Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tetsuwan Birdy Decode:02


Alternative Titles

English: Birdy the Mighty: Decode 02
Synonyms: Tetsuwan Birdy Decode 2nd Season
Japanese: 鉄腕バーディー DECODE:02

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 10, 2009 to Mar 28, 2009
Premiered: Winter 2009
Broadcast: Saturdays at 02:10 (JST)
Producers: Aniplex, Shogakukan
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Manga
Genres: Action, Sci-Fi, Comedy
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.791 (scored by 18,969 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #9322
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2088
Members: 38,664
Favorites: 225

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 11, 2009
Archaeon (All reviews)
The original is always better than the sequel. Or is it.........?

Being a long time fan of the original Birdy the Mighty OVA from 1997, it goes without saying that I was definitely looking forward to the new series of Tetsuwan Birdy Decode. Unfortunately the first season of Decode, whilst being good and great in some areas, was lacklustre in others - especially where the pacing of the story was concerned.

Thankfully, A-1 Pictures have changed the whole ball game with the release of Tetsuwan Birdy Decode: 02.

The second season picks up directly after the end of the first. Tsutomu and Birdy are still sharing a body read more
May 24, 2009
Denizen (All reviews)
This is the second part of the new Birdy Decode series, but you wouldn't realise it. The first season was good, but the sequel comes along and totally blows it away in almost every department.
Most notably would be the animation - 02 exhibits some of the most incredible animation in a 13-episode series for a long, long time. Where other shows might shell out for a good fight scene here and there, 02 provides stunningly kinetic action scenes throughout the entire run, most notably in its incredible finale. If you like good animation, it's a must.
But it's not just the animation that dominates read more
Apr 20, 2010
Cobbles (All reviews)
Tetsuwan Birdy Decode 02 is possibly one of the greatest follow ups to a mediocre first season. It takes all the flaws of the original and simply does away with them while throwing in a much more focused plot and characters. While the first season wasn't bad by any stretch of the word, it was fairly uninspired. It often felt like the series didn't know what it wanted to be, not really striking a balance between the slice of life elements or the science fiction. The pacing was all over the place, often ranging from adequate to mind-numbingly slow. The last couple of episodes felt read more
Dec 9, 2011
Nilvius (All reviews)
[Story:8.5] After how mediocre the first season was, I initially had no intention to continue with the sequel – that is, until seeing several screenshots and raves about it on the net, which prompted me to give it another go. Thank goodness I decided to give it a chance as the second season is fantastic, to say the least.

The first season was insipid because the focus is on the school life aspect while the more appealing intergalactic setting and aliens in masquerade get demoted to the background for a relatively large part of the series. The whole ordinary kid stuck in extraordinary events read more
Jun 17, 2015
Cespar (All reviews)
Having a somewhat lackluster ending from the prequel I’ve never expected the quality difference between the prequel and sequel of the anime. I’ve watched the OVA (the Cipher) before this sequel. I recommend you should too as it is a liaison between the two parts.

*I will note that this sequel is more violent than its prequel. There is a reason why it’s rated R while the other is P-13. It follows a more mature subject matter and there are decapitations and yanking limbs.*

However it’s not violence and edgy scenes is what makes a better sequel.

*I will also note that it is mostly spoiler-free and read more
May 26, 2010
material115 (All reviews)
After the whole Ryunka incident that kill half of Tokyo and turn it into a pile of rubble in first season the story continue............

If you already seen the first season you'll be surprise how good this s2 will turn out, it even make S1 looking seriously mediocre in comparison. Everything just being done better this time.

This time the new antagonist and the culprit behind the incident is introduce.

Prior to save the world plot in S1, S2 is consider more down to earth and focus toward aftereffect of the incident, How did it effect the people who were involve in it. read more
May 2, 2019
WeeabooHunter101 (All reviews)
Following on the coattails of one of my favorite anime, this sequel season come pretty close to matching the what I loved about the first season of Birdy the Mighty Decode.
One of the things I loved about this season was that almost the entire plot was focused on the impact of the events of the previous finale. Too often it feels that the trauma of the past are covered up or ignored by the narrative's world, or used only for some personal crisis.
Here, the finale is shown to have an intergalactic impact that drives characters forward in the plot, and it shows the many types read more
Sep 21, 2011
itsthatguy (All reviews)
Ladies and gentlemen, Birdy is back! And this second entry (or third depending on if you include the original OVA series) in the Birdy franchise certainly is a much different entity than the one that viewers encountered in the first season. The second season kicks off with a bang and a surprisingly high amount of gore not seen in the first season. These first few moments end up setting the tone for the rest of the season, which is much darker and more mature than the first.

The pacing of the story, which was somewhat slow and drawn out in the first read more
Jul 8, 2018
OddOtaku (All reviews)
If you've read my previous review of Tetsuwan Birdy Decode, you know I loved it but had a couple gripes with it. Well gladly I can say that Tetsuwan Birdy Decode:02 is much better. The villain isn't a meme. This time, it's a new villain who feels just as fitting in the cast with everyone else. Though, it does kinda feel now that everyone else is swept under the rug but it's likely because we already know about them. It even kinda goes to take them to show them recuperating from the previous seasons events that occurred. And Birdy has a new objective of keeping read more
Sep 22, 2010
Alinhje (All reviews)
I liked Decode 2 more than Decode, because it’s more about Birdy and her past then about fighting criminals (although that obviously also appears, since not all criminals involved with the Ryunka have been captured). Some new characters are introduced (however it is better to say, characters that are new to the watchers) and they make the series rather interesting. Decode 2 includes some unnecessary sidelines to the story, but they make the story feel more like a whole. I watched the series in high speed, because the more it progresses, the more interesting it gets.
I would give the series a 9/10, but there’s something read more
Sep 23, 2012
VermillionGhost (All reviews)
This is my first review, so I'll keep it short for two reasons. Firstly, I don't really know what I'm doing, secondly I watched this series ages ago.
That being said, it pissed me off enough to remember to review it here.

I watched the first series mostly because I saw it had Micah Solusod voicing the lead role. Hey, Soul (Soul Eater) was cool, so surely some of the coolness would rub off?

Which brings me to the sound of the series. I watched the english dub, and the cast was stellar. Big industry names were everywhere and it was a pleasure to play "guess-the-actor". However, read more
Dec 10, 2017
DesolatePsyche (All reviews)
First things first. My "reviews" system is explained on a blog entry. Which can be found through my profile.
------

✦Story
The story of human-looking alien space federation police girl and human boy body-sharing adventures continue. This time around story had similar aspects, its lore/past, its tragedy, its drama and its romance. Only this time the focus of characters was different. Meaning that drama/past/conflict and romance was between different characters. Nevertheless I found the story quite good, emotional, fun, well presented, good development and so on. It was simple 7, it was good, fun and enjoyable. My biggest complaint would be that some romantic developments were read more
Jan 29, 2016
KR5-S14Kouki (All reviews)
Well I just recently watched this series and this review will be on both seasons. I wanted to write something because this anime came off as surprisingly entertaining. When I first saw the cover-art of Tetsuwan on anime sites, I wasnt very intrigued and didnt feel the slightest interest in it, one reason being it looked somewhat childish, I mean birdy's outfit is kinda, how do you put it colorful? Anyway it looked more like a shoujou and not that shoujou's arent good but im a guy so they usually dont appeal to me. Another reason I didnt feel interest was because from the description read more