Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Aa! Megami-sama! (TV)


Alternative Titles

English: Ah! My Goddess
Synonyms: Ah! My Goddess! (TV)
Japanese: ああっ女神さまっ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 7, 2005 to Jul 8, 2005
Premiered: Winter 2005
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Bandai Visual, TBS
Studios: AIC
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.411 (scored by 60,482 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #20282
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #871
Members: 120,934
Favorites: 1,054

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 24, 2007
vadeka (All reviews)
Story:
hmm.. without spoiling anything, this could be hard to explain..
The story might advance extremely slow at times but I have never felt the need to skip parts(I often skip boring or long parts) You won't have episodes filled with explanations as happens often in anime these days, his isn't an anime where you will have 1001 questions in the beginning(well, you might have 1 or 2 if you're good at noticing the little things)

Art:
meh.. its clean, nice, detailed manga style.. You won't find any ugly or messy characters/objects so I think we can say its good.

Sound:
I don't realy notice sound a lot and the sounds read more
Feb 21, 2011
Kapuu (All reviews)
Story:
The story could certainly be hard to describe without spoilers, however if you have already watched the anime, heard about it, or simply read the synopsis, then please read on.

The story advances at a steady pace, however sometimes it can be slow while sometimes it can be fast. I personally thought the story was interesting, and it intrigued me to watch more and more of it. There are no filler episodes, as each episode contributes to something within the story. Thankfully no episodes have extremely long talks, nor do they have "no action". There will always be a little bit of action, and comedy in read more
Jun 15, 2008
tigerz (All reviews)
Introduction
Ah! My Goddess is a light-hearted, sweet, fantasy without serious romance or ecchiness. It's a great anime to watch if you are not looking for anything special but rather sit and relax to an easy viewing. As mentioned by other reviewers, I think girls will like this series more than guys because of the strong female lead and role reversals. However, those hard-core romantics who are seeking relationship development and ecchi harem loving guys should look elsewhere.

Story
The story starts out centered around the male lead, Keiichi, who has no luck but is still kind and generous to others. When given read more
Jul 13, 2007
lchoister (All reviews)
Ah! it was kinda painful for me to watch. A!MG is the story of Keiichi, a college student down on his luck and part of the Auto Club with weirdo senpais. That sentence in it of itself would lead one to believe that it is a very interesting anime but in actuality, it wasn\'t.

Don\'t get me wrong, some of my friends actually loved it because it was so sweet, I\'m just not one of them. The idea of a goddess agency in heaven to assist kami-sama in helping the unfortunate is great but I think the plot could have read more
Apr 2, 2011
Krissasaur (All reviews)
Preliminary
I found this anime extremely boring, which is really sad, because it has so much potential. There were even parts of the show where I thought, "Oh! This will get good! I will get story!" but instead it was nothing. D:

Only watch this if you like pointless anime romantic comedies where nothing really happens.

I am in shock by how different my thoughts on this anime were before I watched it... I had always thought it would be really cool...

I think I need to drop this. D:
May 6, 2008
Roncha (All reviews)
Preliminary
The art is not that goos, and sometimes the characther are annoying, but still - this anime is so good that I watch almost 4-5 episodes every day, and I never did this with another anime.

I liked the anime because the story is great, Urd rocks (!) and every episode always make want to see the other one!



BTW - the opening song is awasome!
Jun 19, 2008
Aphiel1 (All reviews)
I'm not going to lie I am a big fan of this series however there are still somethings I didn't like which require me to subtract one point from a perfect score. A lot of people I know tend to shy from this series saying it has perversion...? this series by far has been one of the cleanest romance/comedy series I have watched I will point that out now so I don't ramble about it later.
Story- Okay as far as storylines go I was impressed the storyline was kind of original if not strange at some points. The aspect I enjoyed the most was read more
Feb 22, 2014
Lelouch84 (All reviews)
When you're a (straight) guy who likes romance anime, but doesn't want all the ecchi/harem nonsense, but also dislikes how terrible the heroines are in more shoujo anime, there aren't a whole lot of options for you. Either the girl is super sexy or the girl is totally unattractive, leaving all the focus on the guy. there is unfortunately little middle ground in the romance anime world. This show is tending toward balance, but the male lead is severely neglected still.

The male lead is a wishy-washy guy with no confidence, who acts really pathetic. he does absolutely nothing to impress anyone, and proves totally useless read more
Sep 19, 2017
eatsnake (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well, it started off okay with lots of laughs and touching moments but I don't really like weak wussy main male characters. After 18 episodes, it gets a little tiring. Then again, it's my own opinion so if you enjoy watching the same old cliches where the characters get embarassed easily by the most mundane situations, this is a must watch.

Sometimes I find there's no real plot, every episode bring about a new situation for the couple to overcome, their love isn't really tested and most of the time you end up feeling disappointed even though they succeed in getting through that episode's trial.
Nov 23, 2009
KansaiClub (All reviews)
I am writing this review of my overall impressions of Ah! My Goddess Seasons 1 & 2, mainly because it felt like one long drawn out series to me. The show was very cute and enjoyable for a bit more than half of the first season, sadly I purchased both the complete first and second seasons before watching any episodes at all, based purely on the outstanding recommendations of others. Having bought all of the episodes (along with the OVA series and movie - neither of which I ever plan on watching) I forced myself to sit through the second half of season 1 and read more
Jul 31, 2008
GrooveArmada (All reviews)
Who wouldn't want a beautiful goddess like Belldandy to stay with them forever? (Though frankly I would rather have Urd. She is a hottie.) Having not seen any of the previous incarnations of this series I can't say which is the best, but this was a very entertaining version at least.

I'm not sure I really cared for the pace at which Keiichi and Belldandy's relationship progressed. As in, it seemed like it didn't. I guess I would have prefered them to get more alone time. As it was they seemed to have a rather bland (though devoted and loving) read more
Dec 23, 2012
3miL (All reviews)
What really pulled me a first was the title itself, I first thought it was a pun on the common phrase OMG!

As I watched, *some of the things there are things I actually want to happen to me* Imagine, the main character is just and ordinary student working as a mechanic part-time and all of a sudden, One phone-call mistake brings him the IDEAL GIRL! She’s great at cooking, singing, She’s kind, caring, and is devoted to Keiichi, one part I liked about it is when she said, "You can wish for anything, EVEN THE DESTRUCTION OF THE WORLD!!!"

The story itself revolves in a read more
Jan 13, 2016
Teenchib (All reviews)
Kind of boring Slice of Life. It wouldnt make any difference if the Goddesses werent Godesses but normal People, and People in the show state exactly what the Problem is, they tell Keiichi that even an elementary Romanze is more grown up than what he is doing... well, i dont have anything more to say than this. They keep introducing new Characters every 5 Episodes build them up as new Main-Sidecharacters just to drop them again and after that they may have 2 cameos 10 episodes later and thats it.
Conclusion: Its a rather hard to look, but tamed Harem/ecchi/slice of life anime but because its read more
Apr 29, 2009
BushidoMusings (All reviews)
It's difficult to review a show that defines why you enjoy anime, especially when it's not critically acclaimed. This said, Ah! My Goddess is a show that I will hold dear for quite some time. Let's face it, the show has charm.

The show, while quirky and admittedly cheesy, will forever remain one of my favorites. I immediately connected with Keiichi, but the true "ringer" was Belldandy. Never have I witnessed a female character that has drawn me in as Belldandy has. Some critics claim that the relationship between Keiichi and Belldandy is "unhealthy," stating that Belldandy is merely a reflection of the Japanese desire for read more
Dec 14, 2008
teejaeism (All reviews)
Story 8/10
The series has a very light-hearted approach, considering the personality and the kind of romance of the main characters, but, the story development is kinda slow, even the manga's story is slow, the development of each character should've been faster, but this made it more interesting, because it kinda show us how hard it is to live with three goddesses, it shows us that just because you have a goddess as your partner doesn't mean it's all fun and no work.

Art 7/10
The animation is pretty at times but sometimes it gets pretty choppy but nothing to worry about, Belldandy's Cuteness is safe nonetheless! hehehe read more
Jan 12, 2009
Mallik (All reviews)
The anime's premise starts with a poor boy, Keiichi, who can't get any luck on his side, no matter how many things he tries to do right (can't we all relate?).

However, his unheard plea for help is finally answered when the Goddess Help Agency (forget exact name) calls him and says they'll send someone right over.

Little did he know that she'd appear through a mirror.

Through a crazy turn of events, he asks his new Goddess, Belldandy, to stay by his side forever.

The magic is sown and throughout the series more Goddesses come to live with him and cause his life to become a living romance read more
May 12, 2016
ABCZ (All reviews)
A fairytale romance that seems to start after the happily ever after.

I'm always skeptical of these kinds of 'harem-esque' romance stories, it's so easy to neglect a strong narrative and character depth for simple (male) wish fulfillment. On the face of it "Aa! Megami-sama!" is guilty on both counts and yet...it's so sweet you can't help but smile. It's simple, the plot goes nowhere, it's hardly laugh a minute yet it's joyous mood is infectious and if that's what they were going for the intro is perfect. Aa! Megami-sama! is the cotton candy of animes and there's really nothing wrong with that.
Aug 15, 2012
SirDuck21 (All reviews)
Ah my Goddess is a very enjoyable anime especially if you just want to sit back and relax and watch something less serious, It has lot of funny and quirky moments which will leave a smile on your face and wondering what will happen next!

This anime is very hard to review without spoiling to much though,

Some people may find the character progression in this series a little slow and tedious but If your like me you wont mind this as even the filler episodes are decent to watch and will keep you entertained.

The Series doesn't have the most serious setting but it does show a read more
Apr 9, 2017
Xeleria (All reviews)
To put it simply, this is a good older anime. The art style, for the time, was great. The sound profiles for the beginning and ending titles were also definitely on my favorite list. Now on to the good parts. Over-all this anime is a tear jerker. The story line is a slow-paced, easy setting and is easy to follow. However I was very disappointed in the character development concerning the main character. He doesn't grow very much through this VERY long series. I enjoyed the character development of the secondary characters a lot more then the main, which i believe is very poor planning read more
Mar 10, 2019
rohan121 (All reviews)
The story of this anime is mostly character driven which varies with each episode. The art is pretty standard. The music was enjoyable, but not too memorable.

The best thing about this anime is definitely the characters. I liked the characters a lot partially due to their interactions with others being very unpredictable. This anime is full of comedy in which it succeeds in doing very well. I also enjoyed the setting of the anime which tended to vary a lot. The supernatural elements and hilarious antagonist also made this show very enjoyable. If you are looking for a read more