Maria†Holic

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Maria†Holic
Synonyms: Maria+Holic, MariaHolic
Japanese: まりあ†ほりっく

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 4, 2009 to Mar 22, 2009
Premiered: Winter 2009
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Shaft
Source: Manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, ParodyParody, SchoolSchool, Shoujo AiShoujo Ai
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.061 (scored by 6413164,131 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #33942
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #948
Members: 143,864
Favorites: 494
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 1, 2009
KaminaKai (All reviews)
*A great entertaining product by SHAFT backed with hilarious out-of-the-blue jokes.*

"I-I don't even understand the letter C in Catholic!" - Miyamae Kanako

If I was asked to describe Maria + Holic in one word, I believe “wordy” will suit this show perfectly. The amount of monologues in the show is tremendous! Plus the “rail gunning” of words shooting back and forth between the characters simply makes the anime difficult to follow without pauses in between (assuming you need to read the subtitles). And the occasional weird reference to various things also contributes to the complexity of the show for an average viewer. These issues may turn read more
Jul 20, 2009
Skadi (All reviews)
Maria Holic is a series which starts out with unexpectedly great promise and expectations only to fall on its face and drown itself in a pool of its own blood (literally).

I can’t say that the initial premise of this show intrigued me at all. Cross-dressing sadists... again? Honestly I just don’t understand the fascination Japan has with boys dressing up and pretending to be girls, and being creepily good at it too. Yet when this show was airing, it had some unexpectantly good word of mouth and early reviews so I thought I would give it a chance. Our protagonist is read more
Jan 16, 2009
Unitedsticks (All reviews)
Preliminary
-= So far I've only seen 2 episodes, but please, read my review.=-

Story: The plot, in my opinion, is actually original in some way. A innocent (or perverted) love struck Lesbian who gets hives from males and a cross dressing male who has a sick but yet genius (and or perverted) mind (and quite a secksi face ^-~) meets and conflicts with one another. There is no anime out there with a similar and interesting plot. :P

Art: The art is quite good. The effects they put in work really well with the scene. The motion of the characters is also quite fluid. Also the chibi read more
Feb 17, 2009
GuitarHero (All reviews)
Keep in mind this is a review, not a summary! If you want a summary go to wikipedia.

Story: The story in this show is actually somewhat unique. Dealing mainly with a rather funny (closet) lesbian lead character, Kanako, who has problems with guys (she actually contracts hives if she comes in contact with them) and another lead character, Mariya, who is actually a male cross dresser but looks rather feminine. The actual plot jumps around from episode to episode but has so far remained genuinely entertaining and by episode 6, the larger plot of the show all together is revealed to you.

Art: The animation in read more
Apr 19, 2011
Moon_Light (All reviews)
“Yay! A gender bender, sort of” That was my original reaction after reading Maria+Holic’s summary. Twelve long episodes later the only words that could sum up what I felt was, “HUGE Disappointment”.

The story follows Kanako and leads us through her first day at, Ame no Kisaki Academy. Like every first anything she’s nervous yet excited at being in an unknown place with unknown people. To really understand this anime you have to know a little about our very own heroine.

Kanako is searching for what we all want, the perfect girl. Well, most of us, but true nonetheless. Being allergic to boys since read more
Mar 24, 2013
Radeon (All reviews)
Attracted by one of the main character of Maria Holic to watch the series, the infamous Mariya Shidou, only to know that he was actually a crossdressing guy was a heartbreaking moment for me.

After the first few episodes of Maria Holic, a comedy/parody/drama anime, I got rather bored. At least 50% of the humor presented in the anime wasn't really that funny, sure it did make me smile or grin for a few times in some of the scenes but there were only handful of scenes that actually made me laugh.

I was planning to drop the series entirely after first few episodes, but then read more
Jan 16, 2014
Nolifeking13 (All reviews)
DON'T WATCH THIS CRAP.

I usually enjoy watching series only for comic reliefs and for laughs but this I didn't have a single shred of enjoyment.

I forced myself into completing the series since I usually complete a whole series whenever I start one but this anime is one of my worst experience.

All the characters annoying, no story not that it matters in this type of series but each and every time I watch an episode I just wanna hang myself.

This review is from my worst experience and I don't want others to experience the same so don't watch this anime.
Sep 1, 2009
ConnorCrook (All reviews)
Ahh, Maria†Holic. Being a natural lover of anything SHAFT churns out of their brilliant studio, I decided to start watching it. If you've seen Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei, you'll instantly feel familiar with the eccentric art of Maria†Holic.

Story - 7

Another thing you'll become familiar with if you've watched Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei is the story. Not because of how similar they are. No, they couldn't be any more different. You'll become familiar with the nonsensical, silly, parody-esque story immediately.
Now, also like Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei, this anime doesn't take even its own story seriously. If you're looking for a story-driven, deep anime, this is not it. However, read more
Sep 19, 2009
SamFury (All reviews)
Orientation at Ame No Kisaki

We stand at the silver oak lined gates of Ame no Kisaki, a Catholic all-girls boarding school, where pretty girls mature into beautiful ladies from the nurturing of Mother Mary’s principles. Ame no Kisaki is a dream of any man, a garden flourishing with budding womanhood. It’s also to dream of any woman, who happens to be a lesbian. Enter Kanako, our token perverted lesbian. She has come to Ame no Kisaki, for one thing, to find her fated lover.

On her first day touring the grounds she meets Mariya Shidou, young, cute and blonde. Kanako instantly falls in love, befriending her read more
Oct 23, 2012
xMichi (All reviews)
Okay the thing is... I just don't get it. I don't get why they came up with such a crappy story as this. It's not very realistic, and it really tries to make you laugh. Which in my case...totally failed.

Well the story is about a girl who's a lesbian that transfers to the school both her parents went to( even though it's a girls school, but I believe they said that her father was a teacher there or something). She transferred to that all-girls-school in the hope to find the love of her live, like her parents did. There is this beautiful girl( Mariya), read more
Sep 26, 2009
ace52387 (All reviews)
There are few things in the world more subject to taste than comedy, which makes grasping for the objective in an evaluation of maria holic a difficult task. Take this review with more salt than usual.

I tend to prefer the simple punchlines in the likes of Hyakko or 4 panel mangas. Mariaholic has none of that, but has a nice balance of recurring gags, non sequiturs, references and self deprecating humor. Kanako is a closet lesbian genuinely allergic to guys. She thinks her life has taken a dramatic turn for the better when she steps foot in her new, all girls read more
Apr 4, 2011
Inushinde (All reviews)
I went into Maria Holic with mixed expectations. Everyone that I had talked about it with beforehand either told me it was a wonderful comedy that skewered a genre in need of some massive skewering, or it was too sick and dark to be labeled as such.

At first, I was in the latter camp. I found the humor to be lacking, with the abuse hurled towards Kanako almost being too much to bear. I couldn't describe it to a friend without making it sound like I stumbled upon the next School Days. Yet around the end, at about episode 8, I started to see read more
Jun 25, 2009
kuroneko420 (All reviews)
This is not your usual anime where it starts with some typical 16 year old male high school student.

You have a totally awesome sadistic crossdresser and a lesbian! Plus other fun characters (Dorm leader).

This just leaves me with asking for more.
May 29, 2017
totalbodyworkout (All reviews)
Preliminary
It's a Shaft anime, so yeah, blah blah art's good whatever. Watched half of this with a friend a good while ago because they know I like yuri, and I was sort of intrigued with the premise at first--despite the flaws of the series being evident from the start, and my younger self having less of a functioning bullshit detector, I thought there was something cool and maybe even groundbreaking about a female protagonist who is unabashed about her exclusive attraction to other women. This hope didn't last long. The show delights in tormenting lesbian protagonist Kanako and almost immediately devolves into a parade of read more
May 3, 2009
x3sonjae (All reviews)
Preliminary
SO FAR SO GOOD! > If you know me, you know how much I pay attention to the sounds and I love the soundtrack played throughout the anime, especially during the melancholic sections > The story is easy to follow and has great twists and turns from the very first episode. > The art is well defined and the characters are so quirky and wacky its just hard not to love them. > I enjoyed it from the first episode so when I finish this episode, judging by what I've already watched - this may very well be a favorite in the near future.

Overall read more
Mar 30, 2009
Unregistered00 (All reviews)
Perverted Lesbian + Evil Cross Dresser = Fun

Without Maria and Matsurika this series will become another post 1st season Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei.

On to the review:

In the tradition of the earlier Shaft comedies (Pani Poni Dash, Negima, Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei) this is an episodic comedy. As with most episodic comedies there isn't exactly a real story. In short this is all about the gags even though some of them are too overexplained and simply fail.

Kanako with Maria and Matsurika is comedy gold. Kanako with other characters who's names escape me usually equates to fail. The problem here is that Maria+Holic uses the KMM combo sparingly. read more
Sep 20, 2009
MelonLord1 (All reviews)
First off, for the sake of not getting bashed by other fans of this series,I would like to say that this is my first review i have ever written for THIS site...oh, people are still reading this? OK THEN!

Take one love struck teenager of the same sex as the rest of the charecters who suffers chronic nosebleeds at the site of a female body, throw in a cross-dressing boy who looks as beautiful if not more beautiful than the rest of the FEMALE cast with a sadistic yet thoughtful personality, add a smart ,sarcastic, and monotone maid who does whatever the cross-dresser ask of her, read more
Jan 25, 2015
Doughkey (All reviews)
SHAFT really dropped the ball on this one. It was an anime about a blind maid and a transexual or something, there was almost no way it could have failed, and to top it all off: based SHAFT was behind it all. Of course I got hype. I still am hype even though the show isn't good.

The show isn't bad either because it was made by SHAFT. The issue is that if the animation was done by anyone other than SHAFT it wouldn't even be considered watchable because it is all just so slightly below average. Character are unadorned, stories are boring and cliche, and read more
Apr 6, 2009
mistah-manila (All reviews)
Maria+Holic is... well its interesting. I love the idea of a yuri complex anime with a girl in an all girls school. Truly the humor in here is very satisfying until you see Kanako's fiftieth nosebleed. Humor in here is also very crude, but satisfying with that extra "WTF?" humor. Plus the violence in here is pretty amusing (more in a sadistic kind of way, but hey a joke isn't funny unless someone is hurt).

BUT This anime has some major issues to work out! After the third episode, each episode is two stories, and both are pretty boring. Second, the supposed "romance" as described in read more
Jul 28, 2010
Derek89 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Maria Holic is an anime truly amazing with its contents yuri me
surprise since the first episode. Kanako is a girl who has just
moved into a women's religious school in order to find the
girl of his life XD is worse than a perverted male and falls in love
almost all his companions, Mary is the niece of former president of
school is a very pretty girl and very popular and admired the delicate
school ... but that hides a little secret is a guy XD XD. The two
discover their secrets and founded an 'anime truly exceptional full
of comedy, all sealed by read more