Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon


Alternative Titles

English: Sailor Moon
Synonyms: Pretty Soldier Sailor Moon
Japanese: 美少女戦士セーラームーン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 46
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Mar 7, 1992 to Feb 27, 1993
Premiered: Spring 1992
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: TV Asahi
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.741 (scored by 104,272 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #10132
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #476
Members: 205,400
Favorites: 7,390

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 9, 2009
Skadi (All reviews)
It is often true that things experienced in your childhood never seem to live up to the wonderful memories you had of them when experiencing them again as an adult. It was with this state of mind that I entered my viewing of Sailor Moon, mostly from a desire to relive some nostalgia from my youth. I can truly say that it exceeded my expectations and left all those fond memories intact. As with most anime fans my age, Sailor Moon was one of the first series that I watched. It is one of those titles that many people know outside read more
Nov 21, 2007
VK11 (All reviews)
Note: This review encompasses the entire series, rather than just the first season. Keep that in mind while reading. Thanks!!

When anime fans start talking about shows that began their interest in japanese animation, many people point to the fact that their first experience with anime (whether they knew it or not at the time) is Sailor Moon. It's one of those anime shows that people fondly remember as the basis of "how to do anime right" for future shows of its kind. Even when comparing it with today's new trends, plots, characters and animation, it is easy to notice why Sailor read more
Apr 26, 2011
blushjoy (All reviews)
Season One of Sailor Moon encompasses the best and worst of the entire Sailor Moon franchise.

Sailor Moon introduces us to Usagi at her most comedic: she is not only the heroine but the comic relief of her own show. Over the course of the season we are introduced to Luna, Sailor Mercury, Sailor Mars, Sailor Jupiter and finally Sailor Venus and Artemis.

As others have mentioned, it is the characters, their relationships with one another which really holds the show together. Other shoujo such as Card Captor Sakura, handled the monster of the week nature in a more fun and varied way, but few anime read more
May 5, 2015
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Back in the 1990s, Sailor Moon was the queen bee of popular shoujo titles by helping to popularize the magical girl genre to international fans and being the first series within the genre to feature a magical girl fighting against the forces of evil instead of using her magic to do fun and mundane things that older titles like Creamy Mami did. I was a sucker for the series when I was a kid during that period as I watched the butchered American syndicated version of the series released by Dic during the mid-90s. Our heroine of focus here is klutzy and book-dumb middle schooler read more
Mar 10, 2019
Jonyheero (All reviews)
Being a 90's show, Sailor Moon's first season has a particular charm. Overall my gut says that this show deserves a 9 or even 10 out 10. It was, maybe, the first really mainstream anime in North America when it started airing here (Canada) in 1995. I feel it is a captivating story for boys and girls alike. I am male and had no problem with a female heroine. Sailor Moon hails from a time when viewers were not yet desensitised to the enormous and constant sexual innuendo of similar animes produced in the last 10 years. It is read more
Jun 15, 2014
THEAnimeHERO (All reviews)
This review is written from a guy's perspective whose barely getting into shojo & wishes to offer positive insight to new viewers of the series. The first season isn't perfect but has some good moments which makes the series worth watching.

I think most people are already familiar to the concept of Sailor Moon being 5 middle school girls being picked as sailor soldiers/sailor scouts to battle evil demonic forces of the Dark Kingdom which is led by Queen Beryl. These battles are often episodic as Queen's Beryl's demons tend to exploit human desires such as tempting them with love in exchange for their energy. These read more
Jul 23, 2009
LeiraSedohr (All reviews)
In my opinion, Sailor Moon is one of the best anime in the 90s. Only because I grew up watching it and loving it in english.

Sailor Moon is the longest magical girl anime series. 200 episodes. If you want to watch this, be prepare. With a repetitive story line, gender confusion, too many catch phrases and puns, you just might be in for a show.

In the English dub, their voices are alright in the first 2 seasons, but in the third and fourth, Serena (Usagi) and Amy's (Ami) voices are horrible. Not to mention that the English dubbing doesn't even stick to read more
Feb 2, 2014
Xybirk (All reviews)
What makes Sailor Moon so great?

When you look at it in parts, it might not look like anything special. Nitpicking the minor details is not exactly a hard feat. The episodes are formulaic, the plot holes are ridiculous, the girls are over-sexualized for their age, the magical items are just an excuse to sell toys, and the English dub is horrific. But when you look at it as a whole, Sailor Moon is completely mesmerizing.

Sailor Moon's story starts out fairly light. The evil Dark Kingdom is attacking Earth, and it's up to Usagi Tsukino to transform into Sailor Moon and defeat them. The early read more
Nov 29, 2007
bridget_lalala (All reviews)
In my opinion, this anime is the best one out there for a person of my interests. There's tons to learn from it, and the characters blend really well. Usagi and Rei have their own little conflict, Ami is the brain who bails Usagi out of everything, Matoko is the brilliant chef who brings goodies for everyone, and Minako is the one who dreams of being a star. These five best friends, along with Mamoru, Usagi's boyfriend, transform into super soldiers here to save the world. Usagi, who is also the Moon Princess, is the leader as Sailor Moon. Ami, the second sailor soldier found, read more
Nov 27, 2018
Ilieas (All reviews)
Review of Sailor Moon Season 1

In this review I will look into this qualities and flaws of the fist season of Sailor Moon. This review is not only highly subjective, but also my first review on this site so feel free to disagree. I also tried to keep this as spoiler-free as possible, but if you want to go into the series completely blind (lol going blind on a nearly thirty years old series) and only care about my opinion feel free to jump right to my conclusion.


I will look into the structure, story, aesthetics and characters of Sailor Moon.



Structure: Sailor Moons read more
Jul 14, 2012
Solemnmind (All reviews)
To the majority of all Anime fans, whether Sailor Moon is good enough to charm a little girl off her feet or appeal to an older audience seeking nostalgia is a question of utter irrelevance. What most people should be asking themselves is whether or not it can actually appeal to a male or adult audience, and after having seen all 46 episodes I'm pretty sure that it can.

Now, I do admit that I used to watch this as a child, but the only parts of it I could remember before I re-visited it were the transformation sequences, Sailor Mars and the Swedish dub read more
Feb 28, 2013
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Welcome to my 100th review. I'm sorry that I wasn't more honest about this coming up, I could say it in my dreams, but my thoughts were about to short circuit as I thought about what anime I could review for the occasion. My heart was a kaleidoscope as I pondered this question. I looked to the twinkling of the stars to foretell the future of my reviews. Obviously, it had to be Sailor Moon. While I'm at it, I'm going to do one of those things that some people keep whining at me for not doing. That's right, I'm going to look at the read more
Oct 27, 2013
LuckyKrystal (All reviews)
Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon is a staple in the history of anime. It’s a classic that even non-anime fans will recognize and has gone on to become an immensely successful franchise even outside of Japan. But the question is: how does it hold up today?

Even today Sailor Moon is still a very enjoyable anime. Though not without flaws, it’s a classic still worth viewing. Sailor moon is the story of Usagi Tsukino, a normal, clutzy, fourteen year old middle schooler with awful grades. One day she saves a cat from being harassed by some kids. The cat, named Luna, later gives her a magical artifact read more
Feb 10, 2009
allegro665 (All reviews)
Oh Sailor Moon, wherever shall I start?

This anime was fantastic for its time period and should be rediscovered by all its fans of yester-year, even if we twenty-somethings admit to watching it with shame. There's just something about this series that makes it amazing. Even with its spliced-in cutscenes and repetitive plot and catchphrases, the characters stick with you and evolve just enough to make them interesting. The Sailor Moon series may not have been a work of artistic genius, but it's incredibly enjoyable, a pioneer of its time, and an anime cultural icon. Some day when you're sitting around the read more
Jun 14, 2019
petrichor17 (All reviews)
**Please note, there are some minor spoilers throughout this review, and extreme spoilers at the end. If you have not seen the first season of Sailor Moon, and are sensitive to spoilers, however minor, I would suggest you don't read my review.

Hi, it's me again, trying to write a review now that I've stopped sobbing. This was my very first time watching the first season of Sailor Moon, and of course I'm going to be watching the second season! I love, love, loved this! The first part of the season made me very happy and I was excited to watch it as often as I read more
May 29, 2019
nefferinthia (All reviews)
I never watched more than 2 or 3 episodes of Sailor Moon when I was young, yet I felt a strange compulsion to watch the show in my adult years. My childhood magical girl show of choice was Tokyo Mew Mew, which I quickly realized was very heavily inspired by Sailor Moon, to the point where it might even be called a ripoff. Sailor Moon did it better. Sailor Moon is the OG of magical girl anime and it shows.

While the show’s age is apparent and the animation and sound aren’t up to snuff anymore, I found the art style and character designs to read more
Feb 11, 2011
Amane8009 (All reviews)
Sailor moon was my very first anime. I used to anticipate coming home after school, turning on the t.v and flopping on my bed to watch it.

Story 10/10
I do admit the the story line although repititive it flows rather well. People need to stop judging this on todays Anime scales, this was made in 1992(and dubbed couple years after) so people need to look at this as one the GREATEST anime of the '90s. Although it is the same girl gets magic powers,girl gets teamates, and girls try to defeat the enemy together. Its your basic storyline, my favorite take on it is, that this read more
Sep 19, 2016
fraulinefive (All reviews)
It's an anime staple, so clearly it's something to watch if only to get a proper understanding of the current anime climate. However, if you're watching it for that reason...start a season or two ahead.

This perspective is probably tainted by my own biases pertaining to relationships and appropriateness, but there you go.

So...Sailor Moon is centered around romance - specifically romance with large age/maturity differences, vague or outright incest, and the important of True Love (that again is often creepy due to aforementioned features). This is very alienating if these narratives bother you like they do me. This is probably because I come from outside read more
Apr 7, 2010
Usagi-long-legs (All reviews)
I remember watching sailor moon when I was little and it was the one thing that nearly all girls wanted to be, a girl super hero!!
The story is very good as the main character (Usagi/Serena) is a very, very clumsy girl who you'lll probably think will never achieve high espectations. However she ends up chosen to be Sailor moon, a sailor soldier of love and justice!!
She is joined by other sailor soilders who she meets during the anime.
There is also some romance but you can find that out for yourself!
This is definately for people who like the magic girl/ super hero type animes.
Also there are read more
Dec 9, 2010
angardia (All reviews)
As been mentioned before , Sailor moon was my first anime to watch , i heard about it from a friend of mine many years ago but i could watch it in turkish so i understood about 1% of what been spoken about but i waited every single day just to watch a new episode. ( no youtube back then Q.Q)

Contain spoiler @#@#@

Good :

1.This anime really funny :))) Lots of funny moments , embarrassing moments and just silly pranks and jokes make it easy to watch and something to wait for.
2. Simple and easy to watch - If we remove all the transformation and read more