Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ookami to Koushinryou II


Alternative Titles

English: Spice and Wolf II
Synonyms: Ookami to Koushinryou 2nd Season, Spice and Wolf 2nd Season
Japanese: 狼と香辛料II

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 9, 2009 to Sep 24, 2009
Premiered: Summer 2009
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Imagin, flying DOG
Licensors: Funimation
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.451 (scored by 144,038 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1332
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #228
Members: 242,893
Favorites: 2,930

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 6, 2015
lotice1 (All reviews)
Perhaps I'm ranting about this, and with the score I'm giving I be expecting a lot of disagreements here. To be honest, I was sorely disappointed in Spice and Wolf (S&W), not because it was plain bad, but I cannot see anything worth remembering at all.

Character-wise Both Lawrence and Holo showed little to no development at all throughout the series, and watching the anime made me question what the hell is going on more than how interested in the anime I am. In the case of Lawrence, it seemed like he's lost in how he views his relationship with Holo and his job. read more
Sep 24, 2009
KaminaKai (All reviews)
*A surprisingly successful sequel with emphasis on the romance between a man and a (cute) wolf.*

As foreshadowed by the prequel OVA, Spice and Wolf II focus heavily on the romance aspect between our protagonists. By and large, this second adaptation has been regarded as equally successful as its predecessor (if not more successful). In terms of the light novels adaptation, it has been widely accepted for its accurate following of the “actual” story, unlike most anime adaptation. While previous knowledge of the series is not absolutely required to enjoy the show, it is highly recommended for viewers to watch the first season as well as read more
Feb 21, 2010
Ranivus (All reviews)
For those reading this review w/o finishing the first season will be spoiled so be forewarned

This anime continues where the last one left off, Horo and Lawrence slowly make their way to Horo's hometown. Along the way they happen upon various opportunities for profit and gain useful knowledge. All that while trying to keep a strong relationship between a human and a goddess. Some also might wonder if this can stand up against the hype from the fame of the last series. I can easily tell you it does, but with one Achilles heel....

Its definitely not story or the cast that brings this show down read more
Aug 13, 2009
Rub_My_Fanny (All reviews)
Spice and Wolf was one of the best animes I have ever seen in my life. Every second was amazing, every episode had me dying to watch the next, until it was over. For a while I have yearned for more, and then I heard about a sequel, and I was happier than a priest in an unsupervised daycare in the mountains. Now usually with sequels the magic that you first felt when you saw it, isn't there, but not with Spice and Wolf II, so far it has been just as stimulating, if not more, as season one.

Story:
The story is about the read more
Jul 22, 2014
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
Continuing a beloved series and making it greater or just as great can be a challenging task to take. This is not much of a problem for anime that are step-by-step adaptations of any type of original source medium. Spice and Wolf, if you don’t know, is one series that won me over from the previous season. Likewise, I was hoping that this 2nd season would have the same positive impact that the 1st season did for me. While it is not better than the first season in many aspects, it definitely possessed the same fascinating qualities that the 1st season had, with a few read more
Oct 16, 2016
lawlmartz (All reviews)
Vulnerability is the essence of romance. It's the art of being uncalculated, the willingness to look foolish, the courage to say, 'This is me, and I'm interested in you enough to show you my flaws with the hope that you may embrace me for all that I am but, more important, all that I am not.'

Nope, not a Tennyson quote. This one by Ashton Kutcher, of all people. I never would have guessed, myself.

What do we think of when we hear the word romance? A vision of a couple sitting in the sunset, fingers intertwined, lips together? A complex, irrevocable, inimitable bond formed between read more
Mar 26, 2014
Truearagon (All reviews)
First of all, I must say this is my 1 review, so I lack of experience, and my English is not the best, but here are my appointments.


I don't find words to describe how good was this anime, was a totally new experience, never tought this anime will be like that, so emotional and funny in the same time, so deep when we talk about simple things, that happens in my life everyday, for example, the story of the wagon when is lock on a rock in a road, when we have to thing all the bad things and read more
Oct 24, 2014
Thisvthattv (All reviews)
*This is a non-spoiler review of both seasons of Spice and Wolf

When I first found out about Spice and Wolf I was skeptical. I had heard that the series revolved around monetary and economic principles, and wondered how entertaining a like that could be. I’d also heard that there was a lot of dialog in this this series. I feared that I would be bored by discussions about economics that I’m not particularly interested in. I’m very glad to say that I was dead wrong about this series. Spice and Wolf managed to take topics I cared nothing about, and make them very entertaining and read more
Nov 10, 2014
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

Thinking back to the different relationships that I've formed over the years, it's pretty easy to tell when I'm truly close to someone. Whether this be my younger brother, my best friend, or my greatest lover, there is a distinct connection that I share with them that is incredibly hard to emulate and even describe. Instead, people have to experience this feeling for himself or herself. It's not something that is gained by resting on one's laurels; like everything else, developing this relationship takes considerable time, effort, and a smidgen of luck. In Spice and Wolf 2, we read more
Jan 7, 2010
ravenrage (All reviews)
After an epic final in the first season which left me stunned. I was expecting the second season to slow down and turn more romantic. Found out i am right, but the mercantile stuff is still going strong and there is even a merchant duel on par with death note quality. Backstabbing and market values etc. It all returns in its great glory!

At start, the first episode gave me an impression of "Hmm... it's turned soft." But at the same time it was nice too see the cute side of our heroes. But it doesn't take long before they leave the town in episode 2 read more
Jan 15, 2015
Hubbz (All reviews)
This is the first review I have ever written on anime, however, that is only testament to the fact that I have never been so moved by one. Spice and Wolf's greatness stems from the fact that they do not pander to the lowest common denominator. Spice and Wolf does not intend to be an extremely popular anime, what it intends to, and succeeds in doing is being the very best anime for a niche audience.

Story: 9.5/10
The creators obviously spent countless hours studying and researching the economics, politics, culture, religion, and ethics of the time, not to mention the setting and society. Their work read more
May 10, 2016
Obdix (All reviews)
This review encompasses both Seasons 1 and 2 of Ookami to Koushinryou (Spice and Wolf).

Spice and Wolf is a highly stylistic masterpiece that creatively retells early century trade business and weaves it with fictional set pieces to becomes one of the must enthralling suspense-romance anime ever created.

Art: 10/10
The art was breath taking. Characters, locations, and objects were all given very special care and we're brought to life in the fullest extent.

Characters: 10/10
A breath of fresh air from the ever common teenager protagonist, especially for a romance anime, Spice and Wolf hosts a cast of unique adults all striving their way through the harsh realities of read more
Apr 2, 2015
AkiyamaHayate (All reviews)
What I mostly love about this anime is the setting it is put in. Middleages, Austria (kinda Austria, a kingdom based on Austria back in that day). Even though it sounds quite generic, you will be surprised how nicely is the whole setting executed. I was satisfied with the middleagy setting more than in any other anime out there. All the people, the taverns, festivals, markets, roads. Everything was made with a thought of middleages, and it felt like middleages all the way through.
I could say that this story is about love. To be specific about a love that can't exists, not because of personal read more
Mar 25, 2015
sazerarrow2 (All reviews)
A very interesting romance story about a merchant and a pagan wolf god . the story shows alot about how people would do anything for money but they forget what is really important as humans . The wolf god also known as the god of harvest and the merchant karft lawrence traveled learned alot and also found love and kindness which is important in our daily lives where everyone thinks about profit and money nobody thinks about others and nobody does anything to do with kindness .Overall the story is outstandingly original the art was beautiful how they placed alot of places town the scenery read more
Oct 27, 2014
TheContractor (All reviews)
Well, im simply saying this to strengthen my next sentence, but i have watched nearly 500 anime series... And this is by far the best romance anime among them and one of the best among all genres. Even though the Light Novels ended and even fully translated by now, they should animate all of Light Novels,not for the profit from it or to advertise Light Novels, but to leave an example of pinnacle for all japanese animation made from Light Novels and the pinnacle for Light Novels alike. It would not be far fetched to say that this is the pinnacle of them all, by read more
Apr 17, 2016
Andrae92 (All reviews)
I'll do my best to write this without spoiling anything.

I'm going to start with what I didn't like being that it might give some insight into my judgement regarding the series as a whole.

My least favorite thing about this series was the romance.

I know, I know. Hear me out.

The romance was far better than most of what I've witnessed in many series.

I go for romance. It's my thing. I watch and read a lot of it.

Saying it's my least favorite thing is not my implying that it was bad or poorly done. I'm merely lending perspective towards my attitude.

I felt the romance was often blindfolded read more
Sep 18, 2016
darkangel0938 (All reviews)
Story:
Well, I like the first season better the this one. It nice and all but I was expecting more development on the journey as well personal relationship which I didn't get (too bad). It would have been great it there were more episode to clear some stuff.

Art:
I loved the landscapes and architectural buildings. Though I wanted to see more of nature like in the first season

Sound:
The opening and ending song is still great as usual but the first season's ending theme is more catching and fun to sing along ^_^

Characters:
New characters are introduced. It was great to see new characters but it would read more
Oct 2, 2014
Terri-Chan (All reviews)
Fuck that beautiful just beautiful end, this anime pretty surprised me ah never thought an anime of 2009 in terms of Animation, ambience and soundtrack far exceed Anime Anime 2014 This was just a masterpiece with very uan style ambience of the time where cities bestimentas funds occurs, all very style of the time, the plot is just very well thought makes me think the phrase "are pure business" and again, the characters are also maravollosos (protruding Horo) the more secondary side may have a past or a story that makes you get more desire to know (A what Space Dandy), the animation is exemplary read more
Sep 12, 2016
Ganz7 (All reviews)
Well, how do I write my very first review?

Let me start by talking about the main male character, Lawrence. Lawrence is your typical average anime MC. He is nothing exceptional. Sure, he has some pretty good moments and dialogs, but none of them would've happened without one of the best written characters in anime - The Wise Wolf of Yoitsu, Holo.

I honestly cannot put it in words, how perfect the character design is. This is a dialog driven anime, purely because that's how Holo made it to be. I was not planning on watching this anime at all, because of the negative association of Holo read more
Jan 22, 2016
WeabooJhones (All reviews)
I first time heard of this anime on warcraft 3 The Frozen throne in a custom made map on Garena and the gameplay itself was a masterpiece and it stood out from most of the maps with its lore and even the in-depth gameplay that was hard to find in most maps from hiveworkshop, but i am not here to kiss the ass of Warcraft 3 , or Sifonseal/ShadeGabriel , I am here to talk about the anime and to sum it in a few words "ITS A MASTER PIECE , POP THE CHAMPAGNE!"-Donkey.
I gave it a nine since i think its good, cocaine good,masterpiece read more