Metropolis

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Osamu Tezuka's Metropolis, Robotic Angel
Japanese: メトロポリス

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: May 26, 2001
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Genres: AdventureAdventure, DramaDrama, RomanceRomance, Sci-FiSci-Fi
Theme: PolicePolice
Demographic: ShounenShounen
Duration: 1 hr. 49 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.531 (scored by 3806638,066 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #15502
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1789
Members: 87,102
Favorites: 510

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 5, 2012
5camp (All reviews)
Metropolis is…a silent film from 1927 by the German director Fritz Lang. It’s set in a dystopian future where some naive teenager tries to overcome the class system to pursue love.

Metropolis is…a manga written in 1949 by Osamu Tezuka. Its similarities to the original film are pretty limited, mainly because Tezuka hadn’t even seen the film when he wrote the manga. He’d only seen a single picture in a magazine and thought it looked pretty rad.

Metropolis is…an anime movie from 2001 that’s loosely based on Tezuka’s manga, but also tries to bring in some plot elements from the original movie. It had an all-star team read more
Jul 17, 2014
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Let me take a moment to talk about Metropolis. Metropolis was one of the most notable pioneering sci-fi works released back in 1927. It was directed by Fritz Lang and written by Fritz Lang and Thea von Harbou. The film is a classic of the genre, in spite of some scenes being lost, and every sci-fi fan should watch it. Why do I bring this up when it has nothing to do with anime? Well, back in 1949 Tezuka Osamu, who you may know as the creator of Astro Boy and Kimba the White Lion, made a manga inspired by the film, also titled Metropolis. read more
Jul 16, 2007
Hush (All reviews)
Metropolis has a complex story plot. There are several characters and events going on to keep up with. The story focuses more on the characters than the events which is kind of a downfall since this can cause some to get lost on the way. Overall the story is very unique and interesting. The best part out of the whole movie was the ending. I could watch the ending a thousand times.

The character development in Metropolis was appealing. The characters brought the movie alive; they are all one of a kind. Each of them had their own unique looks, styles, and distinctive personalities.

Metropolis is read more
Jun 18, 2009
artwithjustin (All reviews)
Madhouse Studios you’ve done it again. This art studio’s art always amazes me. For this movie they use a mix a cells and digital that looks drop dead gorgeous. There is a lot attention to detail and also very colorful. Must say, I love Mr. Tezuakes character designs.

This film is adaptation of one of Mr. Tezuaka’s earlier sci-fi work (before Astro Boy) Metropolis. There are some great interviews with the director talking about Mr. Tezuaka on the feature disc.

The music for this movie is awesome, does a good job of setting the mood, while also being diverse and enjoyable. One of my favorite songs read more
Nov 30, 2009
Ian_K (All reviews)
Metropolis is one of the few anime titles fortunate enough to make it into the mainstream. Along with Ghost in the Shell and the works of Miyazaki, this is one of the films that it is cool for cultured people to like.

And like it they do. As of this writing, the movie has 60 critical review on Rottentomatoes.com, with a 91% approval rating. Roger Ebert gave it four out of four stars, and called it "One of the best animated films I have ever seen".

For all this acclaim, the movie nearly didn't get made at all. Osamu Tezuka felt that his read more
Jun 25, 2012
NeverKnowsBest26 (All reviews)
Coming from the mind of Ozamu Tezuka and directed by Rintaro, Metropolis is a movie of titanic proportions. It is an ambitious film which applies modern animation techniques to Tezuka classic art style and themes.It is an eye-popping, engaging experience. It also too flawed to achieve true greatness.

The movie takes place in bustling, multi-leveled city of Metropolis, populated by an abundance of people and robots. A celebration is taking place for the building of the of the Ziggurat, a giant tower representing the height of technology. However, not everyone is celebrating, as the working class of the city find themselves in a depressed and read more
Jul 16, 2020
FridayNight_ (All reviews)
I urge anyone who's interested in this anime to watch it. I think the top couple of reviews are being much to critical of the film. Although the story of this film is mostly symbolic and a bit off a mess, and the characters don't have much depth, the world this film creates is more than enough of a reason to watch it.

With a team of veteran filmmakers behind metropolis, it's no wonder that every frame of animation is a joy to look at. For a film made in 2001 it still holds up incredibly well today. The colors are vibrant, the detail is read more
Jul 17, 2009
recordtanktop (All reviews)
The reason I first wanted to watch this movie, was because I had first seen a fantastic AMV that really made the anime look like it would be really good. Time passes, and I cannot find it anywhere on the internet. More time passes, and I cannot find it at the Blockbuster near by. A lot more time passes, and I go to a different Blockbuster, and wouldn't you know? There it was! So, when I got home, I sat down and prepared myself for a good movie, but you know what I got? Something very mediocre instead :/.

Metropolis for me, was very mediocre for read more
Feb 15, 2008
vadz (All reviews)
Watching this movie, my heart soared. Not only is it a great film. It is the best anime film of all time. Yes, this is slight better than any Miyazaki film, adapted from the godfather of manga, Osamu Tezuaka. Possibly remembered for creating Kimba the White Lion, and Astro Boy. It is a great film for its complex and engaging story. Set against the backdrop of the futuristic 20th century, Metropolis is a city-state that is divided between the rich and poor, human and robots, imagination and science. The Story of Metropolis might have been adapted from Fritz Lang's silent film of the same name. read more
Sep 4, 2016
BowlingJD (All reviews)
Let’s begin discussing Metropolis by going over the people involved: a) directed by the famous Rintaro the co-founder of Madhouse b) sound directed by the famous Masafumi Mima (Macross) c) script writer and Akira creator Katsuhiro Otomo d) animation by Studio Madhouse and e) loosely based on the manga by Osamu Tezuka. Now it goes without saying that Studio Madhouse went all out on this one.

Right out of the gate, visually, this anime blows everything out of the water. The viewers see a massive city with so much detail and the aesthetic of something out the 1940’s and yet futuristic in a Blade Runner sense. read more
Mar 13, 2021
Adampk (All reviews)
Finally completed, this awful abomination. Rintaro strikes again (first neo tokyo, then final fantasy and now this shit.) He has no idea that movie should be presentable to audience. It looks awful shit and painful to watch. I actually had to watch it 3 times just so that I could wouldn't get distracted by his presentation and focus my eyes and brain of the story.

This movie biggest problem is the "viewpoint". whenever there is character interaction or speech, normally anime are supposed to show character's face at close up view. but this this movie does the opposite. There are 3 ways this movie sets the read more
Mar 6, 2021
RosanneWeebanne (All reviews)
I highly recommend this movie for anyone who wants either a thrilling action/ sci-fi movie, a visually stunning and cinematographic movie or for wonderful world-building. This review is spoiler free and will speak of the movie in a way for the reader to grasp the overall idea of the film.

It's setting is a 20's set era in a sci-fi world were humans and robots live together. Although the theme of robots against humanity is a often-used plot device, it works really well in the movie and is not even the main plot.
Metropolis is based of the manga with the same title by the mangaka read more
Mar 31, 2019
Assthete (All reviews)
Okiura is such a great animator, it irks me his talent got wasted on this piss poor script. Not only is the plot a bloody wreck, the thematic exploration is nothing short of contradictory. It sets up sides, it frames them accordingly, but at some point it just fucks it up and things become very confusing. There are few things more frustrating than seeing a build up to a statement just so it can fall apart and leave you totally underwhelmed. It almost feels like they had no idea what they were doing. I couldn't bring myself to finish the original manga cause Tezuka isn't read more
Nov 4, 2011
StanislavAsimov (All reviews)
A must see

This movie has wonderful animation, in parts exceptional beautiful.
The soundtrack fits, and the story is very good and thought provoking.
The editing is done very well, and by my opinion makes the movie flow perfectly. The charcters have substance and you care for them.
And Its not a typical anime.

This movie is an animation adaption of the silent black and white movie from 1927 by Fritz Lang.
(Even though it's a silent movie you should watch it, Its great. The most expensive movie of its time)

I think this new version works well. It hasnt as much obvious references to marxism and the christian bible, as the read more
Oct 25, 2008
adeadaccountlol (All reviews)
This is one of my favorite animated films and I'm a proud owner of the DVD. Metropolis doesn't slow down and is interesting from beginning to end and is accompanied by incredible animation. The character designs by Osamu Tezuka look GREAT in the colorful digital animation of this film, released in 2001. The stylistic look of the film is addicting and fascinating, creating a spectacular setting that you can really indulge yourself on.

The plot is fairly easy to follow and the characters are easy to like. It's a good sci-fi story with its own elements of social commentary. I rarely end up liking stories involving read more
May 21, 2016
GarlandReese (All reviews)
"Metropolis" is the embodiment of every reason I watch Anime and the reason I fell in love with this art form.

Wonderful characters with distinct designs. Music that is catchy, but fits the mood. The beautiful settings that inspire a sense of awe and amazement. From top to bottom and beginning to end, this film is a masterpiece of animation. It inspires the three things that make a full day, it makes you laugh. It brings you to tears. And it makes you think.

The story itself is a bit of a re-tread. Somewhat Pinocchio (the character animation is very reminiscent of early Disney), some read more
Mar 28, 2008
chinaboat (All reviews)
I really enjoyed this anime and would have given it a 10 but for one thing. The first thing you read in "review tips and guidelines" starts out "Don't steal anyone else's work...". I keep reading where "Metropolis" was adapted from a manga of the same name that is a load of BS. The reason "Metroplis" is so good is it's an anime copy, plot point for plot point, of Fritz Lang's classic silent picture "Metropolis" Nowhere absolutely nowhere is this mentioned. If you're going to adapt someone else's work you should at least give them credit.
Sep 23, 2015
FAKEANIMEGIRL (All reviews)
Metropolis is a 2001 anime film loosely based on Osamu Tezuka's 1949 manga of the same name, which itself has many parallels with director Fritz Lang's groundbreaking 1927 science fiction silent film. It's clearly a movie with quite the genealogy but this is no doubt deliberate. It's a film that celebrates its homages too grandly to be chastised as derivative, and by using this unusually vast well of influences it stands out among anime at large and becomes something special. Given the amount of changes from the original manga, perhaps it's less Tezuka who's responsible for the movie's qualities but rather the legendary anime director read more
Jun 15, 2017
vanburu0 (All reviews)
Artificial consciousness. Emotions. Empathy. Power. Scientific Development. Religion. Segregation. Fascism. With all these themes, the show looks like a 2010s movie, but it's a 60s story by the manga God Tezuka Osamu, and, combined with the visionary, beautiful and well-worked direction of the anime God Otomo Katsuhiro, Metropolis is, by far, one of the best movies ever made.

Story: 8/10
The plot is perfect, seems like a Urasawa Naoki manga and the conceptual social sci-fi was well-placed, combining mythology and science, like every Otomo's pieces. It's a political movie, so, the ideological discussions being so well-wrote has increased a lot more.
The only defect I can find in read more
Dec 2, 2017
Mellowlink_boy (All reviews)
In the year 2001 the studio Madhouse decided to make a film of the manga of Osamu Tezuka which in turn is the adaptation of the famous German film.

I will clarify things from the beginning: Is Metropolis a bad movie? - No, it's not a bad movie; Is it a good movie? - No, it's far from being a good movie.

Let's remove the obvious things and then talk more about this peculiar film, Metropolis is a wonderful movie, the Tezuka design gives it an incredible personality and makes it stand out easily from many other futuristic films also the background art and the level of read more