higashi no Eden

(Yes, I did not give this anime a score of 10 or 9. Go ahead, press the ‘Not Helpful’ option without even reading the review.)

There, now hopefully, the fanboys are out of the way.

Alright, I walked in with high expectations for this one. I had read so many rave reviews about this particular show and though I would give it a shot. Was I satisfied?

Only one way to find out…

[ 1 MINUTE REVIEW ]

Eden of the East puts forward a superb concept: letting a bunch of people, with a ton of money, play a game to read more
Jul 21, 2014
pakoko (All reviews)
With any open-ended question, there are various approaches that can be taken to reach an answer. The thing is, there isn’t always a “correct” answer. People have different perspectives, beliefs, and personalities that may all contribute to the answer that feels most correct for each of them. “Higashi no Eden” explores this idea by asking its characters the vague and overbroad question: “Given the resources, how would you improve a nation for the better?” Eleven people that are chosen by the mysterious Mr. Outside are each given ten billion yens to carry out their plans to improve Japan. Each of them, with different beliefs, backgrounds, read more
Dec 10, 2015
Raskolnikov_V (All reviews)
Higashi no Eden starts off well. A premise which holds much promise. It disappoints by not following it through.
If you are the jovial kind who is forgiving, then this might merit your consideration. If you don't tolerate inconsistency and hate failed prospects then this is definitely not for you.
Story: 6
It looks promising initially. The first few episodes provide an extremely good platform to flesh out the details. However, the core, the performance as it is suffers nothing short of a catastrophic collapse. You even feel that the budget was halfway through cut off to the extent the story had to be crushed to read more
May 22, 2011
Thefrozentundra (All reviews)
On a trip to the United States, college student Morimi Saki stumbles upon an odd sight. Of all things, she meets a naked Japanese man, armed with a handgun. As she learns, this man has no idea who he is, or how he got there, and all that he can really remember are films, save for which one his personal favourite was. Soon, it becomes apparent that Takizawa Akira, as he is now going by, is a lot more than he first appears, as he finds out that he may have been part of a terrorist act committed in Japan. Then, he only gets even read more