Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon


Alternative Titles

English: Sailor Moon
Synonyms: Pretty Soldier Sailor Moon
Japanese: 美少女戦士セーラームーン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 46
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Mar 7, 1992 to Feb 27, 1993
Premiered: Spring 1992
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: TV Asahi
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.711 (scored by 78,420 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #10282
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #339
Members: 142,183
Favorites: 5,375

Reviews

Skadi
Mar 9, 2009
It is often true that things experienced in your childhood never seem to live up to the wonderful memories you had of them when experiencing them again as an adult. It was with this state of mind that I entered my viewing of Sailor Moon, mostly from a desire to relive some nostalgia from my youth. I can truly say that it exceeded my expectations and left all those fond memories intact. As with most anime fans my age, Sailor Moon was one of the first series that I watched. It is one of those titles that many people know outside read more
I found this review Helpful
VK11
Nov 21, 2007
Note: This review encompasses the entire series, rather than just the first season. Keep that in mind while reading. Thanks!!

When anime fans start talking about shows that began their interest in japanese animation, many people point to the fact that their first experience with anime (whether they knew it or not at the time) is Sailor Moon. It's one of those anime shows that people fondly remember as the basis of "how to do anime right" for future shows of its kind. Even when comparing it with today's new trends, plots, characters and animation, it is easy to notice why Sailor read more
I found this review Helpful
ggultra2764
May 5, 2015
Back in the 1990s, Sailor Moon was the queen bee of popular shoujo titles by helping to popularize the magical girl genre to international fans and being the first series within the genre to feature a magical girl fighting against the forces of evil instead of using her magic to do fun and mundane things that older titles like Creamy Mami did. I was a sucker for the series when I was a kid during that period as I watched the butchered American syndicated version of the series released by Dic during the mid-90s. Our heroine of focus here is klutzy and book-dumb middle schooler read more
I found this review Helpful
blushjoy
Apr 26, 2011
Season One of Sailor Moon encompasses the best and worst of the entire Sailor Moon franchise.

Sailor Moon introduces us to Usagi at her most comedic: she is not only the heroine but the comic relief of her own show. Over the course of the season we are introduced to Luna, Sailor Mercury, Sailor Mars, Sailor Jupiter and finally Sailor Venus and Artemis.

As others have mentioned, it is the characters, their relationships with one another which really holds the show together. Other shoujo such as Card Captor Sakura, handled the monster of the week nature in a more fun and varied way, but few anime read more
I found this review Helpful
THEAnimeHERO
Jun 15, 2014
This review is written from a guy's perspective whose barely getting into shojo & wishes to offer positive insight to new viewers of the series. The first season isn't perfect but has some good moments which makes the series worth watching.

I think most people are already familiar to the concept of Sailor Moon being 5 middle school girls being picked as sailor soldiers/sailor scouts to battle evil demonic forces of the Dark Kingdom which is led by Queen Beryl. These battles are often episodic as Queen's Beryl's demons tend to exploit human desires such as tempting them with love in exchange for their energy. These read more
I found this review Helpful
CynicalXperiment
Oct 29, 2014
There’s a mindset I get going into a show that I will not get the full package of what it has to offer if I don’t watch all of it starting from the beginning, then proceeding to the end. Shows are like novels in that sense. Even though the first few chapters may seem boring or dull, there may be something later on that will make the time reading the entire novel worthwhile.

With that said, I just finished all of Sailor Moon.

The only reason I ever started watching Sailor Moon was because this show appeared on a lot of “essential” anime lists (and having started read more
I found this review Helpful
Makaiei
Feb 23, 2008
The first part of the legendary series, Sailor Moon season one, is what many of us anime lovers watched that sparked our interest in Japanese animation... it definitely sparked mine. To those who love Shoujo series or Shounen series; it didn't matter with Sailor Moon. Sailor Moon is the basis to anime today, along with many other popular series like Dragonball, Astro Boy, Tenchi Muyo, etc. But anyway, back to reviewing the series.

Story - Naoko Takeuchi couldn't have done any more of a better job. This gets a ten out of ten. Why? If you notice that many other Mahou Shoujo series are EXACTLY alike read more
I found this review Helpful
LeiraSedohr
Jul 23, 2009
In my opinion, Sailor Moon is one of the best anime in the 90s. Only because I grew up watching it and loving it in english.

Sailor Moon is the longest magical girl anime series. 200 episodes. If you want to watch this, be prepare. With a repetitive story line, gender confusion, too many catch phrases and puns, you just might be in for a show.

In the English dub, their voices are alright in the first 2 seasons, but in the third and fourth, Serena (Usagi) and Amy's (Ami) voices are horrible. Not to mention that the English dubbing doesn't even stick to read more
I found this review Helpful
sizest300
Jan 23, 2016
Toei Animation and what could be their second best franchise ever behind Dragon Ball is Sailor Moon. This anime went on to define the genre of shoujo and magical girl. What once was only about young girls pandering after men became about girls fighting evil with their various powers, something never really been seen before. Sailor Moon was original set for six months (2 seasons/cores by today’s standards), but due to the overwhelming popularity became an international success.

Our story starts off focusing around young 14 year old Usagi Tsukino. She is clumsy, cries a lot, and is not very smart. Well, despite her many flaws read more
I found this review Helpful
Xybirk
Feb 2, 2014
What makes Sailor Moon so great?

When you look at it in parts, it might not look like anything special. Nitpicking the minor details is not exactly a hard feat. The episodes are formulaic, the plot holes are ridiculous, the girls are over-sexualized for their age, the magical items are just an excuse to sell toys, and the English dub is horrific. But when you look at it as a whole, Sailor Moon is completely mesmerizing.

Sailor Moon's story starts out fairly light. The evil Dark Kingdom is attacking Earth, and it's up to Usagi Tsukino to transform into Sailor Moon and defeat them. The early read more
I found this review Helpful
Achachan
Dec 12, 2015
How can I review a series with so much current influence and nostalgic feelings tied to it as Sailor Moon? Currently, I would like to look at this series on its own merits, without bringing those traits into question.

I was recommended Sailor Moon by my girlfriend, who watched it as a kid. My main motivation to watch was to learn more about her through the shows she loves, and I definitely had to cling to that throughout approximately the first 20 episodes, as it was quite a dull time watching. After that, though, around the introduction of Sailor Jupiter, I found myself compulsively watching, which read more
I found this review Helpful
bridget_lalala
Nov 29, 2007
In my opinion, this anime is the best one out there for a person of my interests. There's tons to learn from it, and the characters blend really well. Usagi and Rei have their own little conflict, Ami is the brain who bails Usagi out of everything, Matoko is the brilliant chef who brings goodies for everyone, and Minako is the one who dreams of being a star. These five best friends, along with Mamoru, Usagi's boyfriend, transform into super soldiers here to save the world. Usagi, who is also the Moon Princess, is the leader as Sailor Moon. Ami, the second sailor soldier found, read more
I found this review Helpful
Solemnmind
Jul 14, 2012
To the majority of all Anime fans, whether Sailor Moon is good enough to charm a little girl off her feet or appeal to an older audience seeking nostalgia is a question of utter irrelevance. What most people should be asking themselves is whether or not it can actually appeal to a male or adult audience, and after having seen all 46 episodes I'm pretty sure that it can.

Now, I do admit that I used to watch this as a child, but the only parts of it I could remember before I re-visited it were the transformation sequences, Sailor Mars and the Swedish dub read more
I found this review Helpful
LuckyKrystal
Oct 27, 2013
Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon is a staple in the history of anime. It’s a classic that even non-anime fans will recognize and has gone on to become an immensely successful franchise even outside of Japan. But the question is: how does it hold up today?

Even today Sailor Moon is still a very enjoyable anime. Though not without flaws, it’s a classic still worth viewing. Sailor moon is the story of Usagi Tsukino, a normal, clutzy, fourteen year old middle schooler with awful grades. One day she saves a cat from being harassed by some kids. The cat, named Luna, later gives her a magical artifact read more
I found this review Helpful
allegro665
Feb 10, 2009
Oh Sailor Moon, wherever shall I start?

This anime was fantastic for its time period and should be rediscovered by all its fans of yester-year, even if we twenty-somethings admit to watching it with shame. There's just something about this series that makes it amazing. Even with its spliced-in cutscenes and repetitive plot and catchphrases, the characters stick with you and evolve just enough to make them interesting. The Sailor Moon series may not have been a work of artistic genius, but it's incredibly enjoyable, a pioneer of its time, and an anime cultural icon. Some day when you're sitting around the read more
I found this review Helpful
fraulinefive
Sep 19, 2016
It's an anime staple, so clearly it's something to watch if only to get a proper understanding of the current anime climate. However, if you're watching it for that reason...start a season or two ahead.

This perspective is probably tainted by my own biases pertaining to relationships and appropriateness, but there you go.

So...Sailor Moon is centered around romance - specifically romance with large age/maturity differences, vague or outright incest, and the important of True Love (that again is often creepy due to aforementioned features). This is very alienating if these narratives bother you like they do me. This is probably because I come from outside read more
I found this review Helpful
Someone32
Jun 20, 2016
Original Date of Review: October 10,2015

Story:
I strongly dislike the original Sailor Moon series for many reasons. Let's get the biggest problem out of the way, it's a pretty predictable and repetitive show. For example, Sailor Moon likes to make twists about things it already showed in the first episode, which is pretty pathetic and lazy writing. Do you want to know what the most predictable and annoying part of Sailor Moon is?The filler which extends to almost 25 episodes. In other words, nothing important happens for more than half the time, and when something actually happens, it's just a bunch of cliches pandering to the read more
I found this review Helpful
Pahatar
May 21, 2016
Sailor Moon was my very first anime, that I actually recognized as an anime! I was in the middle school, and still enjoying my pokemon, and what not, when I suddenly stumbled upon an anime, that was made by a woman, for girls - you can imagine, that I was thrilled! So I scooped some of the episodes out of the internet, and watched them in delight... with english dubs - urgh!. The characters were weird, the story all over the place and most of the time really infantile, and the voices obnoxious at best... and don't even get me started about the opening theme, read more
I found this review Helpful
Desi_Barton
Apr 25, 2016
Sailor Moon was the first anime I have ever watched. The show has been very popular and made a come back with Crystal. I like to stay true and I know that there as been things removed from the 1990 version, but it is still my favorite.

The story line has been developed so complexly that is spans over many season. In short is is about a school girl, Serena, who was sent to earth from the moon. Now her and the other sailor scouts must protect the Earth from dark sinister forces.

The show gives a classic hero a new twist. Instead of a read more
I found this review Helpful
Amane8009
Feb 11, 2011
Sailor moon was my very first anime. I used to anticipate coming home after school, turning on the t.v and flopping on my bed to watch it.

Story 10/10
I do admit the the story line although repititive it flows rather well. People need to stop judging this on todays Anime scales, this was made in 1992(and dubbed couple years after) so people need to look at this as one the GREATEST anime of the '90s. Although it is the same girl gets magic powers,girl gets teamates, and girls try to defeat the enemy together. Its your basic storyline, my favorite take on it is, that this read more
I found this review Helpful