DNA²

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: DNA²
Synonyms: DNA Squared, Dokokade Nakushita Aitsuno Aitsu, DNA2, DNA^2
Japanese: D・N・A² ~何処かで失くしたあいつのアイツ~

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 1994 to Dec 23, 1994
Premiered: Fall 1994
Broadcast: Fridays at 17:30 (JST)
Studios: Madhouse, Studio Deen
Source: Manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, RomanceRomance, Sci-FiSci-Fi
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.661 (scored by 1809818,098 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #52302
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2842
Members: 38,190
Favorites: 85

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 12, 2008
IronFox (All reviews)
I enjoyed the first 10 episodes and then it turned into a Dragon Ball Z feel to it that turned me off right then and there. At first it seemed great, different kind of story, funny and full of drama. And then it did a complete 180 and kinda ruined it for me, the extra episodes (13 - 15) was more of the same DBZ style plot line.
Dec 6, 2009
Bonta_kun (All reviews)
DNA^2 is... well, its good. Simple as that. If I had to say one thing about it from the get go, it would have to be that the art style and animation are it's strongpoints. If you want to know more, then by all means read on.

Story – To be honest, this is the reason I originally decided to watch this. It’s actually an interesting premise with the main character’s allergy to girls and his mega playboy alter ego threatening the future from overpopulation. The parts where his allergy is exploited are probably some of my favourites. Though, the whole mega-playboy thing is kind of read more
Mar 27, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Time for another nostalgic review! Today we look at a 1994 harem anime with an intriguing plot, but really stupid execution. Unless you are an older fan born before 1993 or so, I will place a wager you haven't heard of this series. It has been almost completely forgotten, but honestly that isn't such a tragedy. This is DNA^2.

The future is dangerously overpopulated, so scientists worked to find the mysterious cause of the population explosion that occurred in the late 20th century. It turns out it is largely the fault of 1 man-whore called the "mega playboy" who possesses genes so good that women read more
Aug 12, 2007
dnt (All reviews)
DNA^2,

Story:
The story is a bit odd, but is pretty good and is like any harem anime, silly but good enough. This anime lacks a lot and I have to say it really does shame the manga. This anime is very rushed and most plotlines are skipped, however it does have it's moments and the anime can be just one big joke. It's funny from time to time, also wierd, but it's not to bad.

Art:
For when this was made the art is definitely top notch.

Sound:
Soundtrack is good nothing special. Japanese voices read more
Feb 20, 2020
Jamez77 (All reviews)
I have seen too little reviews here, so I'll add my two cents about the anime.

To be honest, what made me give this anime a try was its synopsis, I mean, an average guy with some allergy towards girls ends up being a mega playboy due to a bullet from the future and impregnates a lot of women, sounds not as cliche as the shows of today right? I actually didn't know what to expect here, maybe just some rom-com which it's, in fact, something like that.

The show's indeed somewhat cliche after all this anime was from the previous century, but the plot read more
Sep 4, 2011
Gang_Orca (All reviews)
That nigga that brought you such poorly received reviews for Chrome Shell Regios, Starship Operators, and Rumbling Hearts is back again by infamous demand and mistrust to bring you his latest review for DNA2. I try to avoid watching shows that take themselves too seriously and because of that its hard to make critical reviews for shows that don't take themselves seriously anyway. Lucky for the my millions of fanboys and tramps I've found yet another show worthy of reviewing.
Nigga DNA2 is flat out stupid. I revolves around a guy whos supposed to be a looser that has potential for a rare genetic read more
Oct 24, 2018
Dionkeykong (All reviews)
n the new episode of "A Blast from the Past" we have DNA² which is an anime...And the fact that i have to state it is because most people after watching even a sample vid from this turn into chinese psychopaths and sacrifice their daughters to the gods of Olympus to find salvation. And naturally it was deemed by the EU-which is a big thing in Brussels-as a psychological warfare strike from the land of the rising east and was banned.

No not really..Unfortunately this anime survives to this day so people of younger generations can also experience the terror.

So far this sounds like any of read more
Jun 6, 2021
MassiveYeet (All reviews)
The story is cool but full of inconsistencies and holes. That would be alright but it's not funny either so it just ends up being boring most of the time. The only reason to watch is for nostalgic purposes.
I watched the dubbed version. The main character was decent and even sounded as though he enjoyed his job at certain points. The same can't be said for any of the other characters who sounded like random pedestrians taken off the street before they had their morning coffee and were offered 5 dollars to read lines off a paper. Especially Tomoko, what the heck.
Oct 9, 2015
elusivemayfly (All reviews)
DNA^2 as a comedy has aged marvelously. I think this is a show that gets more hilarious with age. But if you decide to take it too seriously I don't think you will get as much out of the show as you could.

Story: Hilarious Premise but gimme moreee

The premise of this show is great. A lady from the future visits our MC in order to prevent the disaster in her timeline where a man with tremendous charisma is so charming that he impregnates countless women and causes a crisis. I love it. The story seemed a bit rushed especially since the show claims to be read more
Mar 16, 2021
Rigga (All reviews)
The entire experience is a complete waste of time. 13 episodes done, and I feel as if I've gotten no further in life. Absolutely nothing is achieved by watching this show, not even a slight improvement in your knowledge. All you need to know is that the main concept is that the main character has superpowered genetics that allow him to utilize the "ultra-playboy" powers of seduction and physical strength / intimidation. Basically, the MC can swoon any female in his presence and can intimidate / beat up any man in his sight. He becomes a saiyan-lite practically invincible character, the stakes are always low read more
Jun 22, 2019
Pike27 (All reviews)
*This anime was watched due to the Wheel of Obligation Anime Watching Challenge*
*This will be a review for both DNA² and DNA² OVA (episodes 01-15)*

INTRODUCTION:

DNA², an adaptaton from the manga, is set in our world during the nineties - the current decade when the anime was released. There is nothing unusual in this anime regarding to the setting - that is, besides the fact that a person came from the future to change another one and, possibly, save Earth's future. In that timeline, earth was suffering with overpopulation, which was mainly a single man's fault.

The anime, despite being mainly a comedic, romantic ecchi, features some read more
Nov 5, 2017
MMA1995 (All reviews)
Wow I never thought I would find an anime that I would give a 1/10. This was a trash show that I could not finish. Not because it was boring or just did not interest me, but it was just that bad.

Story: the concept was easy to fallow but the reason for why the plot happened was just like why? The idea of an over population of the earth in the future is a real Ecological idea, but how it came to be was just dumb. I only made it to the 4th episode and I gave up. Usually when I quit a show early read more
Feb 5, 2021
MR_RHYMES (All reviews)
So im going to give this my honest review, cause i think people for some reason were expecting too much from a show where its synopsis is trying to stop a playboy. Like no shit its suppose to be cheesy.

Story:
As i said before main story is girl from the future goes to the past to stop someone from becoming a playboy and overpopulating the planet. By the way this someone has a bodily reaction towards girls that gets near him in which he throws up. Right here tells me this anime is more for jokes/comedy/harem then an actual serious story. Thats not a reason to read more