Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Makai Toshi Shinjuku


Alternative Titles

English: Demon City Shinjuku
Synonyms: Monster City Shinjuku
Japanese: 魔界都市〈新宿〉

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 25, 1988
Producers: Japan Home Video
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Novel
Duration: 1 hr. 19 min.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.271 (scored by 5,138 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #70312
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3967
Members: 11,013
Favorites: 25

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 18, 2009
animegorey (All reviews)
Worst of the shorter OVAs from the 90's. Titles like BioHunter, Wicked City, Twilight of the Dark Master and Baoh put this one to shame. Action is weak and re-hashed. Story was boring and there was no part of it that stands out. Characters are really bad. The main villain looks ok, but rather uninspiring. Uninspired actually sums up this one quite nicely. There are a ton of better OVAs to watch, but if you must, download it for free and watch it when your REALLY bored. You will be disappointed.
Jan 28, 2010
Prede (All reviews)
I have a sneaking suspicion that Yoshiaki Kawajiri really likes John Carpenter movies. Because Demon City Shinjuku could be summed up as an OVA that mixes both Escape from New York and Escape From L.A. (despite being made after this OVA) together, has a little bit of Halloween thrown in there, and some has supernatural elements added for good measure. Good thing I'm a Carpenter fan then, right? In Cyber City Kawajiri lifted the basic premise of criminals having to do complicated missions for the state, with the chance of being pardoned (and with the risk of being blown up if they failed), just read more
Oct 2, 2015
Ezekiel_01 (All reviews)
Anime Movie Review No.3

(Introduction)
1988 the where Japan is at its glory in the economy. The 80’s the era where anime can have the most decent plot duration since episode in this decade are much more cheaper to produce and this is the decade where the west are influence by the Japanese animation. The year where the most notable movies are release and that are Akira and Grave of the Fire flies that became very iconic and popular to the masses and up to this date still popular and very fun to watch. But why does “Maki Toshi Shinjuku” didn’t became memorable and have place in read more
Mar 25, 2015
Filidecht (All reviews)
Contrary to my overall score (which is brutally honest), I absolutely adore this.
I think the reason I enjoy this so much is down to Nostalgia, more than anything else - I used to watch it a lot with my Step-Dad before he died.
Still, I do enjoy it after all these years, though I can agree with some of the criticisms, like the anti-climactic ending, poor over-dub and generic story arc and characters that're typical of most Anime.
I love the music though - It's a combination of being really, really shit, and really, really endearing - One song in particular is just so, so read more
Jan 7, 2019
matthigh (All reviews)
Have you seen "Escape From New York?" Yeah? Well, then you pretty much have already seen Demon City Shinjuku in spirit. They're not exactly the same, but enough that you can almost feel like you're wandering through the prison city of New York. Plus demons.

Maybe a better comparison would be to compare Demon City Shinjuku to an old-style person-to-person fighter game. Where you have special powers and moves, and you face off against mid-level bossman #1, then mis-level-bossman #2, then mid-level bossman #3, then Big Bad Guy at the end.

Overall the read more
Sep 17, 2012
barcaman101 (All reviews)
The evil Rebi Rah is about to open the portals to hell in exchange for immense power that was bestowed upon him by the demonic underworld.Kyoya Izayoi a young man and a practitioner of the art of Nempo one day encounters a spiritual medium called Master Rai .Master Rai tells Kyoya about Rebi Rah plans and how his father tried to stop him ten years ago but was killed.Master Rai implores Kyoya to go to the city of shinjuku, at the heart of Tokyo where Rebi Rah intends to open the portal and defeat him before he destroys the world.

Firstly if you like deep plots,dislike read more
Apr 19, 2013
gknight (All reviews)
Just an awful movie, non sensical character development, no rational story, characters come and go from scenes with no rational explanations, relationships are done badly, bad convey of world and atmosphere, weak character motivations, I was only suffering through this, sorry I watched it!
May 26, 2017
nullgolem (All reviews)
I watched an overdub version

Visually ok for it's age. Not consistent, some shots are better than others. Fighting scenes and certain action shots should have looked better. (there arent that many) colors are nice. To me it felt a bit lazy at times and made more apparent by its flaws (such as demons not really looking that cool or standing out when they show up) The overall look is probably the only highlight here and its merely 'okay'

Music/Sound is not notable, and rather low quality (could have been the rip but its very subdued compared to the voices/overdub which was okay so i'm guessing read more