Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Saishuu Heiki Kanojo


Alternative Titles

English: She, The Ultimate Weapon
Synonyms: SaiKano, Saishuuheiki Kanojo: The Last Love Song on This Little Planet
Japanese: 最終兵器彼女

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 2, 2002 to Sep 24, 2002
Premiered: Summer 2002
Broadcast: Unknown
Studios: Gonzo
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.251 (scored by 29,330 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #27082
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1323
Members: 73,379
Favorites: 536

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 31, 2007
Venneh (All reviews)
Title: Saikano , short for Saishu Heiki Kanojo (My Girlfriend, The Ultimate Weapon)

Manga, Movie, Anime: Saikano was originally a manga authored by Shin Takahashi, and ran in the Shogakukan publication Big Comic Spirits from May 30th, 2000 to December 25th, 2001. It totals at seven collected volumes. It has been released Stateside by Viz, and the final volume was released January 3rd, 2006.

A live-action movie was released January 28th, 2006, and has yet to be licensed Stateside. I'll be covering this later in the review.

The anime itself was produced by Gonzo (famous for Gankutsuou and Red Garden), and directed by Mitsuo Kase read more
Sep 19, 2008
Splitter (All reviews)
Saikano has all of the best intentions for a tragic romance, and it sets its story up really well. And that, dear readers, is where all of my positive remarks end for this emotion-milker.

I do not fault those of you who call this one of the most moving anime out there. Far from it, it's full of emotion. But there is such a thing as pacing and this is where the anime conks out. Saikano's story is so diligent in making sure it's viewers never forget that unspeakable tragedy is inevitably nearing, even from the very first few episodes. The world being at war and read more
Apr 1, 2010
Cheating (All reviews)
Saikano is awkward. Extremely awkward. And not even in a good way. I watched this series basically over the course of two days, and I have to say if I hadn't just kept watching it, I probably would not have bothered to finish it (unfortunately, I did.) Let me explain why.

☢CAUTION!!☢  SPOILERS AHEAD ☢CAUTION!!☢

Story: 3
If I was able to make any recommendation across media, I would definitely say this show reminded me a lot of Nitro+'s visual novel Saya no Uta. For those of you not familiar with it, it's a somewhat gory and sexually explicit short story read more
Feb 13, 2008
Akaike (All reviews)
There's no 9.5 option when you come to reviewing, so I guess that a 9 will have to do. Ok, I discovered this anime purely by accident - don't you just love it when that happens? Anyway, a recent purchase and I couldn't wait to watch it. For those who don't know anything about Saikano - the story is essentially a love story, albeit a very tragic one. The anime focuses on the lives of Shuji and Chise, two high school students in Hokkaido who have recently became a couple. However, the happiness that comes along with finding someone to read more
Nov 12, 2008
AironicallyHuman (All reviews)
This series ended up being very disappointing. Echoing the thoughts of others who have the same views about Saikano, it tried hard to be a tragic romance story and turned out to be more boring than depressing - it didn't make me watery eyed. There are series that depress viewers without making it obvious the plan is to pull on the viewers heart strings and there are series that make it so obvious that you expect people to die just to get a reaction, and Saikano is the latter.

Before watching I thought it was going to turn out to be a winner in my eyes. read more
May 25, 2010
LolaStarr (All reviews)
I had read so many raving reviews, both in magazines and on the internet, about this anime series, so when I found the boxset on sale, I was so excited. Boy, what a waste of money!

The story seemed really interesting, and I had high hopes for it, however I think it was poorly executed and leaves the audience wondering when the real story is going to begin. The characters lacked depth, and they were boring to watch. I literally had to force myself to finish this anime, in the hopes that at some point it would redeem itself, no such luck. The idea itself was read more
Jan 31, 2012
kajia (All reviews)
"Saishuu Heiki Kanojo: The Last Love Song on This Little Planet", better known as just "Saikano", is a show that emboddies Gonzo's tendency to output anime that divides opinions. I shamelessly admit that I really enjoyed a lot of their shows... which is why I was drawn to "Saikano", a show regarded by many as an extremely tragic drama (note that this was before "Clannad" came around and made me forever wary of these type of shows), and by most critics as utter tripe.

And so I went in with high expectations... and left with a glum reminder of why I have this contradictory love/hate regard read more
Feb 10, 2008
ilovepho (All reviews)
Ok first time writing a review but here goes, Saikano is just one of my favorite animes and I just had to write a review for it.

The story is just...wow and it was full of tension, drama and it'll leave you in tears. throughout every episode made you wanting more. It doesnt stall like naruto though i love naruto, half the episodes everyone just talks and it gets boring sometimes but this isnt about naruto im just comparing... anyways what im trying to say is that saikano gets straight to the point with each episode and it doesnt bore you halfway through the anime

Now read more
Feb 21, 2010
MarisaKirisameZe (All reviews)
Have you ever thought to yourself, “The person closest to me could be a deadly weapon” and accepted it? You never know what someone might be going through during the life they face, but what happens when that person becomes less of a human and turns out to cause destruction to their own kind? Saikano is an anime that goes through such a scenario of loosing someone you love dearly to the arms of war.

The story begins with Shuji, who is walking up to an observatory site and having a sense of nostalgia about his girlfriend, Chise. There, he finds her exchange diaries that appeared read more
Nov 27, 2015
gedata (All reviews)
The term "emotional manipulation" isn't quite on the level of the word "pretentious" when it comes to canned, overused, and empty criticism. However, it is down there. The problem with the term stems from the fact that all stories in some way aim to manipulate emotions. Where we to draw the lines is when for some reason or another, we the audience begin to see the cogs spinning. Characters then become plot devices to us, and plot-holes become impossible to ignore, as does the desperation to get a reaction out of you from the script. Once things like these take us out of the experience, read more
Aug 28, 2007
Traversy (All reviews)
Saikano is a tragic love story, but not "tragic love story" as in Romeo and Juliet (I'm not sure about the anime), but somewhat the opposite/reverse/inverse. This story (or "Love Song") is enjoyable and dramatic.

Animation was by Toei and Gonzo (2004), and that should give you an idea of the quality. Artwork changed from normal to a comical form once(1 time), I believe, for the sake of comic relief.

The background sounds did their job (though I hardly noticed until the last episode where it changed the music genre), and the opening and ending songs were good. The English voice dubs are sub-par/mediocre (especially for Chise(the read more
Oct 22, 2009
Hantsuki (All reviews)
You must be tired of reading this on other reviews, but this is my first review on this site. However, that doesn't mean I can say that I am only writing this because it's the best anime ever or because it's the worse, but rather, I know exactly what I can write about it, and I feel like writing about it. Now without further ado, I'll move on to the review.

Story: After reading the plot summary for the first time, I became intrigued on what the anime would turn out to be like which is why I decided to watch it. After watching the series read more
Sep 6, 2011
LordSoth (All reviews)
Wow after seeing so many blogs out there writing that this is one of the most depressing anime of all times I gave it a shot. However after finishing all 13 episode the thing in my mind is not despeair nor sadness. Its a question; "why!". Really I wonder why did they produce this anime. This is not filled with action , Its not solely drama, ıts not discussing war only, love is just a sub topic eventhough tried to be the main one. This anime is different, nothing cliche but nothing brand new at the same time. Its just weird. read more
Sep 12, 2007
Sumiregawa-kun (All reviews)
Story: 6/10
--As it touts, this series is a love story. The story itself is very hard to rate, mostly because in terms of plot, it was not entirely creative in terms of a love story, yet the manner in which it was told was a different style. Very slow in places, more often than not. Predictable, to say the least.

So at least mediocre for its weigh-downs, but then it is placed in a setting of pre-apocalyptic World War. This deals with many themes, including the view of said war from the perspectives of the main characters; it takes Fifth Element's compaction, and makes it into read more
Jan 29, 2012
Inushinde (All reviews)
I’ll be the first to admit that I’ve cried watching anime. The end of the first Gunslinger Girl series made me tear up a little bit, the realization of the last story in Kino’s Journey wrung a few half-formed tears from my eye sockets, and each episode of Aria and nearly every one of Natsume Yuujinchou left me a blubbering mess unable to function. I’m far from an impenetrable, emotionless stone wall. Now with all that said, Saikano didn’t come close to making me cry. There are several reasons for this, which I’ll get to shortly.

On the cusp of war, two students named Chise read more
Oct 16, 2013
dabagonsmith (All reviews)
It's hard to describe the masterpiece that is Saikano, there are so many different things to say about this anime, most of them very good and positive things. Despite the story being as far out there as it is it has a very realistic feeling to it, even in some of the more extreme circumstances this anime has. Out of all the anime I've watched, including elfen lied, nothing has made me cry more, it's definitely a really touching anime and will make you cry no matter how tough you are, that is a fact.

Story- Saikano has a very unique story that is a fact, read more
Dec 13, 2011
TheGoatee (All reviews)
I am huge drama fan because there are so many different kinds. Drama comes in all shapes and sizes, and leaves the greatest impression on me. It does a great job at dragging you through hell to end up bringing you to heaven. HOWEVER...some dramas will drag you through hell only to leave you there to rot and burn. Case in point, Saikano.

Saikano follows Chise and Shuji, who are an amateur couple set up by there friend, Akemi. They lead a normal awkward school life, desperate to make things comfortable because they really do like each other. However, Shuji finds out during a raid that read more
Sep 6, 2015
Meowsorz (All reviews)
I only watched this show because I made a deal with a friend that he had to watch JoJo's Bizarre Adventure, and I had to watch Saikano. Needless to say, I got boned on this deal.

Spoilers Ahead:
This show amazes me. Not in a good way. It amazes me because it constantly manages to peck at my head and annoy me. One of our main characters Chise was turned into a military weapon and selected at random off of the street. Thats...about it. There was no special reason given whatsoever. And all of the problems caused in the show could have completely been avoided if read more
Jul 4, 2018
John_Fishermen (All reviews)
The most outstanding thing about this series was the plot. It moves at a nice pace, including all the twists that keep this love story interesting. The final couple episodes are extremely intense.

This was a 2002 anime, and its obvious when it comes to the sound and art. The art is nice, nothing special. The music is rather plain and mediocre. The characters themselves are nothing too special either.

I found that the whole enjoyment from this series surrounded the plot and progression throughout the series. No episode was worthless, with them all assisting towards the final ending.
It builds slowly on a nice romantic read more
Mar 9, 2009
Undertow (All reviews)
An incredible anime, and one that has an intensity that completely took me by surprise the first time I watched it.
However there needs to be a warning when you’re going to watch this anime, and that is: Don’t watch it if you’re sensitive to depressions. It’s one of the emotionally heaviest animes that I’ve ever seen.

Alright, the scores and the breakdowns:

Story: 9
SaiKano has an incredibly story, extraordinarily intense and superbly written. The depth that the story presents to us goes well beyond that of many anime that are presented to us. In terms of depth it falls just short of the manga, which goes a read more