Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mermaid Melody Pichi Pichi Pitch


Alternative Titles

English: Mermaid Melody: Pichi Pichi Pitch
Japanese: マーメイドメロディー ぴちぴちピッチ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 52
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2003 to Mar 27, 2004
Premiered: Spring 2003
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Synergy Japan
Licensors: ADV Films
Studios: Actas, SynergySP
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG - Children

Statistics

Score: 7.131 (scored by 23,280 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #32812
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1936
Members: 47,092
Favorites: 723

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 25, 2007
Mierna (All reviews)
Oh boy, where to begin on this review...

Story: Basically it's another "Magical Girl" anime plot, a girl who has the ability to transform must fight this evil group of villains with her friends/comrades as a Super Sentai team. The unique part of this anime is that the Mermaids don't attack, they SING, and their songs are painful to the villains' ears. Other than that, it's all cheesy.

Art: This depends on how you look at it. To me, the dresses for Lucia, Hanon, and Rina are full of many colors! (Practically every shade of pink, aqua, and green respectively.) On the other hand, the characters' appearances read more
Dec 23, 2007
VioletRebellion (All reviews)
Preliminary
Mermaid Melody Pichi Pichi Pitch:
One of THE longest/repetitive names I've ever seen for an anime. And the name it's self probably grabbed your attention if the art didn't, or the fact that this is a MUSICAL anime.

The Story is pretty bad, It's full of gaps and is very jumpy aswell as questionable. The anime is full of fillers, and tends to only focus on Lucia, Hanon, and Lina, the "Primary" mermaids. (They're the only one's with new songs, and imagesongs of their own, Excluding Karen.) The "secondary" mermaids are not ever acknowledged, they don't have background stories, lovers for themselves, or anything the Primary Mermaids read more
Sep 19, 2010
Nanalilly (All reviews)
Preliminary
Lets get one thing straight; Mermaid melody is not for everybody. In fact, I would wager that most adults (especially males) would find this series cringe worthy.

However, if you like magical girl series and cute character driven stories, I believe that Mermaid Melody might just be right for you. Keep in mind that the target audience of the seres is very young, but an older person can still enjoy it.

The baseline story isn't very complex, which is fine. It is essentially about mermaid princesses who are temporarily living on land who fight the evils dwelling below the sea....with music. For some known reason, singing read more
Feb 9, 2010
Pyapi (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm not the biggest fan of magical girl anime, but have found myself enjoying a few very good series. I watched Mermaid Melody because someone said it was good... It's anything but in my opinion.

Story: (3)
The story is really bad. Other than the small twist with the girls being mermaids and fighting enemies with music, nothing about it was interesting or original. We basically just watch the characters mingle a bit, an enemy appears, then is "destroyed" by the mermaid's singing. That sums most of the episodes that I watched.

Art: (7)
Best part of the series. Even then, the character designs weren't the most original and read more
Apr 3, 2010
Su14 (All reviews)
I like this anime ^^
It's about a girl's life, Luchia. When she was young she saved a boy's life by her pearl.They fall in love with each others. However this pearl was the key of her voice to sing. Later she has to change into human and get her pearl back from that boy because sea is in danger and her voice is needed too.
Not so long later there will be friends who fight on her side. They are Hanon and Lina. Hanon is a happy girl who always smiles. Lina is the totally opposite of Hanon. She rare smiles and read more
Aug 9, 2017
MoonBabyDoll (All reviews)
Started: 3/2/17
Finished: 7/30/17


I first discovered this show 10 years ago (back in 2007 I was 13 and in the 8th grade, I was preoccupied with other anime) and I saw fan AMVs of Mermaid Melody and I passed it off as another typical MGA (Magical Girl Anime). During that time I'd only ever believed Sailor Moon, Cardcaptor Sakura and Mew Mew Power-the 4Kids dub- to be the only MGA that mattered.

Now, I’m 23 with a small child and I want child appropriate anime for him to watch.

This is perfect.

Story: the story was nice to follow, even with a slow start, it eventually left read more
Jun 19, 2008
Mantret (All reviews)
Okay, so MMPPP is a great anime, if you like magical girl shoujo romance. You would like it if you watched Sailor Moon or Wedding Peach, but the romance isn't as pleasing. It's very easy to get angry with Kaito, who in my opinion treats Lucia (the main character, who is the Pink Pearl Princess and is Lucia the human) kind of meanly and gets mad if Lucia doesn't bring him a bento or bread that she made or whatever. After awhile, you grow to love him though, because you can see him and Lucia becoming more romantically involved.
The songs get boring after awhile. read more
Nov 3, 2018
Youmu_Konpaku (All reviews)
This is typically the type of anime I don’t watch because I sure I won’t enjoy it.
Well, it was in fact fun to watch.

The story 6/10 :
The story was very interesting but what made it bad was how it was presented.
Out of 52 episodes I would not be surprised if 30 of them were fillers adding little to no content to the story.

The art 6/10 :
The art was nice, but you really notice that some parts were rushed and very poorly animated or drawn. For a kids show it totally fits, but for the critic side it isn’t really that nice.

The sound 7/10 :
The global read more
Apr 26, 2013
12Luxray34 (All reviews)
Preliminary
THE WORST ANIME I HAVE SEEN!

THE CONSTANT SINGING...THE CLICHE CHARACTERS...THEIR LOVE INTRESTS...I can't explain how horrible it is. There are a lot of shojo animes out there, but this one stands out by far, for being SO bad! If you like complete lovey-dovey shojo stuff and your childhood princess was Ariel, then by all means watch it! This is coming from a girl by the way.
May 6, 2012
Caketoys (All reviews)
First and foremost I watched because there were mermaids and I found a cantonese version online so I didn't have to read subs. I have no idea how I managed to watch all of it to be honest.

My first impressions of the anime: Bad art, annoying voices, and annoying characters. Know what? My opinion didn't change much. I didn't have any high expectations of the anime, I kinda expected it to be this awful.
The songs were kinda catchy though, but not really worth the effort of watching how ever many episodes there are.

Story line is a 1. Was there a story line? The story read more
Jan 1, 2012
xMintyPie (All reviews)
I don't even know where to begin.

This anime was utterly AWFUL for the first bit. I couldn't stand it, and sometimes I wanted to teleport myself to the world of Mermaid Melody and kill them all. I do admit that it got better, good enough for me to at least be ableto stand them... But if you really want to know, this anime can be summed up in the following words.

Predictable
Cliche
Girly

First off, before you rant at me with all the anger of your heart, let me say this-- it's just a matter of opinion. If you like girly anime where the main character tries to read more
Dec 24, 2016
Mina1234 (All reviews)
The first time I've seen this anime, I was about 4 years old, and I didn't know how to read subtitles and watch at the same time. So, I just sat and jammed to the 'music' and looked at the pretty colors.
Things change. Lol.

Story(7/10): I'm not gonna spoil anything, plus it's such a drag to write a synopsis on something most people here already know or are at least a bit familiar with. To be honest, I don't completely understand what the main plot in this series is. Is it saving the mermaids? Or defeating Gaito? Both? Idk, but I was engaged nonetheless. read more
Apr 30, 2018
AniTheAnimeBug (All reviews)
*sigh* so, the series is pretty good but i came here to give a heads up about the love interest of one of the main character. Luchia is mermaid princess. and she loses one of her mermaid pearls so she goes on land to find it. then this guy named kaito has it (theres a dramatic backstory to this but its pretty long) and kaito becomes the love interest. but. HES INCREDIBLY DENSE. very. it took him 52 episodes to figure out luchia is a mermaid, and in season 2 he forgets his memory and has to figure it out all over again. its read more
Nov 25, 2012
UmNo29 (All reviews)
First of all, I havent watched this series since I was eleven. I don't know if I have even seen all of the episodes of Mermaid Melody Pichi Pichi Pitch because in those days I was slummin' it with youtube, and their's just so many damn episodes!

I know I should rewatch it before reviewing; However, Im sort of afraid that I wont like it now that I'm not an eleven year old girl. To put my opinion out there really simply without being biased by nostalgia, I think Mermaid Melody is SORT OF good. It's REALLY good if you're really into read more
Aug 29, 2015
Seirya (All reviews)
Ok where do I start...

Mermaid Melody is basically a ''magical girl'' anime.But with mermaids.
Well,it's not something you would want to watch if you're looking for a series with really complex story and a lot of action.
But,if you are looking for something cute and pure with no violence this is it.Also,the fillers.There's so many of them.

On the other hand art is really colorful and probably is the best part of the series.

The songs were cute in my opinion,although I wish they used different songs more often instead of repeating the same ones over and over again.

When it comes to characters,I think mermaids beside the three main read more
Jun 26, 2014
emupingu (All reviews)
If you like romantic fantasy, this is for you.. maybe.
This was the first anime I have ever watched and I found it enjoyable, but after watching many other anime, it's not that great in comparison.
If you are a sucker for cute girls and a romance story, then this is for you! The thing that got me hooked was the constant thought of, "when are they going to get together?" which can seem annoying to some viewers, and if this annoys you then this is not for you.
I found that there are a lot of filler episodes and I found once you have seen one battle, read more