Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hatsukoi Limited.


Alternative Titles

English: Hatsukoi Limited
Synonyms: Hatsukoi Gentei.
Japanese: 初恋限定。

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 12, 2009 to Jun 28, 2009
Premiered: Spring 2009
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:00 (JST)
Producers: Shueisha
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.381 (scored by 32,006 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #21892
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1435
Members: 71,936
Favorites: 197

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 28, 2009
KaminaKai (All reviews)
*One step at a time, slowly they find themselves falling in love.*

“Geez, women are so hard to understand” – Etsu Kusuda

Most, if not all male viewers tend to agree with that statement. The various male characters in Hatsukoi Limited (literally means first love limited) all experienced the same problem. But before you get the wrong idea, it should mentioned that this anime is directed from the female perspective most of the time. Hatsukoi Limited explores the early love life of a group of teenage girls and how they cope with boys that they like (or don’t like). While 12 episodes are hardly enough to cover read more
Sep 20, 2009
ethann (All reviews)
Hatsukoi limited follows the lives of a group of teenagers from a few schools that are connected in some way or another. It covers the early part of their love lives and deals solely with the issue of love. So for those who enjoy school romance you will probably enjoy this series.

The story i gave a 10 because it was clique but at the same time original at some points. While it's about a typical school romance it involves many characters that shape the story differently from a usual school romance. We get to see all sorts of love which is why i really enjoyed read more
May 29, 2009
tentacle_raep (All reviews)
Preliminary
Watched a few of these last night.

So, what is this about?

Middle school girls with bodies of able-bodied 20 year old women falling in love. Not with each other, or at least for now. It's all straight male-female puppy love first romance kitch. If you think you've seen it before, you probably have.

There is no twist, tho. There is no parallel universe. There are no giant robots. There are no dueling academies, aliens, spaceships, demons, futanari, or miko. There are also no harems, thankfully. What there is, is unrequited love, awkward moments, and lots of cameltoe, boob shots, and other ecchi scenarios with characters who read more
May 21, 2009
Dredgy (All reviews)
Have you ever been in… love?

Well that’s the pop up question in this anime. It’s about love affairs that can be ended to love struck.

~Story~ [8]

The stories between each of the characters are a bit specific, somewhat predictable and have the same issue. The issues bring a funny and interesting twist. We can call it a “love triangle or a misunderstanding love”.

It's about middle-schoolers and high schoolers searching for their ideal prince and princess to be able to form their first love, and thinking optimistically to live a happy ever after but in the end they fall into some kind of other twist. Attitudes, appearances, read more
Jan 17, 2015
Dragon-san (All reviews)
Hatsukoi Limited. A hidden gem amongst all of the shows in its genre. This is one of those shows that I feel doesn't get as much recognition as it deserves.

Hatsukoi Limited, as you may be able to guess from its name, is a story about love. It's not just about love though, it's about many qualms an adolescent will face as they climb up the ladder to adulthood, their first love being one of the steps on the ladder. For many, we look to our first love fondly--those sweet elementary and junior high days spent with who we thought was "the one", and for read more
Aug 2, 2009
pokemotion (All reviews)
Story:
It's definatley the type of anime geared towards people who want something cute, substantial with a little bit of fan-service which seems to work and not offset any bais on whether or not to veiw the series. The story follows a group of girls all ranging from different ages who fall in and out of love while also discovering what it actually means to love. It's not cheesy and the stories are realistic and often funny, and most of the jokes are very well placed.

Art:
The art works in favor for this anime because it's detailed in the character expressions and has this type of fluid read more
Jul 6, 2009
slpless (All reviews)
When I first started to watch this show, there were a few titles that immediately popped to mind, School Rumble, KimiKiss, and Boys Be... I soon found that Hatsukoi Limited has more in common with Boys Be than the others, this is due to similar themes of young love, ensemble structure, soft almost idealized atmosphere, etc. However, what really differentiates Hatsukoi Limited from Boys Be and what really surprised me about Hatsukoi Limited was the level of comedy/fun in each episode.

Much of Hatsukoi Limited comedy was derived from its characters, timing, and a bit of slapstick. I didn't really feel dumber and read more
Jul 20, 2009
motoko09 (All reviews)
"Men are all about appearance" Enomoto Kei

Usually I don't like watching shojo animes I rather prefer read shojo mangas, because I think that in the manga we can clearly see how much the mangaka is talented and got skills ...Well, anyway, ...

Hatsukoi limited I don't have a damn idea why I loved it so much ... The story is so educative I think, in fact it shows the different love problems the teenagers are having between hesitatation and temptation, the story is told in many diffrent scenarios and each time it focus on one character only.

I really did appreciate the simplicity and softness of the read more
Sep 4, 2014
Seiryuukan (All reviews)
Before you watch the anime, you can take my review and others as comparison to what you imagine.

"あなたはいま恋をしてますか?”
"Anata wa koi wo shitemasuka?"
"Are you in love right now?"

Maybe this question will be say numerously in this series. Your answer maybe various, but you will love this series if you search love genre anime.

Story: 9/10
I give 9 points, it has clear plot, you will not confused when watching this series.
The story is quite complicated, one-sided love everywhere, well because of we cannot give spoiler here, you should watch it by yourself.
This series is adapted by a manga with the same title.

Art: 9/10
The characters are drawn read more
Oct 10, 2011
hotsushi (All reviews)
Hatsukoi Limited was good but it was not great. I would say it's worth mentioning but in all honesty, there are other anime that I would recommend over Hatsukoi Limited. When I saw the first episode, I immediately compared this anime to Amagami SS and I can see that many other people have done the same. I will have to agree with everybody and say that Amagami SS is better than Hatsukoi Limited. That doesn't mean that Hatsukoi Limited was not a good anime. I just felt that there was room for improvement. Let's start with the negatives and we'll work our way to the read more
Apr 11, 2018
Wasakanene (All reviews)
Hatsukoi Limited. Talks about young puppy love... Ahhhhhh <3. i totally remembered my youthful days.. oh those days... It reminds me of how good being young once...

You know when you see magic for the 1st time? And you get this amazing feeling after. Well that's how i felt from this anime, totally sparked some fire inside me. Love is also like magic, you're filled with mixed emotions but above it all the joy you feel after someone tells you i love you, it's totally heart warming. This is totally a hidden gem i am very glad i found it.

Art/animation is very very good!!!! I read more
Nov 21, 2015
Zaku88 (All reviews)
Hatsukoi Limited is an interesting series depicting the first loves (Hatsukoi) of a group of middle school girls. It is essentially a relationship-based slice-of-life story. Though a show with many girls typically leads to a harem, this is definitely not so. Each of the girls has their own pick, and there are an equal numbers of supporting male characters.

What makes Hatsukoi unique is the sheer number of relationships between the characters. If you don't like keeping track of who likes who and who did what to who, then stay away from this. This is a really hard series to judge as I feel that capping read more
Apr 11, 2015
Axel_Blaze (All reviews)
“All of us are in love. It hasnt all been smooth sailing. Mistakes may have been made. But the love we felt when we first met our sweethearts is certainly the most cherished thing. We will take those feelings one by one and carry them with us into our futures.”
There couldnt have been a better ending words to this anime.

Anime review:-
Anime:- Hatsukoi Limited
Genre:- Romace/Comedy/School/Drama
Number of episodes-12

Rating:- Animation and Artwork-7, Music-9, Voice Acting-9, Story-9, Characters-8, Coherence-10, Enjoyment-9.5(61.5/70) This is for par-8 scale, if rescaled to par-6, this anime will get a 7.5/10(above par/should be watched by this genre lovers)

This anime was suggested to me by read more
Jul 2, 2009
Wolfy36 (All reviews)
Usually I am not a huge fan of 12 or less episode series, but this was among one of the few that I really enjoyed. Each episode brought the story along bit by bit, and for the amount of characters that were involved in the anime, I was fairly astounded with how they managed to fit all of it into 12 episodes. There were a few odds and ends that probably could have been touched up a bit more, but no complaints there.

As a male, I did enjoy the random ecchi moments, but then I also did enjoy the way they could take the females, read more
May 13, 2015
SketSter (All reviews)
Well, i was excited when i started the anime.. and by the time it ended... I was like WTF is this??? all the pairs were wronk except aihara and zaitsu and yuuji and yamamoto... everything was going wrong... the sound was nothing good nothing bad.. just .. it was. and the story? it is divided in arcs so not much of a story in it.. art? the only proper art was Yamamoto's body and her curves... character? hey, if you look like a kappa, how can a beautiful girl like you?? it may be possible in animes but dude you can end up in read more
Apr 4, 2019
TheGostoso (All reviews)
Come on, hatsukoi is a story about "puberty", a group of boys and girls discovering about love, I was not expecting much from the anime, in the end it's very simple, we have the types of "deres" and the boys who fall in love with them. I should praise a few things about anime, such as: Not all romance works, and not all feelings are mutual. The characters have their romantic interests, some a bit incestuous... Others hate, but in the end what matters is how they deal with it, and surprisingly it was "realistic". I loved the last episode mainly the part of the read more
Mar 20, 2019
JustinLi1410 (All reviews)
Honestly, a lot of things that happened in this anime wound up annoying me. In the end, the only ships I wound up caring about were Dobashi and Terai, and Enomoto and Kusuda. The dynamic of Enomoto and Kusuda was nice and sent out a good message, plus Dobashi and Terai were just simple and straightforward, plus totally supportive of each other and communicated well.

The rest were just wtf to be honest. One that came close was Arihara and Yamamoto, but in the end I only cared about that one because Yamamoto is my preferred type of girl.

In the end, I'd give it a 5.5 read more
Nov 30, 2018
Ming_HUANG (All reviews)
THIS IS THE BEST TEEN ROMANCE ANIME OF ALL TIME or at least ONE OF THE BEST

The mere 7.4 rating on mal confuses the fuck out of me since this is nothing short of a 10/10. As it perfectly achieves what it set out to do, I think most of these negative reviews are based of people who just don't like romance in general. If the creator makes something that achieves entertainment in its own way, then it's a success. This is a must watch, and I'll tell you why. One of the most underrated and misjudged animes out there for sure.

Hatsukoi limited's story read more
Mar 20, 2013
Reflex96 (All reviews)
"If you're good on the inside, then looks don't matter!"
"Boys do not equal their looks, if you look past that you'll see someone who acts with the purest of hearts."

Hatsukoi Limited. A lot to love, but also, at the same time, a a few things to dislike.
The story as a whole is good. The way the first 9 or 10 episodes are made in such a way that the final two come together is a really nice touch. It really works. However that's all I can say that's good. At times, it's a little repetitive. The same characters doing read more
Feb 23, 2011
TheSakurax (All reviews)
A guilty pleasure of mine is shoujo anime/mangas. While this one doesn't really fall into that category, it still tickles my romantic bone without making me want to throw up from the mushiness. =P

Funny. Adorable. Sweet. Hilarious. Insane. Ridiculous. Unmissable.

If you have even an ounce of romance in you, you'll like this.

The cast of characters here are unique in some ways and cliche in others. Regardless, you can't help but fall in love with all of them.

One outstanding element I noticed was that it is highly successful in giving us damn ugly young men and have their personalities shine through so wonderfully, we can't help read more