Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Sekirei: Pure Engagement


Alternative Titles

English: Sekirei: Pure Engagement
Synonyms: Sekirei 2
Japanese: セキレイ~Pure Engagement~

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 4, 2010 to Sep 26, 2010
Premiered: Summer 2010
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Aniplex
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Seven Arcs
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.491 (scored by 95,104 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #17722
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #626
Members: 168,659
Favorites: 510

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 11, 2010
TensaiShonen (All reviews)
Fanboys rejoice as the second season of Sekirei(a.k.a Pimpamon) is now out and I must admit, the direction to which this series is headed can only get better as the "game" mentioned last season, is finally starting to unravel.

Story - 7
For those who had followed the series back in 2008, Sekirei ~Pure Engagement~ is a continuation as Sahashi Minato endeavors to 'catch' as many girls as he can to add to his harem collection. For those that haven't seen the first season, I strongly suggest watching the series or else SPE will not make any sense to you(nor this review).

Plot-wise; with the final Sekirei read more
Apr 25, 2013
Jayex (All reviews)
Sekirei: Pure Engagement--as the Second Season of Sekirei, this season seems to be the shift from just boobies to actual story line and theme.

Story - 9
The animators took the liberty to adjust some of the storyline to their own liking...fortunately and unfortunately, while it does not completely follow the manga's plot, I would say it actually brings out the theme of love and unity instead of just plain old boobies.

There are parts that even have you crying/tearing up/getting angry, as they also bring out the cruelties of life (not to a mature extreme) and lets just say, much sacrifice was made...(both on the part of read more
Sep 18, 2013
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Sekirei was rubbish. It was a vile, misogynistic series without a single interesting character to be found and a crap story. Pure Engagement will probably be more of the same. Really, the only way this could potentially be fixed would be if they a) replaced the entire cast or b)forgot about the stupid fighting and fan-service scenes and used the time to develop the characters and actually elevate them beyond a single dimension. Let's see if that happens.

I briefly considered just copying and pasting the first series review and making some minor changes, but I decided against it because it would be inexcusably lazy. Plus, read more
Dec 7, 2013
ExtendedRenegade (All reviews)
Wow. Color me impressed. After the first season of Sekirei, I didn't really have high hopes for Pure Engagement, in fact, I nearly skipped it all together. Thankfully, I decided against that. While the core elements that were featured in the first season are still present and in full force again, the vast improvements to just about every flaw the show had bring this series up from the forgetable, campy, and cliche harem show it was after season one to a thuroughly enjoyable show. And with that, let's get right into things.

Pure engagement basically picks up where the first season ended, and the plot remains read more
Feb 27, 2019
Cerenebus (All reviews)
Preliminary
The lack of animations in this series is an abomination! I do like the soundtrack as always but the story plot is bull. I mean the bigger the breast, the lack of animations becomes worse. The background characters are stiff and never moving and the cut-scenes transitions seems less attractive to the plot and more annoying of figuring out what will happen next. Whenever's there's a fight going about to happen between the girls, there's a stiff walk from the background characters that slowly leaves or were never there in the next scene as if the before scene was never created. The mixing needs to read more
Jan 11, 2011
Karxes (All reviews)
Sekirei, a mix of repetitive comedy, girl to girl action, and a intoxicative amount of breasts.

Story-5 Average
The story in the first season was pretty good, somewhat fresh and interesting. A boy meets a bunch of girls that will fight for him, but he doesn't really want them to fight but doesn't know what to do. What I got from the second season felt like a copy and paste from season 1. But this time, it lost it's freshness and felt very dull.

Art-7 Good
The art and animation in Sekrei isn't anything special. At times the costume can be dull, and I always feel that the eyes read more
Oct 8, 2012
S2C (All reviews)
boobs, action, foreshadowing, and boobs all crunched together, something like this gets a 11 for fan service but it could have done a lot better in terms of a story, the idea has the potential to be a very interesting show, but sometimes it gets over looked because of the ecchi overload that was put in it.

Art - 6
the characters sometimes become deformed for extended periods and during times when its not needed. the fight scenes are also down-graded because of the background-less attack sequences

Sound - 7
the ending themes attempted to show the love and friendship themes of the show but came short.

Character - read more
Feb 11, 2014
SkitZxX3 (All reviews)
If you're aware of the 1st season of this show, then you pretty much know what it's about. If you don't know, to sum it up it's about very attractive chicks beating the tar out of each other, In some cases killing one another. But that's not why you want to watch this show, you want to watch it because of the "PLOT". Plot being ASS & BREAST. Although it is harem & ecchie, after a couple episodes & if you watched the 1st season you gained somewhat of an attachment to a few characters, if not all. On to my review then shall we read more
Oct 9, 2010
helur (All reviews)
My rating uses the actual words given by MAL; a 5 is average. My goal is to be as unbiased as possible so i suggest reading the review rather than looking at my rating to make your choice. As this is a sequel it is also geared towards more of what to expect if you wish to continue.

-Little focus on other Ashikabi.
While this leaves more time for Minato, it would have been nice to see more interaction between them. There is obviously fighting between the groups, yet I don't recall more than one other ashikabi having any true impact.

-I was honestly surprised by an arc read more
Aug 8, 2012
FlamingGuitar14 (All reviews)
Sekirei, your "almost" average harem anime. Not only am I doing a review of this segment of the anime, but the anime in it's entirety. But a warning. There are spoilers.

Story: 8
Reason: This story is a very compelling one, something that drives you into watching the next episode every time, when I was watching this story unfold when the first season came out, it was just a compelling story. And when it seems like everything is going to be peaches and cream, they tell you that only one Sekirei gets to be with their Ashikabi. And that seems depressing because of the fact that he read more
Aug 22, 2015
Konte (All reviews)
If you have not seen the first Sekirei, then do yourself a favor and watch it. Otherwise, here's my take on Sekirei ~Pure Engagement~. The story picks up right after the last episode of the first series. Minato and his Sekireis are now into the next stage of the Sekirei Plan. That and the introduction of some new additions to Minato's already 'huge' lineup. This series now opens with new information about the Sekirei Plan and how it came into fruition.

The continuation of the series is a relatively easy gateway into the actual origin of the sekireis. A lot more info has been introduced and read more
Aug 25, 2012
abbodon (All reviews)
Let me start by saying I've neevr read, nor do I really plan to read the Sekirei manga, so I won't be making any comparisons to it, however I have read the comments and most people seem to agree that until the final 5 episodes or so it's fairly faithful to what's in the manga. Take that for as much, or little, as you wish.

Sekirei: Pure Engagement is the sequel to Sekirei and with a largely story driven anime like this it really is important to have watched the prequel first, I'll be writing this as if you had. But if you didn't enjoy Sekirei read more
Jan 26, 2013
explicit707 (All reviews)
This is the second season/series for the Anime Sekirei. I definintely recommend watching the first part of the story before giving this a look. It continues where the last one left off, and there are 2 OVA's between the seasons that are completely optional to watch. As a stand alone anime it isn't bad, in fact if you've only seen the first season/series anime and not read the manga then this is completely worth your time. This anime has enough action and comedy to be a stand up sequel/second season. I am actually glad they added the "Pure Engagement" to the title, because it really read more
Sep 20, 2015
ikrani (All reviews)
Really, this is the anime series that I hold all other anime to, regardless of genre. This is the series that I believe sets the gold standard on everything: how to pace a 13-episode season, how to write a wide array of characters, how to write those characters interacting off of one another and, yes, how to integrate T&A fan service into a show. This is a show that I believe does everything right.

The Story
From what I hear, this season deviates from the manga. However, since I do not read manga and believe an adaptation should be able to stand on its own, I do read more
Nov 2, 2016
Mikame- (All reviews)
Following on from the first season, you're shown some of the history of the Sekirei. War has begun, but not everybody is willing to take part.
Minato is back with Musubi, Kusano, Matsu and Tsukiumi. The girls are still fighting over who gets to be his wife, and Matsu still just wants him all to herself.
We've already met Homura and Kazehana, but they start to become more prominent in the story.

Minato gains two new Sekirei. Things start to get serious, but it keeps it's comedic side and balances them both well.
Questions begin to be answered and more start to be asked.

Kazehana joins in read more
Sep 27, 2012
CoolBreeze (All reviews)
Story- 8
Art & Sound- 9
Character- 9
Enjoyment- 9
____________
Overall- 9

The story continues from the first Sekirei, and it was a little but dull but still enjoyable. The story is what's interesting about the show, the whole survival game was interesting, but at the end it gets really weird and I think this is where the producers went overboard.
The art and sound were good, every character had a unique appearance quality. The voice actors were great for the characters given to them.
The characters are all lovable. I totally doubt anyone will dislike the main characters in this. Each of them are funny in their own way.
Overall I really read more
Sep 19, 2012
Degran (All reviews)
I think most of the problems I had while watching Sekirei Pure Engagement are caused by it being the second season. The story's not as fresh as it first was. The main character has already achieved something and some trump cards can't be played again without seeming repetitive.

The story hasn't changed much since the last season. Parts of the background story were revealed but that didn't change my perspective on the whole story much. I was sometimes annoyed by the action of the main character and some elements of this series got a bit old.

The animation is still good. Nothing jaw-dropping.

Pure Engagement definitely isn't better read more
Sep 7, 2014
KD7BWB (All reviews)
Okay Lion Tamers, I'm finally getting to Sekirei Pure Engagement, et al!

Firstly, I will not be talking about the excessive fan service and other related aspects of this Anime. Other reviewers have done this to death, and inspired themselves more than enough !

Secondly, I will also not talk about the surface plot; it has also been done into the ground by others.

There are however, matters that have not been discussed; that I think needs some words.

1). The Sekirei
These people are off-world aliens, in cold-storage. Some back-story about them, in their own right; would have been nice. But there is none. Their aged vessel is read more
Oct 13, 2016
GodBlessDXD (All reviews)
Sekirei has a rare plot that leaves you terrified of their situation.

One of the things that hooked me for Sekirei is how dire their circumstances are. The close bonds they develop live in the shadow of an end that there can only be one left standing. Another thing this series does an outstanding job with is the handle on the young female character. Many series hyper-sexualize young women. Sekirei doesn't make this mistake. Instead, Ku is one of the most adorable and tasteful characters you will ever meet in an anime. The MC is a loser. So, nothing special there. And the formal blonde is read more