Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tonari no Totoro


Alternative Titles

English: My Neighbor Totoro
Synonyms: My Neighbour Totoro
Japanese: となりのトトロ

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 16, 1988
Producers: Studio Fantasia
Studios: Studio Ghibli
Source: Original
Duration: 1 hr. 26 min.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 8.481 (scored by 174,153 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1152
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #124
Members: 256,820
Favorites: 3,019

Reviews

TheCriticsClub
Sep 23, 2013
Childhood is a blossoming period of learning and developing one's own idiosyncrasies. It has always been a sedate stage in which little youngsters define themselves through their senseless antics—ones that appear innocent but are of an elusive nature, and are merely an inadvertent expression of the capricious phase that is childhood. However, since kids are so full of youthful tendencies, very few directors have managed to portray the rascals in a sincere and realistic manner. But among those select few is an irreplaceable Ghibli film which has become a sensation both within its native community and the western world—and that film is Hayao Miyazaki's My read more
I found this review Helpful
Kenkei
Sep 11, 2008
I remember Totoro was my favorite anime. I'd pop it in the VCR player (yes, old school, I know) and watching it with my little brother when I was a little girl. Somewhere around 14 years later, it's still my favorite movie, and probably always will be.

Totoro's story is incredible: it captures the imagination of two girls with very different personalities. Satsuki, the older, responsible girl who takes care of household responsibilities while her mother is sick, and little Mei, a veritable firecracker who's curiosity knows no limits. What made this movie so incredible was how well it captured the imagination of kids their age. read more
I found this review Helpful
grzzed
Feb 24, 2015
It's often easy to get carried away in the everyday vices and tribulations of life. We often want to reminisce and look back on the better days, full of adventure and enjoyment. Well, this movie does an excellent job of bringing me back to that feeling. It is full of heart-whelming adventure, and exploration.

I always seem to watch this movie or any Studio Ghibli film for that matter, when I am wanting to experience a child-like sense of adventure. Miyazaki does am excellent job of creating a world, in which you would love to explore and experience. From the stellar landscapes, to the loving Characters, read more
I found this review Helpful
abcd1234bah
Jul 27, 2015
My Neighbor Totoro is the flagship of Ghibli and one of the first Japanese animated feature films to receive wide critical acclaim in the west. As much as its successor 'Spirited Away' capitalized further in terms of revenue, Totoro stands as one of the most influential anime, with the ubiquitousness of Totoro plushies and pop culture references to it still present today. But there are reasons beyond its success that attributes it as a must watch on the checklist of any avid fan of anime.

Whether this was your first anime movie as a newcomer, as a kid, or as a moviegoer, none can contest read more
I found this review Helpful
jet2r0cks
Jul 3, 2007
Another win for Miyazaki!

The story was just unique. I don’t think I’ve seen anything like it – and originality is always a good thing. It had me watching closely the whole time. It’s a story for kids and kids at heart alike.

It was like watching a Dr. Seuss story come to life, except it has a Miyazaki spice to it. Another good thing about it is that it’s easy to understand, but not so easy that it’s dumb.

The characters were all very likable. I like adorable Mei, and her doting older sister Satsuki. I also love how their father is so child like – he’s read more
I found this review Helpful
ItIsIDio
May 19, 2016
Before the "what the fuck is wrong with you, a 5 on a ghibli movie, kill yourself" settles in, I want to assure you that the movie did everything that it set out to be outstandingly and if I was from that target audience, I would probably consider it nothing short of a masterpiece. I usually prefer to criticize a show for what it tried to be but failed while presenting every factor I deemed important about the movie and why eventually it was only an average experience for me. In this case, I don't have a lot to criticize on what the movie actually read more
I found this review Helpful
trzr23
Feb 18, 2011
I was down with the flu and I was curled up in my room, looking for something cozy to watch. Flipping through my collection, I suddenly remembered the My Neighbor Totoro DVD I had received as a gift a while back. Needless to say, I popped it into my player, sat back and had one of the most relaxing and peaceful 90 minutes of my life.

My Neighbor Totoro is hard to synopsize because of the tranquil and laid back first half. I suppose it would suffice to say that this classic 1988 Studio Ghibli movie is about the innocent fun of two little sisters who read more
I found this review Helpful
Piperun
Jan 28, 2011
Tonari no Totoro - Would be one of the best Animes I saw when I saw little.

Even thought it might been more based towards girls, it still stayed neutral as a soiled stone for both genders.

The story here is rather simple but still has a very detailed view on things that happens around it, it doesn't focus just on one thing (like defeat the EVIL monster or find that person) no it goes from 2 girls just moving in with their dad to an adventure with an Creature called Totoro.

- Which for a kid were really an inspiration for the beautiful nature we have read more
I found this review Helpful
Monjoex
Nov 20, 2014
~ STORY ~
The story begin with two sister , Mei and Satsuki on a truck with their father , they are moving to their new home which is where the whole story revolves around. Their new home, their new place in the world. At first I didn't really understand the whole purpose of Totoro. I know the title of the film is based around him, but i didn't see much purpose to him being there. it was just basically a little magical element added in. And it suppose to show that someone is there for those girls. There read more
I found this review Helpful
BeebopJazzAttack
Nov 18, 2015
A beautiful masterpiece that explores the world of two young girls. There names are Satsuka and Mae, they have just moved to the country side with their dad while their mom, who is ill is in the hospital. Underneath the stress and playfulness of these two girls lies a world all their own. it just happens to be inhabited by totoro's and cat buses.

"My Neighbor Totoro" is Miyazaki's fourth feature film and just like his others it is beautiful to look at and has a charming story, a bit more melancholy then his other works though. Not a whole lot happens in this film read more
I found this review Helpful
JTurner
Mar 8, 2008
What more can be said about My Neighbor Totoro? Get this movie. Immediately. Without a doubt one of the best animated features ever made, Japan or otherwise, Totoro is an outstanding original creation from Hayao Miyazaki and Studio Ghibli.

It's about two sisters -- Satsuki and spunky little Mei -- moving with their somewhat scatterbrained but loving father to a new home in the Japanese countryside. But the place isn't just deserted; wonders galore lie within their household. Tiny, fuzzy black balls of soot ("Soot Gremlins", or "dust bunnies", depending on which English version you watch--but more on that later) scatter every nook and cranny of read more
I found this review Helpful
Spikeforest
Apr 8, 2016
Tonari no Totoro, So many words I could use to describe just how wonderful this movie actually is. It's starts off slow, but after a while you start understanding the characters they're mind set and their relationships with each other and how they are a family. It's a beautiful transition, to not knowing these characters as in they're complete strangers and goes in to making you feel like your part of they're family.

The art style for being a older movie was comfortable it looked nice. it felt like you were watching a nice old movie from childhood with wacky creatures and curiosity at it's peak.
Sound read more
I found this review Helpful
711nono
Feb 7, 2016
Hayao Miyazaki has implemented himself as one of the most well known individuals in the medium of anime. This is due to his numerous animated works that he creates with the brilliantly creative staff at studio ghibli. What makes their films so appealing us their ability to appeal to both adults and children alike. My Neighbor Totoro definitely does not dissapoint when compared to other anime films in existence.

Tonari no Totoro, also known more commonly as My Neighbor Totoro is a simple story about a family moving into the country side and meeting several spirits of the forest. One of these spirits read more
I found this review Helpful
LadyReina
Jan 12, 2011
“A four-year-old child could understand this report….Run out and find me a four-year-old child. I can't make head or tail out of it.”

- Duck Soup


Sisters Satsuki and Mei love each other; as affectionate playmates, they grow under their scholarly father’s calm and accepting hand. He doesn’t dismiss their play, nor does he inflate it in the artificial way that adults do; he simply acknowledges their wonder, without rationalizations. The one shadow in this world awash with sunshine is that their mother can’t be with them yet. But Satsuki and Mei are growing up at a time when neighbors still come by to welcome newcomers and lend read more
I found this review Helpful
NeonToppaTotoro
Feb 6, 2008
STORY: My Neighbor Totoro is simple and whimsical. Although the story is a children's fable, the heart of the tale can draw out the child in everyone. The movie begins in a period of transition for a family, and the movie concludes alongside the end of the transition. The finished product is like a meaningful photograph. The events occurring in the story or picture are not life changing. It's the memory and feeling you take away that holds the worth of the story in Totoro. However, the story is not ground-breaking or awe-inspiring. But the it is delightful and unforgettable.

ART: Consistent, good quality in read more
I found this review Helpful
Tonagi
Dec 26, 2008
Sigh...How should I describe my most cherished and precious childhood memory of my whole life so that I wouldn't understate it at all?!?!

After all, Tonari no Totoro is the first anime and probably even the first full-length film I ever saw. It is the key that opened the first door towards the wonderful world of anime, manga and the whole japanese culture itself. I'm not such a type that has certain idols/authorities behind my ideologies but if there's one, it is definitely Hayao Miyazaki.

When I try to explain to someone how incredible this movie is, I almost can't put it in understandable words (like even read more
I found this review Helpful
Skarmory
Feb 4, 2010
It's cute!

As a 20 year old male I am extremely outside the target audience for this movie. Yes, this movie is for kids. In fact I'd go as far to say that this is one of the best movies for children of all time. It's a simple story. It's also an incredibly happy movie. You feel better after watching it. I can see having this movie watched over and over again by my kids when I'm a father. It's just cute and safe.

But if you consider yourself an anime fan, and you like the Miyazaki movies you've seen so far, and even though you are read more
I found this review Helpful
Rogue_DeWolff
Apr 7, 2016
It would seem easy for the newcomer to dismiss Totoro, or any Ghibli film for that matter, as a saccharine film with its head stuck in naivety. I mean, just look at those title sequences! Both the opening and ending ones! The deceivingly playful music would probably lead the inexperienced viewer away from what sensible wisdom this film provides for the young and old. They're not called family films for no reason.

For example, at the beginning of this film, Satsuki notices a cyclist in uniform and is relieved that he's not a police officer. Naturally, my first thought jumps to, "Is this family in trouble? read more
I found this review Helpful
momoja
Feb 23, 2016
STORY-
Satsuki and mei are siblings. They lived with their father in a haunted house where they transfer as a new home. Satsuki and mei meet a big totoro, a mysterious forest spirit while the other people cannot see them. Their mother got sick in the hospital and mei wanted to go to be with her. Mei get lost. Mei is only 4 years old. So Satsuki ask help to the big totoro. The cat bus got rescued mei.

ART-
The art was cute. Totoro and Mei are both adorable also.

SOUND-
The opening song is good in a japanese version rather than english version.

ENJOYMENT-
The enjoyment was slightly read more
I found this review Helpful
BlackHoleXX
Feb 8, 2016
(This is my first review.)
(SPOILERS.)

I've heard about My Neighbor Totoro countless of times. I've seen their merchandise everywhere and I never really got why it was such a favorite. I had only read the synopsis and it sounded bland, so I didn't pick it up.

I decided to watch this movie, finally, when I entered the '2016 Anime Watching Challenge.' I've realized that I made a huge mistake not watching this earlier on in my childhood. When I was a kid, I used to watch Naruto, Dragon Ball Z, and there were always so much rage in those shows. It would've been refreshing for me read more
I found this review Helpful