Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Denpa-teki na Kanojo


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: The Radio Wave-Like Girlfriend, Electromagnetic Girlfriend
Japanese: 電波的な彼女

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 2
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 4, 2009 to Dec 4, 2009
Producers: Shueisha
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Brain's Base
Source: Light novel
Duration: 42 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.661 (scored by 53,315 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #12172
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #918
Members: 113,534
Favorites: 726

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 12, 2011
Madmax11 (All reviews)
Let me start off by first saying this OVA should've been a full series, Watching this anime made me realize why I first started watching anime in the first place. Maybe it's just me but the ever repeating cycle of School based animes with boring leads and stereotypical archetype females became quite dull; that being said Denpa Teki na Kanojo is a breath of fresh air that left me hungering for more.

In my eyes their are several reasons why i will watch an anime through and through -A. Well written story with no plot holes, B. Great Cast of characters that you really read more
Nov 18, 2010
Hattori_Hanzo (All reviews)
The first thing that should strike you is the unusual title: Denpa teki na Kanojo. It can be translated as “Electromagnetic Girlfriend”, but that can be a little misleading. This is not another sci-fi show like Cyborg She where a guy hooks up with a cyborg girlfriend. While the term “Denpa” means electric waves, it is also an urban slang used to describe people who look like they have a screw loose in their head. The title can be better explained as "Psychotic Girlfriend". Now that’s more appropriate for a psychological thriller.

Story – 7
As the title suggests, the story is about crazy girls. The protagonist, read more
Aug 16, 2009
shintai88 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime was good, it was interesting, it was enticing it was.... just brilliant. The story centres on a high school deliquent Juuzawa Juu, who is a lone wolf at his school. Who is then followed by Ochibana Ame who has claimed she was his most trusted knight or general in his previous life which he was her King.

The story then moves on from her following him day after day from school, but also begins to stalk him. Juuzawa finds her irritating and begins to try to get rid of her. But at the same time there have been mysterious and brutal executions of random read more
Nov 1, 2014
Tanshaydar (All reviews)
Throw some nice ambient, some great op/ed themes, very nice art, an interesting and somewhat original story, mix them together...
It usually doesn't always end up well. Because integrity is needed.

Well, this anime, two episodes OVA, has very nice sounds and ambiance music, touching ed themes, an art that is catchy (even by today's standards) and a story that is very, very intriguing.

Firstly, it is not a shounen where high school kids go for their so-called romance. It is not an 'bleeding-edge' science-fiction either. It is something that can, though unlikely, happen in daily life. This makes it better, because characters are not so deep with read more
Sep 27, 2009
ParisainGoldfish (All reviews)
Preliminary
Although it sat around my HD forever, Denpa Teki is really a nice little anime. It's biggest fault is that it appears to be on the same release schedule as Hellsing Ultimate, that being "maybe every few months, if we feel like it." I commend Denpa Teki for taking head in a relativity niche genre, and doing so in a much more realistic way than it's predecessors.

Story; 8. While there remains little uncharted territory for the yandere/yangire niche of psychological thrillers, Denpa Teki reminds us that it is not always best to follow instinct. The plotting of this OVA series is properly paced, and read more
Aug 10, 2014
Scherezade (All reviews)
I came into this after reading all the good reviews and high MAL score so i thought this would be a good anime to watch with my friends.
I was right but so wrong and we had some of the best laughs yet.

Character motivations are ambiguous at best with our two protagonists putting themselves on the line in unrealistic and unreasonable circumstances. We get to know next to nothing about out generic yandere clingy female and ambitiousless male lead. We get to feel nothing for the charecters who are lost in the hopless edgyness of this anime.

Now, there is no problem with edginess. Elfen Lied, read more
Nov 29, 2015
Tang42 (All reviews)
If you are a fan of things like deeper character development, rational thinking, realistic characters and mystery watch something else. Denpa Teki na Kanojo tries to be a showcase of crazy people, but achieves barely anything else
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Cons

*Denpa Teki na Kanojo tries very hard to make it's characters seem insane, but doesn't give them a proper buildup which leads to their condition feeling forced.

*It is filled with spontaneous plot developments that ruin the atmosphere (i.e. pulling information out of seemingly thin air or conveniently running into a corpse.)

*The characters are often plagued with a lack of common sense abnormal even for the horror genera. read more
Oct 6, 2014
majinjohn (All reviews)
This is a spoiler free review.


Story-10
Since the show only has 2 double episodes i really thought that pacing would be bad here, it was sooo not! Edge of the seat story that will have you guessing. This is a really good thriller.

Art-8
Doesn't really have that gloss of a high budget anime. It looks almost great but just lacking in areas, still very good art work and animation is superb.

Sound-9
Cant complain. Sets the tone very nicely for the atmosphere of this anime.

Character-10
I loved the characters, the main characters have enough depth and comedic moments, they are such opposites so they have unique reasons as to read more
Nov 6, 2012
rafi160 (All reviews)
I just happen to have stumbled upon this beautiful 2 episode OVA to waste a well deserved 2.5 hrs, I'm glad I found this! First off let me say this isn't your typical anime show and should have been a series or at least I hope they do so in the near future. I like how the story started, then meeting this freakish dark aura looking girl who happens to follow the protagonist around saying he and she are bonded for generations in the previous life(weirdo right?) oh did I mention their insane killings, murders, character change, huge unexpected turns? Wait!! wait!!! you'll have to read more
Jul 6, 2013
InvisibleMelody (All reviews)
Story: 10/10 The story is outstanding for a two episode OVA. The storyline and the *SPOILERideaofhappypointsSPOILER* are original. The pacing was great, the plot wasn't given away too much at the beginning nor the end. Information and the plot were given away bit by bit along the two episodes. I especially liked the effects in the anime. For example, when the image of the very same statue pops up at regular intervals. Another example is when only words, letters and maybe a character or two shows up against a black background behind them. But it's not just the words, letters and characters on the black read more
Oct 18, 2012
ShintakoInari (All reviews)
Although the beginning was a bit confusing, I really got to like it after I watched it a bit. At first I was worried that it would quickly turn into one of those boring, fantasy, typical anime- nuh uh. Not with this anime.

The story, in my opinion, was great. The plot was actually unique for once, like, REALLY unique. It merges horror+tragedy with highschool and romance well, but it has a bit of comedy too. Not sure how it all fits, but they work dat stuff like no other. I think if you liked anything like Mirai Nikki, you'll love this.

The art could read more
Feb 18, 2012
kingaix (All reviews)
As it was stated in another review; this Anime/Ova showed me why I originally loved to watch Anime/Ova's. The most common Anime you will watch is usually a different story with a cliche ending, although I still enjoy these Anime's; it feels as if I am watching the same Anime with different characters.

Denpa Teki Na Kanojo gives you that thrill you would want in an Anime; once you think you've figured out the ending, there will be a twist that you didn't expect.
Feb 8, 2013
Kuandohan (All reviews)
This review is mostly going to explain some of the importance of the psychology in this production, because you can already read usual reviews of this show, just in case this will not suffice as a review, I will make a small one at the bottom.

I hope this review will not spoil the surprises found in this OVA, I will not mention any characters or events, but the psychology of the series, if you do not want to read it, please skip to "--- Psychology END ---" at the bottom.

--- Psychology ---

Denpa teki na Kanojo does an amazing job in my opinion on creating characters read more
Sep 14, 2011
TetsuPanda (All reviews)
One of the characters in this out-of-the-ordinary masterpiece describes this anime very well.
For those of you familiar with the term "tsundere", prepare for yet another stereotypical storyline where the spiky hardshelled teen has a difficult love life, learns the meaning of happiness, and solves crimes with his generic emo friend.
But the difference here is, that the walls that usually separate what is acceptable in a program and what is not don't exist. So the psycho rapist WILL have his way with his sister, people who deserve it WILL die and not come back again, and your heartstrings WILL be pulled at watching it.
The bottom line read more
Aug 9, 2012
callmerevy (All reviews)
Even though it makes a bold entrance suggesting a rough ride, it manages to come of a light thriller with a nice selection of interesting characters. The pace is good and the story is presented with very good timings. The plot turns at moments where its "just right" which makes watching this OVA very entertaining.

I don't want to downplay the mature content and it may leave scars to younger viewers but i found it not as dark as it could have gotten, and being aimed at a mature audience the plot seemed a little bit too easy. If you are a seasoned thriller/crime viewer read more
Nov 19, 2012
lovelydeath (All reviews)
Have you ever thought about perception and what other's worlds and what they see really look like? Well Denpa teki na kanojo is an anime that offers you a look into other's realities, or their perception of reality in a very gruesome way.

The story takes place with the typical guy meets girl in highschool type of setting, but takes a turn for the strange when she relays why they met. As much as he doesn't want to believe her reality he gets sucked in with mysterious and dramatic events. These events bring them closer together while also throwing them into read more
Nov 5, 2015
Zaku88 (All reviews)
Denpa Teki is one of those shows where you finish and realize that you really want more. It's a two-episode action/thriller/mystery OVA with a hint of comedy but lots of dramatism (think Kara no Kyoukai-esque murders only without the magical powers/abilities). By the same author as Kurenai, this OVA covers novels 1 and 3 (out of a meager total of 3) of the light novel. The story is about a blonde punk (my first impression) who happens to gain an inseparable sidekick (think mysterious master/servant) in the form of a girl who can somehow sense when Juu is in danger (hense Denpa), and who pledges read more
Mar 4, 2014
Nia-Chan (All reviews)
Denpa Teki na Kanojo is based on the first and third light novels written by Kentarō Katayama. The novels were adapted into a short two episode OVA.

Story - 7
With only two episodes, the number of clarification fails to meet the number of questions aroused. This makes up for a complex, and hard-to-follow series. However, this does not mean Denpa teki na Kanojo was a failure as a whole. In the two episodes they have released, they introduced a number of mysteries and of course, a solution towards them. Some concepts were, for the most part, compulsive. The idea of destroying others' happiness for the sake read more
Mar 22, 2019
shottoman (All reviews)
*My first review ever*

Story:
the story was quite entertaining and refreshing, but it had only two episodes so, not much I can say about.
It only covered two stories in both of them they had very satisfactory endings, so, overall enjoyment will be pretty good.

Music:
Nothing much can I say about it. Both ending songs are decent and there is one theme which is also pretty good.

Characters: I think this might be the weakest aspect of it, cause it has only two episodes. Characters are decent but you can't expect any character development which is not a bad thing at all.


Art:
What I most enjoyed in this read more
Feb 24, 2019
Xnovazero (All reviews)
If a certain person once said in front of you, "I am your King." What do you think?
Ordinary people ignore it. Common people treat it. But person who can understand human's feelings...

One day, Juu Juuzawa is adored Ame Ochibana. That wasn't a coincidence. Like merry-go-round, story is process from there.
Serial murders, phantom killer, conspiracy. Various incident is crossing. Atmosphere get very dark.
Content is extremely full of cruelty and violence. Furthermore, include complex mysteries. It's dangerous and aberrant.
You can experience realistic visuals. Supernatural and Super Power don't exist at all in this show. Fresh.
Mystery elements are really well done and not contradiction. Once again, splendid. You'll read more