Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Yoku Wakaru Gendai Mahou


Alternative Titles

English: Modern Magic Made Simple
Synonyms: Modern Magic for Dummies, Properly Learned Modern Magic, Manageable Modern Magic
Japanese: よくわかる現代魔法

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 12, 2009 to Sep 27, 2009
Premiered: Summer 2009
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:00 (JST)
Producers: Studio Jack, Shueisha
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Nomad
Source: Light novel
Genres: Comedy, Magic
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.501 (scored by 7,257 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #61022
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3043
Members: 21,032
Favorites: 26

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 22, 2010
Archaeon (All reviews)
Many anime feature magic of some kind, however in most cases the technical side of casting spells isn't really covered to any degree, and while there are shows that do give some insight into this side of "magic", the majority only really give cursory information. There are, however, some shows that do cover the technical side fairly well, and they manage to incorporate this aspect of "magic" into the story in a way that gives the show more depth than it would otherwise have had (great examples of this are Mushishi, Mokke, Rental Magicka, Ghost Hunt and Ghost Hound).

Unfortunately, Yokuwakaru Gendaimahou doesn't fall into that read more
Sep 29, 2009
CherryHawk (All reviews)
Do you like wash basin humor? I sure do! (For those of you that don't know, I'm referring to the anime comedy cliche where that big metal pan looking thing falls on someone's head) I'm not being sarcastic either. It gets me every time, and I personally think this anime could've used more of it but maybe I'm just weird ; )

I gave it a 7 overall and I want you to think of that as a good score. The 8, 9, and 10's belong to the big hitters out there, but I think some people might really enjoy this read more
Jul 16, 2012
FredericFrancois (All reviews)
Not so much a review, but I had to get this off of my chest.
In a world where magic is shown to be capable of so much, why does the only offensive spell consist of summoning a sword and launching it at one's foe? If I ever hear Turn to Sword, My Code again, it will be too soon.
An opportunity to explore the suffusion of technology and its interaction with the spells of old entirely wasted on feeble character interaction and rampant misdirection, either of the characters or of the viewer by unnecessary closeups or unwelcome antics. There are cute moments, but vast read more
Aug 8, 2019
Reshind (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story-
The story is progressing too slowly

Art-
Not bad, but not spectacular. It gives me that feeling of niche anime.

Sound-
I didn't notice anything distracting but nothing really sold me.

Character-
The characters don't leave much to be desired. They're missing that hook that makes me want to continue watching.

Enjoyment-
"meh" is how I can best describe how I feel while watching it.

Overall-
It's something i'd leave on the screen to use as background noise when doing something else. I've only seen two episodes but the slow progression is not doing it for me. That combined with the generic feel of the characters leaves me feeling like thins show is lukewarm.
Jan 9, 2010
SolistraSora (All reviews)
Story

The basic premise of Yoku Wakaru Gendai Mahou is Modern Magic, which uses codes to produce spells instead of using the traditional incantations and scrolls, etc. This is somewhat a fresh spin to other magical girl shows, and is refreshing. Of course, there are also magicians in the show that use the olden version of magic, which requires them to recite an incantation. The story itself was very plain, with just the basic evil guy trying to conquer the world. Although it was somewhat a new spin on this genre, the hopeless story plot just brought the mark down terribly.

Rating: 6/10

Development

The characters in the show read more
Jul 21, 2017
camay1997 (All reviews)
Well I struggle to write this review because I have no strong feelings one way or the other about Yokuwakaru Gendai Maho. It's the most median I've seen in awhile. It's seems like it contains every vicious stereotype about anime in it, but that's what some people love about anime. On one hand it's a cutesy magical girl anime about friendship and fan service. on the negative It's a cutesy magical girl anime about friendship and fan service! So if those are words you abhor in your anime, run, run away now! But if any of those words get your attention; prepare for read more
Jan 2, 2017
sorata861 (All reviews)
[This review contains minor spoilers.]
I am glad that I watched this.
I wouldn't recommend this to others.
I have watched this once, subtitled. I have only watched the anime.
I may watch this again.

---- Positives ----

This series interestingly ties together technology and magic.
When dealing with technology and magic, I'm used to series deciding that the two are, for bizarre reasons, at odds with each other, often resulting in battles between users of technology and users of magic. Thankfully, that doesn't happen here. In this series, technology is used to amplify magic. Specifically, computers can be used to collectively cast spells, whereas gathering thousands of human mages to do read more
Jul 30, 2012
TinyGurl80 (All reviews)
Modern Magic Made Simple. Just put it in, it is a modern magic that i haven't see it before and this anime is amazing though the first episode is a bit confuse. But it is WORTH WATCHING IT!

plot :

The protagonist, Koyomi Morishita, is a short, clumsy, female high school freshman. She becomes a student of Misa Anehara, a powerful modern magician. Modern magic is accomplished with the aid of computers by writing special programs for them. Since she is only 146 cm (4 ft 9½ in) tall, she is often mistaken for an elementary school student when she is wearing her own clothes. She read more