Bakuretsu Hunters


Sorcerer Hunters

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Sorcerer Hunters
Synonyms: Spell Wars: Sorcerer Hunters Revenge
Japanese: 爆れつハンター

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 1995 to Mar 26, 1996
Premiered: Fall 1995
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 18:00 (JST)
Producers: Sotsu, Movic, TV Tokyo Music
Studios: Xebec
Source: Manga
Genres: AdventureAdventure, ComedyComedy, FantasyFantasy, SupernaturalSupernatural
Explicit Genre: EcchiEcchi
Demographic: ShounenShounen
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.691 (scored by 56835,683 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #50812
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #4097
Members: 18,294
Favorites: 37

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 11, 2008
kawaiimisato (All reviews)
Bakuretsu Hunters (Sorcerer Hunters in english) falls under the categories of Fantasy, adventure, and comedy.

This show starts off with each episode having its own plot line, but eventually once we get some back stories, the full plot comes into view. There is nothing really complicated about the story, nothing intricate, in fact it is a very linear plot line, but that doesn't mean its not interesting. And things do pick up a lot in the second half of the series (known as the Spell Wars)

Through the story, we get to know the characters very well, getting flashbacks and such so we can have read more
Feb 12, 2012
gidoran (All reviews)
Bakuretsu Hunters is a fantasy story that largely stars five characters - the idiotic and perverted Carrot, the muscular Gateau, the pretty Marin, the spectacled Tira, and the red-haired Chocolate. Together they are the Sorceror Hunters, hired by a mysterious woman called only Big Mama to police the Spooner Continent.

By and large, the bulk of the series are stand alone episodes. The Hunters recieve a job from Big Mama, they go to some new town, find a new evil sorceror, kick his ass, and then move on to the next episode. These things are light and really empty. They aren't bad, they just aren't read more
Oct 2, 2012
angelsreview (All reviews)
I really do love this show. The comedy is very tongue and cheek but yet it has a lot of interesting characters. It also has an underlineing meaning behind most of the episodes about family ties.

We meet the characters a bit forcefully with some being rather pushy and perverted and others being rather expository. They imply that they have been traveling around a great deal already and so some things have to be worded out a bit oddly so we could understand them. I do have to wonder why the girls end up changing personalities when they take off their clothing. I’m also not sold read more
May 25, 2011
ktulu007 (All reviews)
If I had to describe Bakuretsu Hunters in one word it would be: mediocre. The story is the cliche of a villain trying to destroy and recreate the world. I'm sure that you can all think of several anime and JRPGs with the same premise, Bakuretsu Hunters is nothing special in that regard. The characters can be described in tropes. That's right, they're all cliches who rarely show any more depth than that. There's the shrinking violet, the childhood friend action girl, the boisterous bruiser, the smart guy and the crazy pervert. To be fair they all occasionally show more depth than their defining tropes, read more
Jan 2, 2008
morbidly_sexy (All reviews)
Fanservice and ecchi alert! Wow, this is a perverted series if ever one. The main character himself is on his own personal quest to de-virginize himself, despite the fact that he's literally whipped by the Misu sisters. The storyline is there, though at the end of the series everything that they never told you about is sorta thrown at you, so much so that you could basically watch the first few episodes and then the last four and totally know what's going on. But hey, if you did that, you'd miss out on a lot of funny moments and interesting supportive characters. This is a read more
Feb 19, 2017
MisaoAino (All reviews)
If you like fantasy, magic and tons of comedy, this is a great choice. Bakuretsu Hunters was one of the pioneers to some ecchi cliches you are used to see on some other series. You will love its characters and laugh hard at their misadventures and craziness.
Personally, the story might not be fully developed. If you are interested on it you should better go and read the manga. Maybe, the series would have been a little bit more popular if this happened. Anyways, the whole series is really enjoyable and will catch you from the beginning.
One more thing: both opening and ending are wonderful. Just read more
Nov 10, 2015
day2k (All reviews)
Bakuretsu Hunters holds a special place in my heart as one of the few and better shows 2 decades ago.

While more episodic than I prefer for a 26 episode show, it does have somewhat of an overarching main plot that culminates in the last few episodes. The story isn't quite there, but the fun part is watching the lovable main cast deal with the good and bad sorcerers in the world.

And best of all? The uber epic opening and ending themes, "What's up guys" and "Mask." Watching either sequence still gives me the chills.

I went back to watch the ending sequence of the final episode read more
Dec 18, 2011
didannl (All reviews)
That was the single most epic and insane ending to an anime i've ever seen. I didn't fully understand it but the epicness and insanity- you could just feel it. This was an overall very enjoyable anime it got a little slow in the middle and kinda confusing in the end but if you like epic conclusions you'll enjoy this anime. The animation is a little old, but what can you do? Some of the episodes were just plain boring and didn't relate to the antagonist's plot so i just skipped them. I would have preferred a little more action from Chocolate and Tira in read more
Jul 27, 2012
violetwitch_OwO (All reviews)
This anime is a bit too light-hearted for this genre of anime in my opinion. The main character, Carrot, spends most of his screentime chasing girls with Tira and Chocolat chasing after him and Gateau and Marron stand back and watch. It doesn't get serious until the last few episodes of the anime, and even then, it's still a bit light-hearted.

The art and the music were pretty good, Marron was soo pretty! Mask was a great ending song.

It would have been better if they'd dug deeper into the character's lives and their reasons for being who they are. Why did they choose to become sorcerer read more