Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Shikabane Hime: Kuro


Alternative Titles

English: Corpse Princess: Kuro
Synonyms: Shikabane Hime Second Season
Japanese: 屍姫 玄

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 1, 2009 to Mar 26, 2009
Premiered: Winter 2009
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Gainax, feel.
Source: Manga
Genres: Action, Horror
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.381 (scored by 26,900 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #22002
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1562
Members: 60,418
Favorites: 108

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 11, 2009
NoIceCreamForYou (All reviews)
I'm not sure why they decided to make Kuro into a second season, rather than just episodes 14-25 of Aka. Then again, who am I to doubt the genius of those who decided to make a story about sexy, gun-wielding, zombie chicks. For those who haven't watched Aka, go watch it. Those who have will find that not much has changed. There is a lot more ecchi/fanservice, because we obviously didn't get enough of our necrophilia fixation in season one. Don't get me wrong, I appreciate ecchi humour just as much as the next guy, but I can't help but feel they're sending the wrong read more
Jun 14, 2016
LeaderTGW (All reviews)
Have you ever just sat back, or laid down, and started to marathon an entire series because it's either unique or interesting? This was my case with the Shikabane Hime series

Story 7.6

I was a little disappointed that the real "plot" and "story" started a bit late. However I love how the helped with the building up drama for the climax of season 1 and the start of the second season. Now what I found interesting and a little disappointing too is that they changed quite a lot of things from the original source. This was very noticeable from the beginning of the season 1 and read more
Apr 23, 2009
Dorothea (All reviews)
Story
The concept behind the show is decent. The difference between an attachment to the world, which is what drives the Corpses, and the more fundamental concept of one's underlying Nature, was good. The constant reminder that the Shikabane Himes are not human beings was a good source of conflict in all the priests' relationships with the himes. Tthe plot never did much with these themes though. Other than one twist at the end, the story was predictable and pretty much a standard monster-fighting show.

Art
The main characters were well designed, the action was pretty good, and it managed to be creepy fairly often. Nothing read more
Sep 28, 2010
Aurynia (All reviews)
Shikabane Hime is kickass. The art is great, the animation is pretty awesome, and the story is well thought-out and structured.

The thing I love best, BEST, BEEEEEEEEST about this is:

Being a female, the fanservice can get extremely tiring in anime sometimes. Shikabane Hime is one of the few anime I've ever seen where the female characters kick so much ass and do it without all of the annoying fanservice. I haven't seen a single panty shot and the angled views that usually show the "goods" aren't excessive. Most of the angled shots are for the action scenes, and purely that. The only full-on fanservice read more
Jan 7, 2015
xsis (All reviews)
The second season of Shikabane hime:kuro,the story occurred 6 month after the main event of Shikabane hime:Aka and after the dead of Makina contractor monk Keisei.As for Makina to full fill her contractor dying wish that to accept his younger brother as her temporary new contractor monk for prevent him to slowly to generate to become a Shikabane,at this second season it reveal the truth behind Shikabane as the legend said for the Shikabane's that manage to killed 108 corpse they will going to heaven however that legend was only a fake made by the monk organization for all the Shikabane HIme that answer has read more
Sep 6, 2013
blob (All reviews)
Shikabane Hime : Kuro is the continuation of the series Shikabane Hime : Aka. There's not really a difference in time, it just continues like if it were the same series. My review will contain spoilers - the first part of this review is basically full of my emotions, whereas the second part is a bit more objective - hope you enjoy.

This is one of the best watches I've had in a LONG time. Action (GOOD action), DEATHS (YES), Horror, Drama, this shit is straight up awesome and really, the "unfinished ending" does not really bother, since the anime has everything pretty much covered read more
Aug 4, 2018
VergilLeonidas (All reviews)
Well, that sure ended abruptly. The ending is honestly the only downfall of this series that most of the fanbase can probably agree on, everything else can come down to a preference, but the ending is hardly the best thing about this anime. Now I am well aware that the manga was yet to be finished by the time it got the anime adaptation so some things may be different, but I doubt I’ll go and read it, unless it pops up translated where I live. If someone has read the complete manga, please feel free to tell me if the main plot points are read more
Nov 5, 2015
Luquillo (All reviews)
The battle with one of the members of the Seven Stars ends tragically, and Makina and Ouri find themselves having to deal with the loss of a close friend. Makina is put under observation by her handlers, the Kougan Sect, while Ouri is forced to train into becoming a monk. While this is going on, the Seven Stars begin to reveal their plan to annihilate their enemies. -summary

Corpse Princess: Kuro features the last 12 episodes, and in addition to still focusing on action, the anime makes an attempt in telling more of a story. It follows the usual format by revealing more character background and read more
Nov 3, 2009
undeadsarcasm (All reviews)
From the very beginning of the season, you can tell that they are tackling season 2 differently.

I would say that it was hard to adjust to the absence of Keisei and at times I felt that the characters of Umehara and Fresh (or Flesh) were a sad substitute.

By the end of the first episode, I was back in the game. The relationship between Makina and Ouri is fantastic and it always keep you guessing about what will happen next to those two.

There was an obvious change in artwork, looking drastically different from Aka. It was a bit distracting.

All in all, great stories, action sequences, and read more
Feb 21, 2018
TheRedLine (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story:
direct continuation of first season

Art:
Generic late 2000's art style with a more muted color pallet

Sound:
Background music is bland and the VA's out just do there jobs while not being very good at displaying emotion(or over doing it)

Characters:
Terrible

Enjoyment:
none.

Overall - this anime series is bad, really bad. all the bad stuff that has happened is becasue the good guys refused to kill the bad guy. Because they dont kill him even though they have had many many chances he always escapes and is the free to go off and kill more people since the good guys and chicken shits.

I couldnt keep watching past read more
Jan 13, 2018
BabyGirl06301 (All reviews)
I think my favorite thing about this season is seeing how everybody dealt with the aftermath of season one, which, of course, determines the plot direction of season two.

I absolutely adored the direction that Makina and Ouri's characters took, both together and separately. They sort of broke together and fixed themselves together. It was very beautiful to watch unfold, and I'm glad that the ending of the first season didn't adversely affect the second. I was worried that the series would be lacking from that point on, but it was much the opposite.

I do wish we'd gotten to see our lead characters fighting the read more
Nov 27, 2014
nanyatimz (All reviews)
[THIS REVIEW IS WITH REGARDS TO BOTH SEASONS.]

Story: 6/10

The story was nowhere near great. But overall, it had its own scale of potential. A killing lassie owning a dual uzi-machine guns set to find revenge on her death is such a cool starting idea. Shikabane Hime series definitely got the right mindset on how to start with a bang. But as the story gets more developed, it went blurry and hard to appreciate. For sure, the series had its own good moments but honestly, that prove to be fatal as Shikabane Hime only had a handful of them limiting the storytelling into a mediocre one.

Sound/Art: read more
Apr 13, 2012
PPPPang (All reviews)
I really enjoyed watching an anime like this. Great story with my emotions involved and a must watch series. The only problem I found was the ending... if you have watched the entire series you will understand that the ending of episode 12 in Shikabane Hime: kuro/ episode 25 of the full storyline was just wrong. the to be continued sign made me so happy but to find out there was no more episodes broke me. aside from that it was a great show and I really enjoyed it.
Dec 9, 2012
mrsKWON (All reviews)
Too be honest, I was expecting so much from this season as the previous season was not really interesting but I guess, I was expecting too much and I ended up disappointed!

I strongly believed that the story was made so out of proportion. Too much tragedy and too much drama which was not justify until it finishes. Most of the time I was irritated by lots of things like the story, characters, dialogues, and most importantly the ending which is very important whether a story is good or bad. Every scene had too much tragedy and drama almost like Elfren Lied. It was no longer read more