Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

ChäoS;HEAd


Alternative Titles

English: ChäoS;HEAd
Synonyms: ChaoS,HEAd
Japanese: カオスヘッド

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 9, 2008 to Dec 25, 2008
Premiered: Fall 2008
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 27 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.471 (scored by 125,291 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #62112
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #413
Members: 235,344
Favorites: 761

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 29, 2009
Skadi (All reviews)
I went into viewing ChäoS;HEAd without a great deal of expectations. Having read through many of the reviews and hearing some firsthand accounts on it I got the impression that it was going to be an average at best experience. However this was a show that I had been very interested in seeing since it started airing. For me it’s a great example of not believing everything you hear.

The story starts out as a pretty interesting mystery involving a number of grisly murders and a high school boy who believes he has witnessed one of them and is being fed information about read more
Dec 29, 2008
Splitter (All reviews)
Chaos;Head is a prime example of an anime that collapsed under the weight of its own ambition. In trying so desperately to separate itself from a myriad of other suspenseful thrillers while catering to a pre-selected audience, Chaos;Head spreads itself all of the place, so much so that everything about it is thin, flimsy, and overall disappointing. The end result, however, is stuff of unintended comic gold.

Chaos;Head starts fantastic with a very adventurous first episode brimming with possibilities. The play on otaku falling victim to their own delusions, coupled with a series of bizarre homicides was intriguing enough to keep me watching it repeatedly, but read more
Jul 13, 2012
NeverKnowsBest26 (All reviews)
Ever since Neon Genesis Evangelion's debut in the late 90's philosophically charged mind-frags have been a staple of anime. Many of these mind-twisting series are pretty brilliant, despite being exceedingly obtuse. Chaos;HEAd is definitely not one of these. Filled with nonsensical metaphysical babble, flimsy internal logic, and clearly not as smart as it thinks it is; this show is the perfect example of what happens when a psychological thriller goes completely wrong.

The show follows a socially inept (to put it VERY lightly) and barely sane anime obsessed recluse named Takumi Nishijou as he is pulled into a reality bending battle with the fate of the read more
Dec 26, 2008
DeadIEnd (All reviews)
This review is biased, because I read the VN. I thought about writing a review that does not mention the VN at all, but I that I'd rather write one that does, one that mentions the VN throughout the whole review.
It's also a long-ass review. Did I mention that I'm rambling on the game?

ChäoS;HEAd is an adaptation of a popular Visual Novel of the same name, spanning 12 episodes.

Just from the idea of a 30-40+ hours Visual Novel adapted into a 12 episode anime (about 5-6 hours) you already know that many segments will be shortened or cut off completely, unless it is only the read more
Oct 15, 2008
Kaos_Okami23 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Chaos Head is an excellent new anime. If you like psychological animes with a little of paranoia rolled in then you will love this anime. I loved the first episode, the character Taku is so intriguing. Those of you who like psychology lets just say he'd be the perfect patient. I could not stop watching this anime, and i cant wait till the next episode comes out. oh yeah the art and story line are one of the best of the 2008 anime.
Mar 8, 2009
Master10K (All reviews)
ChäoS;HEAd is a Supernatural, Psychological, Mystery, whatever that literally gives a new meaning to the term “mind-f**k”. Whichever way you feel about this series, whether you like its intriguing set-up or detest its absurdity, there’s no denying that it’s a complete mess.

Following the life of some loser otaku, Takumi Nishijou is a high school student living life in his own little world of online gaming, anime and perverse fantasies. Then one fateful day he wonders into some gruesome murder scene, changing his current life dramatically, as extreme paranoia sets in. Well that’s the introduction, in a nutshell and like most people I struggled to make read more
Nov 26, 2013
Danno (All reviews)
I know a lot of people hate Chaos;Head for some reason or another, but damnit, I thought it was good. I originally watched it in July of 2010 and gave it a 10/10. Was that score deserved? What did I like about it so much before? It'd been so long I figured I'd re-watch it and give it a proper rating and review.

People criticize Chaos;Head as a convoluted mess, but I disagree. There were some times that complicated points in the storyline were explained at a rather fast pace; perhaps not exactly "easy" to follow, but I don't think it was hard either. For read more
Jan 2, 2009
gochisosama (All reviews)
I haven't played the game, nor have I read the visual novel, so I cannot compare and point out about differences or things left out. Thus, this review is about the anime only.

Chaos;Head... I'm going to be honest, and say that Chaos;Head was a real disappointment. The concept is fairly original. I give points for that. If you were like me, I was expecting a fairly elaborate plot with twists and suspense, but Chaos;Head severely lacked that, and thus, it turned out having a really mediocre and a down right uninteresting result. To fit this kind of a story-line, into such a short space of read more
Sep 28, 2014
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Preliminary
Overview:

Stein's Gate is the 2nd highest rated anime on this entire site. It is universally beloved by anime fans everywhere. However, what about its sister series Chaos Head that takes place in the same world and had the same writer? It is universally disliked! How is this possible? What could have gone so terribly wrong here? Lets take a look.

Plot and Characters: 4/10

The main character is the boring Hikikomori that we have seen so many times before it is getting old. Unlike Rozen Maiden or Welcome to the NHK, this series doesn't really try to challenge our view of otaku or do a good job read more
Nov 3, 2008
sn3ak1e (All reviews)
Preliminary
Chaos;Head is on par with Death Note...the plot is insanely interesting...makes me want to have more...the characters are unique...having an otaku being part of a mysterious organization is completely original...I recommend this to anyone and everyone...WATCH IT!!!! It'll get you hooked on from episode one
Nov 3, 2008
NitroPlus (All reviews)
First of all my opinion is biased because I played the Novel before I watched the animation.

Story: Rushed rushed rushed and rushed. I don't know what they were thinking when they squeezed a 30+ hour plot in a ~6 hour animation. Many details are completely gone and some important plot elements were reduced to a minimum. I don't want to spoil so I keep this section rather short.

Art: Oh my god, droopy the animation. The art is horrible in every possible way. One word for this -> QUALITY

Sound: Can't complain here but I do like the original OST more.

Character: Side character development comes rather read more
Aug 5, 2009
TheCrazyGuy (All reviews)
It should be noted that this is my first review on this website.

My friend recommended this series to me because of the interesting premise. I looked it up (on here, actually), saw that it got some decent reviews, and started watching it almost right away.
This series had a lot of potential. It could have gone the distance. It could have gotten an 8 of 10 from me.
Needless to say, it didn't...
I'll start with Takumi Nishijou, the male lead. I used to think Shinji Ikari was the most annoying anime character, but Takumi jumped up and nabbed the crown. He's the main reason why I loathe read more
Oct 14, 2008
TohkaShido (All reviews)
Preliminary
as for me I already watch the episode 1 of the anime chaos head i already like it even the anime is Still Beging the first episode was perfect,.the Scence were Takumi Receive a link to certain Site from a person named Grim was really Scary.because when Takumi Click it showed Him A Crime Scence,at thought wasnt really but when he saw the crime in with own eyes and also a girl and next day He was suprised when He found out that girl belongs aslo with the same class Is really Scary thing to Happen,as for the characters voice is really perferct,the opening read more
Aug 1, 2012
DeSwitch (All reviews)
Takumi is a high school student. He is withdrawn and is not interested in 3D things. In his town, a mysterious serial murder case happens and people get panicked. One day, when he chats on the internet, a man suddenly contacts him and gives him an URL. He goes to the website and finds a blog image that suggests a next murder case.... On the next day, it really happens....
Takumi suffers from intense delusions as a result of his apparent schizophrenia and the extremely secluded lifestyle he lives as a hikkikomori. One day he accidentally stumbles upon a gruesome murder scene, a part of a read more
Sep 4, 2018
Mythologically (All reviews)
ChäoS;HEAd is a prime example of why most one-cour shows have linear and simple plots. Imagine a box being stuffed so full that it explodes --- this is a perfect metaphor for the show. A combination of a plot that tries way too hard, characters that are as intriguing as a piece of printer paper, and perhaps the most obnoxious main character in all of animation history lead ChäoS;HEAd to be one of the worst shows I've watched.

Story: 2/10
Characters: 1/10
Art: 4/10
Sound: 5/10
Enjoyment: 3/10
Overall: 3/10

ChäoS;HEAd introduces mysteries and plot points nearly every episode, yet these plot points are barely ever expanded on. You'll get introduced read more
Jun 9, 2009
ChibiCrow (All reviews)
Ah. The infamous Chaos;Head. To be honest, I thought this series was going to be a great one, one that will make it to my faves list. Of course, I should have known from the first episode that it would suck. But anyway, on with the review.

Story: 3/10
Normally, I wouldn't give the story such a low score. After all, the story is the heart of the anime, isn't it? But, if it weren't for the fact that I am highly interested in murder/mystery/thriller plots, I would have given this story a 1 out of 10. The story itself was the most rushed story I had read more
Sep 14, 2019
LostNomad4471 (All reviews)
Story 3/10

When I first started watching Chaos;Head I was intrigued and it got my attention because I thought it was setting itself up to be a psychological thriller akin to Paranoia Agent, but then by about episode 6 the story takes a sharp left turn and becomes a typical action shounen story where the MC learns he has these special powers that he has to use to save the world from this evil organization.

I could see this working as a straightforward "good guys vs. bad guys" type story, but there are a few reasons why it fails at that. First, the MC, Takumi, is read more
Feb 23, 2009
Onegai (All reviews)
This is one of those shows that i really looked forward to, and the first 2-3 episodes almost got me feel I was high on something, but then …


[5]Story: Alright, so the story begins with introducing the main character, Takumi. He is an Otaku that has failed at life basically, living in a container with his computer and anime figures totally isolated from the world excluding the few occasions he goes to school on. The thing that will catch your attention right of the start is that Takumi is having severe delusions that alter his reality. Right after the first episode we get thrown read more
Jul 7, 2013
MentalSyndrome (All reviews)
A show where the name itself, ChäoS;HEAd, is meant to be taken literally. Your head will be filled with chaos as you attempt to understand what is going on.

The beauty of ChäoS;HEAd is that the show itself is a mystery. The rushed pacing of the show in combination with the intentional mysterious plot made it difficult to keep a handle on what was going on. I cannot count the number of times I said, out loud, "What the hell is going on?" I feel like the writers were trying to make this something unique that stood out as a gem among the crowd. They did read more
Oct 23, 2012
Heta-rashi1 (All reviews)
So- to begin, I enjoyed this series. Yes it was interesting and slightly difficult to get into and wrap around the whole concept but once into the anime it gets more understandable.

Story-8: Reason-again with most 12 episode anime they had a lot of ideas and fewer episodes to get them all in. But they manage to pull it off. They added multiple characters that are delicately intertwined and revolve around one another in some way. The concept of the mind is always present in the anime and must always be included when making decisions about it- because not all is what it appears and read more