Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Bakemonogatari


Alternative Titles

English: Bakemonogatari
Synonyms: Ghostory
Japanese: 化物語

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 15
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 3, 2009 to Jun 25, 2010
Premiered: Summer 2009
Broadcast: Fridays at 23:00 (JST)
Producers: Aniplex, Kodansha
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: Shaft
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.361 (scored by 322,983 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1862
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #37
Members: 599,942
Favorites: 25,189

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 27, 2010
8thSin (All reviews)
"To be blunt, I just enjoy talking to you... so I want to talk with you more."
"If our opinions clash, let's talk it over." (Dialogue from episode 5)

'Bakemonogatari', cleverly translated as 'Ghostory' or 'Monstory', is about five not-so-normal girls that Araragi Koyomi, a vampire himself, encounters and attempt to save from oddities possessing them.


CHARACTER:
The main characters of 'Bakemonogatari' are among the most unique and complex I have yet to encounter.
Heroine Senjougahara Hitagi is a tsundere like half of all modern heroines in anime, but she is also 「ドS」, a sadist to an extreme degree, which is more common for side characters and rare for heroines. read more
Oct 8, 2013
aimaimami (All reviews)
If I had to choose a word to describe Bakemonogatari, it would probably be ‘faux-ironic’ – and I don’t mean that in a positive sense.

To describe Bakemonogatari’s plot simply: it’s a harem anime. The show features our ~mysteriously charismatic~ hero, Arararararagi-kun (sorry, my tongue slipped) as he somehow manages to charm a whole load of girls – whilst, at the same time, he battles with the supernatural to sort out their problems. Minus the ‘supernatural’ aspect (which seems kind of like a cheap gimmick, to spice up this ‘harem’ style story we’ve surely seen countless of times before), there is nothing special about Bakemonogatari.

The characters read more
Oct 13, 2011
Inkwave (All reviews)
For every medium, there are few masterpieces that transcend the genre and become something special. Since I consider anime, as a genre, to be just as legitimate an art form (despite the bad rep it often gets), I will also review Bakemonogatari as a work of art, and it is irrefutably one of the special few anime series that fully capitalize on the strengths of the anime medium.

STORY
People have complained that the story is too episodic, too disjointed. However, the virtue of Bakemonogatari's storyline is that it is so minimal. In all senses, this anime is a character-based experimental, and an elaborate read more
Dec 24, 2015
D-ohnuts (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW IS FOR ALL SEASONS, AS SUCH, IT CONTAINS SPOILERS

Monogatari takes place in a city populated by about 20 people, cardboard cutouts and kanji characters, and follows the story of Koyomi Araragi as he meets girls who have supernatural oddity-related issues in their lives and tries to help them.

I am not a fan of the Monogatari anime, but I will get into why later in this review.

The characters are all pretty much what you'd expect from a harem anime. There's the selfless main character, the Tsundere girlfriend, the shy Moe girl who turns out to actually be psycho and manipulative, the smart girl who read more
Aug 12, 2017
CatchyUsername (All reviews)
THIS TEXT CONTAINS SPOILERS

First of all, this text is about Bakemonogatari and Bakamonogatari only. I don't care what happens later, because this isn't a sequel's review, obviously. So refrain using that point in order to negatively criticize what I'm about to write.

Character Design: Nothing impressive. Long hair, short hair, basic colors and shapes. 6/10

Background: It has all sort of different visual elements on the background, transiting from one place to another. It has a sublime atmosphere due to the lack of imperfections on the scenes, however, it is still just common locations and nothing too impressive. 7/10

Camera angles: Now this is an easy 10/10. You read more
Apr 5, 2013
Marchionessx (All reviews)
"Did you know every time you sigh, a little bit of happiness escapes?" - Senjougahara Hitagi, Episode 6

Well, you won't be sighing anywhere in this anime.

Bakemonogatari from the start can give the wrong impression to the viewer. They must be wondering, "Why is this rated so high, if it all it is, is just random words popping up on the screen?" However, it is a really good anime in its own weird way, and you're probably going to have to appreciate it that way as well.

Character: Usually, I'd start my review with the main part (story), but I believe the most important part of Bakemonogatari read more
Aug 10, 2009
NurseNitsuj (All reviews)
Preliminary
**Monster Story**

Gatari is voicing form of Katari. Katari is a tale which by oral tradition, is passed down from generation to generation. Thereby, the words "Bakemono" means monster and "monogatari" means story. Thus, you get "Bakemonogatari" which is an anime that contains tales of monsters.

Alright, enough of the trivia. Let's get down to business.

Story: 9

It'd be very difficult to describe the story without letting out spoilers. With that in mind, I can only tell you that Bakemonogatari is a collection of monster tales that are revelant to life. The story depicts surrealism and "supernatural phenomenons" amongst people, which occur when the main character, Araragi, interacts read more
Feb 21, 2015
PoeticJustice (All reviews)
It is very rare to see such a successful marriage of a director’s vision and an author’s material. Bakemonogatari’s existence is an anomaly especially in present day where adaptations are subpar when compared to the source. However, there has never been a more potent combination than Nisio Isin and Studio SHAFT’s Akiyuki Shinbou. Shinbou’s quirky, and imaginative art direction greatly compliments the fast paced dialogue and witticisms that Nisio is known for. The end result is a tour de force of both visuals and prose. Bakemonogatari is a meticulously crafted tale that never ceases to maintain the viewer’s attention and titillate the imagination.

Story- Bakemonogatari is read more
Nov 18, 2014
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

You don’t have to be a member of the anime community for long to know that the Monogatari series is very, very highly praised. Inevitably, I gave into the hype and tried it out for myself. The result? Well… I walked away entertained, but FAR from impressed. Yes the characters are amusing, yes the dialogue is witty, and yes the visuals are beautiful, but make no mistake: Bakemonogatari is just a harem. It exists only for comedic gags and fanservice. The characters are shallow and have little to offer beyond their archetypes and their dialogue, not to mention that the “plot” is loose read more
Nov 25, 2011
cecropiamoth (All reviews)
This anime seemed to have a lot of mysteries in it, but the biggest mystery it presented to me was why I took such a violent dislike to it even though it has been favorably discussed by intelligent viewers. I stopped watching it early on, out of simple irritation. To me it was marching straight down that wrong road we are warned against in the aphorism, "Don't gild the lily."

It's episode number 2, and an interesting "exposition" conversation is taking place between the anime's Girl Number 1 and the hero. It presents a considerable subsidiary mystery--why is this girl acting in this unusual and read more
Jul 31, 2010
Moonlith (All reviews)
Finally giving in to the hype, I picked up Bakemonogatari, the most discussed anime of '09, on the very first day of this year. The show's appeal was lost on me during the first few episodes, but after a while the reasons for this anime's charm on so many became apparent. As to whether that charm worked on me as well, that's something I'm going to explain a bit more thoroughly further on.

The story of Bakemonogatari may at first seem confusing with the odd events of the show's beginning. Soon, however, the plot's structure comes clear enough as new characters (all female) are introduced, with read more
Feb 14, 2016
EpsilonScuti (All reviews)
ENGLISH IS NOT MY FIRST LANGUAGE, SORRY IF I WRITE SOMETHING WRONG
Spoilers! (kinda)

✧ Introduction/the story
Bakemonogatari, A story of a guy that casually meets different types of girls throughout the episodes. Coincidentally, all of those girls are possessed by a curse that resembles an animal.

✧ The characters
The protagonist is a guy that wants to help every single girl he meets, even if he met her only 5 minutes ago, just like your typical self-insert protagonist. Like a male lead in every harem out there he is bland, boring, and doesn't know what to do with his life.

The story just introduces female characters that are all very read more
Nov 19, 2016
AestheticOnion (All reviews)
'People save themselves on their own. Nobody can ever save anyone else'
- Araragi Koyomi

To begin this review, I shall say that while there were always disagreements whether a certain show was good or not, no series was ever able to split the community like the Monogatari series does. And there will always be the ones saying that it is the best of the best in the anime world, and the ones that will see it as just a pretentious over-the top harem show. Now, before you cast of my review thinking that I'm just going to praise the show, I'll have to ask you to read more
Jan 3, 2010
SolistraSora (All reviews)
Preliminary
Bakemonogatari is based on a series of light novels by Nisio Isin, and is later produced by Shaft. It features different short stories all related to the main character, Araragi Koyomi. Bakemonogatari is now known for its superb art and animation, and the unique way the story was presented to us. Adding to that, Bakemonogatari surprised many due to its weekly ranking sales and how well it sold across Japan. This was clearly evident in the field of BD sales, where it made history, selling 29,000 units of Bakemonogatari Vol.1, beating out the previous record holder of Macross Frontier, which sold at 22,000 units. It read more
Aug 10, 2015
aikaflip (All reviews)
There’s some debate about whether or not Bakemonogatari (pr. bah-keh-moh-no-gah-tah-re) is an ecchi-harem. A mere six seconds into the first episode, one of the female leads is introduced with a panty shot, and several shots of panties, boobs, and butts are dispersed throughout the series. Aside from two characters that appear in a few episodes, Araragi, the main character, is the only male, and he’s usually surrounded by females who’ve developed a fondness for him after he helped them in some way.

Is it an ecchi? Most likely. Is it a harem? Probably. Nevertheless, what distinguishes this series from other ecchi and harem anime is that read more
Nov 25, 2015
Canoeee (All reviews)
*CONTAINS MINOR SPOILERS*

The monogatari series currently consists of 6 different seasons, Bakemonogatari, Nisemonogatari, Nekomonogatari:Kuro, Monogatari Series Second Season, Hanamonogatari, Tsukimonogatari and Owarimonogatari (Kizumonogatari will be released in 3 different parts later on in the next year).

Bakemonogatari at first was confusing, I had no idea what was going on and I could not keep up with all of the talking but in a couple of episodes everything started making sense.

Story: Araragi Koyomi is in third year at Naoetsu Private High School, he has two sisters and through out the story he gains a lot of friends. During a day at school he comes across a read more
Jul 3, 2015
SentiOnikawa (All reviews)
So let's imagine for a moment a world where harem anime wasn't susceptible to so many bad tropes, the MC wasn't a complete dolt, and all the female cast were fleshed-out microcosms of pure fun. Now, let's make all the female VA's do openings for the arcs of their characters and then toss in some silly innuendos that are ultimately non-intrusive and part of the ride. Now, multiply it by Mr Bones' Wild Ride (Google it). Ready?

Bakemonogatari is the first in the Monogatari series and unlike the adaptations of the rest of the novels, it aims to bash your brains out with how fun it read more
Feb 18, 2010
vitaamin (All reviews)
Preliminary
SHAFT's chaotic experiment is certainly a welcome break in creativity for the industry, and Bakemonogatari has all the right elements to make for a great anime: a promising premise, great character design and a shot of insanity. Yet here is a great example of how deliberate attention to detail can cause directors to miss the mark entirely, resulting in a bigger picture that revels blindly in its mediocrity.

There isn't much of a story. Episodic in nature, Bakemonogatari is driven by an almost Japanese-folklore perspective on loneliness and loss layered beneath the tone of this generation's rebellious youth. Sounds clever enough, but the not-so-subtle hentai subtext read more
Nov 4, 2010
Oaks (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you're looking for an adrenaline-pumping, anxiety-giving anime for your hot, red-blooded selves...

Then Bakemonogatari is not for you.

I disliked this series. I prefer action and suspense and Bakemonogatari did not invoke any feeling in me.

I simply clicked an episode and as soon as it started my mind would wander due to sheer boredom.

The story was very poor to me, I didn't know what was going on 99% of the time and there are a lot of pointless scenes (fanservice included, I guess). They repeatedly jumped around scenes and there was some skipping here and there... Not that I really cared.

The art was alright. It was read more
Mar 13, 2012
NeverKnowsBest26 (All reviews)
Shaft is a studio well known for their weird experimental style, seemingly endless stream of anime in-jokes, and plentiful fan-service. Needless to say their work is an acquired taste and can be hit-or-miss. While this certainly applies to Bakemonogatari, it uses Shaft's signature style very well. Incredibly weird, and at times intentionally obtuse, yet undeniably intriguing and charming (albeit in its own weird way). This is easily one of the studio's best efforts.

The show follows high school student and former vampire (it's complicated), Koyomi Araragi, through a string of bizarre supernatural happenings. Each happening is centered around an individual (all girls, of course) whom somehow read more