Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Macross F Movie 1: Itsuwari no Utahime


Alternative Titles

English: Macross Frontier: The False Songstress
Synonyms: Macross Frontier the Movie, Gekijouban Macross F: Itsuwari no Utahime
Japanese: 劇場版 マクロスF 虚空歌姫 ~イツワリノウタヒメ~

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Nov 21, 2009
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Satelight, 8bit
Source: Original
Duration: 1 hr. 59 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.871 (scored by 12,763 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7772
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2734
Members: 24,612
Favorites: 55

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 31, 2010
KaminaKai (All reviews)
“The animations … the insert songs … this movie is simply amazing.”

Macross Frontier: The False Songstress is an excellent example of bringing a two season long TV series to the movie theater. Unlike many recent TV-to-theater adaptation in which a large portion of the movie is nothing but recycled scenes from the TV original, the staffs behind this Macross movie has dedicated their time in rewriting the story, revising the character relations, composing new songs and OST, and most of all, using completely new animation and scenes on ~90% of the movie. In other words, there are no more than a couple of minutes of read more
Oct 23, 2010
canabliss (All reviews)
Okay, I'm not really a part of this website's community, I really just use it as an anime database. I also am not that good at writing reviews, but it's been weeks since this movie has been out on dvd and no one has written a review, so as a fan of the series and this movie I am going to have to do that. First of all, I can see why there are no reviews on MAL yet, this movie still isn't subbed. My Japanese skills are limited, since I'm not a fluent speaker yet, but I have been learning legitimately for about a read more
May 16, 2016
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
*VERY MILD SPOILERS AHEAD*

Huh.This is the first positive review I`ve given on MAL... and this is review #3... OK then... I apologize for the comparisons to the parent anime known as Frontier, but this is essential to reviewing this movie in particular.

Anecdotes are fun.

Have you ever heard of Evangelion? If so, you may have heard of the rebuild films: films that are an alternate setting to the original. The beginning ones retell the original story with some tweaks, while the later ones branch out to tell a whole new story, like with movie three, and the upcoming movie four. Why am I telling you read more
Oct 23, 2013
WdaCdaShdaDid (All reviews)
You should definitely watch the anime series first. These films have so many points that were clearly made not for a new audience but for fans of the anime. A lot of character stories were revamped and this is almost like an AU where tons of awesome stuff you wish happened in the anime happens. Also, if you don't watch the anime first, a lot of things are not explained fully in the films and would probably not make much sense at all. Some characters are also kind of skipped over. If you've watched the anime, you know who they are and why they matter read more
Oct 26, 2010
Silver92 (All reviews)
This anime is outstanding, If you have seen the TV Series this is a must watch, however the plot is the same but the storyline is completely different because of new script and new scenes, a true fan will notice the similiarities.Re-used scenes were updated beautifully, the scenery of Frontier is amazing. The cell shading of the mecha is awesome, the battles are awesome (not too many), there will be some nostalagic mecha movements (a true fan will easily spot them) and qoutes. New Vajra creatures and Motherships can been seen. While you are watching the movie, take note of every little detail. you willl read more
Mar 19, 2011
AbsoluteTheory (All reviews)
In similar fashion to "Do You Remember Love?", and several other anime movie adaptations, they ramped certain things up to 11; but in the shorter format, lost a lot of the plot and character development. All the subtlety is gone, and I'm not wild about the changes to the story.
It's cool on its own, but I think the original is much better.
Nov 6, 2010
Nadoki (All reviews)
After watching the whole season of Macross Frontier, the movie came about about 2 weeks after I finished it. This movie has pretty much the same story, but a different concept and ending. I was pleased with the outcome, and I would definitely watch it again. You will enjoy the anime and the movie and see how much they relate/change the story. A very good alternate ending indeed. I would recommend this to anyone that has seen the full season and wants a more happier story.
Oct 28, 2010
swordfish-san (All reviews)
Those who have seen Macross Frontier would expect more of the same of this top quality movie. The movie although has a near identical plot to the animated series has in fact some very specialised moments exclusive to the movie. Much of the story again revolves around the main protagonist Alto however has less of an emphasis to a RankaXAlto relationship but an all round SherylXAlto one.

The music itself is once again top notched, with notable additions to the original music which stayed true to the theme of a 'Galactic Superstar'. Personally, I hoped for a bit more on characterisation as some felt like read more