Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Akikan!


Alternative Titles

English: Akikan!
Synonyms: Empty Can!
Japanese: アキカン!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 4, 2009 to Mar 29, 2009
Premiered: Winter 2009
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Half H.P Studio
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Brain's Base
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.291 (scored by 48,667 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #70142
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1075
Members: 97,294
Favorites: 134

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 24, 2009
Skadi (All reviews)
Like Hollywood, it seems Japan is suffering from a lack of creativity recently. Here we have been brought Akikan!, a story about empty juice cans that turn into girls. Uh what? It certainly is a bizarre concept and I guess it scores some points for being one of a kind in that sense.

The story revolves around your typical anime loser Kakeru. Of course he’s a virgin. Being a pervert is a given. He’s never had a girlfriend, despite having the cutest girl at school practically throwing herself at him on a daily basis. Are you retarded? Blind? read more
Feb 12, 2009
ddrcrono (All reviews)
If you like the idea of a show that is entertaining, self-satirical, has 'colorful' characters and manages to save a little room for serious stuff, this could be the show for you.

If you are really into deep, complex characters with intricate winding plot twists and you looove super serious business 24/7, this is probably not the series for you.

The MAL ratings this show gets don't do it justice. Don't get me wrong, it's no masterpiece, but it's not a ~6.5 either. I can't say what people think of it, but my guess is that a lot of people take it too seriously. Most of the read more
Feb 9, 2009
Antanaru (All reviews)
Time to state the obvious what surprisingly hasn't been done yet. Akikan! is probably the worst anime of Winter 2009 season. Maybe even the worst series aired during last year. So after this short, engaging summary let's see why it sucks so bad.

Story: Being the strongest point of this series doesn't mean it's good. Just mediocre. Again boy meets gir- pardon, can which turns into girl, they continuously argue with each other but also somehow get along. Later more cans appear and... you've seen synopsis. This story had potential, another romantic comedy but with some possibly interesting additions. Sadly it turns into plain and boring read more
May 29, 2015
Valkqt (All reviews)
Can love between a man and a can bloom? Such profound questions like that will be asked to you as you watch Akikan, perhaps the single worst and most idiotic concept for a TV series ever, and the very moment that question becomes relevant within the series is the moment any drama or tension cannot possibly be taken seriously. Ironic then, that those parts actually end up becoming the most tolerable among these twelve, awful episodes.

Most of it is comedy of the lowest grade that is impossible to unironically enjoy with the occasional can racism that comes with some fighting between different types of cans, read more
Jan 20, 2009
Kaymyu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Randomness, Romance, Comedy and Pervertedness all rolled into one. Honestly, there's not a single boring episode so far.

The first episode alone was hilarious. My first impression was "WTF ROFL." and it still is. It isn't the bad kind of random like some animes, but the good kind that you'll laugh over and wish for more.

So the main character is a total perv..but that works just fine since he brings most of the comedy into the story. He makes sexual jokes practically all the time and has multiple girls around him.

There are themes of yuri, but that just adds to how funny and awesome it is. read more
Jul 13, 2015
Blood_Diver_A (All reviews)
(A Man’s Love for a Can)

On a particularly hot afternoon in mid-July, Riku Ranjo was walking along the streets of Tokyo, when suddenly he was overcome with thirst. He searched for a vending machine and found one across the street. He crossed the street, inserted the coins into the machine, and out dispensed a steel can.

He opened the can and drank it, until it was empty. Then, he noticed there was an aluminum can image displayed adjacent to the steel ones. Suddenly, he had an inspiration…

Which cans are the strongest, steel or aluminum ones?

He realized that modern physics and chemistry (i.e. stress and strain test, read more
Jun 21, 2009
Credulous (All reviews)
Before I say anything else I need to state that this is a very bad anime. If you consider the quality of storyboard, screenplay, scenario and even the choice of Fukuyama Jun as the voice actor for the main character (for his sake) this is indeed a very bad anime.

But.

I always try to be as objective as I can when reviewing animes and qualitywise this anime is basically gutter trash, but if you consider the entertainment you can gain if you keep the fact that it's a horrendous anime in mind, this is actually pretty "good". I am not sure if the producers of this read more
Jul 11, 2011
Yukariki (All reviews)
Viewers, do you fantasize about being a horny virgin can collector drinking a melon soda which somehow turns into a girl so really, you are kissing a hot girl?

If you do, this is your anime.
If you don't, you're a freaking weirdo.

This is a typical Magical Girlfriend show except your main male character are boning melon soda cans. Like all Magical Girlfriend shows, it is cliched and conventional. However, the characters and the hammy voice actors make it up.

Characters:

Enter Daichi Kakeru (voiced by the same seiyuu of Lelouch), the epitome of all horny, narcissistic virgins out there in the world (we all know you are out read more
Mar 25, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

People complain about Hollywood being uncreative and making far too many reboots and ripoffs, but Japan is often no better in this regard. If an anime is highly successful, you can almost guarantee there will be a new ripoff series created to suck up some of that money. If the ripoff is successful, a ripoff of the ripoff will be made and so on until the quality degenerates SO far and becomes so low that not even the stupidest of otaku will buy it. In the early 2000s there was a highly successful anime called Rozen Maiden about a hikikomori (extreme social phobia) who owns read more
Mar 5, 2012
Nilvius (All reviews)
[Story: 4.0] Peppered with nothing but plenty of really cheap innuendo, I know that I'm not supposed to be expecting some fabulous scripting from this sort of show, contending for just some silly, cheap laughs. Yet even with this in mind, Akikan manage to be underwhelming.

Akikan wants to achieve too much but lacked the effort to do any of them. It tried to pack in romance, drama, lewd dialogues, action and plenty more lewd dialogue, but was lazy in executing them. The comedy aspect is lackluster - you've seen them in practically any other ecchi series you can get your hands on and they're probably read more
May 3, 2009
eX (All reviews)
Akikan! is a sort of Master and Servant genre type of anime. But unlike other Master and Servant animes the male protagonist here is a pervert who knows when to show it. This story tells us about a boy named Kakeru who drank Melon soda that turned into a girl named Melon, they are called Akikans. But she isn't the only akikan in this story.

Story
The story for me was very good. The story just doesn't revolve around a pervert doing perverted things *coughHeismyMastercough*. The story was full of comedic moments that still connected to what the story was going to be. It was full of read more
Aug 19, 2009
Keyira (All reviews)
Akikan, being a Romance-Comedy anime lives up to its expectations, firstly this anime is often extremely amusing, got me liturally ROFL alot of times :), Character choices and developments is acceptable yet disapointing, The art is leaning towards decent side.

The story of Akikan is wearid yet interesting, with anime, the more 'out of this world' the more interesting, Overall i'd give it a 8/10 for being a enjoyable anime when i was bored, This anime possesses protential that of Sekirei and FTS but it fails in its detail in character development, i'd say i enjoyed it alot more even though now taht i reflect read more
Jan 20, 2009
thunderbolt3 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show......, I really am liking this show, it is like a classic guy = master girl = fighter or something like that where they have a relationship too. This show is absolutely pointless and the battle is stupid but that just makes it all so funny. It is not serious, but it is a great show. I cant wait for the next episode and the comedy is unique and always funny. THe action seems like it might get good and I cant wait to see what kind of boyfriend this guy will be and to who?
Apr 14, 2013
KaiserLos24 (All reviews)
For some reason, I had to write a review for this anime.

Akikan! is has to be the worst anime (by comparison) I've watched so far. I'm not saying it's bad; not at all. It does have its good points, but only a few. I'm actually quite disappointed in it.

Story= 7
The story is about juice/soda cans transforming into girls once you take a sip out of them, and have magic powers based on what their drink is. When I was first introduced to the story, I thought "What the hell?" Well, I'll give it a good score for originality. It's weird, but original. So, read more
Feb 22, 2012
Simonian (All reviews)
If there was an institution that kept a list of animes with the biggest number of sexual jokes, Akikan would top the list every single year. This anime is a one big sexual joke. Some reviewers talk about a bit of seriousness and drama? No. Akikan is like an anime version of stand-up comedy involving several performers.

The story follows a teenage guy, named Kakeru Daichi. He's a lonely, girlfriendless pervert who has only one thing going on in his mind at any given time - sex. Apart from his lewd ways, Kakeru collects soda cans. It just so happens that one day after his read more
Mar 8, 2012
ampzz (All reviews)
Think your typical male protagonist tossed into a situation which leads him to becoming popular with a select few ladies.

Think magical girl transformations.

Think... cans transforming into girls?

Now take a step back and recheck everything that's happened so far and you have the premise of Akikan! which leaves a rather awkward feeling at first which just makes you burst out laughing after Jun manages to portray a rather unique character in Kakeru, the protagonist for this series.

What could be more hilarious than a very humorous sudden-girlfriend-appearance set-up than Kakeru being stark naked as Melon shows up and continues on as if nothing has happened?

What this anime read more
Feb 13, 2010
Dredgy (All reviews)
“CO2 Cans, talking and alive”

The Story…

First of all there isn’t much story occurring in this anime, it’s all about the comedy and ecchi moments that makes it bearable to watch. As for the story, it leads to an intro that ‘cans’ can turn into a human being particularly into a girlish one and by touching its lid by the lips it will activate its transformation. It also has a little love issues and minor arc that gives us curiosity but what they did is they focus on just giving laughs and seductive scenes.

It has a capable to be an interesting story but what read more
Jan 18, 2009
Ashuri (All reviews)
Preliminary
So... I hate fanservice and ecchi...
But this was kinda weird.

I mean, aside from the fact that Jun Fukuyama is staring, and aside from the fact that the perverted old guy is Okiayu Ryoutarou (who played Shigure in Fruits Basket)... it's not half bad.

Actually, the concept of a girl in a can is hilarious... and I really like the idea of someone who doesn't want to just be used and thrown away. It's a very human conception... packed in a can!

Now, I will admit, it gave me some "Saber Marionette J" vibes (what with brightly colored girls and a perverted guy in love with the read more
Oct 30, 2009
tsukasloth (All reviews)
Well, this is the first anime I actually watched all the way through (Sad, I know). But because usually the anime's I watch/manga's I read are shonen and very action based, rather than just light hearted and funny, this was a nice change.

I loved the characters in this anime. Kakeru was your typical anime pervert, yes, but he also had a caring side. He started to actually care about Melon and what she wanted and that she was lonely. Melon was also a great character. She has a wide range of emotions. Sometimes she gets really angry. Other times, she's sad and lonely. And she read more
Mar 29, 2009
mistah-manila (All reviews)
Let's start with the fact that "yes this anime has a very interesting plot concept. No they do not embellish on it." The story does revolve around this supernatural phenomena, but then it puts out nothing. The humor in here is either very perverted or moderately funny (unless you love ecchi, then its both). The fight scenes in here were as well tasteless with little to no finesse. It just didn't have it's own flare.

AND NOW FOR MY MOST STRESSED DETAIL IN ANIME HISTORY! ~THE ENDING!~ (Dramatic drum roll)... It was terrible! Really, it was like a terrible season finale to some crap Power Rangers read more