Digimon Adventure


Digimon: Digital Monsters

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Digimon: Digital Monsters
Synonyms: Digimon Adventure 01
Japanese: デジモンアドベンチャー

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 54
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Mar 7, 1999 to Mar 26, 2000
Premiered: Spring 1999
Broadcast: Sundays at 09:00 (JST)
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Other
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, ComedyComedy, FantasyFantasy, KidsKids
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG - Children

Statistics

Score: 7.791 (scored by 200573200,573 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #8412
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #422
Members: 320,187
Favorites: 4,838
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 9, 2015
Lil-Bird (All reviews)
Constantly accused of being a Pokémon rip-off, Digimon has struggled to find a big audience, particularly in the West—it doesn't help that its marketing never really took off out here. However, despite it never gaining a huge fanbase like its rival, Digimon continues to be a strong—if not struggling—franchise that still has a foothold in countries outside of Japan complete with its own loyal fanbase. So when most people think of Fox Kids or Saban Entertainment, they fondly think of either Power Rangers or Digimon (usually the first season), and not so much of the network itself. But for years, it meant risking an all-out read more
May 1, 2009
Astamon (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story: The storyline of Adventure evolves (no pun intended) into something wonderful as the series goes on, however, the beginning is very shaky, and, for some audiences, a weak beginning is an automatic turn-off. It starts off very episodic, and, aside from the fact that the kids want to get home and have to fight a guy called Devimon, there is not much else for plot. However, after they get home, the series jumps into one of my favorite anime story arch of all times: The Eight Child arch. That part (which largely takes up the middle of the series) was masterfully done, and if read more
Jun 6, 2010
KC_Writes (All reviews)
If you were to ask me what it was that possessed me with such a desire to re-watch the Digimon Adventure series I saw when I was younger, I couldn't tell you. Before now my memories of Digimon were not fond, the dubbing in the show was terrible, to the point were I hated the vast majority of the entire cast. I was a lot younger back then so I didn't understand that the occasional stupid things characters did/said were because the script was being hacked up. But beyond the negatives of the show there was a strange charm that reached me, and having re-watched read more
May 20, 2013
Were_Vampire (All reviews)
First of all I want to apologize before handed for any grammar mistake you might find in the review as English is not my native languaje.
Second, I have to say I'm utterly disappointed with the score Digimon Adventure has. 7 is not a bad score, but is way below of what I expected. This is a kid show, and as such it should be scored as how satisfaying it can be to kids, just as how shonnen should be scored as how they satisfy their teen audience, seinen their older audience, and so on. I feel like many are comparing and scoring anime without any read more
Jan 16, 2015
Objective (All reviews)
“Remember? How could I ever forget?”

Digimon Adventure 01, a household name, a childhood memory, what did this blast from the past have in store for us?

That one time at band camp... I mean summer camp. Seven children dubbed the Digi-Destined find themselves in an alternate world, filled with bizarre creatures and a luscious ecosystem, where they soon discover the inevitable path they must walk, together. Although initially hostile, they are each partnered with one of these bizarre creatures known as ‘Digimon’ whom they must work together with to not only save the Digital world, but human world as well. Digimon is best described read more
Aug 1, 2019
SoldierDream (All reviews)
It’s August 1st, 1999!

On this day exactly 20 years ago, these were the words spoken by an 11-year-old boy after discovering at his home in Odaiba during his summer vacation that...well, I don’t want to spoil anyone here. It’s been exactly 2 full decades since that odd snowy summer day when 7 children were sucked by a giant wave into an unknown world where they would meet some small, strange talking creatures that claimed had been waiting for them for a long time and would live together the most important journey of their lives, kicking off the story of the 1st series of a franchise read more
Aug 6, 2010
Aburaishi (All reviews)
Digimon started it all for me. Not only was this the first anime I ever saw, but it was also the very first show I watched dutifully- I never missed an episode. Digimon was also the first thing I got into outside of the show; I had Digimon cards before I even got Pokemon cards. Seeing as how just seeing a picture of the first season of Digimon fills me to the brim with nostalgia, my judgement may be somewhat clouded; but to me personally, this is and always will be my favorite anime of all time. No matter how many times I rewatch this read more
Apr 5, 2014
spyrocoot (All reviews)
The unfortunate truth of story telling mediums is that how we perceived something as a child is often very different to how we perceive something as a grown-up. The pacing issues of Dragon Ball Z and the repetitive nature of Pokemon become more apparent as a grown-up, and it's largely nostalgia that allows us to persevere with otherwise mediocre shows. This tendency to view childhood favourites through rose-tinted glasses can make it difficult to evaluate such series as there is always the possibility of painting them in a more favourable light than merited. However, every so often you may revisit a favourite from the past read more
Aug 31, 2011
gogglemaster01 (All reviews)
This is one of my favorite anime of all time, so I decided to drop by and review it. Yes, I am a Digi-dork, and I grew up on this series. Note that the dub was majorly hacked and turned into a pun-fest, so if that drives you off, then try to track down the raws or subs (good luck- they're hard to find). That being said, if you REALLY have patience for the puns, the shows darker elements (like character's backstories) were retained in the dub. This show didn't suffer as bad with the dub as other anime from its time, but the original read more
Feb 5, 2012
Nerdo (All reviews)
I remember watching Digimon from when I was younger. I was a big Digimon fan and never missed an episode. Ten years later, I decided to watch this series again and all these memories from the past came back to me. Being a huge Digimon fan myself, I never understood why this series was so extremely underrated. Was it because of Pokémon, a super successful anime that was airing that time? I guess so. Digimon has always been compared to Pokémon, because they look a lot alike and both involve weird creatures. To answer some of your questions: "Does this mean that Digimon copied Pokémon?" read more
Mar 16, 2014
TylerMagus (All reviews)
When it comes to 'childhood shows' you grew up watching, there comes a certain kind of dissonance between the experience you had as a kid and the experience you would have as an adult. Rewatching Digimon Adventure recently, I realized that it's the kind of show that wouldn't sit well with you if you think too much, especially when compared to other better anime. Objectively speaking, it's not a classic, and one would certainly have to retain some sense of nostalgia to really enjoy having this adventure. For an anime created to promote the virtual pets merchandise, however, it is a well-produced series that offers read more
Apr 20, 2008
Ashikaga (All reviews)
Well this is my first review so don't be harsh on me:P.
Thought i saw this ages ago so i don't remember it good.

Story: is nice but I didn't 't like it very much because the characters were too young.At start digimon is bit boring for me but it goes better later.Lot of relationships in there.
Art: well i can't say anything bad about the art, it was nice. Thought there surely are animes with better art and stuff. You got to see it yourself.
Sound: It was ok, thought themes were bad. Lets skip this.
Characters: characters are young children and monsters with who the children get friends read more
Aug 20, 2011
dragone66330 (All reviews)
Reviewing this really brings back my childhood. Recently watched this season again despite being almost In college haha. Honestly this is perhaps one of the only cartoons/anime that made an impression on me while I was younger. Now let's get into the review!

Digimon Adventure's story could be listed as a generic "Hero's Journey", where character starts off hesitant and weak, goes through adventures and guided by a wise mentor, overcomes the "abyss" which strengthens them mentally and emotionally, and eventually succeeds in the journey. This setup widely-used for a reason though, BECAUSE IT IS read more
Jun 17, 2015
Vegetable_Juice (All reviews)
Digimon may not deserve a score of 10 but for me, the anime just gave so deep an impression and I treated as one of my favorite anime forever.
I had no idea how much percentage of western people of 1990's watched this anime, but in China, most people born in that period had a memory of watching this anime. As a result, the opening music "Butterfly" is now regarded as one of the most famous (maybe "one of" could even be deleted here) in ACG circle in China. Even till now, once listening to this music, I would probably get fired up easily. Not confined read more
Aug 31, 2011
teamaster (All reviews)
MUGEEEEENDAAAINAAA YUUUUMENOOOOATONOOO~♪ ♫

NANIMONAIYONONAKAJAAAAA...

Yes, that's pretty much what made this show so awesome, i.e. THE OP SONG BY WADA KOUJI.

The insert song is pretty cool too, btw. Idk about non-Japanese versions, though. The ED songs could sound really cheesy if you're not used to cheesy J-pop.

To sum it up, this show has 54 episodes of awesome friendship and bromance and character development for every protagonist. It's about 12 years old, so it has some old school moments, but these songs got never old for me, and if you watch it you'll know why. Although if you didn't watch it 12 years ago I'm not sure read more
Nov 25, 2014
Digiomegamon (All reviews)
One of my favorite anime growing up and still is. It teaches the values in the forms of crests and has a stable story line going along the development of the characters. As the first digimon season, there are multitudes of surprises as there is no pattern for it to follow yet.

The soundtrack(japanese version) is amazing, and the artwork for it's time had a great adventure feel to it. ^_^

The many main characters can be a little overwhelming at first, but once adjusted will be easy to find characters to a variety of audiences liking. This is one of the first anime to introduce so read more
Jul 22, 2015
TheBrainintheJar (All reviews)
It’s a bit of an anticlimax. A memory of a few powerful episodes made me hope I’d get more of the same. The Digimon series is split into different shows, each spanning about 50 episodes. These are stories that eventually conclude, instead of going on forever. Such decisions separate good storytellers from the bad. I hoped I’d get something more like Medabots – odd characters, light episodes that slowly grow into a dark and intense climax. It turned out something like that, but with none of the skill Medabots displayed.

There are the hilarious comparison to Pokemon. It’s Medabots that is actually far similar, with the read more
Jan 7, 2015
emberreviews (All reviews)
Note: This is a review of the English language version of the series. As such, any discrepancies between it and the original Japanese script will not be taken into account unless I feel it is necessary.

Normally, when I review an anime series or movie, I judge each series by the same general merits, as any story should be able to provide an excellent level of entertainment regardless of length, genre, or intended audience. However, there is one demographic that this rule changes for, and that would be for shows aimed at a child audience. Of read more
Dec 12, 2014
thesailingship (All reviews)
A little discussion about childhood shows on last 2013 with my best friends made one of them tried to search this wonderful show, and re-visit it. And part of my childhood memories had risen since last May 2013.
Digimon? Yes it is!
This show was a perfect show for kids, or even for adults, to show them how important friendship and togetherness are, and how to find out your own identity and your specialty, and how important life was, since Digimon showed the interaction between each others perfectly, and showed that lots of Digimon sacrifice themselves (Ex: Angemon and Wizarmon) to save all of them.
So far, read more
Apr 5, 2014
StephenPatamon (All reviews)
(This review is for the English dubbed version of this series)

I can remember watching this series as a kid and loving it, so I recently returned to watch the series again in whole. And I must say, this series has a lot going for it.

The best thing about this series is the wide range of characters, most of have their personalities explored thoroughly and develop as the series goes on. If you watch this, it's highly likely that you'll relate to one of the characters in the group. Also, as opposed to Pokemon, the monsters themseleves (digimon) have their own personalities and can actually interact read more