Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

ChäoS;HEAd


Alternative Titles

English: ChäoS;HEAd
Synonyms: ChaoS,HEAd
Japanese: カオスヘッド

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 9, 2008 to Dec 25, 2008
Premiered: Fall 2008
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 27 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.461 (scored by 126,048 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #62422
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #419
Members: 236,508
Favorites: 765

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 21, 2015
catullus_d_rus (All reviews)
"Can a work of art be objectively bad?"

Throughout the history of humanity, many have attempted to answer this question, often with subjectively collected conclusions. I myself promulgate the idea of subjectivity in art, trying to poke as little fun as possible at things like One Direction or Transformers because hey, everyone has their own tastes.

ChäoS;HEAd, however, loudly grants evidence to why the opposite is true.

The most unfortunate thing about this mutilated mess of a show is that I actually enjoyed it at first. There was an air of intense mystery about it, and while the characters (dear god, the characters) were underwhelming from the start, read more
May 6, 2012
Animezinghayden (All reviews)
Firstly I apologize to fans of the show for what is about to be said, but remember that this is my humble opinion and should not be taken as fact. However, for those who read this and decide to check how I usually rate shows, you will certainly see that I am incredibly lenient in my rankings and will often give shows higher than deserving scores based on the fact that I had a blast watching it. So for me to give such a negative score is quite uncommon.

With that out of the way, the review may begin.

Firstly, the characters are bland, cliche and incredibly read more
Apr 30, 2019
nich303 (All reviews)
Oh, ChaoS;HEAd a show as stupid as its capitalization. It sucks here's why.

Story 1/10
The story, if you can call it that, is a pathetic jumble of messy delusions. If you hate scenarios where it ends with, "it was all a dream", then steer clear of this series because it happens like every 5 minutes. I mean it's not like it's too confusing or anything, just frustratingly stupid. It hurts to watch and then there's no pay off in the end whatsoever.

Art 6/10
I mean it's Madhouse, so it wasn't bad. It was even pretty good for 2008. Not much else to say, so moving on.

Music 7/10
The read more
Nov 20, 2008
Anelis (All reviews)
Preliminary
__NO SPOILERS__

Thought seemingly at first this anime concerns a delusional otaku-hikomori quickly the plot has a supernatural twist with mind games and possible conspiracies. Personally it reminds me a bit of the plot of The melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya but in a more paranoid and "bloody" way.

Story 8: The plot is really intriguing but has some anime-cliches that i find annoying such as the protagonist's "harem" and the fan service. Other than that minor drawback this anime really draws you in with the suspense and the "i don't know who i can trust" mood.

Art 7: The art is solid, plain and common. Most of the read more
Aug 30, 2011
bluesuits (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story: The story is good. It seems to follow the Visual Novel closely (except for a few points) and for the most part is the exact same only in condensed format (chapters 1-2 of the VN are 1 episode, etc. etc.).There are some MAJOR differences like introducing characters earlier than they would have in the VN. Another fault of the anime is the fact the VN had "Delusion triggers" which would make Takumi go into a delusion and see something that wasn't happening, making him space out and confuse other characters. So instead, you have to deal with the pre determined triggers which mostly read more
Dec 25, 2008
Peterp (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ahh Chaos;head, such a sour affair we've had. Of course, like any passionate fling, it would be unfair to say that we were set off with a spark. No, to be more accurate, I was seared alive by a Nazi-era flamethrower with a love for this show when it first began. The early episodes contained all the elements of my other favorite series. We had a Hikikomori on par with Tatsu of NHK ni Youkoso, we had psychotic murdering high school girls akin to the killer lolis of Higurashi no Naku Koro ni, and all the intrigue of Monster combined with the polygamous romances found read more
Jun 8, 2015
NameWithheld (All reviews)
Part 1 of the Science Adventure trilogy
This has all the makings of a great psychological thriller, and it does accomplish most of what it sets out to do, however, there are a few things it falters in. It's biggest problem is that it often mixes up being confusing with being clever. In most stories like this, things start out not making sense. However, things line up when the audience is told this universe's rules. In ChaoS;HEAd, right when some questions are answered, something happens that make about twenty new ones appear. The audience is never given a break until the 11th or 12th episode. Still, read more
Jan 1, 2009
gdavge2003 (All reviews)
ChaoS;HEAd is a psychological anime with some action and a good plot behind it. Overall, it was pretty enjoyable, and something that is definitely worth watching; however, it isn't one of those extremely memorable anime like Death Note or Code Geass that everybody just loves. Actually, it doesn't reach those heights in the slightest, but that's not to say it was terrible either. Definitely watch it if you like short, psychological anime series, but if you're a casual anime watcher, ChaoS;HEAd should be watched after you've watched the Tops.

Story
Read the synopsis for more details. Basically, you have your generic "I hate human greed/selfishness and I'm read more
Dec 14, 2014
Tmgm528 (All reviews)
Chaos;Head is a show I went into knowing nothing about except one thing....That it wasn't good. I had low expectations naturally, However I found myself fully enjoying the twisted world of Chaos;Head. Simply put (Which is hard to do) Chaos;Head is the story of a shut in, Anime obsessed Teenager who lives in a large town where awful murders are occuring. Relatively simple....Minus the fact that he's seemingly going down a spiral into madness. What's real and what isn't?

Chaos;Head certainly isn't the best show I have ever seen, but it's pretty darn good considering the flak this show gets!
Jul 20, 2011
arme (All reviews)
Hello there!!!

I watched Chaos;Head while I was waiting for the next episode from Stein's Gate to appear. I've read somewhere (I do not recall the web site) that these animes have in common the scientific approach. So, if I find Stein's Gate a very interesting anime, why wouldn't I try watching Chaos;Head?

And I wasn't wrong: Chaos Head was a delightful experience for me. I like very much the story, but, I am enthusiastic about the concept that built up that beautiful story.

The power to materialize a delusion- it's the power that is possed by Gigalomaniacs. They can bring weapons (usually swords) from a different dimension read more
Jan 10, 2009
klemon_qhap (All reviews)
When I first started to watch Chaos Head the whole show seemed slow and awkward. Meaning that everything was poorly put together and did not really seem to go anywhere. The only thing that kept me watching was the increasing mystery and the fact that it was highly recommended for those who liked Higurashi.

This is one of those shows where the main character is ignorant, cowardly, and terribly unstable all at the same time. Having the main character be an otaku not only made him pathetic and cowardly, but also it resulted in him making stupid decisions. I do not understand why the guy who read more
Nov 26, 2008
VitalLife (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is one of the best Animes I seen in a long time. The story line is a really great one and it keeps you at the edge of your seat when watching it. The surprises in this anime is outstanding work.
Feb 17, 2016
TheAspergalur (All reviews)
This anime is garbage. All of the characters are boring and have absolutely no character development. The worst of all the characters is the MC, Takumi. Throughout the entire anime, Takumi is a little whiny bitch. He is weak, emotionally fragile, and is an absolute asshole that only cares about himself. He spends his time running away and when he can't run, begging the random girls that show up to save his sorry little bitch ass. When he becomes momentarily suicidal, he can't even do THAT for himself. He just begs his little sister to kill him. The female characters of this anime legitimately have read more
May 22, 2015
ratchet573 (All reviews)
There’s this anime called Steins;Gate that I watched a few months back. I really liked it. In fact, I gave it a near perfect score and rambled on about it for longer than I ever have any anime. But I discovered something whilst searching for a new show to watch: there was a precursor to Steins;Gate, a lesser known anime set in the same world. Lo and behold, I snagged a copy and started watching with expectations high and nothing less than elation at the fact I was about to embark on another journey with the people behind one of my favorite anime…

WHAT THE FUCK read more
Jul 17, 2012
angelsreview (All reviews)
This is a really creepy show. I never know what is real or what isn’t with this, it seems to be all in Takumi head. I can understand why they call it Chaos;HEAd, his head is all screwed up. The guy seriously thinks a anime character is real and his girlfriend, he lives in a strange box on top of a roof, and just keeps being a whiny little prick for almost the whole show.

I got confused easily in the beginning, it was odd and out of place almost. I do have a question though, a lot of shows seem to have the main read more
Nov 18, 2012
Nimious (All reviews)
Do you ever wonder why you’re rarely if ever in the situations found in Anime? It’s likely because you have common sense. Just as you cannot have a hero without evil, you cannot have these adventures without stupidity; a whole lot of stupidity.

In essence that’s what drives the plot of ChäoS;HEAd. The frustrating story can be somewhat attributed to our demented otaku protagonist but more so to the writers for burning through 10 episodes before any semblance of character development occurred.

Thank goodness the staff that made ChäoS;HEAd was mostly scrapped for Steins;Gate.

On MAL ChäoS;HEAd is listed as an alternative setting to Steins;Gate but there’s read more
Dec 14, 2010
manami-chan669 (All reviews)
*please note that I am writing this review after not having seen the series for quite a while*

A lot of people go into Chaos;Head expecting the second coming of Higurashi no Naku Koro Ni. Those people had better brace themselves for major disappointment.

The story centers around Takumi Nishijou, a teenage shut in who basicly spends all of his time playing RPG games, watching anime, and chatting online. He has heard through the grapevine about a series of murders, known as "New Gen," occurring in his town. However, he dismisses this, as it does not apply to the "two dimensional world" he lives in…that is, until read more
Feb 19, 2012
nobody25864 (All reviews)
There are many animes that I dislike, but there are few animes that I can truly say that I hate. This is the prime example of that.

An anime can be boring, or have bland characters, and that's fine. I'll dislike the anime, but whatever. This anime, however, had an excellent start. The main character is interesting to see just how insane he is, and he's suddenly pushed into this dark and dangerous world filled with gruesome murders. He worked perfectly with this premise, because he would actually try to escape into his own insanity simply for comfort and that was really interesting to watch. We read more
Mar 26, 2013
AlyssaTheLamb (All reviews)
The anime that first got me into the medium was Steins;Gate. I had never imagined before that such a crazy premise would have that much to offer. Very few TV Shows had combined such quirky humor with strong characters and a fascinating plot. It took me very little time to realize that it was part of a series. Only a week after finishing Steins;Gate, I dived into Chaos;Head with high expectations. I knew that some of the reviews had fairly low scores for it, but I kept being optimistic.

I should have listened.

The first few episodes are incredibly strong. The plot begins with several mysteries that read more
Nov 9, 2014
SleepyDude40 (All reviews)
Story: the story ugh! Huh... I'm a fan of the visual novels but the story in the anime was rushed as heck and even though I knew the story it was just madness and very difficult to keep track of. I mean like could anyone really understand what was going on half the time. Even on the parts they tried explaining they failed at explaining all the way. Well the main reason for this is because they only made the show 12 episodes they needed to make it at least 18 episodes
(I know that's a weird number but still).

Art: the read more