Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Asu no Yoichi!


Alternative Titles

English: Samurai Harem
Synonyms: Ashita no Yoichi!
Japanese: 明日のよいち!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 9, 2009 to Mar 27, 2009
Premiered: Winter 2009
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:29 (JST)
Producers: Lantis, TBS, Movic
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: AIC
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.951 (scored by 77,245 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #37192
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #616
Members: 135,884
Favorites: 309

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 14, 2009
ManU-Alchemist (All reviews)
Before watching this anime I thought to myself, "This is probably one of those harems ecchi shows where a lot of girls fall for the same guy." Well it was almost that.

Instead of a lot of girls there was only two, Ibuki Ikaruga and Ayame Ikaruga. They fall in love with Yoichi Karasuma. But unlike many harems this anime has a credible storyline. Unknowingly Ibuki has a fiance. After many years he has finally come to wed his belowed. That's basically the jist of it. Yoichi and the girls try to overcome obstacles and challenges that are thrown at them.

AIC is known for creating read more
Aug 4, 2015
ChucriBZ (All reviews)
Asu no Yoichi is an average anime that lacks a lot to be good so don't watch it but if you want to, go ahead read what you're getting into.

Story
It's a Harem/Ecchi anime so you shouldn't expect anything special from this, the story is about Yoichi an overpowered samurai (but that makes sense because he spent his whole life training to be the best samurai), a samurai that wants to expand his knowledge on other abilities that he doesn't know so his father sends him to a Dojo that specializes in the same ability (really?), he wants to see if they can teach him something read more
Jun 29, 2013
lelelel (All reviews)
First review I’ve done-

It doesn’t matter significantly of what others think about a particular anime. Everyone has their own taste, so in general, a review should be based purely on what you thought about it. Prior to watching Asu no Yoichi!I did a little research on it and came to the conclusion that it’s a harem anime. New to this kind of genre, I took the liberty of trying it and at the end I really enjoyed it.

Asu no Yoichi! Is about a 17 year old samurai who has lived in a rural area for most of his life along with his father and some read more
Mar 28, 2009
setvenx (All reviews)
Im going to start off on a bad note because i feel that this mini series lacked a plot and has a pathetic excuse for one. HOWEVER this anime wasnt particularly bad unless you actually found the plot interesting(like i did) only to be disappointed that it was just to make the synopsis look pretty.

The one thing i did enjoy the most were the characters. Each character of the ikaruga household were unique and was interesting to watch the character development of each individual in the earlier episodes. A definite reason as to why i continued to watch this anime...

The comedy wasnt all as good read more
Jan 31, 2009
agau4779 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Asu no Yoichi, as described on this page, is about a samurai boy who was sent down the mountain by his father to live with four girls in a modern-day, Japanese city. The premise basically is another set-up for a harem anime, although three beautiful girls plus a cute younger sister is relatively small compared to traditional anime harems.

The overall story is more of a series of short scenarios, simple events in the characters' "everyday lives" more meant for humor than anything serious. So far, the mini-stories have been resolved quickly and simply- no truly deep or touching moments, but nevertheless somewhat vaguely heartwarming. read more
Apr 4, 2009
gdavge2003 (All reviews)
I first read the manga and found it to be good. I looked forward to Asu no Yoichi! the anime, and after all 12 episodes, it met my expectations.

Asu no Yoichi! is a comedy, harem about a teen samurai who has lived his entire life in the mountains with his father. He goes off to live in the city and stays at the Ikaruga house, ran by four sisters. With this setup, hilarity ensues, which is the main form of entertainment in Asu no Yoichi!.

The story consists of episodic events involving Yoichi, the Ikaruga sisters, and masked figures who apparently wants Yoichi dead, sending assassin read more
Mar 23, 2009
Nipsirc (All reviews)
Preliminary
To start off this show trys to embody way to many genres, and comes off being all over the place allot of the time for the sheer number of fan groups it's trying to please. Harem, action, comedy, drama and romance all try to take centre stage at various points. Action and drama both come off as really half assed, but the comedy does provide allot of genuinely funny moments, and as a harem it's definitely among the more likeable shows.

The story unsurprisingly has been highly episodic, and i'm going to throw in a spoiler here, they have a hot spring episode! who'd have guessed. read more
Jun 20, 2010
Vaynard2000 (All reviews)
The protagonist of the series is Karasuma Yoichi, a boy of 17 years who lived their whole lives in the mountains with his father to improve his technique for the sword. One day, Yoichi decided to go to town after his father said it was not possible to get stronger in this condition. By stepping on the town, Yoichi meets a girl of Ikaruga dojo and is received as a guest at the dojo, along with four living sisters Ikaruga.

History 8/10
A simple story made better .. Nothing unusual, a samurai who went to town for the first time and gets into a jam right away, read more
Feb 5, 2016
Joby05 (All reviews)
Summary: This anime was pretty good for the harem/fighting/ecchi genre. It is PG-13 so it doesn't go over the top like others and instead is more character and plot driven. The story wasn't too complex, the characters mostly fit into tropes and a lot of the comedy and plot line were pretty standard to the genre, but it did everything well enough and felt like a good addition. I specifically liked the character models even if they weren't anything special.

I view this as a good preview into the universe to help the viewer decide if they like the story enough to read the manga, read more
Mar 30, 2009
Unregistered00 (All reviews)
From the synopsis I think I know what you're expecting. Yes. It's your typical martial-arts love-comedy.

I didn't have to turn on my brain while watching this. It's pretty much your average and inoffensive shounen anime served in an average and inoffensive way. Perfect after a tiring day at school or at work.

On to the review:

Episodic almost throughout the whole 12 episodes. It doesn't try to be groundbreaking nor does it try to be "deep". However on what it did not try, it succeeded on making the anime fun. Let's face it, there are times that everyone would simply want to sit back, turn off their read more
Dec 11, 2014
Zeroskye (All reviews)
Story:
The story revolves around a samurai named Yoichi Karasuma who has lived in the mountains for all his life. After learning everything his father could teach him, he was sent to a dojo in the city. Surprise surprise, the dojo is the home of 4 girls. Now how will Yoichi survive as he tries to adjust to living with 4 girls in a world he's been secluded from his entire life.

Even with a full title like Samurai Harem: Asu no Yoichi, it still had the potential to be a satisfying romance despite the rampant amount of cliches. Unfortunately, it was not satisfying, but it read more
Jan 29, 2017
manoeltb21 (All reviews)
Asu in yoichi is one of those harem cliches in which the protagonist conquers all the girls around him and does not take any of them, but it is not a bad anime, on the contrary it can be good even being cliche.

The story of the anime is simple, yoichi is like a swordsman who lives in the mountains with his father and then leaves the mountains to live with the ikaruga sisters. The story doesnt have a good villain and doesnt follow a direction, are episodes made more to relax than to induce you to think, is more focused on comedy than in history read more
May 5, 2018
shy_boy (All reviews)
To tell the truth i didn't think i will enjoy this as much i did.At first i think this will be boring,and i will probably drop it at first two episodes,but i was wrong.I liked this anime a lot,don't get me wrong it wasn't perfect,but if you like funny anime to kill some time i would recommend this one.Characters are great,and funny.But if you want some great marshal arts and fights this one is not for you.You would be just fine if you would watch one episode per night to get some laughs before going to sleep.And if you like anime I would also recommend read more
Apr 25, 2015
leep11 (All reviews)
Asu no Yoichi! is surprisingly unwatchable. While not an absolutely terrible anime, there’s just simply nothing special about it at all. None of the characters in the show are memorable, the action is boring, the plot is predictable and even the fanservice is disappointing. I have to question the director’s decision to animate this show in the first place; after watching all twelve episodes, I had to ask myself, “So what? Why do I care about any of this?”

And frankly, I couldn’t find an answer. I simply could not bring myself to care about any of the characters in the show. Scripting and plot are read more
Oct 4, 2017
XxPOPTARTxX (All reviews)
I am not interested in writting a one page review so i will try to make it a quick review.
I loved this anime for just 4 episodes! But after that story will start going down like there will be soo mamy characters introduce i can't even remember their name. Girl character in this anime is good but seeing soo many heroes make this show cringy for me to be honest.

Story was decent nothing too special about it. It's not that enjoyable after 5th episode

Art was good no complain about that.

Sound was also good.

Enjoyment is not that good XD
May 4, 2013
Simonian (All reviews)
'Asu no Yoichi' is an enjoyable anime, unique in that it takes its time when it comes to character development or storyline progression and rather focuses on the main character - Yoichi Karasuma. In fact, despite the 'Ecchi' and 'romance' tags there's about as much ecchi or romance here as you'd find in 'death note'. There really are only two female characters here who are somewhat attracted to the male lead and some other male characters but frankly, nothing ever happens. Do not expect this to be one of those "male lead chooses this girl in the end" animes. It isn't.

That said, it was read more
Mar 26, 2014
VirtusSignum (All reviews)
This review will be short. This anime was entertaining but ultimately left zero impact on me. I will never watch this again, never talk about it again and I think that is the show's biggest issue. It isn't that the show was bad, it wasn't... but for all the elements that the show got right, it seems to use some of them incorrectly. There is also no resolution for any of the established romances. None. Not a kiss, hug, confession, nothing... from anyone. I was expecting more all around TBH. Loved the premise, loved some of the characters but the execution of pacing and story read more
Jul 22, 2013
Nebarto (All reviews)
Asu no Yoichi, seeing the ecchi/romance tags, I went into this expecting a fine balance of a shounen, martial arts setting and some romance infused with some fan service ecchi. I'm sorry to say that near the end, it failed to fully satisfy me.

Story: 6
Art:8
Sound:6
Character:6
Enjoyment:6
Overall:6

Story: The story to Asu no Yoichi is mainly focused on the interactions between the characters, but also since the anime included a shounen aspect, it had the action focus as well. The balance between the two however wasn't exactly up to par in my standards. With the setting A.N.Y. gave, it could have turned out much better,but had a read more
Jan 5, 2016
sr467 (All reviews)
Asu no Yoichi a.k.a Samurai Harem is an ecchi harem martial arts comedy series that isn't great but it is kind of entertaining. I may not be a big fan of harem series but I don't mind ecchi if it's not over the top. Despite being having harem right in the title, you don't really get an actual sense of a harem forming in this series. The main character Yoichi Karasuma is in fact surrounded by girls but only two actually make an attempt at vying for his affection while the others are typically there to suffer at the hands of his "ecchi accidents." Despite read more
Sep 18, 2016
angel_kingdom (All reviews)
~My very first review

I'm not really a big fan of harems but when I found this I decided to try it. I would say on my personal opinion it wasn't amazing, but it wasn't bad either. For me it felt like it was lacking something. I couldn't know exactly what it was until I just reviewed the anime in my head and then it hit me! It's lacking depth to the main character. Throughout the whole anime all we basically knew about the main character was that he practiced really hard to become a very powerful samurai in his childhood and he lacked basic social read more