Pokemon Movie 01: Mewtwo no Gyakushuu


Pokemon: The First Movie

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Pokemon: The First Movie
Synonyms: Gekijouban Pocket Monsters: Mewtwo Strikes Back, Pokemon Movie 1, Pokemon: The Origin of Mewtwo, Pokemon: The First Movie Kanzenban, Pokemon: The First Movie Complete Version
Japanese: ポケットモンスター ミュウツーの逆襲

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 18, 1998
Studios: OLM
Source: Game
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, ComedyComedy, KidsKids, DramaDrama, FantasyFantasy
Duration: 1 hr. 25 min.
Rating: PG - Children

Statistics

Score: 7.631 (scored by 143329143,329 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #12102
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #778
Members: 210,988
Favorites: 306
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 20, 2010
ryuutora (All reviews)
This was my favorite movie as a child, and it always made me sad to watch it every time, so watching it again having gone through the self-discovery of adolescence made me realize why it was so impacting.

The reason why Ash is always able to win is because he's friends with his Pokémon. The whole series is an allegory on how you're supposed to treat your fellow man, using the relationship between Pokémon and their trainers as a parallel for the relationship between human beings.

Mewtwo's hatred for mankind stems from their lack of compassion - he was basically used. He was given life, and then read more
Apr 5, 2012
Chaotic_beauty (All reviews)
I've watched the Japanese version of the movie and that's my main impetus for this review. Most of us watched either the 4kids version as kids or a localization based on the English version. I have a bone to pick with that. I don't want to make this into a 4kids hate article, but they fucked up.

4kids have cut out 15 minutes of the movie, removed part of Mewtwo's monologue simply because he mentioned 'God' and distorted the message movie was trying to give. Mewtwo also wasn't portrayed as the spawn of Satan in the original version, but a misguided villain. He was given motives read more
Jun 11, 2008
kiriska (All reviews)
This was a movie that broke the box office records for an animated feature at the time. Of course, records have come a long way since then, but this was still a fun movie.

STORY - As a kids' movie for a kids' show, the themes in Mewtwo Strikes Back are actually quite impressive. The morality of cloning and genetic modification/enhancement is a very real debate that ripples through the scientific community now and again, and it's interesting to see that idea translated into a Pokemon movie. Thus, as far as its target audience goes, the core plot of this First Movie is definitely doing something read more
Jan 14, 2016
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

It is time I take a short reprieve from reviewing actually acclaimed anime and go back to my little niche on this site, reviewing old CRAP!

Background:

The first Pokemon movie brings to the big screen what was easily the most interesting sub-plot of the 1st generation of pokemon games, the creation of Mewtwo. The game and anime adaptation leave many hints and clues that foreshadow events in the movie and built up anticipation. In the original games on Cinnebar Island, there is a building that is filled with documents about attempts to clone Mew and create an all powerful Pokemon for Team Rocket. Throughout the game, read more
Feb 5, 2008
-FlameHaze- (All reviews)
[Intro]
If you thought the series was ok, you will love this movie. I did watch the entire first series of Pokemon, but the movie was far better with a much better story line.

[Animation]
The animation in this was nothing special, kind of average ish, nothign special at all, but easily watchable, same as the pokemon series really, simple.

[Sound]
The sound in Pokemon: The First Movie was better than the series, alot of thought seems to have gone into where music would sound best and the type of music played to fit the scenes.

[Characters]
The characters in this movie are pretty much the same as the series but you read more
Apr 27, 2009
SpoonfedTribe (All reviews)
I used to be a Pokemon fanatic, as many youngsters did, but unlike everyone else I probably saw this movie for the first time in 2001 because I jumped the bandwagon later than everyone else. I remember very little about watching it, but I do remember that, in contrast to the series, it was exceptionally dark and very sad.

Let's put some perspective here: the movie, in the English dub, opens up with Mewtwo coming out of some cloned form of hibernation (which is strange for a children's movie) and it's assumed that he's absolutely pissed off that he's been cloned and what-not. So he proceeds read more
Sep 19, 2009
Tape (All reviews)
Ill say flat out, THIS IS THE BEST POKEMON MOVIE EVER!!!

Yah that might not be saying much to some of you people out there, but.... there was a time in mine, and almost ever person my ages elementary school, when Pokemon is what made you cool, or made you the person with nothing to talk about.

This movie introduces you to Mew and MewTwo which were like special pokemon back when Pokemon seemed limited to 150-152.

The plot is Ash and the gang get invited to this Island by a mysterious person. When they get there they get thrown into an event that tests the bond they read more
Jan 1, 2017
Fear_the_Reefer (All reviews)
Hello there! Welcome to the world of adaptations! My name is Naru! This world is inhabited by creatures called pokemon, who live in harmony with the humans who capture and train them! For some people, pokemon are pets. Others use them for fights. For others, pokemon are used for scientific testing, stored in suspended animation in large glass tubes while individuals far less ethically inclined than myself attempt to use them to perfect the art of cloning. This may not include you, an innocent and unassuming ten year old of indeterminate gender... Seriously, what are you, a boy or a girl? read more
Nov 5, 2010
oxana (All reviews)
I recall seeing this in the theaters, back in the day. I liked it then. I still like it now.

The animation is more detailed than what we've seen in the cartoon on TV, but that's to be expected. The story is more detailed and meaningful as well. During the late episodes of the first season of Pokémon, we saw glimpses of a powerful Pokémon used by Giovanni, the leader of Team Rocket.

That Pokémon was Mewtwo. Cloned from a mysterious, ancient Mew, it was made, supposedly, more powerful than the original. Through lies and deceit, it was made to serve human purpose.

All good things come to read more
Apr 23, 2009
ff7highwind (All reviews)
When I originally saw this movie, I was around..7 years old I believe. One day, I was sitting in my living room playing my copy of Pokemon Red, when suddenly I heard "Calling all trainers!" As I watched, probably the most epic 60 seconds of my life flashed before my eyes with the final words saying "THE FIRST POKEMON MOVIE EVER! CATCH IT, NOVEMBER 12TH!" Now..I was 7..and Pokemon was God. This was the greatest moment ever to me. November 12th came along and I arrived with my dad and a bunch of other kids at a HUGE FREAKING LINEUP. When I bought my ticket, read more
Nov 6, 2011
HollowNightWolf (All reviews)
time for another review ^.^ this time it's the first pokemon movie which, despite being a huge pokemon fan, i didn't watch until many years after it came out. (i was only four when it came out and i didn't start watching pokemon till later on) none the less, here i am fresh after watching it again :D without further ado, onto the review!

we start start out with what appears to be a beautiful scene with the rarest of all pokemon, mew, right in front of our face. everything seems peaceful enough until it turns much darker and serious which is where we meet mewtwo read more
Apr 11, 2009
Ikkou1 (All reviews)
I saw the dub of this show and later the original Japanese version. I got quite shocked when I found out they've removed 15 whole minutes of the movie (In the Dub) at the beginning, because it was "Too dramatic for children" Well, well, on with the review.

This movie was enjoyable overall. Starts up with a dramatic Meowtwo scene, which made me curious: Is this really a kids movie!? It was one big change for the Pokemon series, because people actually got killed, unlike the TV-epsiodes...

Later, Ash is battling with a American dude, while the Pokemon theme plays in the background. And then it goes read more
Jun 20, 2018
ktulu007 (All reviews)
If you’re part of my generation, or younger, chances are Pokemon was part of your childhood. I’ve reviewed one anime based off of it, the relatively short Pokemon the Origin but there have been a bunch of series for it, many of them going well over a hundred episodes. Today, we’re looking at Pokemon: Mewtwo no Gyakushuu, a film based off of the main anime line. Now, the general consensus among older fans of the Pokemon franchise is that the games are still fun and various improvements like reusable TMs, more trainer customization & the elimination of HMs in favour of ride Pokemon are touted read more
Jan 15, 2016
Luigithemetal64 (All reviews)
I have watched both versions of this movie, so this is going to be a review based on what I know from the Japanese version and the 4Kids dub.

English Dub: I know every Pokémon fan have seen it in the movie when it first came out. We have high expectations from it. We may have grown out it, but we've learned that critics put their hate on the films that came out. At first we thought is was just for no reason. And finally I've learned that besides Pokémon being a cash grab, I now get the dubbing is awful, the acting and dialogue is read more
Apr 16, 2010
Evilgidgit (All reviews)
With how incredibly successful Pokemon was when it first appeared in the world, conquering Japan, America, Europe and the rest of the world, each new release of merchandise - video games, trading cards, the anime, and its merchandise - it was likely only a matter of time before a movie was made. But the bigwigs behind it must have got cocky by calling it Pokemon the FIRST movie. I mean, do they have a medium in Nintendo that can predict the future. So far, there have been 12 released films with a 13th on the way, but the first movie and perhaps Pokemon 2000 will read more
Mar 5, 2012
HatchetGirl (All reviews)
Pokemon is extremely nostalgic for me, and, this was a really good Pokemon movie. I've attempted to watch some of the newer Pokemon movies, and, while they were okay, they just weren't as good as the old Pokemon. If you enjoy the more nostalgic days of Pokemon, I strongly recommend this movie. It's got a good plot, fun, and is strongly entertaining, even though it's made for kind of a younger kid age group. But, with that, if you have young relatives you want to introduce anime to but don't want to show them the less child friendly ones, this is also a good read more
Jun 16, 2020
ImRingo (All reviews)
This review is just a blurt of thoughts as it is part of a Pokemon watch series I am doing with some friends. I apologize for the short format.

Just re-watched this film with some friends; it's still a meh film. It is mostly enjoyable due to nostalgia reasons. However as a film, it shows its cracks in many places. The narrative seems pointless, the side characters are not fleshed out what so ever, and in a lot of spots the animation and artwork look pretty bad even for a late 90's animated film.

However, this film is still quite watchable. It isn't bad but it read more
Mar 4, 2020
NullRay_85 (All reviews)
As the name suggests, Pokémon: The First Movie was the first big-picture outing for the juggernaut franchise. Released back in 1998, it's was a big deal for fans of the anime and games alike. I'm fairly well-versed into the Pokémon world, having played some of the games and currently watching the original series, so I was very excited to finally watch the first movie. How did it fare? Let's find out!

Story - The film follows Pokémon trainer Ash Ketchum, along with his Pikachu and friends as they find themselves being challenged by Mewtwo, a powerful Pokémon hellbent on wiping out humanity as revenge for enslaving read more
Jan 19, 2020
AnimeBW (All reviews)
I have not watched much of the Pokemon TV show. I watched all of Diamond and Pearl while it was airing, but that was it. I didn’t watch the original series, nor Advanced Generation, and I fell off the entire franchise just a few episodes into Best Wishes. However, before that point, while I wasn’t keeping up with the TV show, I was absolutely keeping up with the movies. I saw every Pokemon movie up through Arceus and the Jewel of Life, and that was how I stayed up to date on what the current Pokemon status quo was. I don’t remember every detail from read more
Aug 4, 2009
gunithizzle (All reviews)
story: mewtwo was the (poke)man. hes the guy that can own people that own pokemon, and ash wants some beef with him. pretty cool.

art: all the pokemon drawings and people look just as they did, colorful and reflective

sound: pokemon music was always pretty good.

characters: same as the anime so nothing all that different. they each have their own narrow persona and thats in the movie too.

enjoyment: i was pretty hyped when i was younger. and not to mention that intro movie with pikablu. only thing that sucked was i never got one of those exclusive cards you get for watching it at the movie. i read more