Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?

Cowboy Bebop: Tengoku no Tobira

Alternative Titles

English: Cowboy Bebop: The Movie
Synonyms: Cowboy Bebop: Knockin' on Heaven's Door
Japanese: カウボーイビバップ天国の扉


Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Sep 1, 2001
Producers: Sunrise, Bandai Visual
Studios: Bones
Source: Original
Duration: 1 hr. 54 min.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)


Score: 8.411 (scored by 87,637 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1492
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #372
Members: 134,372
Favorites: 531


Nov 10, 2008
Cowboy Bebop: Knockin' on Heaven's Door is a great addition to the Cowboy Bebop series, but no more. It is by no means a sequel, and after watching it, I found that it's best watched in the middle of the series, and not neccesarily at the end. If it's got a specific place or not, that I don't know, but that's not very important at any rate, and if you've watched the entire series, it shouldn't be hard to mentally place it inside the series anyway.

This time, a terrorist possesses a weapon capable of killing countless people, and there's a bounty of 300 million read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 24, 2008
Cowboy Bebop: Knockin' on Heaven's Door was released in Japan on September 1st, 2001. Shinichiro Watanabe stayed on as director, and it was produced this time by not only Sunrise, but also Bandai Visual (famous for their work on the .hack series and Dennou Coil), and Bones (famous for their work on Fullmetal Alchemist and Ouran High School Host Club). It was released Stateside by Bandai on August 11th, 2002.

It's just a few days before Halloween on Ganymede, a major national holiday, and a terrorist has blown up a tanker filled with a biochemical weapon. The government posts a 300 million Wulong read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 31, 2007
It was a good follow up (in-between, actually) to the series. I suggest that if you’re planning to watch Cowboy Bebop – Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door, you should watch after you get to the episode when Ed is introduced. You just need to get to know all 4 major characters to understand the movie.

I didn’t like it as much as the series, mostly because the series kept me interested by introducing new plot lines in each episode. Having to focus on one specific plot for 120 minutes was a bit exhausting. It has a nice plot – throughout the movie you’ll get why “Knockin’ on read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 22, 2007
I'm never that comfortable with films of series. Mostly, that's because all too often a film of a series consists of some kind of edited-all-to-hell clip show that tries and totally fails to boil down the story of a long series to a relatively much shorter film. Knockin' on Heaven's Door isn't that, which is very much in its favour. Rather, it's basically like a two-hour "lost episode" that belongs somewhere in the middle of the series - without spoiling anything, by the end of the series, there's characters missing who are still present in this film.

Another point in the film's favour read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 1, 2016
Cowboy Bebop: Knockin' On Heaven's Door (retitled in America as simply Cowboy Bebop: The Movie) is the full-length feature film based on the show of the same name.

All in all, this movie is basically like an extended episode of the anime series (and was apparently originally intended to be just that). It does not outshine the show, but does not sit in its shadow either. It holds its own against any number of the more "exquisite" episodes of the main series. (Biased me: They're all good to begin with, but you get my drift.)

The movie technically/officially takes place between episodes 22 and read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 18, 2014
Warning : minor spoilers ahead

It was a month ago when I finished cowboy bebop series, and i would say that i was a little bit disappointed. Why would I be disappointed? Well, mostly because many episodes almost feel like fillers, they don't support character development and some enemies just minor criminals/bounties and those villains rarely have interesting characters.

After sometime, I decided to watch the CB movie. And I would say the movie was very good. This movie has the elements that some cowboy bebop episodes lack. Mostly the well developed story and characters(villains).

Story (8/10)
"Which one is dream? Which one is reality? A 'deadman', searching read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 13, 2015
Okay guys, what's up all... It's 5:21pm as I'm writing this. What i have to say I was a little disappointed to see little in the way of either cowboys or dancing in the feature of the same name (which came out in Japan in 2001, but hit U.S. theaters briefly in the spring of 2003), but that's ultimately probably for the best. In the world of Cowboy Bebop, it's the year 2071, a time when the Earth has become almost uninhabitable and everyone has moved out to other planets in the solar system, like Mars. The plucky little band of bounty hunters who read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 3, 2014

How do you follow up a series as badass and flawless as Cowboy Bebop? This is a difficult task, but this movie did a pretty damn good job!

Plot and characters: 8/10

The plot obviously didn't have the time to create the same amount of character development, background, and depth that a 26 episode series has. However, the movie introduces a pretty decent antagonist with Vincent. Vincent is a bioterrorist who happens to bear a striking resemblance to Vlad the Impaler for whatever reason. He is a man haunted by a cruel past. This includes the brutal Titan War that Vicious and Gren also fought in during read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 10, 2016
I've never seen the anime movie like this! It is a masterpiece! The plot is awesome. The art was really given attention, I think the artist is a perfectionist or have an OCD because in every details everything is precisely the characters and scenery from the air pressure, shakiness, firing of bullets, drops of sweat and rain and eating noodles. The sound has a perfect timing, especially in the first part in the kick that was awesome. The background music is cool and jazzy. The characters, even the main villain are as usual interesting, especially Spike Spiegel the coolness and handsome. My eyes feast in read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 16, 2015
*Check the bottom for TL;DR*

My friend came round for A Level results celebration and so I was wondering what film to watch. As an anime fan I didn't really want to watch a normal film so I was wondering what anime film to watch. I also ordered a harmonica off amazon last week which came in the post today, so I've been playing harmonica all day so when I was thinking of films, I immediately thought of cowboy bebop. Because Cowboy Bebop is so good and so loved around the world, I checked to see if there was a movie, and praise the lord there read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 28, 2016
[contains spoilers]

"I love the kind of woman that can kick my ass"
So many countless good quotes...

This movie can be watched without watching the series but better if watched some episodes.

Not surprised that a movie was created for Cowboy Bebop: a masterpiece series with unique and amazing atmosphere and soundtrack.

The bulk of the story is about a terrorist that has the potential to kill a crowd of people with a weapon and has a huge bounty. It's up to Spike and his crew to get information and chase after the terrorist despite the enormous risk. Of course, other characters are also after the terrorist. read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 2, 2015
So the Cowboy Bebop basically got all the parts that the TV show didn't really capture, Spike is a cool guy at the forefront of a major kind of planetary issue, and it's cool to be on his side. Unlike the show, it plays up his charming and suave compassion/skill and less his burdened past and all that.

Also, Elektra is kind of this fiery sort of passionate personality which is a bit unusual in the Bebop world. I also personally was a fan of Spike being more active and focused in contrast to his usual lack-a-daisical attitude in the TV show.

There were also several read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 2, 2016
Cowboy Bebop: Knockin' on Heaven's Door does exactly what you would from a Cowboy Bebop movie. It’s got great music, interesting characters, well-choreographed action, great animation quality, and a whole lot of style. The Cowboy Bebop movie isn’t a sequel story, but rather a side story that is best treated as another episodic adventure of the Bebop crew. Note that this movie can be watched anywhere after watching Episode 9 of Cowboy Bebop and is best to watch it somewhere before you finish the series.

Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door’s plot centers on a terrorist, who has a bounty of 300 million Woolongs, whose goal is read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 22, 2011
O.K., let's face it; I haven't seen Cowboy Bebop: The Movie in a very long time now and let's note that I am a HUGE Cowboy Bebop fan and was quite disappointed to see the movie on television and say that it just wasn't my cup of tea.

Why did I think the movie was average compared to the reviewers here who thought it was great? Let's compare it to the show and see:

Cowboy Bebop: 9/10
Cowboy Bebop: The Movie: 6/10

Anyone who remembers the Cowboy Bebop series knew that the storyline was more detailed while simultaneously comedic. The drama read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 5, 2016
Cowboy Bebop, the Movie - ''Knockin' at Heaven's Door'' (2001)


The anime feature film was sponsored by the well-known, world famous ‘Tristar’ entertainment in association with the ‘Sunrise’ pictures. This animated anime feature film is or was a production of the famous ‘Bones’ studio, the one and only studio to be responsible for the one and only “Wolf’s Rain”; and was aired in the year 2001. The executive producer of this particular movie is Takayuki Yoshii (from the Sunrise pictures) with Ryohei Tsunoda (from the Bandai visuals: responsible for Jin Roh~The Wolf Brigade, 1999)
Mechanical design: Kimitoshi Yamane
Set design: Shihi Takeuchi
On IMDB, the movie holds a rating read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 30, 2016
With a show like "Cowboy Bebop" and it's episodic format (meaning status quo is returned to at the end of most episodes) it's only natural that a movie would come out of that franchise. I expected at least 2 or 3, but only got 1. But boy did they ever make it count! "Cowboy Bebop: Knockin' on Heaven's Door" is everything a fan of the show would want and/or expect from a feature length film. Perhaps even a bit more.

Our story pits the crew of the Bebop against arguably their greatest foe: a terrorist with a weapon that could wipe out billions. The man in read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 22, 2010
Meant to take place between episodes 22 and 23 of the series, "Cowboy Bebop - Knockin' on Heaven's Door" is just like an extra long episode of "Cowboy Bebop". It's got the same style, same humour, and even the same underlying melancholic feel. The production somehow manages to look even more expensive than the production of old, with the crisp animation shining through especially, featuring some fluid, breathtaking action sequences that's at least as good as anything in the series.

Having the "Cowboy Bebop" tag in front of the movie's title is both a blessing and a curse for the movie. The blessing is that it read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 10, 2013
I've been on a roll with this Cowboy Bebop show. Just finished the series earlier today, and now I'm done with the film. Let's jump into this review!

Cowboy Bebop: The Movie is essentially a high budget, longer than usual episode of the show. And you know what? There is absolutely nothing wrong with that. This time around, we've got Spike and company going up against Vincent, an ex-military soldier turned bio-terrorist. He's launched a campaign of carnage on Mars, leaving a path of destruction in his wake. Oh, and there's a 300 million Woolong bounty on the fellow.

It's a typical Cowboy Bebop story, and it read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 2, 2012
Knocking on Heavens Door by far one of my biggest cult classic anime films of all time.

I will tell you now this gets straight 10s across the board. This film is the follow up to the cowboy bebop series and its a great addition to the saga. In the series were left with some unanswered things and this movie is not about answering that or tying loose ends. This is like a really long episode of Bebop with a exceedingly deep plot.

You could kinda have guessed its like a episode since its named after a song by Bob Dylan like every episode in the series read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 4, 2009
It's a good film no doubt but it's definitely a bit too long. It plays like an extended TV episode (which isn't necessarily a bad thing) but unfortunately it isn't up there with the best episodes to be found in the series. Still it's always good to see Spike and the gang in action seeing as it looks like there isn't going to be a new series made anytime soon for obvious reasons! Its very stylised and is fantastically shot but it seems to drag at times. It would have been nice if it could've linked in a bit more of the Vicious/Julia/Spike backstory into read more
I found this review Helpful