Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Guin Saga


Alternative Titles

Japanese: グイン・サーガ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2009 to Sep 27, 2009
Premiered: Spring 2009
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Aniplex
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Satelight
Source: Light novel
Genres: Adventure, Fantasy
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.231 (scored by 11,703 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #28372
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2316
Members: 34,769
Favorites: 122

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 22, 2010
Archaeon (All reviews)
This review is dedicated to Imaoka Sumiyo, better known as Kurimoto Kaoru, the author of Guin Saga, who passed away in May 2009. Few can come close to matching what you have achieved as a writer and author.




As a fan of science fiction and fantasy, I'm always on the lookout for enjoyable stories, and this is one of the reasons why I'm such a fan of anime. Imagine my surprise then, when I learned that a series that I've only ever managed to read parts of (and small sections they were too), and that I have tried on numerous occasions to find in English, was read more
Mar 24, 2011
Nipsirc (All reviews)
Considering 2009 was the first year i really started to notice that fewer shows were getting released year on year, it is truly surprising this project got the go ahead at all. Guin Saga is truly a faithful depiction of classic Fantasy/Adventure story telling, for better and for worst.

The story sets up and has the potential to be an epic masterpiece, the scale and complexity of the tale is vast, and ambitious, and while the scale of the story is rarely an issue, the show doesn't quite get there.

What the show does well, is what i would describe as the political aspect of the adventure, read more
Jun 9, 2009
RainSprite (All reviews)
Preliminary
**Only watched the first 9 episodes**

After watching the first 9 episodes, I can say "Guin Saga" has a lot of potential and has proved to be rather enjoyable. Guin, an unusual leopard-headed man, awakens in the dangerous Forest of Rood without any memories except for the names Guin and Aurra. It is then that he wishes to find more about himself and why he is the way he is (a leapord head with a human body). When in the forest, he comes across the parros twins, a princess and prince. As they are being hunted down by Mongaul soldiers, he takes the twins along with read more
Oct 18, 2009
firebread00 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Guin Saga is a very interesting show. It gets you all pumped up with the action and fight sequences in the first half and plays with your emotions and keeps you guessing with complex political exchanges. As a preface, I have yet to see the entire show, I can't find the last two with subs, and the version I'm critiquing is a fansub, so dialogue and actual character development may, and probably will, differ from the official version. Needless to say, I am excited for official release.

Story: They do a pretty good job of introducing all the main characters in the first two or three read more
Dec 10, 2009
Onslaught2k3 (All reviews)
Not having read any of the novels this great yet short series is based off, I really liked the presentation, development, and the events which took place throughout this series.

This story surrounds the main protagonist, Guin. I myself never seen a barbarian-like man with the head of a Leopard! That was the main reason why I got interested in this show and I surely hope it's the reason for others. Besides our bold, responsible, refined, and primal-powered warrior role-model mentioned, the music, side characters, sub-plotting and development are just outstanding!

Though Guin is a very powerful soldier and leader, read more
Nov 14, 2009
Neji (All reviews)
Well my first review, so bare with me. I decided to write this review because all of the other reviews for this series are positive ones, but this is really a mediocre show at least it turned out to be. This review is for people who have not seen it yet and are thinking giving it a chance.

This is a pathetic show, with very minimal enjoyment and even less value. It started pretty good. It was a tail of adventure of Guin, a mysterious warrior and his search for his identity (yes, amnesia). The first part of the series is the presentation of the characters read more
Mar 1, 2015
Markezzo (All reviews)
The royal twins of Parros have been driven on the run after their kingdom becomes overrun by enemies, and during their flight they come across Guin, a leopard-headed warrior seeking his lost memories of the past.

Be warned. If you’ve heard anything about Guin Saga it is most likely the fact that the story isn’t finished. The anime covers only around a tenth of the entire saga, written by Imaoka Sumiyo. This is not news and is simply something one needs to accept when going into the series, therefor I would mainly recommend Guin Saga to those that love pure high fantasy.

I will say that read more
Apr 11, 2016
AnthraxHierarchy (All reviews)
(99% spoiler free, a very small hint about the ending, but I don't go into detail about what actually happens).

Another great medieval-fantasy themed anime. This was actually quite good and mature for being PG. However, I watched the anime before ever hearing about the manga and found out the manga is actually much more gory and it seems to have been cut from the anime. I personally don't know why I think they should've kept it in all its glory. Anyway, the only negative thing I have to say about this anime is the ending is left as a cliff hangar because the original read more
Sep 30, 2013
mudball2 (All reviews)
The reason my interest was piqued for Guin Saga was because I was already a fan of Nobuo Uematsu's band Earthbound Papas. They performed a piece called Thread of Fate and the song was entrancing to the point where I became curious of it's origin.

I did research on Guin Saga and was surprised to find that it was a novel that was in publication since 1979 and the series had to be concluded after the author's untimely death. I felt emotionally attached to the series before I had even started to watch it as a result of this prior knowledge that I had attained. read more
May 14, 2013
Nnavd (All reviews)
Guin Saga certainly started out with an interesting premise and the thrill of all that high fantasy, but fell into a twisted mess of poorly done politics. Even with the politics, it was a decent watch and left some intrigue to the viewer.

Now call me edgy if you want, but oddly enough, it's an anime about a leopard man with a big sword killing everything left and right - but I can say almost certainly - not a drop of blood is spilled in the ENTIRE series. The swords do not cut ANYTHING, the one scene where someone is decapitated results in only read more
Oct 14, 2011
JackCox (All reviews)
A man who cannot remember his own past, he has the face of a panther. Two Twins who were whisked away from their homeland now struggle on their own in real danger, this is the story of Guin Saga.

Story: The Story of Guin Saga is very well-written, the characters grow and change as the story moves along, especially seen in Remus more than any other character, I think where I have to dock it marks is the fact that the story had a bit of a inconclusive ending specifically near the last five minutes of the final episode, I think there was something with read more
Feb 8, 2014
eddo209 (All reviews)
Reasons this show rates so high on mal: people who haven't finished it (It has no freaking ending), people who enjoy the books.

That's my reasoning for how this trainwreck got such a high score. The anime starts off promising, a badass mysterious leopard-headed warrior kicks some ass defending two royal kids. Did you like that? Good, cause it's all downhill from here.

From the few sword fight scenes that feature no blood whatsoever. To the awkward dialogues with characters standing still staring blankly in front of them. To the adult warrior hitting on the pre-teen princess, scoring, and then deciding "hey! I'm leaving now!". To the read more
Sep 14, 2018
EggheadLuna (All reviews)
Kentaro Miura’s Berserk blatantly ripped off its story from Guin Saga. I know that Miura cited Guin Saga as an influence, but if Kaoru Kurimoto had never written this epic novel series―Berserk wouldn’t be what we know it as today. Kurimoto’s fantasy tale is very political and yet it focuses heavily on character dynamics; it is exactly the type of formula that I look for in a created-world setting. Many other high-fantasy series that I’ve consumed have only focused on world-building or the just character focus with a lazily written escapist setting, but Guin Saga finds a perfect medium.

• The execution, on the other hand, could read more
Sep 8, 2017
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
An animated adaptation of the decades-long medieval fantasy-adventure novel series, Guin Saga focuses on a leopard-headed man named Guin with no memories of his past and finds himself tasked with having to protect the young twin heirs in line of the throne to the kingdom of Parros, Remus and Rinda.

Guin Saga is a series that many older anime fans may reflect back to older medieval fantasy-adventure anime titles like Record of Lodoss War and Berserk with its storytelling and characters. For an older series, Guin Saga offers a rich world that it takes the time to explore dabbling into medieval elements, magic, and supernatural creatures. read more
Apr 8, 2016
Dovber_Gurevich (All reviews)
Amazing Story. Amazing Characters. But the voices make me cringe. Don't rewatch it. If you've never watched it, It's worth giving a try. I watched it a while back and I liked it so I decided to rewatch it I started watching the first episode after 5 minutes of the horrible voices I couldn't stand it. If you decide to watch it I suggest watching subbed not dubbed. A problem with the story is that it's mainly violence and boring stuff but there are several episodes that I loved I don't want to get into details or I'll spoil it for you. The show is read more
Oct 8, 2011
steamwolf (All reviews)
Guin Saga is a 26 episode anime based off of the longest running fantasy novel series in the world, also named "Guin Saga". The plot is "supposed" to be about a man with a leopard mask permanently affixed to his head who has amnesia, and is incredibly strong (strong enough to punch people into the dirt like he's planting them).

Basically, these two twins who are the heirs to the kingdom of Parros find their kingdom is under a sneak attack by the Mongaul army, a neighboring kingdom, and then the two twins are placed into an ancient machine (also called the ancient machine lulz) and read more
May 18, 2017
AraelDranoth (All reviews)
Now don't get me wrong... I loved this anime and I am shocked that it has such a low score considering its overall quality.

It had fantastic music that made me feel as though I were watching an anime version of a Conan the Barbarian novel.

Its action sequences were very well done and the strategy of the combat was excellent as well.

Its art was... interesting. The twins had very chubby cheeks and I swear that the little monkey girl had one of the ugliest animated noses I've ever seen but all in all the art was very good.

The titular character is interesting, read more
Aug 21, 2013
cheidiotou (All reviews)
I REALLY wanted to give this 1/10. The version I watched certainly deserved it! Alas, the version I watched was the dubbed, and I can't fault the story, animators, or original voice cast for what may be one of the worst performances by an English voice cast. Frankly, I'm surprised none of the English cast ever stopped in the middle of their lines to just say "are people REALLY going to buy into this crap we're giving?" because I'm certain that no one would have bothered to edit it out. It's actually so bad that I was motivated to finish the series for the laughs.

Anyway, read more
Apr 15, 2013
Tracassin (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well, then , I don 't think there are a lot of things I could add , but for once , I have to say that I found an outstanding piece of fantasy .Why ?

We all know that the writer at the origins of this adaption is known for her beautiful work . So story-wise , we can only applaud : it ' s a nearly perfect balance of action, diplomatic and politic schemes , exciting adventures and the plot has enough complexity to deviate from the classical and overused ''I am gonna save XXX Prince/Princess of XXX Land read more