Majo no Takkyuubin


Kiki's Delivery Service

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Kiki's Delivery Service
Synonyms: Witch's Express Delivery
Japanese: 魔女の宅急便

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 29, 1989
Producers: None found, add some
Source: Novel
Genres: AdventureAdventure, ComedyComedy, DramaDrama, MagicMagic, RomanceRomance, FantasyFantasy
Duration: 1 hr. 45 min.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 8.251 (scored by 215195215,195 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #2572
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #343
Members: 335,970
Favorites: 3,268
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 29, 2014
Hias (All reviews)
Kiki's Delivery Service resonates with me more than any other movie I've seen. Filled with inspiration, warmth and tenderness, it's perhaps the best example of a coming-of-age story I've seen in anime to date. While most Ghibli fans prefer the likes of Spirited Away or Mononoke Hime, and while I love and adore those films passionately, I personally feel that Kiki's Delivery Service is their best work, and Miyazaki's best directed film.

Everything about this movie just brings me a smile and always brings me up when I feel down. What makes this movie great is that it doesn't have huge ambition; it's not here to read more
Jun 26, 2007
jet2r0cks (All reviews)
For my second Hayao Miyazaki movie, I’d say it was pretty good.

I liked the plot of Spirited Away much, much better though. Spirited Away had a more complex and interesting plot, while Kiki’s story was simpler. I guess the advantage of that is it’s easy to understand. As much as I like stories about witches living amongst normal humans, Kiki didn’t really act or live like a witch. She was more of a human who can fly and happens to own a cat that talks.

Since I brought up the subject of the talking cat, I’m glad I picked the English dub over the original read more
Sep 8, 2019
Optigisa (All reviews)
Studio Ghibli movies have always been known for being creative, visionary and imaginative, filled with so much care and heart poured into them, to the point where they become distinguishable from the medium as a whole. For several years, Miyazaki and his buddy Takahata have devoted many hours of their days to making the best of the best when it came to animated features. For Takahata, some may say that his masterpiece when it came to movies was Grave of the Fireflies, others may say that his true masterpiece was Only Yesterday. Regardless of what Takahata’s true masterpiece is, both he and Miyazaki have produced read more
Apr 15, 2010
olivecrayola (All reviews)
The first time I heard of this movie was when one of my friends mentioned it as one of the movies on his "to watch" list. I remember looking over the synopses and cover of the movie and wondering what the heck had gotten into him. It's a cartoon, for heaven's sake, how good could it be?
Just a few weeks ago I came down with a cold. It was no ordinary spring cold, but the great granddaddy of all spring colds. I was stuck in bed for around 3 days, during which time I re-acquainted myself with my inner child. read more
Aug 8, 2014
animesthabomb (All reviews)
Having seen a great number of anime movies, many people are surprised when I tell them that out of them all, Majo no Takkyuubin (or 'Kiki's Delivery Service', as it is also commonly known by) is my favorite. There are multiple reasons why, but I won't let this become a monologue of favoritism being preached at you. Instead, I'm going to give it an objective, in-depth, review. But, keep in mind that, as this movie is actually rather simple and uncomplicated, "in-depth" (for this particular movie) is not very complicated at all.

First, a tiny bit of background...

Majo no Takkyuubin is loosely based off of read more
Jul 25, 2009
brand_182 (All reviews)
For Kiki, a young witch-in-training, the time has come to spend a year away from home. During this time, she is to mature as a person and develop into a full witch. Accompanied by her talking black cat, Jiji, Kiki will move into a new town where she will make new friends, start her own business, and even develop her first love interest. But most importantly, Kiki will come to truly understand herself and the magic that comes from within.

Kiki's Delivery Service is a very sweet story and is presented in typical Studio Ghibli fashion. Animation is detailed and beautiful, and the soundtrack is enjoyable read more
Jun 29, 2019
ReallyPatrice (All reviews)
I genuinely cannot comprehend a bigger waste of time than watching a movie about a 'witch' who does nothing but fly on a broom. They don't even have a wand. They don't cast any magic. They waste their monumental supernatural abilities on delivering useless trinkets in return for pitiful wages. This isn't inspiring or empowering on any remote level, and having been in an open relationship with a third-generation wicken for several years, I find its depiction of witchcraft to be wholly unconvincing.

What's more, the director seemingly forgot that the cat could talk about three quarters of the way through the film. For a read more
Nov 15, 2012
TehWhiteTiger (All reviews)
This will be my first 'review'. So I hope this is somewhat helpful.

This may not be the most famous movie of the Studio Ghibli collection, however Kiki's Delivery Service is a brilliant film in it's own right and in my opinion is often over shadowed and under appreciated because of its more famous cousins such as Spirited Away.

Kiki's Delivery Service has a very simple storyline. Based off a book of the same name. Following the life of the young witch Kiki and her cat Jijii, we follow her adventures as she goes out into the world to make a life for herself as a read more
Apr 19, 2020
cardaver (All reviews)
You won't find here big castles or dragons, neither forest spirits nor ancient gods, "Majo no Takkyuubin" shows us the difficulties of growing and becoming independent through a sweet young witch who experiences emotions such as insecurity, loneliness, fear and loss of hope; representing immigrants, young adults moving out and the innocence of children forced to grow up too fast.
The simplicity and tenderness, together with characters full of human values, the spectacular animation and an incredible soundtrack made by the master Joe Hisaishi, make this film a feat.
I promise you will found yourself wholly captured by the movie, it will melt your heart.
Aug 18, 2010
kekekeKaj (All reviews)
"Kiki's Delivery Service" is a typically fun to watch family anime from Studio Ghibli. Though it's instilled with imagination like their other productions, it isn't nearly as outlandishness as the likes of "Spirited Away" and "Princess Mononoke". This is probably due to the unusual lack of whacky character designs like Totoro and 90% of the characters in "Spirited Away", however it doesn't prevent the characters that are in "Kiki's Delivery Service" from having that "Ghibli charm". It's just as well, as "Kiki's Delivery Service" more about the characters than some complicated plot. The idea itself is simple enough - a young witch named Kiki has read more
Jul 13, 2011
ktulu007 (All reviews)
I love Studio Ghibli. They make films that generally range from good to excellent and excel at art and music. Kiki's Delivery Service is probably the type of film they're best at. It has a simple story with some nice themes and a small cast of important characters who get some development but it keeps the focus on one or two of them. As a result they're able to really develop those few focus characters very well. It isn't my favourite Studio Ghibli film but it's still pretty impressive.

The story follows a young witch named Kiki who leaves home to train and find her read more
Jan 4, 2020
Tak93 (All reviews)
Kiki’s Delivery Service is Studio Ghibli in its purest form. In fact, if someone were to ask me what film defines Studio Ghibli the most, it wouldn’t be My Neighbor Totoro, Princess Mononoke, or even Spirited Away - it would be Kiki’s Delivery Service. As beautiful as Ghibli’s other films may be, Kiki’s Delivery Service is just special in a rare way. It has a charm that is nearly impossible to replicate that I haven’t really seen in any other film. Most Ghibli movies are full of charm to be sure, but Kiki’s Delivery Service just checks all of the right boxes and I feel read more
Feb 18, 2010
davieboy232 (All reviews)
Ive seen other movies from ghibli studios and i really have no reason as to why this one never caught my eye, but in the end it was not at all dull as i was expecting it to be and managed to keep itself afloat in my amusement.

(just want the readers to know as well that this was not at all a bad score and one of the key reasons which was always kept in mind while this review was written was the fact this was perhaps one of the directors' [Hayao Miyazaki] earlier movies in which the styles of how these shows were made read more
Jul 15, 2016
Darmaiad (All reviews)
Majo no Takkyuubin, aka Kiki's Delivery service, is one of the first films by Hayao Miyazaki and studio Ghibli. When the 13 years old witch, Kiki, chose to strictly adhere to the rule that a witch must spend one year away from her family, she packs her things; rides her broom stick with her familiar, a black cat; and searches for a new city.

The city she chooses, is a beautiful, maritime one, with an Italian stylization. During her stay, she must utilize her arcane talents in order to provide for herself. While her initial reception is cold, Kiki read more
Apr 7, 2010
Usagi-long-legs (All reviews)
This is probably one of my favourite studio ghibli films that I have seen.
It's sweet, magical and has some kind of charm to it.
The story is lovely as its a girl training to be a witch however she decides to do deliveries as she can fly around on her broom stick which is kinda cool!!
I think I enjoyed it because its always nice to watch an original anime film that has a strange story line to it.
The art is amazing!
Some of the characters remind me of 'sabrina the teenage witch' e.g. black talking cat but still really cool characters.
Overall I would say this film is read more
Oct 18, 2012
Xybirk (All reviews)
Kiki's Delivery Service is without a doubt a masterpiece.You don't need me to explain why. Just uttering the name "Hayao Miyazaki" should be enough to convince you to check this fantastic movie out. But in case you're some kind of freak who has no idea who I'm talking about, (just kidding :P) Hayao Miyazaki is basically the Walt Disney of anime, with almost all of his releases being critically acclaimed. If you're still not convinced, I guess I better explain what makes this movie so wonderful.

First of all there's the story. Kiki is a witch in training who leaves her home for a year to read more
May 28, 2019
pandapaw03 (All reviews)
This movie is what touches my heart the most out of all Studio Ghibli movies, when I was about 5 or 6 I remember my parents buying the DVD of Kiki's Delivery Service. As I watched the movie I was so captivated by the animation and everything about it, it was like I was being pulled into another world.

I eventually forgot about it as I grew older but I always felt like that the movie was a dream and pieces of the movie would pop into my mind, everything changed until 6th grade, my social studies teacher showed us a movie that made all of read more
Aug 23, 2020
cameronrb24 (All reviews)
Quick Thoughts:

It's a nice coming-of-age movie. We get to see themes like independence, jealousy, and self-awareness told through a young girl leaving home to develop herself as a witch. The movie is visually appealing as expected from Ghibli films. I think my biggest issue with the film is that it doesn't really stand out in comparison to similar anime. Even just among the Ghilbli catalogue, I think there a movies that explore the same themes in much more interesting settings.

Story:

The story is pretty easy to follow. Our main character, Kiki, leaves home to gain experience as a witch in the city. She stumbles along in read more
Oct 25, 2009
AlexanderT3HGR8 (All reviews)
Kiki's delivery service is a beautifully written and animated story about the young witch kiki and her pre-determined adventure of seft improvment.

Story -8- The story is a bubbly fun but also progressive and heart grabbing fiction which puts a different sort of spin on the traditional conception of witches. In this representation witches are a force of good that although is not a new idea, is done in a way i have not seen before. But in many ways the fact that kiki is a witch is not as important as her being a girl, as this anime raises concepts of maturity about read more
May 26, 2010
warniefn (All reviews)
just outstanding.

literally just finished watching five minutes ago, and feel privileged to know that I have just beheld a true classic. The artwork is sublime, the story endearing and heart warming and the sheer beauty just uplifting and inspiring.

A real masterpiece.