Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Casshern Sins


Alternative Titles

English: Casshern Sins
Japanese: キャシャーン SINS

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 2, 2008 to Mar 16, 2009
Premiered: Fall 2008
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Showgate, USEN
Licensors: Funimation
Source: Other
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.571 (scored by 39,998 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #14962
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #953
Members: 116,093
Favorites: 1,333

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 27, 2009
Digibro (All reviews)
Casshern Sins is not for everyone. The show pretty much moves at one pace, and that pace is ’slow’. There is a lot of silence, introspection, and philosophical dialog. Ordinarily, this would make one assume the show is pretentious (especially since it has a lot of similarities to Texhnolyze), but it really isn’t. Casshern has a very simple plot, very simple dialog, and is easy to understand, so people looking for a mind-blower won’t find it here. The plot and messages of Casshern Sins are much more along the lines of Kino’s Journey or Mushi-shi. However, just like action fans will be turned off by read more
Nov 20, 2008
theeggman85 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I started watching this anime, giving it a starting 6/10. I was up to a 9/10 within the first 7 episodes. Does that say something?

I am pleased to say that it says a lot. Casshern Sins is what looks like the most original anime of the Spring 2008 lineup, and while it may be sad, it is truly amazing to watch. (This review will update as the series goes on, if all goes well ;D)

STORY: 9/10

Casshern does not know if he is a man, robot, or neither. In a world of destruction, where humans are rarely found and the last of the robots rust, Casshern read more
Nov 8, 2013
Jodyqt (All reviews)
What would you do if you couldn't change your fate? Would you grasp at any slither of hope that presents itself, even if that hope required you to hurt someone else? Or would you accept your fate? Just letting it pass over you? This is one of the many questions that Casshern Sins asks. "What is the answer" you might wonder? Well, let us sit down together and discuss it shall we.

Casshern Sins is a remarkable feat, in that it somehow captures every single, minute detail of the human spirit. It achieves this by starting from the very basics and quickly developing on the basics read more
Oct 8, 2008
legacy3233old (All reviews)
Preliminary
Spoilers Ahoy!

Casshern… a series reboot of the original Shinzou Ningen Casshern back in 1973. Of all the new shows this season, I think this one is my favorite. Lets talk production values, people. I really enjoyed the OP and ED, I think they fit very well, and they have a nice melody. Music overall was certainly a strong point of the show. The BGM really fit well into the scenarios presented, and I think that they sound lovely as well. The animation is fluid, almost seamless, which goes along well with the simplistic character art and gorgeous post-apocalyptic backgrounds. The voices are another strong point. read more
Jul 21, 2015
Cespar (All reviews)
When it comes to an experimental anime like this, it’s quite difficult to give a conventional score. Even more so, Casshern Sins tends to polarize the audience into two groups: either calling it a work of art or being bored as hell by it.

Here’s a good test whether you may or may not like it.

Are you an anime fan one who:
A) Tolerates a continuously oppressively grim atmosphere and a snail-paced plot?
B) Forgives gaping plot holes for the sake of appreciating the heavy symbolism and existentialism?
C) Is fine with an acrobatic fist-fight for every single episode?
D) Doesn’t mind sparse dialogue, one-note and read more
Aug 27, 2010
Colonelfancy (All reviews)
I thought I would really like Casshern Sins, but this was a letdown of epic proportions. My original impression was that the Casshern character would be a modern day Kenshiro of Fist of the North Star, or something akin to it; a lone wolf hero trekking across the devastated wasteland to fulfill his purpose/clear his name/discover who he is. Any one of these would've been nice, but intsead of taking a plot synopsis as simple as this anime produces and making something good out of it, it fails to deliver on any conceivable level that would be considered quality entertainment.
Now this story read more
Jul 8, 2013
ZeroReq011 (All reviews)
Erected from the pillars that once cradled human civilization, the Robotic Empire reached its pinnacle under the iron-clad rule of Braiking Boss and the grace of the Sun that was called Moon. Then came the Ruin, and with it the end of those fabled days. Once thought immortal, the empire, its structures and citizens, and even nature itself into rust and decay and death. A landscape dotted with the deceased and dying, attributed to the sins of one machine... Casshern.

Directed by Shingeyasu Yamauchi, scripted by Reiko Yoshida and Yasuko Kobayashi, and produced by Madhouse, whose resume includes the popular Death Note, the recent Chihayafuru, the read more
Dec 2, 2008
Seeker (All reviews)
Preliminary
To describe this anime in one word is simple: depressing. Casshern Sins follows Casshern--a character who doesn't know whether he is human or robot--in a dystopic world that is, quite literally, the end of the world. I don't mean it's some Armageddon-like atmosphere where some supernatural force is destroying everything; in this setting, the world is just dying. It is a barren wasteland where even robots, who are supposed to be immortal, experience death.

Of the nine episodes that I have seen so far, each episode follows a pattern: Casshern is wandering through his seemingly endless journey when he meets a new character. This new character, read more
Feb 17, 2019
Eneko-chan (All reviews)
In a nutshell, I think that Casshern Sins is a terrible anime. I might’ve given it a slightly higher rating, say, a 2 or even a whopping 3 instead of 1 like I am giving it now, if only I haven’t picked it up because after watching Ergo Proxy I read on Reddit that “Ergo Proxy is just a pale shadow of Casshern Sins”. I loved Ergo Proxy to bits, so naturally I just had to have a look at something that was potentially even better. This, however, made me compare the two series at every turn, be it consciously or subconsciously, and it was read more
Dec 22, 2012
mahoganycow (All reviews)
“Humans are always contradictions.”

Early in Casshern Sins, a character makes this observation. It wasn't lost on me that Casshern Sins is full of seeming contradictions itself; the series features fast action and snail's-pace plot development, “oldschool” character designs presented with new technology, extreme violence and quiet speculation, and a tone that wavers schizophrenically between “uplifting” and “grim.” The end result is something unique enough to merit a cautious recommendation.

Casshern Sins centers around the titular Casshern—a character who wakes up on a barren futuristic world knowing nothing of his past. The only thing he seems to remember is how to brutally kill others; he only knows read more
Sep 30, 2010
qrdel (All reviews)
People who lose their memories of the past are almost always dying to get those back. They feel empty inside, as if something was taken out of them. Something irreplaceable... Is Casshern the same?

I think that this question kept running through the studio director's mind as he decided to take up an old project that was long lost and created its new version - Casshern SINS. The series is a 24-ep-long philosophic discussion on the sense of human nature and its everlasting need for self-improvement. Paradoxically though, there are very few humans in this distorted world. The entities who appear to be more humane read more
Mar 20, 2009
BatOtaku13 (All reviews)
Story: The story is a very thought-provoking and great examination of the value of truly living your life, as opposed to passing through it aimlessly. It is about an apparently immortal robot named Casshern, who after killing a woman named Luna, creates the Ruin, a plague that causes the world to die. All life has withered away, and any survivors are on the brink of insanity as they are surrounded by death. His journey to discover his identity and role in this new world causes the robots he comes into contact with to realize the value of our existances and their read more
Jul 8, 2009
DKyu (All reviews)
This series is very... depressing. It is not like the Casshern series that people expect, but in it's own right is well made. The first thing I would like to mention is that the artwork and music is superb. Watching anime, and then watching Casshern Sins is like going from a child's artwork to architectural blueprints/designs. The animation, art, and colors are very crisp and clean. Half the time, I was busy enjoying the artwork and the animations. Casshern is like looking at a work of art.

Despite that, the story at first was very depressing and slow. After read more
Apr 11, 2009
bloodraevynn (All reviews)
I will admit that my opinion of "Casshern: Sins" is somewhat biased by the fact that I watched and enjoyed the original 1973 anime "Shinzou Ningen (Neo Human) Casshern" first. Because of that I became more than a bit pissed off when I realized that "Sins" had absolutely _nothing_ to do with "Shinzou Ningen."

"Sins" is touted as a "remake" of the original series, but that's a fallacy. What it actually is, is a story so utterly disparate from the original that the use of familiar names and faces seems to have been the result of a combination of laziness on read more
Feb 21, 2014
vivafruit1 (All reviews)
Story

Despite being a remake to a kitschy 70’s anime “classic,”Casshern Sins begins promisingly. In the first few episodes, the creators lay out a post-apocalyptic setting that manages to feel both unabashedly retro and grimly bleak at the same time. The resulting mix of camp and angst is weirdly intriguing, especially when the solid supporting characters and mysterious titular protagonist are factored in.

Sadly, Casshern Sins fails to live up to its initial promise due to its unfocused overarching narrative. Rather than develop any core theme in the early to middle stages, the series meanders among flavor-of-the-week plots and half-hearted attempts at a main story. After countless read more
Aug 11, 2013
korison (All reviews)
Super Heroes by now are a standard part of our lives, being adapted into thousands of films already, we are used to incredibly powerful men and women walking around in weird skintight clothes that are supposed to be their trademark. It has almost been done to death in western media and I myself am not a huge fan of those franchises either, with a few exceptions. In Anime though, while we have quite some superheroes, it is not nearly as much as in the western media and only few of them really rose to popularity in the Otaku Culture. Today I will Review an Anime read more
Feb 17, 2019
Zedlin (All reviews)
Are you sick of monotonous anime? It’s time to change up the pace and travel along with Casshern as he discovers his sins that doomed the world. Sounds interesting right?

Casshern Sins, a philosophical anime about Casshern has caused The Ruin to occur. Before such event, the world was full of sentient robots who were immortal. Ruin causes rust until they wither away leaving them to only contemplate death. But rumors have been spreading of someone named Casshern to be the answer to immortality when killed. As the opening states: “Hey why are we born? Hey why did we meet?” Casshern struggles to comprehend why he read more
Mar 25, 2016
aikaflip (All reviews)
“Ruin is the salvation of man and machine.”

Deceptively complex themes hide beneath a flamboyant exterior of fast action fight scenes and fancy shot compositions. The director, Shigeyasu Yamauchi, who has a propensity for psychological studies and aesthetic stylishness, uses Casshern Sins as an opportunity to deconstruct death and hope in a visually arresting way.

The first episode establishes the premise with a satisfying level of badassery. In the distant future, Robots have evolved sentience, and can feel emotions like humans can. A global "Ruin"—with a capital R, implying that it's more than an action—was prompted when Casshern, a highly skilled and gaudily dressed fighter, read more
Apr 24, 2009
cleofriskey (All reviews)
Preliminary
Casshern Sins... Where to ever start?? When I first started watching this I was a little confused. I remember watching episode 1 and thinking "what on earth is going on?" But I made myself watch the next episode and it got a little better. And the next one got better. And then better. ANd ever more better until I was obsessed, until I finished the whole show in three days.

Casshern Sins is like nothing I've ever watched (and belive me I've watched tons) It's unique in every way. Each episode has is like its own story that all adds onto each other. The overall read more
Mar 25, 2009
akagi111 (All reviews)
Story: Pretty good story from beginning to end it did keep you wanting to watch and see where it goes and when it gets to the climax of the series that is when it really pulls you in, even with all of the action it wasnt a mindless action series that alot of shows pull off this one did have something to think about on, now there are a few flaws though one being the whole opening sequence for about half the show where we see luna and hear casshern growl like a cat in heat which got old very quickly and some of those read more